Good day people,

Its been so long since I last posted in the forum but I once again need your advice.

I was a cruiser fanatic. But once I sat on the CBR400 in SSDCL - I got addicted. I dont have much knowledge about Sports chassis bikes so I read up a bit on the forums.

I'd like to purchase a brand new bike so I found the following available to me:

CBR400 - ??

GSR400 - looisMotors

(And some other bike with Rz4 I think..)

I'm not too familar with sports bikes so if you could drop me a list or a bike name or two for class 2A I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thank You

Ride safe but in style..!

. Keep Up The Throttle . Now & Ever .

• Replies 43

2a sportsbike- zxr400, cbr 400rr, gsXr 400, tzr 250, NSR250 PGMIV, aprilia rs 250 but all listed above no more production

kawa ninja 250 is the only 'sports bike' in 2a class that u can buy new but take note that its a 250cc 4 stroke bike =p A tzr, nsr, rs 250 are all 250 cc 2 strokers. I really doubt that a 250 new ninja can keep up with the 'older' sportsbikes which are already out of production [though in terms of fuel consumption its pretty good =) ]. Im planning 2 upgrade as well upon attaining my class 2a n prolly would get one of the 'oldies' lol

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2A-GSXR400(SCRAPPED),ZXR400(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

http://www.1000ps.at/magazin/yamaha/yamaha_r1_8gross.jpg

  DemonicSaint said:
new 2a sportsbike????

guess the only 1st hand 2a sportsbikes tat u can get nw is the kawasaki ninja 250

the rest r all oldies already

Hmmm can't imagine if CBR400 negotiating on the figure 8 bend.. wa...

http://coastline.chu.jp/Resources/zxr400.jpg

Be cool, Be smart... Be your Yourself!

Regardless the bike model/brand. No matter how good/fast the bike is. Without skills the bike is nothing.

Money is'nt everything, but without money, you're just nothing!

Hey TS, ssdc class 2a using cbr400? Or issit s4 cb400? Im contemplating whether to get a cbr400 for my next bike.

Since its a 10+ year old bike, are there many problems engine wise?

  matkental said:
Hey TS, ssdc class 2a using cbr400? Or issit s4 cb400? Im contemplating whether to get a cbr400 for my next bike.

Since its a 10+ year old bike, are there many problems engine wise?

Lol sorry to confuse you - It's the Super4 Cbr400. After you made that post I did a Google search for Cbr 400 and if Ssdcl use that bike... Song ar! But I wonder about my bumpy course le.. haha. If it's a 10 year old bike and I really want it, I may go for an engine overhaul. Unless I know the previous user kept his bike well I guess..

As for demonicsaint, taaouicha and simmz, I think sadly you're right. I've been calling up some shops and visiting webpages and basically doing some searches around. No more production le! *cry*

So pretty much.... I think I'll go for the GSR 400. See how... Does such a thing as custom ferring exist?

can mould ur own ferring

but if u r thinkin of upgradin to cl2 bike

then dun waste $$$ on ur 2a bike

go get a gsxr400 coz its cheap gd n it has raw power!!! nice exhaust sound also

Motore Bici

For your Motorcycling & Lifestyle needs

If you're talking Honda Super4 CB400 here are some of the model:

S4 Ver.S

S4 Ver.R

S4 Project Big

S4 V-tec Spec I

S4 V-tec Spec II

S4 V-tec Spec III

S4 Revo (latest)

As for the sport bike CBR400, yes they are bike which is running for more than 10 year. Parts are easier to find and that is why you can spot quite a number of CBR400 on road.

Last but not least the new suzuki GSR400. Yes you are able to do a custom fairring kit, it's abit similar to S4 concept. But like what DemonicSaint said, if you're consider upgrading to a bigger capacity bike in future.. It is no point of investing so much in it. There's no need to hurry on buying a bike, good things worth to wait. Relatively cheap things not good, good things never cheap..

Regardless the bike model/brand. No matter how good/fast the bike is. Without skills the bike is nothing.

Thanks for the information demonicsaint and simmz.

And yea.. thats damn right! - "Good things worth to wait"

Well, true, CBR400 is a good bike and the sound is pretty solid too. But due to the fact that I am not really working right now I dont think I can support a class 2 bike. I intend to bring this coming GSR a looong way and hopefully make some mods along the way which I have been dying to. Because I restrained myself from moding my 2B bike.

Speaking of new bikes, I was chatting with my friends the other day and they mentioned something about a new S4 coming up late 2009 (some rumors) I did a net search and discovered quite a few pretties and hotties coming our way. Some in both 2A versions and class 2 version..Enjoy the picts bros... I drooled over them... hahahaha!

Honda Hornet 400/1000 (Maybe 400)

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/hornetrma1sh4.jpg

Honda CBR 400/1000 (There should be a 400 coming. 1000? No questions- it will)

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/lime-1.jpg

Yamaha R1

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/1202485812_445_FT15782_yamahar1.jpg

There we go.. hope you liked them... 2009... arrrrgh!

Thanks, demonicsaint.

That is an idea indeed... And I wish I could do it..But..

I think I would'nt have the time to do so bro... :/

I would only be able to enroll Class 2 next year, late October.. And I think by that time I would be in NS.... Arrrgh!

erm just wanna ask; since 400cc sports bike such as cbr400 and gsxr4 are old and relatively cheap bike, are the maintenance high?

if so, looks like i have to postpone getting an s4 and consider other 2A sportsbikes since im still a student and havent go NS. :(

If you're talking about the duration of the parts.. I would suggest you to go for a S4. Best FC among the 2A sports n naked bikes. Stable and reliable.. And if you have a little money to throw in, might as well get yourself a V-Tec S4. What's more parts are easier to find.. And S4 has quite a decent compartment.. Even if you install helmet box to the bike, the bike still looks ok rather than sports bike.. S4 can fulfill the speed and low maintentance expectation which you are looking for. You can actually spot S4 mostly everywhere you go. So if your bike had any problem.. i don't think you have problem locating them. :thumb:

  solisity said:
Thanks for the information demonicsaint and simmz.

And yea.. thats damn right! - "Good things worth to wait"

Well, true, CBR400 is a good bike and the sound is pretty solid too. But due to the fact that I am not really working right now I dont think I can support a class 2 bike. I intend to bring this coming GSR a looong way and hopefully make some mods along the way which I have been dying to. Because I restrained myself from moding my 2B bike.

Speaking of new bikes, I was chatting with my friends the other day and they mentioned something about a new S4 coming up late 2009 (some rumors) I did a net search and discovered quite a few pretties and hotties coming our way. Some in both 2A versions and class 2 version..Enjoy the picts bros... I drooled over them... hahahaha!

Honda Hornet 400/1000 (Maybe 400)

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/hornetrma1sh4.jpg

Honda CBR 400/1000 (There should be a 400 coming. 1000? No questions- it will)

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/lime-1.jpg

Yamaha R7???

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/1202485812_445_FT15782_yamahar1.jpg

There we go.. hope you liked them... 2009... arrrrgh!

Yeah it's nice man! But imagine the price for these bikes.. Don't you think you could rather consider getting a Class 2 bike? But that goes to individuals lah.. There are also people buying the new RS125 which is relatively about the price of a New S4.

  DemonicSaint said:
well its nvr too late

i got my class 2 when i was 27 u consider gd lor

n i juz got my class2 bike last mth

Haha, Thank you DemonicSaint.

But pretty much.. I have to work very hard on my part time job for my motobike passion man.. If I can find a part time job as a mechanic apprentice or something bike related... that'll be even sweeter...

I fell in love with bikes around 2002 (When I was in sec2 I think). It happened when I saw the Repsol zip pass me... Then I started saving the money I usually spend on ice-kachang in school... lol!

Well, Matkental we'r in the same boat! NS bro.. ARRRRH! Haha, hopefully can get a good post... Maybe I'll see you in camp too.. I should enroll around late 2009 cos I graduate in the middle of next year.

I can also say that what Simmz wrote about the Super4's are very true. I have a few friends that ride that for daily transport even though they have a Class 2 bike... Likewise, you can try checking out the latest Super3. Its the model name is called "Revo" or something... My friend say the exhaust look damn fierce... Say it's like a cannon! LOL!

And Simmz, yea bro... Those babies are gonna blow a BIIIIGGGG hole in our pockets.... Or prob leech us dry on the monthly installments. None the less what you say is right - Individuals man...

Laters people,

Cheers and remember...

Ride safe but in style bros! :cool:

wow a new cbr400 is coming? okay that look sleek! the hornet arent that bad either!

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif

well do ur sums well b4 commiting urself

its nt as big as gettin a wife but its somewhere near there

anyway wat bike r u ridin nw???

Motore Bici

For your Motorcycling & Lifestyle needs

>>> barefoot

Yea..I think it's about time too.. I got that pict off some European bike forum, they were talking about about it. Amongst the CRB's 400, (I think 600) and 1000 were mentioned. Im on my laptop now so when I get home, I'll try and find the link again and post it.

>>>demonsaint

Haha, that's a funny quote "Not as big as getting a wife". Thanks for your advice - I have already done my sums and yes, I can afford to get the next ride.. As to what I am currently riding - Its a Suzuki Intruder 125:

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/DSC00339.jpg

It's a good hardy bike. Took me to Malacca no problems and back in one piece.. Gonna put it up for sale soon - The condition is good but the COE is ending Oct next year. I took this bike because I felt that it had good leg space..

  holymax7 said:
OMG! can anyone give me the link to the new CBR400 in 2009? i would like to have a look in the webby myself thanks =)

Hey bro, I know you are really excited and so am I.. But I spent the last 2hrs trying to look for that website and my efforts are in vain.. And I am getting really peik... I hate to dissapoint you but let me try another day or I am going to wreck another keyboard... I checked my computer records and all too... But the thing is, I got that pict on Tuesday 8.45pm. Then my IE crashed so I wiped the Temp Files around 10pm++ I dont remeber accessing that webby from my laptop but lets see if we'r lucky...

Though I can say this:

From what I read in that forum, it was an European forum. They were talking about the new CBR in 2009. Along the posts, one guy mentioned something like this:

"I can't believe they are going to make the 400cc version too! Along with 600 and 1000"

However, I did manage to find some official news about the CBR's. Though there is no mention about 400...

http://powersports.honda.com/motorcycles/sport/model.asp?ModelName=CBR600RR&ModelYear=2009&ModelId=CBR600RR9

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/MCN/News/newsresults/mcn/2008/september/1-7/sep0508-honda-2009-cbr600rr/?&R=EPI-102724

http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee341/solisity/search.jpg

solisity;

thats a sweet ride bro! nvr seen it otr b4. hahahah. yeah man my frens advice me not to ride 2A during NS.

unless i get CD can go home often and high salary. LOL. or else if army, underutilise if only book out weekends and low pay.

i grad in mid 2010 but can enrol 2A in ard 6 months time. in ur post, y u say 'super3'? hahah

hmm in terms of outlook, spec3 and revo looks kinda similar with their sharp tail. but i think spec2 good enuf??

Woops... That was a typo. Sorry bro was quite tired when I was writing that.

Mmm.. As to Super 4 Spec 2 Im not too sure about that. Maybe someone else can reply? I'll check with my friends who ride S4's and let you know after my next kopi session with them ba..

cool man, really hope tat what they said in the european forum is true. if not i will cry haha. well well i will be going NS soon and i can only get my 2A next yr july so sad. BUT i have not gotten my enlistment letter so hope they give me in december next yr :p

You check up already? I've heard after the check up about 6 mth like that you'll be enlisted.. anyway i also haven serve my ns yet.. maybe we can be camp mates ah.. :cheeky: