SBF Aprilias Cafe 2009 - Atlantics / Sportcitys / Scarabeos

Originally posted by atlantic@Aug 12 2004, 03:22 PM

Wang Zi, I suggest you don't anyhow install accessorie onto your bikes.

Or your warranty may be void if anything goes wrong on your bikes.

I'm having some problem with the MAH, on the warranty issuse.

They said if any acc is found done on you bikes the warranty is void, thus I'm going to bring this up the the aprilia managment attention as I find it ridiculous

Paggio the X niners don't have such problems. Why are the MAH giving such problems.

Anyway wish me luck in solving this isusse with the MAH.

I hope this thing can be resolved on a give and take situations.

:mad: :bouncefire: :giddy:

actually stuff like that are common , sometime when u install after market parts , the agent or the company will not be able to verified whether the bike manfunction due to the bike original parts or due to the after market parts, therefore some will choose to void the warranty , but i think they have to mentioned it in their booklet.

but if your bike is stock without any mods, there's no way they can deny that the spoil parts are due to other factors so they have to honour the warranty.

• Replies 2.3k

Yes Agreed, They have show me the market spare part that I service outside that result to the malfunction.

I suggest those atlantician, have you bikes service with original parts.

Cos I service my belting and the rest else where that is not original parts from Aprilia.

A little different can cost great damage.

I have to change quite a lot of parts to retify the problem.

:cry: Now my pocket got burn a big hole.

To those of us who are SEARCHING…

True love cannot be found where it does not truly exist, nor can it be

hidden where it truly does. Love is magic. The more we hide it, the more it

shows. The more you suppress it, the more it grows.

I have my belt change at some where else at a cheaper cost.

When hit about 14000 Km, but after about 4k km problem arise.

So I send it back to Mah, initially I tot it due to the clutch problem.

But after They check, Mah inform me that the belt is not the original Aprilia parts and is different in length and size.

The cheong wan is shorter and that cause the it to tighten the puller and cause the stress in the engine and clutch problem.

So in the end I have to change all parts that was damage due to the belt.

And cost me about $300 in total.

In total I spent $550 to have the problem sovle.

Glad that I send down to check early or else more parts might be damage and my damage the engine.

Now I will only go back to MAH for service liao, instead of going others motor shop just for the few dollars saving, cos in the end I ended up spending more.

Hope my encounter can help prevent more atlantican from spending unncessary money and headaches.

The warranty isusse of course in this case will not stand as the damage is cos by the cheong parts.

I will go down to the cheong shop to ask for compensation.

I will not disclose the shop name as its unfair to the shop, but will seek for some compensation for the technical error make by them.

Moral or the story, Do not saving that few tenths of dollars as you might end up having to pay more.

This is my lesson.

Its normal that your warranty will be void,if you have made any chances of fixed any other non-original accessories on your bike.It stated in the warranty.

The thing is if any one of us want to fixed any thing or change and parts other than the original,its the risk that we have to take.As for that we cant fault the motor shop.

We just have to be very careful and to make sure that the non-orginal parts are of the same specifications.

As for your belt,I think they gave you the X9 amalfi belt instead of the X9 evo belt.If I am not wrong there is a slight difference in size.

Anger is like a cloud,the more angry you are the more it clouds your vision

Yes bro, you're right.

It's really different in size, during the service and have make it clear that the belt must be the same and the motor shop mech assure me that the belt is the same.

For a technical idiot like me, how would I know that he would lie to me?

Of course I would trust him, till when things turn out bad and have been verify by the train mech that the belt is not the correct size and thus its shorter in size and that alone have cos the puller and bering damage and subsequencetly stress the engine and the clutch give way.

I'm not blaming said, that the mech is at fault for using the cheong part but atleast should be using the same size and length mah.

They are the mech and should have know the spec of the parts mah.

How can anyhow install a subsittute parts with differenct spec.

Haiz bro, are you saying I should let the water flow?

Originally posted by atlantic@Aug 13 2004, 09:15 PM

Yes bro, you're right.

It's really different in size, during the service and have make it clear that the belt must be the same and the motor shop mech assure me that the belt is the same.

For a technical idiot like me, how would I know that he would lie to me?

Of course I would trust him, till when things turn out bad and have been verify by the train mech that the belt is not the correct size and thus its shorter in size and that alone have cos the puller and bering damage and subsequencetly stress the engine and the clutch give way.

I'm not blaming said, that the mech is at fault for using the cheong part but atleast should be using the same size and length mah.

They are the mech and should have know the spec of the parts mah.

How can anyhow install a subsittute parts with differenct spec.

Haiz bro, are you saying I should let the water flow?

If its confirmed that he is using a belt of different size,then I feel that you should bring it up to his attention and see what he has to say....All in all you just have to be more careful the next time. And I hope that they will settle the case with you.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 9 2004, 08:58 PM

You wanna buy, too :confused:

god this thought but like expensive wor...stick to scooter better :p

Originally posted by who_noe@Aug 14 2004, 04:15 PM

EXpensive? it's only because yoiu don't know who to call...:sweat:

Originally posted by ziggyray@Aug 14 2004, 04:30 PM

EXpensive? it's only because yoiu don't know who to call...:sweat:

think still stick to my vespa lah...when the bike get bigger,the urge to speed errrhh... :cheeky:

Originally posted by who_noe@Aug 14 2004, 04:32 PM

think still stick to my vespa lah...when the bike get bigger,the urge to speed errrhh... :cheeky:

True......

Originally posted by ziggyray@Aug 14 2004, 04:35 PM

True......

PIE at lornie road tat underpass everyday god a white van station there :giddy:

Originally posted by who_noe@Aug 14 2004, 04:15 PM

Yalor, scooter more relax la. Again subjective. But her number very nice leh 111 wor.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 14 2004, 06:21 PM

Yalor, scooter more relax la. Again subjective. But her number very nice leh 111 wor.

is it..so how much she paid for it? :confused:

Originally posted by who_noe@Aug 14 2004, 06:25 PM

is it..so how much she paid for it? :confused:

Dare not ask her as too many vultures hovering around. Wait say something worng kena blanket. :giddy:

Anyway I not interested in the bike so ask also no use. Paiseh. :smile:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 14 2004, 06:29 PM

Dare not ask her as too many vultures hovering around. Wait say something worng kena blanket. :giddy:

Anyway I not interested in the bike so ask also no use. Paiseh. :smile:

okie okie...when i god time go KKFC c she there onot...lolz

Originally posted by Ah Teck@Aug 17 2004, 10:15 AM

tomorrow getting my scarabeo ... hope it be a good ride , anything to look out for

Make sure you're able to ride at least 20km without anything going wrong cos mine died on me when I rode it back to office immediately after collecting it. Less then 10km.

Make sure all the plastic panels are aligned properly. Any scratches.

Make sure they give you all the keys to the boxes. 2 for rear box, 4 for panniers if you have them and 1 for ignition (Btw, if you need to make spare key, I can bring you to one place, only RM4)

All documents like insurance, copy of log card if by instalment. Free servicing booklet. Warranty.

Er.... there should be it, I think. :cheeky:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 17 2004, 10:24 AM

Make sure you're able to ride at least 20km without anything going wrong cos mine died on me when I rode it back to office immediately after collecting it. Less then 10km.

Make sure all the plastic panels are aligned properly. Any scratches.

Make sure they give you all the keys to the boxes. 2 for rear box, 4 for panniers if you have them and 1 for ignition (Btw, if you need to make spare key, I can bring you to one place, only RM4)

All documents like insurance, copy of log card if by instalment. Free servicing booklet. Warranty.

Er.... there should be it, I think. :cheeky:

haha my never die on me but like quite hard to start . long time never ride a auto bike last time used to own a skipper.

no scratches so far but it's quite dirty so have to give it a good wash.

keys- they only give me 1 for the rear box, 2 for the side pannier and 1 for the ignition... spare keys hmmm i think abt it but thanks for the invitation ...

not used to the bike yet but givem some time should be okay .

BTW bro how the milage like , the fuel tank is only 9litres 2 reserved , am i right.

document they give me a photo copy of the insurance but not the logcard yet so i think will be collecting it together with my IC, got 3 coupons for servicing but i understand that it is for labour only not for parts. warranty is a year.

my colour is black , how abt yours.

BTW bro wat the running in like , the manuel did state like 80% of the maximun speed , i think.

so how your bike till now , good?

Funny thing about auto scooters is that it's always difficult to start first time.

For bike wash, they did it for me before handing it to me.

The mileage is at least 28km/l. Currently, I'm doing about 30km/l. Yup, fuel tank is small but can pump octane 95 so not so bad. You might want to add broquet into the fuel tank if the engine revs too loud or rough.

Running in is pretty standard lo, don't tekan in full until you pass 1000km and throttle gradually all the time.

Mine is black as well. Black seems to be the more popular colour.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 18 2004, 09:56 PM

Funny thing about auto scooters is that it's always difficult to start first time.

For bike wash, they did it for me before handing it to me.

The mileage is at least 28km/l. Currently, I'm doing about 30km/l. Yup, fuel tank is small but can pump octane 95 so not so bad. You might want to add broquet into the fuel tank if the engine revs too loud or rough.

Running in is pretty standard lo, don't tekan in full until you pass 1000km and throttle gradually all the time.

Mine is black as well. Black seems to be the more popular colour.

so i see it is common for it to be difficult to start. so can only go 200+ km then have to pump petrol already . still not use to the bikes yet so can't really judge whether the engine is loud.

is your bike in mah yesterday cos see one black color with the handles guard

Nope, mine got no handle guard as the guard for mine is built into the original windscreen. Don't buy, too $$$. I bought liao also regret. :sian:

Next time come to scooter outings lo and I finally can find someone with the same bike to talk to. :smile: See if you're interested in the race this weekend but I may not go though.

Watch out when parking as my panniers kena scratched quite jialat when parking. :sian:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 19 2004, 12:52 PM

Nope, mine got no handle guard as the guard for mine is built into the original windscreen. Don't buy, too $$$. I bought liao also regret. :sian:

Next time come to scooter outings lo and I finally can find someone with the same bike to talk to. :smile: See if you're interested in the race this weekend but I may not go though.

Watch out when parking as my panniers kena scratched quite jialat when parking. :sian:

i see hehe not buying jus think tat it's is nice.

can , will try to join u guys for scooter outing ...

wat race u talking abt:confused:

thanks will look out for the side panniers when parking only afraid other dun look out for us

The scooter outing and race is above, in the sticky thread.

So you are just using the standard windshield (If it can be called that) that comes with the scooter? Or the bigger transparent one?

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.