hi guys

A few days ago, i just bought a second hand 2 yr old cbf 150 with mileage of around 60k..

Prob 1: there is this knocking sound from inside the engine when its idling.. wats wrong? bike shop i bought from says they just change engine oil.. the sound will be gone in a few days???!!!???...... but my fren says it might be piston ring prob????? if so will it be ex to repair?

Prob 2: there is back fire when i close throttle during higher speeds.. bike shop says its because air filter spoilt.. they change spark plug and adjust fuel/air mixture.. but air filter no stock.. is this true?

Prob 3: after riding, its difficult to change to neutral gear, it will only change when i switch of engine... wats wrong?

:dot:for all the above problems, if its just the bike shop mech **** up, i will just go to another mech.. please advise me like whats wrong and around how much to repair.:cry:

Prob 4: how much does season parking for motor bike costs in an open car park?

• Replies 5

problem1: the knocking should is when u engine brake or still. if its engine brake then the sound came about, the problem is the chain loose. tighten it.

problem2: unsure, but might be modified pipe

problem3: never encounter such problem, might be you not used to the bike, what type of engine oil u using? i think engine oil plays a part in the clutch gear selection, i am unsure also... i also newbie.. keke.

problem4: i think its 45 for 3 months?

hi guys

A few days ago, i just bought a second hand 2 yr old cbf 150 with mileage of around 60k..

Prob 1: there is this knocking sound from inside the engine when its idling.. wats wrong? bike shop i bought from says they just change engine oil.. the sound will be gone in a few days???!!!???...... but my fren says it might be piston ring prob????? if so will it be ex to repair?

Prob 2: there is back fire when i close throttle during higher speeds.. bike shop says its because air filter spoilt.. they change spark plug and adjust fuel/air mixture.. but air filter no stock.. is this true?

Prob 3: after riding, its difficult to change to neutral gear, it will only change when i switch of engine... wats wrong?

:dot:for all the above problems, if its just the bike shop mech **** up, i will just go to another mech.. please advise me like whats wrong and around how much to repair.:cry:

Prob 4: how much does season parking for motor bike costs in an open car park?

Monster Energy......CBF150........

"'Chances Favored The Prepared Mind"

"Your Ambition outweighs Your Talent!"

I am not sure abt the 1st 3 problems.. but for the 4th one, its $15 / mth for open cp & $17 / mth for shelter cp. If u apply giro, there is an additional 2% rebate every month.

sorry, didnt help much

Hope that every road user can practise courtesy and reduce the danger of bikers :thumb:

For the 1st problem, it could be that it is a 'tapping' sound rather than knocking. If so then its just the tappet clearance gotten too wide, need to tighten a bit, can read the details in your owner manual. But best to let Boon Siew do lah, cos adjust that need to change gasket also

2nd problem: if really the air filter then no need to change lah, it is quite durable one, just take out and vacuum it to improve the airflow. frankly air filter won't spoilt one lor, unless clogged or got lobang. think your shop a bit hmmm ....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=164699

For more questions or enquires regarding about CBF 150,pls refer to the above,to avoid thread duplication.

Kind regards,

racingter