Now I also understand something already...

Good luck to you bro...

• Replies 102

approach mp to appeal my case,letter came but lta dun care cos i admitted to have altered the coupon the charges cannot be drop.but it was a mistake i made.

MP cannot do much but just ask on my behalf and now i am going to resign since its consider "cheating".

i understand if u r in police ,the person will be dismissed.so for other dept oso the same i am finished haf to start my career all over again.

u would like to approach ur nearest MP to appeal for lighter sentence?

1small hope...

approach mp,letter came but lta dun care cos i admitted to have altered the coupon the charges cannot be drop.but it was a mistake i made.

MP cannot do much but just ask on my behalf and now i am going to resign since its consider "cheating".

i understand if u r in police ,the person will be dismissed.so for other dept oso the same i am finished haf to start my career all over again.

------------

go to mp and get him to ecommend free legal help!they can help u! dont wait oredi.they can make many scenarios in order to reduce fine and keep your job

!!!

i already went look for lawyer ,he say cannot tell lie must say the truth.

since then i never look for that lawyer .

------------

go to mp and get him to ecommend free legal help!they can help u! dont wait oredi.they can make many scenarios in order to reduce fine and keep your job

!!!

Wonder if you dont pay up, can you choose jail terms ? And usually how long will that be ? If for few weeks, can consider.

Yes, you squat in prison for a few weeks, but you get a criminal record that will follow you for life. Is that worth it?

This kind of criminal record will affect your career meh ? Only cannot pay fine, like tat only i believe it ok right ?

actually if i got court fine does it mean i have a criminal record ?

I really sympathise with u bro. Wish u all the best ya.

Just wanna say something is seriously wrong with the law. A person's life is almost ruined just because of a simple thing like this, while there are reckless drivers out there causing suffering to other innocent people who get away with lighter punisment than this. In football terms it's like sending off a player who handballed in the box vs only booking another for breaking another's person's ankle.

actually if i got court fine does it mean i have a criminal record ?

if this is trialed as a traffic offence, then no.

bro, dun tink too much k. no good for health. when the day come then see how. since u can pay off the amt, then you are quite ok.

Just wanna say something is seriously wrong with the law. A person's life is almost ruined just because of a simple thing like this, while there are reckless drivers out there causing suffering to other innocent people who get away with lighter punisment than this. In football terms it's like sending off a player who handballed in the box vs only booking another for breaking another's person's ankle.

i agree somehow. but you got to understand also that this offence is not easy to catch.

tp/rov got to be there to stop and physically inspect the coupon. how many times u see them on the rd and how many opc on the road out there...very hard to meet one.

i agree somehow. but you got to understand also that this offence is not easy to catch.

tp/rov got to be there to stop and physically inspect the coupon. how many times u see them on the rd and how many opc on the road out there...very hard to meet one.

Hard to catch then is the fault of lta for not using the technology available to them, it's unfair to give out such a huge punishment that's not proportionate to the offence. If they can develop ERP, they should be able to implement better ways of getting drivers to pay if they want to use OPC cars in the day, instead of using coupons.

Maybe something like programming the car such that the engine can only be started after the time period, and if drivers wants to drive during peak hours, can insert cashcard in the IU. Prevention is better than cure. But here it's mostly a case of punishing the offender instead of preventing it in the first place.

Guest tangolima

Cheating is NOT a traffic offence. IT is a criminal offence.

Those who tamper thier coupon will have it seized and presented it to the jugde for evaluation on how severe the offence is.

Like all of us mention.. a court fine is a guarentee! but the jail term is the question here....

Kindly go to the AGC website and check it to confirm.

like they say CRIME DOESNT NOT PAY

yes but i said already it was a mistake i made.

btw anyone can vet my plea letter to the judge .is my 1st time and i do not know if what i wrote is correct or not.

Cheating is NOT a traffic offence. IT is a criminal offence.

Those who tamper thier coupon will have it seized and presented it to the jugde for evaluation on how severe the offence is.

Like all of us mention.. a court fine is a guarentee! but the jail term is the question here....

Kindly go to the AGC website and check it to confirm.

like they say CRIME DOESNT NOT PAY

Bro, if you know mens rea/actus rea, you'd probably understand how the law works. It's the presence of the criminal intent & act. Take for example that arsehole Regan Lee who killed the salesgirl in the MX5. Although we agree that the consequences were horrendous, he did not have the intent to kill her. In the end, he got 10 years driving ban + 7 months jail (as I recall) for his foolhardy act.

But a person who fails to pay his HDB/URA parking fines, despite receiving numerous reminders & fails to appear in court, will receive a 99-year driving ban. The fact remains that the intent of not wanting to pay still constitutes the presence of intent.

Hard to catch then is the fault of lta for not using the technology available to them, it's unfair to give out such a huge punishment that's not proportionate to the offence. If they can develop ERP, they should be able to implement better ways of getting drivers to pay if they want to use OPC cars in the day, instead of using coupons.

Maybe something like programming the car such that the engine can only be started after the time period, and if drivers wants to drive during peak hours, can insert cashcard in the IU. Prevention is better than cure. But here it's mostly a case of punishing the offender instead of preventing it in the first place.

Bro, I own an OPC car also. $17,000 rebate is a huge amount so it's a big deal to them when someone tries to "cheat" or "negotiate" their way around this. The technology you recommend is not cheap. It will mean tinkering with the cars ignition system (like in the States where known drink drivers have to blow into a breathalyser before their car can be started) & my guess is that the cost will be loaded onto the price of the car. Perhaps in a few years, this might be feasible.

The LTA cannot babysit everyone if they have to prevent this from happening. The onus is still on the driver to ensure that he fulfills his obligations before driving off. If I follow your rationale, there'd be wardens at every roads just to ensure that people don't jaywalk, no?

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

if this is trialed as a traffic offence, then no.

bro, dun tink too much k. no good for health. when the day come then see how. since u can pay off the amt, then you are quite ok.

hi madman ,by the way the mp letter to lta is rejected ,with the seriousness of my offence doubt i can stay on in p.s..really at a lost already.

will be seek appeal to my boss not to sack me.my life is finished.

hi madman ,by the way the mp letter to lta is rejected ,with the seriousness of my offence doubt i can stay on in p.s..really at a lost already.

will be seek appeal to my boss not to sack me.my life is finished.

so, your contract says if above certain amt fine will be sacked? if so how much? i doubt will be above $10k fine.

Guest tangolima
yes but i said already it was a mistake i made.

btw anyone can vet my plea letter to the judge .is my 1st time and i do not know if what i wrote is correct or not.

not tryin to be a wet blanket..just face the music..and let hope it wont turn out bad. let hope your case dont get upgraded by the AGC... if it does... good luck mate

Just imagine this

You go to a store and u saw this beautiful shoes... price tag 90..u decided to find another shoe price tag cost 30 bucks and then you replace it.. you were caught upon paying... What happen..charge you of cheating instead of tampering... 5K fine and jail...1 mth... **** man.. that what happen to my fren...

i too been to court to pay a $800 fine and 12demerit point years ago.. a painful lesson...didnt make a big fuss coz i am caught and just face the music... hahahaha i still have the court letter and reciept hang at my wall as a rememberance

Guest tangolima

Kindly refer here for the breakdown and how the charges are spelt out. I maybe RITE OR WRONG here

Restricted licences and supplementary licences

11A. —(1) The Registrar may, upon application by the owner of a motor vehicle in such circumstances as may be prescribed, issue a licence subject to the restriction that the motor vehicle shall not be driven on any road or on any specified road during specified days or times unless there is in force a supplementary licence for that motor vehicle.

[16/91;28/2001]

(2) The Minister may make rules for carrying out or giving effect to this section and, in particular, such rules may —

(a) provide for the issue of supplementary licences, whether at prescribed fees or without charge, and regulate their use and exhibition; and

(b) provide for all matters necessary or incidental to allow subsection (1) to apply or cease to apply to motor vehicles of any description, including the re-registration of such vehicles and the imposition of any fee or levy in connection with such re-registration.

[16/91;28/2001]

(3) Any person who drives a motor vehicle, issued with a licence subject to the restriction referred to in subsection (1), in contravention of such a restriction or any owner of such a motor vehicle who causes or permits his vehicle to be so driven shall be guilty of an offence and shall on conviction be punished with —

(a) a fine not exceeding $5,000; and

(b) in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, a fine not exceeding $10,000.

[16/91;28/2001;1/2003]

(4) Any person who —

(a) falsifies an identification mark or plate prescribed in the case of a motor vehicle issued with a licence subject to the restriction referred to in subsection (1); or

(b) displays, or causes or permits to be displayed, a falsified identification mark or plate on such a motor vehicle,

shall be guilty of an offence and shall on conviction be punished with a fine not exceeding $20,000 or with imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or with both.

[16/91;28/2001;1/2003]

(5) Notwithstanding the provisions of any written law to the contrary, a District Court or Magistrate’s Court shall have the jurisdiction to try any offence under this section and to impose the maximum penalty prescribed therefor.

Guest tangolima

Or maybe this

False statements, forging of licences, etc.

129. —(1) If any person —

(a) in relation to an application made under this Act for registration or the cancellation of the registration of a vehicle, the grant of any approval, permit or licence to himself or any other person, or for the purpose of preventing the grant or variation of any approval, permit or licence or of procuring the imposition of any condition or limitation in relation to any approval, permit or licence, makes or causes to be made any statement or declaration which is false or in any material respect misleading;

(b) furnishes or causes to be furnished any particulars in connection with a change of the registration of any vehicle which to his knowledge are false or in any material respect misleading; or

© makes or causes to be made any entry in a record, register or other document required to be kept under this Act which to his knowledge is false or in any material respect misleading,

he shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $5,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both.

[45/99;1/2003]

(2) If any person —

(a) forges or alters or defaces or mutilates or uses or lends to, or allows to be used by, any other person, any mark, plate or document which is required under this Act to be carried on a vehicle or trailer, or any licence issued under this Act;

(b) makes or has in his possession any mark, plate or document so closely resembling a licence or any mark, plate or document as aforesaid as to be calculated to deceive;

© alters any entry made in a record, register or other document kept under this Act;

(d) exhibits upon any vehicle or trailer any licence or identification mark, plate or document which has been forged, altered, defaced, mutilated or added to or any colourable imitation of a licence, mark, plate or document which is required under this Act to be carried on a vehicle or trailer;

(e) transfers or affixes to any vehicle or trailer for which it was not issued any licence, identification mark, plate or document which is required under this Act to be carried on a vehicle or trailer; or

(f) uses any forged, altered, defaced or mutilated driving licence or any driving licence to which any addition not authorised by this Act has been made,

he shall, unless he establishes to the satisfaction of the court that he acted without intent to deceive, be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to be punished as follows:

(i) in the case of a person who is convicted for the first time of an offence under subsection (2) (a) or (d) in connection with the alteration of a supplementary licence issued under section 11A, with a fine not exceeding $10,000;

(ii) in the case of a person who is convicted of a second or subsequent offence under subsection (2) (a) or (d) in connection with the alteration of a supplementary licence issued under section 11A, with a fine not exceeding $20,000 or with imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or with both; and

(iii) in any other case, with a fine not exceeding $5,000 or with imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or with both.

[45/99;1/2003]

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of any written law to the contrary, a District Court or Magistrate"s Court shall have the jurisdiction to try any offence under this section and to impose the maximum penalty prescribed therefor.

[1/2003]

(4) Subsection (2) shall, with the necessary modifications, apply in relation to a document evidencing the appointment of an officer for the purposes of this Act as it applies in relation to a licence.

(5) If any police officer or the Registrar or officer authorised by the Registrar in writing has reasonable cause to believe that a document carried on a motor vehicle or any licence or record or other document produced to him in pursuance of the provisions of this Act is a document in relation to which an offence under this section has been committed, he may seize the document.

(6) When any document is seized under this section, the driver or the owner of the vehicle shall, if the document is still detained and neither of them has previously been charged with an offence under this section, be summoned before a District Court or Magistrate’s Court to account for his possession of or the presence on the vehicle of the document.

(7) The District Court or Magistrate’s Court shall make such order respecting the disposal of the document and award such costs as the justice of the case may require.

(8) For the purposes of subsections (5), (6) and (7), “document” shall include a plate and the power to seize shall include power to detach from the vehicle.

so, your contract says if above certain amt fine will be sacked? if so how much? i doubt will be above $10k fine.

i not under contract ,anyway the rule i heard is $1.5k max and if reach this amount i be sack already.if i resign now go outside oso hard to find job.so i just work till they sack me.somemore go court 21 .anyway thanks

I have two friends in the Civil Service who were in the same position as you. If you pay the fine in full, the management will query on this. If you give the reason that you tore off the wrong date, they will treat this as a bona fide mistake and you will remain in the Civil Service....

Both my friends are still employed in the service. One of them even got promoted this year. No worries.

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

I have two friends in the Civil Service who were in the same position as you. If you pay the fine in full, the management will query on this. If you give the reason that you tore off the wrong date, they will treat this as a bona fide mistake and you will remain in the Civil Service....

Both my friends are still employed in the service. One of them even got promoted this year. No worries.

thats good new for you TS.

as mentioned 1st time is a hefty fine. below 10k possible if you plead.

just for info, Immigration at the check points will also check the coupon if you go in jb during restricted hours...