If anyone has a suggestion, don't just keep it to yourself or post on the forums. Send it to the relevant authorities.

Recently, I feedback to HDB that the cashcard parking is pretty unfair to motorcyclists. I got a reply that they are looking into this! Obviously they had received lots of feedback on this.

The cynical may say HDB will take years to change the system. Perhaps, but if you don't feedback, HDB will never change the system.

(void *) &NHY;

We live in interesting times!

• Replies 13

are you able to quote their reply? I wan to see if the reply u got is same as mine. dunno if their replies are automated. i cant quote mine as the email auto deleted it. However, i shld be able to roughly recognize the way the reply was written.

If anyone has a suggestion, don't just keep it to yourself or post on the forums. Send it to the relevant authorities.

Recently, I feedback to HDB that the cashcard parking is pretty unfair to motorcyclists. I got a reply that they are looking into this! Obviously they had received lots of feedback on this.

The cynical may say HDB will take years to change the system. Perhaps, but if you don't feedback, HDB will never change the system.

Muahahaha... :lol: I guess I can foresee the reply already. Either it's rejected or they don't even bother to reply after this.

Hi hi, r u referring to for short period parking like less than 39 min, a bike parking fee costs more than a car parking fee, as cars are charged 1.66 cents per min but bike are charged 65 cents per session?

This unfair charging affect me as I need to park at a few carparks within a day and I end up paying more than a car driver does.

Can share their reply here? Would like to see how committed they are in ending this unfair charging.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

I just e-mailed to HDB this:-

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am a owner of a motorcycle and I came to realise the unfair charging system to motorbikes since very long ago but only now has summoned enough courage to feedback to you after hearing that HDB is being more friendly to the public recently.

When a bike and a car park at your cashcard carpark for less than 39 minutes, the bike actually pays MORE than the car, as the car is charged at 1.66 cents per min but the bike at 65 cents per session. This is alright if the bike park longer than 39 min, but grossly unfair if it parks shorter than 39 min.

I understand that there is no change in the parking fees when converted from the previous coupon parking to cashcard parking, but there is one point that HDB overlooks, that is the coupon parking is transferable but not the cashcard parking. THis mean that a bike can park at ANY HDB carparks with coupon parking, but when the bike visits several cashcard parking HBD carparks, he has to pay a few sessions of 65 cents. I know this is not the intention of HDB to allow coupon parking to be transferrable, but that is the case bike owners practise for many many years, because it is only fair that coupon parking is transferable, otherwise again bikes parking will cost more than car parking for period shorter than 39 min.

If you agree that bikes, being snaller and take up less space, should pay less in ALL cases, regardless of the duration of parking, then you should read further down to see if my 3 suggestions for change in the parking fees for bikes can be adopted.

1) Charge the bike per min too. A good guide is 0.54 cents per min or 1.66 cents per 5 min (I use 1 : 5 ratio as a car take up 5 times the space of a bike when both vehicles are parked). Since the cashcard ssytem can be programmed to charge cars by per min scheme, I don't see why it is so difficult to charge bike per min or per 5 min too.

Suggsetion 1 is best, in my opinion.

2) Make all cashcard carparks to be able to recognise the bike which has visited other cashcard carparks, so that the "transferrabilty" is still applicable and valid. THis is exactly the same as the old coupon parking system.

3) MAke all bikes use coupons in cashcard carparks, so bikes shoud be allowed to enter and exit cashcard carparks at ease, either by providing a narrow lane or via making the barrier shorter, and charge bikes using coupons. THis will increase manpower cost of HDB I think as you need to employ parking attendants to check the coupons of the bikes.

I really hope you can do something about it. All the bikers in Singapore is awaiting a favourable reply from you.

Have a nice weekend, Sir/madam.

Here is the reply, quite standard, but there lies a glimpse of hope..........

CASHCARD PARKING FEES FOR MOTORCYCLES

I refer to your email of 27 Sep 2008 to our HDB InfoWeb.

2 The existing 65-cents parking coupon for motorcycle allows a motorcyclist to park at a particular carpark for either day or night parking session but not at different carparks. The day parking session is between 7.00am and 10.30pm while the night parking session is between 10.30pm and 7.00am.

3 There is no change to the short-term parking charge for motorcycles in carparks with the Electronic Parking System (EPS). The parking charge remains at 65 cents for motorcyclists making multiple trips to the same carpark within the duration specified for day or night parking.

4 Nevertheless, as part of our regular review, we are currently reviewing the parking rates for motorcycles at car parks with EPS.

5 Please contact me at telephone 64902375 if you have any clarifications.

6 Thank you and have a nice day.

Yours sincerely,

4 Nevertheless, as part of our regular review, we are currently reviewing the parking rates for motorcycles at car parks with EPS.

I got this as part of their reply too.

I don't think the carpark gantries are linked up in real-time, so I hope they use per-minute charging, capped at some amount, say, $1. :D

I find it heartpain to pay $0.65 to ta-bao my $3 dinner. I can imagine the pain for couriers...

(void *) &NHY;

Is HDB considering making parking free for motorcycles?

Hard to believe, but I found that the entry barriers at my town centre were shortened. The barrier at the exit wasn't, but I wasn't charged anything.

Has anyone encountered the same thing?

(void *) &NHY;

Recently, I gave some feedback to HDB again.

Some lights (40%) on the top-level of my MSCP were not working. They had not been working for months! I finally got sick of it and emailed HDB. They acknowledged and repaired the lights within two weeks!

Feedback works!

(void *) &NHY;

sorry to hijack this thread

but does HDB in charge of those cash card water point ?

wan to write in and ask them to install at open area car park

they should cr8 more free space for eu to park ur bike mah..

Class2B - 11 Dec 08

Past - Honda Wave 125S

Current - Kawasaki KRR 150

Class3 - 26/09/09

Current - Lancer GLX 1.6

One Life, Treasure It

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x70/nengwei/R6-1.jpg

Future - YZF R6

I'll be quite sure if they do charge by the min, it'll be so for the full day, i.e. if u park 12 hours u pay 12*60*xcents, we are GGfied... Even if they cap at say $1 as suggested, it'll still be more exp than now.

Maybe dun suggest still 65cents(no per min), suggest le can spread butter on ass liao...

There will be people who win or lose out either way.

The 65 cents per entry is a relic from the past. It should have never been carried over to cashcard parking. Even cars are charged by per-minute. Why weren't they charged per-30 mins like the coupon system?

I think parking charges will go up, no matter what. I think the Government is just waiting for a chance to do so. It froze the increase in 2007 due to GST increase. And then this year due to the recession.

(void *) &NHY;