Originally posted by Tashi@Apr 10 2006, 04:31 AM

Anyone here using Poly-dunno-what car wash? The one that comes with a free cloth if you had bought the large sized bottle. Whenever I use 2 capfuls of it, my hands become dry and flaky. I suspect some EO or GT85 may have crawled ender my eroded skin, causing a rash.

Do you guys get minor cuts while washing the bike?

I've been having it over a week. Now it's so itchy I can't sleep. It flaked off, but the rash still remains, suggesting the irritant still remains.

Instead of seeing a doctor, I went to JB to buy a car shampoo with aloe vera that has a fragrant scent. Hopefully it's more gentle on my hands.

Fooking itchy till I can't sleep.

Hey....isn't that the tell tale signs of HMD :lol: Maybe u 'korek' something & get infected :confused: So how's the car shampoo with aloe vera.I remembered sometime back we went to a shopping ctr (forgot the name) we saw this car shampoo.

Every organisation is like a tree full of monkeys.Ones at the top can only see monkeys below them and ones at the bottom see only a**holes above them.

• Replies 19.4k

LD - b patriotic instead of the british flag design replaced it with SG flag ! J/K

Every organisation is like a tree full of monkeys.Ones at the top can only see monkeys below them and ones at the bottom see only a**holes above them.

Originally posted by LastDance@Apr 10 2006, 07:19 PM

rommel - i'm so envious of your bike's FC, mine sux big time!

tashi - get well soon! paintjob will wait, got other commitments.

din - so which product would you recommend?

Thanks LD.

I found some Honda original accessories. The black goretex jacket looks nice.

http://www.honda.co.jp/bike-accessories/

Originally posted by chilly@Apr 10 2006, 10:37 PM

Hey....isn't that the tell tale signs of HMD :lol: Maybe u 'korek' something & get infected :confused: So how's the car shampoo with aloe vera.I remembered sometime back we went to a shopping ctr (forgot the name) we saw this car shampoo.

Haven't used it yet. Dun dare to do any washing till rashes are gone. That was Jusco we went to. I went there to makan at Secret Recipes on Sunday noon.

Those tankslapper guys had sent me a 4th package without any cost to get my order right.

1st one went to limbo as they left out the country.

2nd one had some pieces that were incorrect.

3rd package was ok, but they left out the tail piece.

4th one had the tail piece.

Great after sales service from these guys. When it comes to sales, ang mo attitude is really world class. :thumb:

Originally posted by rommel@Apr 10 2006, 01:16 PM

Tahsi, Your Fitch works like a charm.

My bikes accelerates smoothly as if its an electric motor

FC improved from 240 to 260 Kms before the low fuel indicator comes on.

How come i always read u guys FC wud be arnd 240 - 260 or at least 220 b4 low fuel indicator comes on while my bike always hit at arnd 200 - 210 and its already lights on.... ???

1999 - 2001 ===== Honda NSR 150SP

2001 - 2002 ===== Public Tpt

2002 - 2005 ===== Super Four

2003 - 2005 ===== CB400 / CBR 400

2005 - ????? ===== CB400 / CBR1000RR

Originally posted by rommel@Apr 10 2006, 01:16 PM

Tahsi, Your Fitch works like a charm.

My bikes accelerates smoothly as if its an electric motor

FC improved from 240 to 260 Kms before the low fuel indicator comes on.

You betcha!!

Have the same stuff in my tank. Wonder if it is still there. Hhehehe.

Originally posted by Tashi@Apr 9 2006, 11:37 PM

No time la. If you did your research, share with us the results. Which one would you recommend? Which one offers the better price to performance ratio?

If ur accessing by better price to performance ratio, ....

then the later product would be a better deal....

however it boils down to consumer preferences.......

"Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done. Now, if you know what you're worth, then go out and get what you're worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain't where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that!"

Originally posted by LastDance@Apr 10 2006, 07:19 PM

din - so which product would you recommend?

Well, both products are good :thumb:

But its up to individual / consumer preferances....

i cant comment much about both products on e forum as i might be contridicting,

however u can contact me personally, if u wld like to know my experienced wif both products.

"Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done. Now, if you know what you're worth, then go out and get what you're worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain't where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that!"

Originally posted by Tashi@Apr 10 2006, 05:45 PM

Din, not infection yet. Infection is when the skin turns to like black mouldy melted mozarella. Went to see doctor this morning. The rash spread to my face as well.

Good tt u hav already seen a doc...

Hoped tat u recover soon man! :thumb:

Originally posted by daRah Naikz@Apr 9 2006, 04:03 AM

Hi Guys...

Sorry to be " a boy in a man's land "... but wats a REvtec and power abuser ???

and wat does it do to our bike.... hahah please enlighten me...

Rectec

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....T&f=39&t=114829

Power Abuser

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....T&f=37&t=114335

Originally posted by negativecreep@Apr 8 2006, 03:40 PM

to my dear broS...

as for my previous posts have no reply....

i shall be idle then....

but for modding sake i have yet to decide on the products of

REVTEC & POWER ABUSER...

PLS ENLIGHTEN ME WITH THIS PRODUCTS....

:cheeky: :lovestruck: :confused: :sorry: :goodluck:

Hi Bro...

So wic product did u decided to get for urself?

and hows ur review so far....?

Originally posted by chilly@Apr 10 2006, 10:46 PM

LD - b patriotic instead of the british flag design replaced it with SG flag ! J/K

Japan Flag would be Nice!

Originally posted by daRah Naikz@Apr 11 2006, 04:02 AM

How come i always read u guys FC wud be arnd 240 - 260 or at least 220 b4 low fuel indicator comes on while my bike always hit at arnd 200 - 210 and its already lights on.... ???

Well, ur bike's Fuel Comsuption depends on a number of factors,

probably even more which are not listed below...

1) Lower Fuel Type wic has lower octane level,

therefore covers a higher amount of mileage but ur perfomance will suffer...

Max:I hit 268km before reserve on 95 Petrol

2)Ur Riding style/pattern

u might accelerate/drag each gear till at a higher RPM before changing gear.

3)Travelling and crusing speed of individual rider

4)Warm up duration.

5)Distanced travelled from one point to another.

6)Areas frenquently travel at;

always in Highway/Expressway,

or town/residential with traffic lights and junctions.

7)Climate and weather conditions

affects air-fuel ratio intake

All these factors contribute little here n there,

but on an everyday use, might proved significant on e long run...

Just my 2 cents,

However pls correct me if im wrong then...

just trying to be helpful :sweat:

The cause of my 40+ km/hr left turn skid? OIL.

A cub rider wiped out this morning on the same spot. As what (almost) happened to me; middle of the turn, leaning slightly, powering out... BAM! there he was, both tyres up in the air. The pedestrian red light he just beat saved him from getting ran-over. He quikly picked himself up and got off the road before the lights turned green. All eyes watched from behind the white box.

He's fine... bruised ego... maybe.

Whoever that arse that cause the oil spill? someday you'll get yours...

see pix here

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11336/siggy02.jpg

Maybe u cld tell us the location of that particular road, so as we cld take some precaution if by any chance we wld be passing that area.

Originally posted by din37@Apr 11 2006, 02:45 PM

Maybe u cld tell us the location of that particular road, so as we cld take some precaution if by any chance we wld be passing that area.

Right!

On Serangoon Road, Mah P/L is behind you.

It's that Jurong bound exit towards PIE.

The zebra crossing with lights must have saved a lot of riders.

see pix here

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11336/siggy02.jpg

Originally posted by Tashi@Apr 11 2006, 05:31 PM

Ever thought of seeing Jeremy Clarkson on a bike?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5fpfv8FsNQo

No problem man!>........ :smile:

ooooooouuuuuuuuwwwwwwwww.......

wat a car............. !!!

though i luv e car......

but underwriting a superbike's performance, o_O

just becos it managed to pull off against a stock 600rr

wif his full modified car........

of wic the rider doesnt even seemed experienced or look confident when

cornering..

(Abang Raptor can definately teach him a thing or two)

my pt is tat its not a true comparison........ :bouncefire:

However its still a Great Video!

i still luv e car man!!!

Originally posted by rommel@Apr 11 2006, 05:28 PM

Right!

On Serangoon Road, Mah P/L is behind you.

It's that Jurong bound exit towards PIE.

The zebra crossing with lights must have saved a lot of riders.

I see...

Thks for the advice and update Rommel....

I've finally switched to fully synthetic on the RR6 at 4,600km. I wanted to give it more time to run in. Some of you may have recalled, some better than others, that there was an EO outing last year. We bought boxes of Maxima EO. All of them were Maxima Extras.

It was one of the worst EO I've ever put into my RR4. When I was given the FP60 to try, I managed to swap my last 3 bottles of Extras to Ultras with Ampex.

These last 3 bottles went into the RR6. The verdict? It's not suitable for Fireblades, well, at least the RR4s and RR6s. There's a certain roughness to it. I felt the mineral oils I was using feels smoother.

:confused: Anyone else has the same feeling?

I have had countless comments from different makes, the only complaints I have got is that the 40 grades are a little thin, the 15W50 and the 5W50 gets stellar comments 99% of the time. Tashi, I am starting to wonder, did you see the oil physically poured into your bike? The oil needs some milage to really come into maximum smoothness, but regardless, it should never be 'rougher' than mineral. For example, in my bike (R6), the oil is smoother than ever now at 2500km into the oil. What's your typical riding rpm like?

Personally, I have heard many good and excellent reviews from yamaha and suzuki riders whom which, have switched EO from other brands to Maxima EO.

But apparently, this is not the case of what i have heard and come to my attention from my fellow CBR1000rr riders using Maxima EO.

When they switch to Maxima EO, the engine does not feel as smooth as the previous EO, infact it feels much rougher, especially when changing gears.

This has been tested and felt, on all the current series of CBR1000rr from the rr4 to the rr6 series.

Although I have high regards to Maxima Products, probably and maybe due to the CBR1000rr engine redesign, layout, different types of components used, specs or etc, have suggested that Maxima EO might not be suitable for the CBR1000rr machines.

Just a feedback.

Everytime my bike goes to the shop, I’ll be chit chatting with the mech while he works on my bike. They all know how fussy I am. Even the funnel is cleaned properly before it’s being used to pour EO.

So I am always around when the oil goes in and out. I have an annoying habit of stirring the oil with the used oil filter.

After a carton of Extras, I can conclude:

1. After 1,000km, the EO feels like water.

2. About 3,000km, it starts to feel nice & smooth again, but this smoothness is very short-lived.

AT rides a K3. I think his review wasn’t good too. The others who have tried are Chilly, Ideal and Ken.

Ken was the only one who liked the oil. Well, he was the one who talked us into buying it.

In S’pore, usually my RPM is around 4,000 to 5,000 rpm, hardly more than 6,000 rpm. Weekends is when I hit just below redline.

When I picked up my RR6, I was like, “Wow, this engine feels butter smooth!” I did my high rev run in as usual, switched to Esso mineral oil, same thing. The pistons seem to be churning butter from the oil. When I had the Ultras poured in, I was like, “Hey, this is starting to feel like my RR4.” My RR4 had Extras when I last rode it.

Hi Tashi and din37, I really appreciate the feedback. I may come across as asking too much, but that's just my 'get to the bottom of things' nature, so i hope none of you take it wrongly. I know different machines do prefer different engine lubricant, and may vary with rider preferences, however it typically boils down to viscosity. Once you get the viscosity you prefer, the rest is up to the durability and slickness of the oil. Now, when it comes to durability and slickness, Maxima is among the best, and if Tashi rem, we were trying to get the viscosity correct for him. Another thing, mineral oils are the least slick oils out there, while Ultra represents the other end of the spectrum with special low friction esters developed for racing.

Thick oil favours lower rpm riding while thinner oil really come into their sweet spot when you start going into the upper half of the rpm zone. This is because the mode of lubrication changes with the rpm of the engine.

Now here comes the confusing part. Tashi, if I remembered correct, you told me that another of your cbr buddies had motul 300V 10W40 and you thought it was fabulous. Based on that, I thought the thinner Ultra will be right up your alley. But now you said even the Extra 15W50 felt 'watery', then no way will the Ultra or the Motul 10W40 work for you. Churning butter feeling is associated with thick as molass type of of oil, the Motul is slightly thinner than the Ultra 5W50 and much much thinner than the Extra 15W50 or the mineral oil you used (presumably a 15W50/20W50). In terms of shear resistance, the thicker Extra also exceeds the thinner Motul by ~30% (there is this HTHS spec that specifically measures this). If the Extra is still too thin and 'watery', the Motul will feel terrible by 1k. Perhaps you try that Motul 10W40 and let me know.

So what EO do you guys like in your machine? Have you asked Ken why he liked it? Once again, I really appreciate the honest feedback, this is something of interest to me not just from a business perspective. If the day comes when I purchase a cbr6/1k, perhaps I will boycott my own products :p So far, on Yamahas and Suzuki supersports, the stuff has been the best I have tried, particularly in durability when abused.

Hi ANR-We bought more than a carton of ur oils (extra) when it was launched sometime back.Most of us at that point of time is riding RR4.My experienced with extra was the engine felt rough even before it reaches 2000km.Gear shifting not that smooth.Changed back to Motul 10w40 and i'm a happy man again.I did asked my mech about the maxima oil & he said a Hayabusa rider told him the same thing & he flushed it at 1000km because of this.Another buddy of ours riding a K3 also felt the same.My riding pattern mostly 4-5k rpm in sg.Once a week 'whack' it below red line when going in 2nd link.I'm not trying to flame.Just telling you how the maxima felt in our bikes.Anyway i didn't try the ultra as my confidence gone after trying the extra.Hope this helps to clarify regarding the oil.Sorry if i offended you as i'm telling the facts by my own experienced with the extra.

PS:But all your other products works great :thumb: