Our coming bible study is this Sat.

27 Sept 08

Gillman Village Canteen

12.00 to 2.00pm

Our discussion points will be:

- Bible and Christian's relationship

- Mission, Vision of Light Riders

http://www.thelightriders.org/

God Bless

just a shameless request but can i ask/suggest/plead that the discuss pt "Mission, Vision of Light Riders" be postpone? I wish to be ard to listen to wat will be discussed but this sat i can't come :)

• Replies 8.9k

• NinjaLite

• ChaoPuzzy1968

• redname

• lava

i seconded that HM got to be ard too

somustfirst check if Oct 1 Berkat home go other visitin group or not...

ldnt wan to cram d place

1995 Rd135 (3months);1995-1997 Kawa K100 97-00 Honda Steed cool black;00-02 Suzuki Swift

02-05 Ford Focus;05-07 Nissan Sucky

07- Camry;jan 08 -feb 08 KRR ;feb 08-apr08 -- Cbr400 J model ;

mar08 - sept 08 Cbr400 R model ; may08 -oct08 KTM200; oct 08 - feb09 XR4 ; feb09-apr10 gixxer 750 Apr09 -June10 DR650;apr10-aug 10 Africa Twin; sep 10- current fazer 1k....Jan-13 FortyEight

i think we should do something as a group on

Oct 1, whether it is Berkat Children's Home or

mission / vision or makan / minum. it's a good

opportunity to meet up with those who have

been lurking on the mailing list and sbf forum

thread but cannot come on saturday because

of work or other reasons.

anyone in favour of postponing this saturday's

bible study so that those attending wholess

thru christ can attend the whole thing without

worrying? and those who want to go Berkat

Children's Home with Leo Willems can go with

him ...

Guest Bite1968

him ...

I agree we should take time to do things sytematically - mord

BTW I haven't prepare the lesson n notes prperly yet:cry: :cry: -mord

erhmm i just emailed out sat meeting =P

sat bible studies is confirm.. sorry bite, got to burn some midnight oil

those cant attend bible studies this sat.. i'll try to take notes for u all lar. or bite can send us softcopies?

berkat home visit.. i propose having it on 1 oct.. will ask Leo to checkout if the children are having anything on. i think Leo is going with some group lar.. so its ok we go next time on bikes as some of us have given our words to the kids ;)

so after bible studies i will go back to WTC to have a proper close.. n i believe might have dvd for purchase.. so would not miss out anything =P and evening time will watch F1.

http://www.thelightriders.org/images/alpha.gif

Today is areadi Thur... So any group decision wil need to b done fast...

Reply via SMS is fastest.. can sms to Lava..or me 82880070

We wil consolidate the votes..n notify everyone via lightriders mailing list and also via sms if u have left ur contact

Votes on:

1. Carry on BS tis Sat

2. Postpone BS tis Sat

As for Oct 1 activities, we can discuss separately

1995 Rd135 (3months);1995-1997 Kawa K100 97-00 Honda Steed cool black;00-02 Suzuki Swift

mar08 - sept 08 Cbr400 R model ; may08 -oct08 KTM200; oct 08 - feb09 XR4 ; feb09-apr10 gixxer 750 Apr09 -June10 DR650;apr10-aug 10 Africa Twin; sep 10- current fazer 1k....Jan-13 FortyEight

haha lava...ok then pls ignore my prev post

Always lava, tim loves to post same time as me de.... or isit i purposely post same time as dem???

him ...

i like to second this proposal of postpone BS. We shld make decision & notify everyone early. Any more seconders?

I agree those attending the wholeness thru Christ should concentrate on it. Maybe the next BS, they can give us a 15 min executive summary of the whole seminar & lesson learned. For myself, I hope to give a short summary of how to cast a mountain of unsurmountable problems into sea, based on my church 's recent sermon (Mathew 21:21).

I planning to go to Berkat Children's Home either 1st Oct (PH wed) or 4th Oct (Sat). 1st Oct seems like the better date. We can even hv a BS on 4th Oct too. Any comments?

----------------

Those who plan to go to the Orphanage this sat, you may want to bring some Enid Blyton or nancy drew books for the children. Even old bibles, christian materials etc. I saw one of the children wearing a shoe with broken soles. Another children wearing shoe which is too large for him. My heart feel burden when i see this. If you dun want to feel like this, can consider bring something for the boys & girls there.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

i like to second this proposal of postpone BS. We shld make decision & notify everyone early. Any more seconders?

I agree those attending the wholeness thru Christ should concentrate on it. Maybe the next BS, they can give us a 15 min executive summary of the whole seminar & lesson learned. For myself, I hope to give a short summary of how to cast a mountain of unsurmountable problems into sea, based on my church 's recent sermon (Mathew 21:21).

I planning to go to Berkat Children's Home either 1st Oct (PH wed) or 4th Oct (Sat). 1st Oct seems like the better date. We can even hv a BS on 4th Oct too. Any comments?

----------------

Those who plan to go to the Orphanage this sat, you may want to bring some Enid Blyton or nancy drew books for the children. Even old bibles, christian materials etc. I saw one of the children wearing a shoe with broken soles. Another children wearing shoe which is too large for him. My heart feel burden when i see this. If you dun want to feel like this, can consider bring something for the boys & girls there.

The evangelist have spoken!....n i seconded:cheeky:

erhmm i just emailed out sat meeting =P

sat bible studies is confirm.. sorry bite, got to burn some midnight oil

those cant attend bible studies this sat.. i'll try to take notes for u all lar. or bite can send us softcopies?

berkat home visit.. i propose having it on 1 oct.. will ask Leo to checkout if the children are having anything on. i think Leo is going with some group lar.. so its ok we go next time on bikes as some of us have given our words to the kids ;)

so after bible studies i will go back to WTC to have a proper close.. n i believe might have dvd for purchase.. so would not miss out anything =P and evening time will watch F1.

haha, tht depends if i remember to on the voice recorder :p

Dear Light Riders,

This Sat Bible Study will be postponed to 2 weeks later(11 Oct), sorry for the last min. decision.

More time for us to prepare on the 2 qns for discussion.

1. What is the main theme of the bible?

2. What is the “administrative role” of the bible.

Will be checking out with the Children Home to arrange a visit on 1oct or 4oct.

Hope to see more riders coming along.

Hey let's ride to JB Children Home this 1 Oct.. since it is also Children's Day, its good opportunity to spend the day with the children.

Move off 9.30am from Esso JB. Do a U turn after custom (1st link), e kiosk is on ur left near police post.

There are a total of 19-20 kids.. previously Tim have posted some photos link, just refer to 1-2pages back you can find them.

Hope to see more bikes coming.. bring along xtra helmet to give the kids a little ride. :thumb:

sigh....shop quoted > 800+ to do overhaul..replace 2nd hand block,new power valve , pistons , rings..

guess i nid to prepare 1k....

feel like givin upriding liao....everymonth go bikeshop repair tis or repair dat..

sigh....shop quoted > 800+ to do overhaul..replace 2nd hand block,new power valve , pistons , rings..

feel like givin upriding liao....everymonth go bikeshop repair tis or repair dat..

KTM - Kills The Money..

change bike la!

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

wat about drz400? super motard for high speed & trailing.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Guest Bite1968

Change bike, I agree w the two guys...:giddy: :giddy: a bike that has 10km/litre....:faint:

The joy u have on off road and trail.....it is express in dollars and cents.

maybe u can get those cheaper to maintain bikes? for example, not a KTM :D

KTM - Kills The Money..

change bike la!

Change bike, I agree w the two guys...:giddy: :giddy: a bike that has 10km/litre....:faint:

The joy u have on off road and trail.....it is express in dollars and cents.

get a kup kias ...sure do everything one:cheeky:

Home > ST Forum > Online Story

Church member responds: 'We are different in our management of funds from most other faiths.'

THE coverage of New Creation Church's building activities has drawn many people to scrutinise the finances of the organisation as $500 million worth of investments is no small sum. As a Christian and a member of New Creation Church, I wish to share my view.

Churches are not buildings. We are a body of worshippers, whose first and primary objective of gathering, is to worship our god. We build communities and social and support networks around our faith.

We gather at least twice weekly: Adults into care groups and main worship, babies and toddlers into childcare, Sunday school for the children, as well as separate programmes for teenagers, singles and the under-30s.

It is a logistical nightmare for us because we gather to a size of 17,000 to 20,000 people, and we are growing at the rate of some 15 per cent to 20 per cent annually.

Unfortunately in Singapore, there are no pastures or land for us to pitch a tent legally for all these activities regularly and consistently. The Singapore Expo or the Indoor Stadium costs $150,000 to $200,000 to rent and equip per session. And this is just for the main service. We have to keep the children at home and suspend all other activities.

Many Christians grew up in Sunday school and Christian schools. Our morality and social networks have been framed since we were young in the hallowed halls of these organisations.

I dare say that Singapore, since it was a British Colony, has benefited from Christian organisations like the Methodists and the Catholics, which have shaped the fabric of our island.

Some of our best leaders, social and charitable infrastructure, and our schools came from Christians. Now, independent churches like New Creation, City Harvest and others are adding to the work and continuing the tradition.

So this is why we need to build.

Our Bible tells us that we should develop and multiply our resources: monies as well as capabilities. It is our god-given command. In this respect, the Jews are a prime analogy. Why do so many of Wall Street's greatest banks have origins from this race. And why do Jews have the largest share, comparatively, of Nobel Prize winners? Is it a product of such a command or tradition?

Hence, in this respect, we are different in our management of funds from most other faiths.

The aim of New Creation is to create a church that, outside our schedules, allows us to set up a concert and meeting venue whose size falls in between that of the Singapore Indoor Stadium and the Esplanade. The statistics tell us that this is an ideal size because it fills a niche and is in line with the Government's aim to grow tourist numbers.

Instead of expending our funds on rent and makeshift tents, we are putting our church savings to good use. We can reap venue rentals. Instead of just expensing, we are investing.

Does this mean we do less charity? Not so, for a Christian will tithe and gift to charity separately. It is our tradition.

There will always be the poor and the needy. Giving $500 million may cure hunger quickly, but it will not end it. In the meantime, people of faith will still have no place to gather and set up home for their families and future generations.

If we can keep our churches growing, we can continue cultivating generations of people well fed on morals and Christian virtues. Then, there will be hope for the needy yet as we put our god-given skills to work to break them free from their poverty traps, to give them schooling and tools of trade, to bring them into our schools and social network.

World Vision and the Salvation Army have shown what we can do and have been doing a magnificent job globally. Perhaps in time, you will hear of New Creation Church organisations as well. But for now, we have been supporting various organisations who need help: Yellow Ribbon, the National Kidney Foundation, The Straits Times School Pocket Money fund, schools and boats for people in tsunami-stricken areas and many others.

So don't mix up our faith practices with that of other faiths. We must build our church with a vision for posterity and we must practise charity. We have been blessed mightily in every way and we are glad we can afford it.

Wendy Lam (Ms)

Oh yes

KJV Revelation 3:17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that

thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:

ya, gues after i overhaul..i will sell it off n get sometin easier on my conscience..errr i mean my wallet....haha..mayb a well maintained XR250??

"

Our Bible tells us that we should develop and multiply our resources: monies as well as capabilities. It is our god-given command. In this respect, the Jews are a prime analogy. Why do so many of Wall Street's greatest banks have origins from this race. And why do Jews have the largest share, comparatively, of Nobel Prize winners? Is it a product of such a command or tradition?

"

I studied Sociology subject, does d above sounds like Calvinist doctrines???

IMHO, d point is not against buildin a larger buildin to house d congregation...but ...using half a BILLION dollars????

The Ends cannot justify d means...

Like old NKF...d aim is to generate as much reserves as possible(200 ++ millions) so it can b used for future revenue...but meanwhile d patients oni get peanuts....

MC,

the article you posted is regarding the use of funds in a church is it?

what is the gist?

thanks! i had avoided sending any opinions or views with regards to the topic "Singaporean Solutions". very vividly remembered in the movie "Just follow law" that the office superiors were shooting emails to and fro like the analogy of throwing darts and it bounds to land on someone's "face"!

so save the energy. maybe those involved in the discussion can meet up next BS and share more. =] i'll be happy to sit in and listen.

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

I studied Sociology subject, does d above sounds like Calvinist doctrines???

IMHO, d point is not against buildin a larger buildin to house d congregation...but ...using half a BILLION dollars????

The Ends cannot justify d means...

Like old NKF...d aim is to generate as much reserves as possible(200 ++ millions) so it can b used for future revenue...but meanwhile d patients oni get peanuts....

No lah it's TT durai Doctrine lah

MC,

the article you posted is regarding the use of funds in a church is it?

what is the gist?

thanks! i had avoided sending any opinions or views with regards to the topic "Singaporean Solutions". very vividly remembered in the movie "Just follow law" that the office superiors were shooting emails to and fro like the analogy of throwing darts and it bounds to land on someone's "face"!

so save the energy. maybe those involved in the discussion can meet up next BS and share more. =] i'll be happy to sit in and listen.

i was actually thinking of lower ...much lower....:cheeky: