Originally posted by coolcat@Jun 25 2006, 12:22 AM

Suicide ... you parked at the Capital Tower pavement? How come no bike park around there? I work at International Plaza. Give me a holler when you around la.

A maroon R1150R I've seen at Kallang (Old Air-Port road) before ... a FW plate?

Cat

If I not hanging around the office long, I just leave bike at the pavement. But I have season parking at Cap Tower. Lazy la sometimes go up ramp to carpark....:smile:

Predicting The Unpredictable, Expecting The Unexpected

http://cfp-tang.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 329

Hello,

Glad to have found this forum. I'm a re-entry Class 2 wannabe -stopped riding in 92 when I got a car and now itching for some 0-100 in 3 sec kick. My colleague's RT made me lau nwah but I can't afford 20k. So I thought I should start cheaper in case this is one of those phases that passes over.

So I've been googling and oogling the past few days and figured the R1100R, R1150R or R1200C would be my cup of tea. I'm too short for the GS & don't really care for dirt.

And there's this blue R1100R on the classifieds. Does it belong to any one of u guys?

Would like some advice on this bike, such as:

1. R parts still available in PML or local mechanics?

2. Is it known as a maintenance free (macham super 4 reputation) or is it known to require heaps of maintenance?

3. What's the km/litre of fuel like?

4. I read the power band is good for low to mid rev. True?

5. Is it too heavy for short assed 1.68 guy to control at stand still?

6. Would it be wise to save up a few more $k to get a latter R1150 model? Besides the looks, what are the key technology or safety features?

7. Is this comfortable enough for a say annual or bi-annual trip up north to hatyai or something? Would it be comfy for 2 up?

8. Anybody know anybody selling a R1200C in SG? Looks damn chio.

9. What's the insurance for 1st party? B4 that, do they offer 1st party for end COE bikes?

10. R Beemer bikes very prone to theft?

I mainly want something to zip around in town & park on pavement over the weekend or at night.

Hope to hear from the owners here. Thanks, LL6

Just wish to contribute my feedback to this R1100R.

I have did lots of researches on this bike. A lot of mechanics actually claimed the least problematic BMW bikes are the R1100R & R1100GS. I have personally made an comparison between my previous bike ST11 against my R1100R.

Upsides of R1100R are:

1.) They are naked bikes. Easy to work with.

2.) Very well built.

3.) Not as much sensitive electronic as compared to the new series R1150/R1200 etc.

4.) Very classic looking. Classic looks never die.

5.) carburettor (3rd world countries still capable of servicing)

6.) 2 spark plugs only.

7.) Power is well distributed. Not as fast as the K1200S or St11 but enough torque to overtake all kinds of situation.

8.) cheap insurance

9.) Parts still available

10.) Suspension is superb.

Downsides of R1100R are:

1.) No windshield

2.) No fan, but luckily still got oil coolers.

3.) Starter always give problem (all BMW bikes have this same problem)

4.) Boxer engine tends to burn engine oil more compared to V engine.

5.) No wind protection. At speed above 160kph, yr legs will be pull apart by the wind.

6.) Boxer engine not smooth as compared to V engine.

7.) clutch cable tends to snap as compared to hydrolic clutch. (but easily change by a layman)

8.) Rear wheel is 18 inches, not very common on the market.

Live to Dream or Dream to live

Originally posted by niel@Jun 27 2006, 07:14 PM

Just wish to contribute my feedback to this R1100R.

I have did lots of researches on this bike. A lot of mechanics actually claimed the least problematic BMW bikes are the R1100R & R1100GS. I have personally made an comparison between my previous bike ST11 against my R1100R.

Upsides of R1100R are:

1.) They are naked bikes. Easy to work with.

2.) Very well built.

3.) Not as much sensitive electronic as compared to the new series R1150/R1200 etc.

4.) Very classic looking. Classic looks never die.

6.) 2 spark plugs only.

7.) Power is well distributed. Not as fast as the K1200S or St11 but enough torque to overtake all kinds of situation.

8.) cheap insurance

9.) Parts still available

10.) Suspension is superb.

Downsides of R1100R are:

1.) No windshield

2.) No fan, but luckily still got oil coolers.

3.) Starter always give problem (all BMW bikes have this same problem)

4.) Boxer engine tends to burn engine oil more compared to V engine.

5.) No wind protection. At speed above 160kph, yr legs will be pull apart by the wind.

6.) Boxer engine not smooth as compared to V engine.

7.) clutch cable tends to snap as compared to hydrolic clutch. (but easily change by a layman)

8.) Rear wheel is 18 inches, not very common on the market.

Thanks for the info!

How often does a starter fail? Is it a 3 figure or 4 figure repair?

When U say burn engine oil, is it like 1 litre per month/per week?

So how far can U go on a full tank? and how big (litres) is a full tank?

Originally posted by lowlife6@Jun 27 2006, 06:35 AM

2. Is it known as a maintenance free (macham super 4 reputation) or is it known to require heaps of maintenance?

6. Would it be wise to save up a few more $k to get a latter R1150 model? Besides the looks, what are the key technology or safety features?

7. Is this comfortable enough for a say annual or bi-annual trip up north to hatyai or something? Would it be comfy for 2 up?

9. What's the insurance for 1st party? B4 that, do they offer 1st party for end COE bikes?

I mainly want something to zip around in town & park on pavement over the weekend or at night.

The R parts are available, in PML, or via internet or shops which stocks BM parts, which I believe comes from PML anyway. A mech once told me that most shops do not want to do BMW cos' BMW parts are sold at retail prices to repair shops, so nothing to be earned from there by the shops.

Maintenance is cheap and ex. Cheap cos' it is durable and every 10,000 (except oil changes and valve clearances) but e.g. when you need Hall sensor every 40,000, its a few hundred bucks. Clutch is $1,300 but will last 120,000 km. Screws, plastic bits, etc are not cheap.

I've seen a 1.6m guy ride a GS ... confidently.

R1100s will deliver about 17 to 22 km/l, the 1150 has a 20 litre tank, dunno about the 1100. Powerband is better than the 1150 but do take the 1150's 6th gear as an overdrive.

R1200C - see newspapers last saturday.

R1150 - 6 gears, better ABS, servo-actuated brakes, Linked intergral brakes (front controls front and rear). Cat converter and exhaust detachable.

Many have taken the R1100, 1150 to Thailand. I've ridden it over 1,000km in 2 days, no problem. BMW are renown for comfort.

City riding, problem is the side boxes, too wide to squeeze comfortably. So either lose the side boxes, put a top box, or carry helmet. Pavement mountable.

The R1100R is a beautiful bike. Classic lines. BTW, it has a steering damper too.

Think that BMW bikes are not prone to theft, except for BMW logos.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Originally posted by niel@Jun 27 2006, 07:14 PM

Upsides of R1100R are:

I think that R1100R is EFI already. The last of the carb models are the R100 series, with Bing carbs.

Yes, the R1100R is a lovely bike with nice lines.

Cat

Hope this will help ... power of the Internet ::::::

R1100R Roadster

Production 1993 - 2001

Numbers Produced 26,073

Engine Four-stroke, two cylinder, horizontally opposed "Boxer" engine, air cooled

Bore x Stroke 99 x 70.5 mm (3.89 x 2.77 in)

Displacement 1085 cc

Max Power 80 hp (59 KW) at 6,750 rpm or 78 hp (58 Kw) at 6,500 rpm

Valves Per Cylinder 4

Carburation System Electronic injection, Bosch Motronic MA 2.2

Clutch Dry single plate, with lever action diaphragm spring

Number of Gears 5

Gearbox Ratios 4.16 / 2.91 / 2.13 / 1.74 / 1.45 : 1

Wheel Rims, Front 3.50 x 17 or BMW cross spoke wheels 2.50 x 18

Wheel Rims, Rear 4.50 x 18 or BMW cross spoke wheels 4.00 x 17

Tyres, Front 120 / 70-ZR 17 or 110 / 80 ZR 18 (BMW cross spoke)

Tyres, Rear 160 / 60-ZR 18 or 150/70 ZR 17 (BMW cross spoke)

Brakes, Front Dual disc brake 305 mm / 12 in diameter

Brakes, Rear Single disc brake 276 mm / 10.86 in diameter

Dimensions/Weights

Length x Width x Height 2197 x 898 x 1060 mm (86.49 x 35.35 x 41.73 in)

Wheel Base 1487 mm / 58.54 in

Fuel Tank Capacity 21 litres / 4.61 gal / 5.54 gal US

Unladen Weight with Full Tank 235 Kg / 517 lb

Seat Height (Unladen) 760 / 780 / 800 mm (29.9 / 30.7 / 31.5 inches)

Fuel Consumption (at constant 90 Kph) 4.6 litres 100 Km / 61 mpg / 51 mpg US

Top Speed 197 Kph / 122 mph

Acceleration 0 - 100 Kph / 62 mph 4.3 seconds

R1150R Roadster

Production 1999 - 2005

Engine Four-stroke, two cylinder, horizontally opposed "Boxer" engine, air cooled

Bore x Stroke 101 x 70.5 mm (3.97 x 2.77 in)

Displacement 1130 cc

Max Power 85 hp (62.5 KW) at 6,750 rpm

Valves Per Cylinder 4

Mixture Control / Engine Management Electronic intake pipe injection/digital engine management: Bosch Motronic MA 2.4 with overrun fuel cut off, twin spark ignition (December 2002 on)

Emission Control Closed loop 3 way catalytic converter

Clutch Single disc dry clutch, hydraulically operated

Gearbox Constant mesh 6 speed gearbox

Wheels Die cast aluminium wheels, Wheel Rims, Front 3.50 x 17, Wheel Rims, Rear 5.00 x 17

Tyres, Front 120 / 70-ZR 17

Tyres, Rear 170 / 60-ZR 17

Brakes, Front Twin disc 305 mm / 12 in floating, 4 piston fixed calipers. From 200?: EVO brake system with dual disc, floating brake discs, diameter 320 mm / 12.6 in, 4 piston fixed caliper

Brakes, Rear Single disc brake 276 mm / 10.86 in diameter, double piston floating caliper

ABS Special equipment BMW Motorrad Integral ABS (partially integral)

Dimensions/Weights

Length x Width x Height 2170 x 940 x 1220 mm (85.43 x 37.00 x 48.03 in)

Seat Height 800 mm / 31.49 in (special equipment low seat bench: 770 mm / 30.31 in

Wheel Base 1487 mm / 58.54 in

Fuel Tank Useable Volume 20.5 litres / 4.50 gal / 5.41 gal US, Reserve 4.0 litres / 0.87 gal / 1.05 gal US

Unladen Weight with Full Tank 238 Kg / 524 lb

Dry Weight 218 Kg / 480 lb

Fuel Consumption over 100 Km @ constant 90 Kph, 4.6 litres / 61 mpg / 51 mpg US. Fuel Consumption over 100 Km @ constant 120 Kph, 5.7 litres / 49 mpg / 41 mpg US

Top Speed Approx. 197 Kph / 122 mph

Cat

Thanks for all the answers/advice. Will be looking out for best options now. I dig the classic look for the R1100R. Only worry is maintenance;I kenna burnt by my old FZR1000 many years back. Bought $4k, spent $4k on repairs KNN

Hope I get to be a owner soon!

Later,

LL6

Hello,

Glad to have found this forum. I'm a re-entry Class 2 wannabe -stopped riding in 92 when I got a car and now itching for some 0-100 in 3 sec kick. My colleague's RT made me lau nwah but I can't afford 20k. So I thought I should start cheaper in case this is one of those phases that passes over.

So I've been googling and oogling the past few days and figured the R1100R, R1150R or R1200C would be my cup of tea. I'm too short for the GS & don't really care for dirt.

And there's this blue R1100R on the classifieds. Does it belong to any one of u guys?

Yes, they still carries the parts

maintanence wise is no expensive, coz engine oil are change every 10,000km.

But for me I change every 5000km. every 10,000km, I wil change the engine oil, gear oil, shaft oil, fuel filter, engine oil filter, spark plugs; all this adds up does not exceed $250.

I am having 18.5km/L to 19.5km/L and ave riding speed is around 100km/hr

yap, its a low to mid range tor. bike

The dry weight of the bike is 235kg, I don't think its heavy. currently my bike with my weight and 3 boxes are around 350kg

I can't really advice coz I never rode one R1150R before. But the looki is more modern

The seat is not comfortable but you can change and make a better seat(small problem). The bike feels more stable with 2up. This bike can travel any where you want it to go. The furthest I have travel on this bike is Cambodia and till now I do not have any major break down issue with this bike since the first day I bought the bike. Its a problem free bike till now(touch wood)

I don't think you can get first party for an end COE bike, but you can try asking, no harm. I am also not sure what is the first party rate.

No worries, only in the eyes of the beholder like the look of this bike, therefore thieves seldom eye on them, but I can't garentee for the parts, because currently there are too many thieves breaking boxes stealing parts, so whatever box you use also no use.

In malaysia, ppl will find it curious and like to look at this model but thieves wise, the look already make them loss interest of the bike. but to play safe, I have fixed alarm on the bike.

No worries zipping around town coz I zip through upp thomson road every morning with my 3 boxes

It's not the miles per hour you go; It's the smiles per mile you get

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

Just a few days didn't login there are suddenly so many kakis... good good good... we can alway gather some days when all are much free.

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

Juz checking with you guys ... If want to meet up gotta arrange time and place.

I reckon a good meet up place is the Railway station along Keppel road (outside CBD) or the Ya Kun along China Street (inside CBD) ... either place got parking and can drink kopi.

As for timing, anyone here work late? 7 pm a good time?

Cat

I am working a 12 hours shift therefore can be on during my off days, if working days I will be release at 1930hrs, therefore I can make it around 2100hrs... any place is fine for me coz singapore is a very small place...

www.kruzer.org.sg

Shall we have a meet up next Thu? make it a after work thing?

Anyway I'll be meeting a R1100R rider then, so feel free to meet up. Hope to see you guys and put faces to the names.

Cat

New R1200R is out ..... mixed feelings about the styling, definitely don't like the instruments ....

http://s49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_1r.jpg

http://s49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_6r.jpg

Cat

Originally posted by coolcat@Jul 6 2006, 08:06 PM

Shall we have a meet up next Thu? make it a after work thing?

Anyway I'll be meeting a R1100R rider then, so feel free to meet up. Hope to see you guys and put faces to the names.

Cat

So usually where did you meet? I mean this thursday... at KTM(railway station) or ka ya....

www.kruzer.org.sg

Originally posted by coolcat@Jul 8 2006, 10:01 AM

New R1200R is out ..... mixed feelings about the styling, definitely don't like the instruments ....

http://s49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_1r.jpg

http://s49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_6r.jpg

Cat

I don't really like the cockpit design, Its bit weird... I don't know.... But the shaft portion is quite nice looking.... I guess ours look more classic and catches more attention.... :smile:

www.kruzer.org.sg

Shall we fix it at KTM? say 7.00 pm if agreeable? Am ok if pushed to 9 as well.

Cat

Originally posted by coolcat@Jul 8 2006, 10:19 PM

Shall we fix it at KTM? say 7.00 pm if agreeable? Am ok if pushed to 9 as well.

Cat

OK, so I shall see you are the KTM around 1900hrs... usually where would you partk your bike. Usually for me I will park near to the entrance of the carpark where you will make a left turn after straight into the carpark.

Anyway if unable to find me please give me a call.

sean:96862453

www.kruzer.org.sg

Hi Coolcat, Can we meet later? I just remember that I am having my RT on that day and wouldn't be able to make it before 2100hrs... say can we meet around 2130hrs instead, on this thursday at KTM?

www.kruzer.org.sg

Movie for R1200R... enjoy....

R1200R Movie

www.kruzer.org.sg

Sure ... 2130hrs it will be ... see ya! Hope to see the rest of ya too!

Cat

Ok see ya....

www.kruzer.org.sg

Hi Bro coolcat,

Nice meeting you and your friend on thursday nite at KTM. I hope that the next meet up more RR owners can join in and we can discuss more on our model...

www.kruzer.org.sg

Good to catch ya too, and pick on your touring experience. Will head down to PML on Sat, to get some stuff. Also try out the jackets. Think it'll cost a bomb.

Darn .. now thinking about fitting spoked wheels .... :smile:

Cat

What jacket you are refering to?

By the way, how does fitting spoke rims come into your mind? I guess for your bike sport rims are nicer then spoked one...

www.kruzer.org.sg