• Replies 15.4k

hi guys, i have always wanted to buy a mito.. but not really sure is that bike problematic anot?? can you give mi some suggestion.. i feel that cagiva mito has the really die for kind for looks.. f**k nice lar..

Stick to the speed limit!!!

Originally posted by firebird@Jan 17 2006, 01:04 PM

Guys, my apologies for missing the SBF outing on Sunday. I badly wanted to meet you guys tat afternoon, but my friend test-driving the Subaru Legacy GT was too much to resist! ;>

Now frustration part....my bike couldn't crank again yesterday nite....and it wasn't in the rain at all. I can push-start it, but I'm frustrated tat a new bike can gimme tis kinda starting prob. I called Minerva & spoke to Eugene. He's asking me to tow the bike so tat he can diagnose. If I push-start & bring the bike to him, he will say there's nothing wrong...tis the 2nd time this starting prob is happening. But I don't wanna tow my bike! I spoke to Ah Yong (Mech at Minerva), he told me maybe it could be the spark plugs. Hmmm.....what can I do?

Or carburetor flood? Did you off the fuel?

Originally posted by firebird@Jan 17 2006, 01:04 PM

Guys, my apologies for missing the SBF outing on Sunday. I badly wanted to meet you guys tat afternoon, but my friend test-driving the Subaru Legacy GT was too much to resist! ;>

Now frustration part....my bike couldn't crank again yesterday nite....and it wasn't in the rain at all. I can push-start it, but I'm frustrated tat a new bike can gimme tis kinda starting prob. I called Minerva & spoke to Eugene. He's asking me to tow the bike so tat he can diagnose. If I push-start & bring the bike to him, he will say there's nothing wrong...tis the 2nd time this starting prob is happening. But I don't wanna tow my bike! I spoke to Ah Yong (Mech at Minerva), he told me maybe it could be the spark plugs. Hmmm.....what can I do?

well bro mito's the same as other 2stroke bikes. it's terribly sensative to weather changes. and it was a rainy season few days back. even i got most of my ignition wires burnt away! maybe u can list down wad are the sympthoms & sounds u heard when cranking ur engine?

if no sound, u can check if the battery connector screws are tight(very important!), whether the solenoid starter & relay starter connectors are fitted in tight too. for my planet, the plug to the solenoid starter always comes loose from time to time.

if got sound but din start, did u try ur choke? during cold weather or rainy season, or even long periods of din starting ur bike, pulling ur choke can do wonders heheh.

are u the lucky chap wit a fz plate black mito? :cheer: :goodluck:

]

Anyone wanna ride to Kota Tingi this Sat or Sun? I m organizing a trip there. So long as there are about 4 bikes, the trip is on. Pls check the Aprilia thread for more info. Total trip is about 160km n entrance fees there is RM10. Travelling at about 70-110km/h so any bike can go. On the way back, u can spped all u want but going there I will be leading slowly. Lady riders are also welcome but dont bring bikini there causeit is a malay country. We are going for a swim there n the trip will be rewarding with good views n fresh air. Post ur name on the Aprilia thread if u want to go.

Wan u must come huh....

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

Originally posted by Bloodrun@Jan 17 2006, 07:23 PM

hi guys, i have always wanted to buy a mito.. but not really sure is that bike problematic anot?? can you give mi some suggestion.. i feel that cagiva mito has the really die for kind for looks.. f**k nice lar..

well bro, cagiva mitos or aprillias are the same as other thai 2strokers basically. and they offer more expensive & premium components dats found on bigger bikes like marzzochi inverted fork, brembo brakes, etc.

however, parts do get worn out or damaged through age or abuse(same as thai bikes), and since italian bikes are electric started(most had problems of starting & tend to cause the battery to be drained fast so lan lan muz push start), they do require more care & maintainance than other thai bikes dat are kick started. spare parts are readily available, of course at a higher price since they're ordered in from italy.

thai bikes' spare parts are cheaper too as they're mostly made in thailand & had alot more generic brands to choose from.

performance wise, most popular thai bikes are 150cc, fitted wit thinner tyres & might be lighter in weight too compared to italian bikes of 125cc. so the former might offer better pickup or top speed, etc.

but the latter tend to corner better & offer more confidence wit speed. however if u can spare the cash to fit a bigger bore carb, arrow fullsys(not available for thai bikes), and other performance stuffs, u can then unleash the true potential of italian bikes! plus they're more chio in their design!

]

Italian bikes are lighter than Jap bikes basically. Aprilia I m riding so I know. The bike is extremely stable at 170km/h. Aerodymanics... Mito is also the same.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

Originally posted by LuckyExplorer@Jan 17 2006, 03:58 PM

can push start means not sparkplug...

i think should be battery or relay... think only...

You on the normal light or pole light when riding?

There's no cranking sound at all....only kinda click click sound everytime I press the electric start. The fuel is turned to on. The led lights come on when I turn the ignition.

What is this normal & pole light? No one told me about this, not even the mech. I just turn on the light switch one click on the left handlebar during daytime. At nighttime, I turn on the light switch 2 clicks.

Mine is 1 month old....You think cld be batt or relay?? When I sent for 1000km service last week, Eugene (Minerva) told me my batt is strong! But he didn bother to diagnose the prob for me.

BTW, mine is the FZ yellow Mito!

Thanks guys....but I'm feeling bit down with my 1-month old bike. Besides, it's my 1st beloved bike!

Only click click sound i feel that its ur batt or the recharger is fried...

Anyway dun wait wait wait to find out the problem of ur bike.

BTW did u turn the throttle alot when u try to start the bike??

If yes maybe u have flooded the carb.

This problem can be solved by waiting awhile then try start the bike again.

Nevertheless sent ur bike for a checkup, insist the mech to check it for u.

U r the one riding the bike not the mech.

-=*Xe'jsor*=- a.k.a A|aN

http://homepage2.nifty.com/lau_hongkong/exibithion-3/img/trexi-singapore-200510/s-45.jpg

there are 2 planets at my void deck~ :lovestruck:

all an older mito needs is care + maintenance + love + TM38 + arrow full system~ :cheeky:

Originally posted by Bloodrun@Jan 17 2006, 07:23 PM

a little bit of luck comes into play~ my first mito only gave me battery probs~

anyway guys.. and my most beloved old birds like amin etc, those missing in action ppl like kron, sols etc, and newer favourites like gay-richard-balls etc, next wk is my birthday.. so pls.. try to turn up.. lolx..

date: mon 23.01.2006

venue: planet marina, marina south car park a ( Pub called XMYD, u can see the signboard when u enter car park A )

time: 9pm?

1. .::CoRoNa::.

2. jonathan!

3. speed demon.

there is no fast bikes...only fast riders...

Originally posted by .::CoRoNa::.@Jan 16 2006, 12:19 AM

Nice ride everyone.. Amin too bad, couldn't spend enough time with you before your date.. Haiz i turning gay liao i like your balls. . Lol

bro.....u forgot to kiss my left balls before u left dat day...dun forget next time hor!! :lovestruck:

there is no fast bikes...only fast riders...

well thanks guys for the advise.. i am like riding and sp now.. so far i dun really have problem.. but i think i am going for a mito.. do u guys koe wat is the market rate for a mito now? i got my 2A already.. ride rvf before.. that bike really had quite alot of problem so i abit scare of electric start bikes now..

Stick to the speed limit!!!

Originally posted by firebird@Jan 18 2006, 11:19 AM

There's no cranking sound at all....only kinda click click sound everytime I press the electric start. The fuel is turned to on. The led lights come on when I turn the ignition.

What is this normal & pole light? No one told me about this, not even the mech. I just turn on the light switch one click on the left handlebar during daytime. At nighttime, I turn on the light switch 2 clicks.

Mine is 1 month old....You think cld be batt or relay?? When I sent for 1000km service last week, Eugene (Minerva) told me my batt is strong! But he didn bother to diagnose the prob for me.

Thanks guys....but I'm feeling bit down with my 1-month old bike. Besides, it's my 1st beloved bike!

Yours is definitely not spark plug or battery problem... im not 100% sure about this but the symptoms sound like your bike is having a starter motor prob.

to confirm about this, u turn ur key on to ignition, on ur headlights, and try to start your bike. If your headlights doesn't dim at all while u press the electric start button, 90% possibility that the problem lies with your starter motor. The 'clicking' sound you hear coming out from underneath your seat (where the batt is) is also a symptom of faulty starter motor.

if the prob really lies with your starter motor and you r unable to start, engage your bike into gear and rock it forward n backward for a few times without pulling your clutch. you should hear a rotating sound coming from the starter motor on the bottom left. This mainly solves faulty starter motor that have bad connectivity. By moving the 'fans' inside away from a bad connection, the starter motor should be able to crank and start.

alternatively, which is a more troublesome method, take out your left-hand side fairing. the starter motor is located at the left side. use a spanner or hammer and give the starter motor's frame a good tap (knock). sometimes this solves the connection prob inside too, but of cos not too hard!

if both methods fail, den push starting the bike is the only n final way, and yes, push-start is possible with a faulty starter motor.

hope this helps.

cheers~

http://sg.geocities.com/lshiro82/signature.jpg

anyway im really curious about ur new 1-month mito having a starter-motor (if it is) prob... and the nonchalent attitude of your mechanic eugene makes me wonder oso... u bought your mito from minerva? Anyway it will be good to learn more about the mito such as the various components n some common problems mito riders face everyday, so that u don't get caught helpless in such situations...

i've heard of shops short-changing their customers who knows little about their purchased product... if u get wat i mean...

just a thought... *shrugs*

cheers~

http://sg.geocities.com/lshiro82/signature.jpg

same thing happened on my boat a few years ago...

try like hell to figure out what was wrong... and try like mad to fix it....

after about an hour......

i found out that the battery connections were loose... the click click sound was the sparking of the battery terminals against the connectors... lol... check yours...

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

Originally posted by jonathan543@Jan 18 2006, 01:50 AM

170km/h? damned my planet top 135km/h on my digital speedo nia... sianz 1/2haha... my mistake of the weight diff heheh :sweat: :sorry:

i tried to drag my 4th gear to red line... lol... 150km/h... hahaha...

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg