Okada17 said:
KOPI & RIDING SESSION

Time: 2200hr

Venue: Kallang KFC/Mac / ECP Carl's Junior / Cineleisure / or any other suggestions?

Please add your name & contact number. Last timing for registration is 2100hr.

1) Okada17 96222773

2) craz_03

3) Supera 90085874

Please come back and check for final confirmation @ 2115hr.

CHEERS!!!!

P.S - Open to everyone, regardless make or capacity.

Final confirmation - 2200hr meet at the carpark opposite Cineleisure.

Those who like to join in just meet there directly. Take down my number for contact.

Ride safely to ride again another day

2000 - 2001 : Honda NSR150SP [Repsol Colour]

2001 - 2003 : Honda RVF400RT [Original Colour / Cabin Design]

2005 - 2009 : Honda CBR1000RR5 [Red/Silver/Blue / Red/Black]

2009 - Current : Honda CBR1000RR8 [Candy Red/Black]

• Replies 19.4k

Have you guys heard/read of 08-09 CBR1000 oil burning issue?

I have read in some forums that their 08-09CBR1000's burns at most 1 liter of oil every 1,000 miles.

How true is this with Singapore ridden 08-09 CBR1000.

BE A TRUCK, BE A BICYCLE. (i.e. Occupy your space like a truck driver, but concede like the bicyclist). Loving my new ride, 03-15-09!

http://r9.fodey.com/2045/7ee11fdec9934ad698e2eb1c6d547ef5.0.gif

  maetsuen said:

I have read in some forums that their 08-09CBR1000's burns at most 1 liter of oil every 1,000 miles.

sg's 08 dun tink got alot of problems...

only the overseas......

i tink only some of the 08 riders's bikes got the prob...

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

  maetsuen said:

Yes...we heard this before! But never happen on my bike before over the past year. If you worry just do a test on your next oil change.

For example: let say on next oil change u never replace any oil filter then the next round u oso cannot replace if not the test is not balance. Try out n let us know... it will burn off but not as much as 1L.

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg

  craz_03 said:
sg's 08 dun tink got alot of problems...

only the overseas......

i tink only some of the 08 riders's bikes got the prob...

could be the different weather.:cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg

So there's very little CBR1000 with oil burning issue in Singapore, that's good to hear.

Could it be that Singapore riders take their break-in stages seriously that the bike comes off in good shape after break-in?

Are there any long term effects or cumulative bad effects that this "oil burning issue" could do to the engine?

I mean let's assume that particular 08 CBR1000 does have oil burning issues but the owner just top-ups oil everytime the need arises.

So the engine never starves of engine oil cause its always on the level due to constant top-ups.

Will the engine be alright even say after 30,000 kilometers?

BE A TRUCK, BE A BICYCLE. (i.e. Occupy your space like a truck driver, but concede like the bicyclist). Loving my new ride, 03-15-09!

http://r9.fodey.com/2045/7ee11fdec9934ad698e2eb1c6d547ef5.0.gif

Just wondering if anyone encounter a weird sound during engine braking on rr8 above bikes..

Sounds like some clutch things to me but the sound goes off when u in clutch in..and it only occurs during engine braking. Dun really know how to describe the sound but its mechanical and its pretty damn loud and obvious.. guessing the slipper clutch.

The sound seems to come from somewhere on the left side of the engine though.

Any advice will be appreciated.

The RR on my Fireblade represents "Race Replica"

Alamak! Missed it!

Okada17 said:
Final confirmation - 2200hr meet at the carpark opposite Cineleisure.

Those who like to join in just meet there directly. Take down my number for contact.

LIFE IS YOURS... DO WHAT YOU DO BEST!

Now riding - GILERA ST200

Knocking sound?

I think its nornal. Only gear drop to the lower gears....

You haven't experienced a false neutral on this new clutch system yet ...

Usually transmission between the higher gears, e.g. while kicking up from 3 to 4, the clutch slips to neutral and starts free wheeling on high speed .... scary **** ! Kick back down it goes back to 3!

But I think it's all mechanical and there's little mechanics can do about it.

The important thing is that riders must know their bikes well and have more situation awareness to save their own asses!

...so, when is the next outing? My bike is ready! Woohoo!

Supera said:
Just wondering if anyone encounter a weird sound during engine braking on rr8 above bikes..

Sounds like some clutch things to me but the sound goes off when u in clutch in..and it only occurs during engine braking. Dun really know how to describe the sound but its mechanical and its pretty damn loud and obvious.. guessing the slipper clutch.

The sound seems to come from somewhere on the left side of the engine though.

Any advice will be appreciated.

LIFE IS YOURS... DO WHAT YOU DO BEST!

Now riding - GILERA ST200

  mx_catfish said:
Knocking sound?

Usually transmission between the higher gears, e.g. while kicking up from 3 to 4, the clutch slips to neutral and starts free wheeling on high speed .... scary **** ! Kick back down it goes back to 3!

The important thing is that riders must know their bikes well and have more situation awareness to save their own asses!

No la not knocking sound.. some continuous sound which comes on top of the engine sound.. oh well.. cant really describe but its worrying me.. although so far i haven experienced any performance issues yet. ytd tested okada's bike then realised that sound is damn abnormal coz his is totally no sound during engine brake and mine is damn loud.

Craz suspected its the slipper clutch thing.. coz only occur during engine brake and the moment i clutch in no sound or the engine accelerating no sound.. only during decceleration then got that sound.. probably go bike shop see if they know anything or not..

Anyway nice fairings u got there.

Edited by AkalaPovic

  mx_catfish said:
Knocking sound?

it a sound like an aeroplane losing control n dropping from the sky.. haahaa

about the slipper clutch thingy... overseas honda had the bikes called back from servicing.. ( not recall).. juz merely servicing n adding something into the clutch system to reduce the chances of the false neutral..

alot of ppl complained about tat..

but maybe coz its the first time they did a slipper clutch bike on a 1000rr which has a 600 body with a power of the beast... haahaa

mx_catfish said:
Alamak! Missed it!

its ok..

we went other places after that.. den went bedok..

Supera said:
No la not knocking sound.. some continuous sound which comes on top of the engine sound.. oh well.. cant really describe but its worrying me.. although so far i haven experienced any performance issues yet. ytd tested okada's bike then realised that sound is damn abnormal coz his is totally no sound during engine brake and mine is damn loud.

Craz suspected its the slipper clutch thing.. coz only occur during engine brake and the moment i clutch in no sound or the engine accelerating no sound.. only during decceleration then got that sound.. probably go bike shop see if they know anything or not..

Anyway nice fairings u got there.

some might not know as not all as experience this problem b4..

best is... u ask ur previous owner.. where he serviced his bike...

n go over there ask the mech about this prob..

maybe they knew about it earlier alrdy...

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

  craz_03 said:
it a sound like an aeroplane losing control n dropping from the sky.. haahaa

about the slipper clutch thingy... overseas honda had the bikes called back from servicing.. ( not recall).. juz merely servicing n adding something into the clutch system to reduce the chances of the false neutral..

alot of ppl complained about tat..

but maybe coz its the first time they did a slipper clutch bike on a 1000rr which has a 600 body with a power of the beast... haahaa

its ok..

we went other places after that.. den went bedok..

some might not know as not all as experience this problem b4..

best is... u ask ur previous owner.. where he serviced his bike...

n go over there ask the mech about this prob..

maybe they knew about it earlier alrdy...

The bike was done at mah last time.. think i tmr drop by ah beng see if he can tell wat kinda funny aeroplane falling altitude sound is that lol

no wonder never see you all at cine. was there at around 12+

hmm. going for a long holiday soon. want to save the battery. which 1 to disconnect? the +ve or the -ve?

http://www.northbaysportriders.com/forums/uploads/monthly_03_2009/post-834-1237957022.jpg
  guangson said:
no wonder never see you all at cine. was there at around 12+

hmm. going for a long holiday soon. want to save the battery. which 1 to disconnect? the +ve or the -ve?

disconnect both n keep the batt at home..

=))

Suck it n ride!

  craz_03 said:
disconnect both n keep the batt at home..

=))

lol.. why need keep the batt at home?? safer?

http://www.northbaysportriders.com/forums/uploads/monthly_03_2009/post-834-1237957022.jpg
  guangson said:
lol.. why need keep the batt at home?? safer?

1. in case ppl try to steal ur bike..

they still can connect back the wires if the batt is there..

without, they LL need to push all the way.. haaha

2. in case ur loose live wires touch ur -ve or ur neg touch the +ve n fuse some other parts.. =)

Suck it n ride!

Hey guys

Just dropped by bikeprod a couple of days back ..

got quotation from them cbr2010rr 23k machine price ..

haven ask the remaining..

assuming roadtax ( 130 ) + insurance ( 2150 ) + COE ( 1250 ) + Admin ( 400 ) + 23k = 27k x 1.07% gst = 29k ?

is my calculation correct ? heh ..

intending to down 10k and take installment =(

if u guys got any better suggestions for 2nd hand or brand new pls lemme know =D intending to get it this july

-----------------------------------------

FS85** - NSR SP - 22/05/08 - 30/06/09

FS 11** - RVF Nc35 - 30/06/09 - 21/07/10

FBE 6334 - CBR1000RR HRC ! - 21/07/10 - **

Class 2B,2A,,2,3 1 time =D

  ayyang said:
Hey guys

Just dropped by bikeprod a couple of days back ..

got quotation from them cbr2010rr 23k machine price ..

haven ask the remaining..

assuming roadtax ( 130 ) + insurance ( 2150 ) + COE ( 1250 ) + Admin ( 400 ) + 23k = 27k x 1.07% gst = 29k ?

is my calculation correct ? heh ..

intending to down 10k and take installment =(

if u guys got any better suggestions for 2nd hand or brand new pls lemme know =D intending to get it this july

I dun think the calculation of the GST is correct.

U can only add the GST on the machine price or at most plus with the admin fees.

By the way wat is the admin fees for?

And u might wanna add $156 for the IU.

http://i601.photobucket.com/albums/tt96/douglas_yeo/Misc/ServerBZ.jpg

Bike parts sale -> http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/373436-WTS-CBR-600-Parts

  ahduck said:
I dun think the calculation of the GST is correct.

U can only add the GST on the machine price or at most plus with the admin fees.

By the way wat is the admin fees for?

And u might wanna add $156 for the IU.

hey bro ..

not sure abt that =X my friend got from bike prod

he says its standard 400 ? hahahaha

isee isee .. hmm so if i take 5 yrs loan aft that

im looking at 380 bucks installment ... omg !haha

really love this bike

saw 1 at southern last week .. think its for sale .. not sure if its 08 or 09

  ayyang said:
hey bro ..

really love this bike

admin fees might cover plate no, the "hard work" they put in to get ur bike for u...

so 29k, u down 10 k..

left 19k...

den 19k see how long loan u taking..

den * their loan interest in lo..

Suck it n ride!

  craz_03 said:
admin fees might cover plate no, the "hard work" they put in to get ur bike for u...

so 29k, u down 10 k..

left 19k...

den 19k see how long loan u taking..

den * their loan interest in lo..

yea .. expecting it to be a 4% thou .. hmm

really sexy bike .. arghh cant wait !!

anyway is there any known issues for it ? aside from the oil burnin ..

heh

  ayyang said:
hey bro ..

really love this bike

southern is 2010 version. =)

damn beautiful HRC colors and the orange white de.

  Tashi said:
Hahaha, great article!

Prasad, looks like you made the wrong switch. :cheeky:

Haha looks like the new fireblade is pretty good eh. Best for 08,09 and 2nd best for 2010.

Ppl still get the mentaility of cbr being slow though.. when they compared to the more tamed 04 to 07 cbr.