could always meet up with the rx kakis!

anyway, hi Bernard! Actually it's pretty good talking to ur mechanic about the bike since they're most knowledgeable. Have you got other friends who ride too?

Recently zhng-ed my cg. Here's a pic.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs496.ash2/76955_447902081291_504456291_5958689_1619641_n.jpg

change your headlight/signal lights/meter to round type will be nicer.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

• Replies 1.4k

Thanks for the replies.

Hi KOpio, nice colour choice. Thot of it also. Quite inspire by some "rat ride", cafe race and bobber look.

Hi Tony, my bike is at GNR. Let uncle Ah Lai handle. He say round parts hard to find. Have to source myself. I fix it to be a safe ride 1st. Probably end up looking like KOpio's bike. Colour wise, have to see how much money I left with when the total bill comes up.

Works I'm doing are:

1. Change faulty old to new signals lights.

2. New thailand made copy of mudguards, as original GNR say cannot find.

3. Change rear 38T sprocket, as old one quite worn out.

4. Respray frame for rust prevention.

5. High polish engine cover.

6. Respray engine head-block black.

7. Change straight handlebar.

8. Remove rear top box. Replace with side rack and boxes.

9. Replace new drum brakepads for front and rear.

10. Respray front forks.

11. Replace new seat.

12. Cut and re-wrap to look abit like cafe racer seat, but rear hump is soft enough for pillion to sit on.

13. Replace rusty spokes for front and rear wheel.

14. Respray chain cover

15, Replace new exhaust pipe

Think I'll be very broke after all the works above.

Things I want to do, but have to do after this restoration will be to:

1. Respray petrol tank and get new side covers.

2. Spray anti-rust paint on mudguards.

3. Repair dent on tank.

4. Source for vintage looking headlight and petrol tank. (Hey Bro Tony, u know where to find?)

Anyone interested to help me, please offer any advice you have. My hp no. is 92729259. Please sms only.

I'm not a mechanic type, but would like to learn as I used to like to refit my own mountain bike.

Many thanks!

Edited by bernardlimws

Well, for the handlebar at least, I advise against it. Straight handlebars would most likely knock your tank and possibly dent it when you execute a tight turn. Seen before on other CGs with low handlebars.

For the boxes, I recommend ammo boxes! I bought old ammo boxes from this shop at the corner of Blk 30 Kelantan lane. $7 only. Problem is just finding a metal fabricator to do a custom rack. Any ideas and how much Tony?

Headlights and petrol tank can either get from United Impex at Rowell road or go to scrapyard at Sungei Kadut and find. Given the high COE prices now, I think alot of people will be scrapping their bikes. heh.

Well, for the handlebar at least, I advise against it. Straight handlebars would most likely knock your tank and possibly dent it when you execute a tight turn. Seen before on other CGs with low handlebars.

For the boxes, I recommend ammo boxes! I bought old ammo boxes from this shop at the corner of Blk 30 Kelantan lane. $7 only. Problem is just finding a metal fabricator to do a custom rack. Any ideas and how much Tony?

Headlights and petrol tank can either get from United Impex at Rowell road or go to scrapyard at Sungei Kadut and find. Given the high COE prices now, I think alot of people will be scrapping their bikes. heh.

That's a good concept for your bike. U must have done quite abit sourcing around for stuff. Nice for rat ride concept with army look.

I think fabricating new side racks might be expensive leh. I want to make crashbars for my bike leh...

I'm afraid after all the running around, wasting time and effort, the cost and time is not worth it.

I bought a taiwan speedo from United Impex at $45 and install at $30 by GNR, but GNR could've install Honda original stock for $85. The wiring also don't match, Uncle Ah Lai ha to open the new wire bundle and re-attach into the old-style separate wire set-up of my bike.

Abit regret. Then 1 week later signal lights fail. That's why I decide to invest in a extensive overhaul to get a properly running bike instead of bits and pieces failing like playing musical chairs.

I see many uncle ghost riders riding bikes with no lights at night. Very dangerous man... I just want to make it home.

Think I better check with uncle if the side boxes he find for me are at comparatively similar price to a custom fabricated L-rack.

Maybe I check with mech. uncle if got lower handle bars that is low and give good clearance from tank.

Saw someone selling cafe racer handlebars some time back. Dun look like will knock tank and got very forward low profile look:) Dunno if still can find or not?

Thanks for the replies.

Hi KOpio, nice colour choice. Thot of it also. Quite inspire by some "rat ride", cafe race and bobber look.

Hi Tony, my bike is at GNR. Let uncle Ah Lai handle. He say round parts hard to find. Have to source myself. I fix it to be a safe ride 1st. Probably end up looking like KOpio's bike. Colour wise, have to see how much money I left with when the total bill comes up.

Works I'm doing are:

1. Change faulty old to new signals lights.

2. New thailand made copy of mudguards, as original GNR say cannot find.

3. Change rear 38T sprocket, as old one quite worn out.

4. Respray frame for rust prevention.

5. High polish engine cover.

6. Respray engine head-block black.

7. Change straight handlebar.

8. Remove rear top box. Replace with side rack and boxes.

9. Replace new drum brakepads for front and rear.

10. Respray front forks.

11. Replace new seat.

12. Cut and re-wrap to look abit like cafe racer seat, but rear hump is soft enough for pillion to sit on.

13. Replace rusty spokes for front and rear wheel.

14. Respray chain cover

15, Replace new exhaust pipe

Think I'll be very broke after all the works above.

Things I want to do, but have to do after this restoration will be to:

1. Respray petrol tank and get new side covers.

2. Spray anti-rust paint on mudguards.

3. Repair dent on tank.

4. Source for vintage looking headlight and petrol tank. (Hey Bro Tony, u know where to find?)

Anyone interested to help me, please offer any advice you have. My hp no. is 92729259. Please sms only.

I'm not a mechanic type, but would like to learn as I used to like to refit my own mountain bike.

Many thanks!

where is GNR?

vintage headlight and petrol tank you PM @736cc

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

just go to any bike shop.they can do it.price vary.

I like what I read in this thread.

Hi guys, I dont have a CG but I do have likings for this bike.

BTW how much will one buy a second bike like this?

Any difficulty in finding Parts iszit kinda problem if use everyday commuting?

:bounce::bounce:
I like what I read in this thread.

Hi guys, I dont have a CG but I do have likings for this bike.

BTW how much will one buy a second bike like this?

Any difficulty in finding Parts iszit kinda problem if use everyday commuting?

Personally, I feel its quite a rare bike already. Bike shop uncle also say hard to find parts for restoration.

But I try my best to do up my bike affordably la.

Wish i more familiar with Malaysia. There like 2B bike heaven. Many go there to zhng.

Edited by bernardlimws
Personally, I feel its quite a rare bike already. Bike shop uncle also say hard to find parts for restoration.

But I try my best to do up my bike affordably la.

Wish i more familiar with Malaysia. There like 2B bike heaven. any go there to zhng.

Thanks for the tips bro. I like DIY projects. I think this bike is a good to do simple DIY projects. Very basic look. Too bad its hard to find parts.

:bounce::bounce:
Hey KOpio,

Checkout this guy's RXK.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/240986-MWTS-RXK-Military-Cafe-Racer?highlight=handlebar

I think RXK frame similar to CG125. Quite nice.

aiyah but then i wanna put my ammo box behind. Will definitely have to custom, else ppl confirm steal the box :/ lemme know how you eventually solve your storage issue. I'm not doing any more mods soon. COE expiring next year and I wanna save up given how it's been soaring sky high lately

Hey, my bike's COE also end next year, 31 Aug'11. That's why must make it worth it to keep.

I thibk nedd to figure out how to attach the ammo boxes. Maybe use allen key nuts like bicycle parts type to keep it on rack. Or just pop rivet it to the rack. Definitely have to fabricate a custom rack 1st...$$$$!!!

as you can see...not a viable option to store my box as it is right now.

http://yfrog.com/h0yx6j

Just saw your Yfrog photo. Wah! Box so big ah? Thought its like briefcase or 1/4 of that size. Looks like Tony's huge side boxes on preivious posting. Must rivet in a padlock latch, plus hinges on one side as well, otherwise people can open the box easily. Nice though.

Hi Tony,

GNR Motors at Defu Lane 10. U recommend on previous post before leh...

Did u PM me? I didn't get anything in my inbox leh?

GNG motor not gnr!

I never sent u message.

Pm @736cc for vintage tanks and stuff.

Thanks for the tips bro. I like DIY projects. I think this bike is a good to do simple DIY projects. Very basic look. Too bad its hard to find parts.

Any you guys know where I can buy this CG?

Parts are plenty available ,what make you thing hard to find?

Try your luck at those old bike shop.

Just saw your Yfrog photo. Wah! Box so big ah? Thought its like briefcase or 1/4 of that size. Looks like Tony's huge side boxes on preivious posting. Must rivet in a padlock latch, plus hinges on one side as well, otherwise people can open the box easily. Nice though.

Dun aim my boxes hor!

as you can see...not a viable option to store my box as it is right now.

http://yfrog.com/h0yx6j

Got get the universal bracket from ah boy.

Ammo box can use pad lock to lock lah.....

GNG motor works done so far on my bike listed below

They started joking abit when I went to have a look at my bike. Saying that to make old bike look good costs alot. Like businessman type joke. Making me feel worried. Feel like going to get chop by salesman feeling. Have to pull back on what they want to do. Not enough budget.

WORKLIST as at 18 Dec 2010

1.Done- Signals lights Change faulty old to new.

2.Done- Spokes for front and rear wheel Replace rusty

3.Done- Rear 38T sprocket, as old one quite worn out Change

4.Done- Frame for rust prevention Respray

5.Done- Mudguards, as original GNR say cannot find, Replace new thailand made copy

6.Done- Rear top box Remove

7.Done- Drum brakepads for front and rear Replace

8.Done- Front forks Respray

9.Done- Rear Shocks New

10.To Do- Engine cover polish

11.To Do- Engine head-block black Respray.

12.To Do- Engine Gasket Change

13.To Do- Seat Replace new.

14.Delay- Tank Repair dent

15.Delay- Mudguards Respray WHITE

16.Delay- Petrol tank Respray WHITE with BLUE stripes (example in attached pic.)

17.Delay- Side covers New & Respray WHITE

18.Delay- Exhaust pipe Respray BLACK

19.Delay- Chain cover Respray WHITE

20.NOT CONFIRM- Secondhand side rack and boxes- Replace Cheap or Don’t do

21.NOT CONFIRM- Straight Handlebar

22.NOT CONFIRM- Old Round Type Headlight

23.DO NOT FIX- Number Plate Use Old Plate

Edited by bernardlimws

Hi Tony & CG Bros,

If can get universal bracket, then I can DIY the side boxes?

GNG want to sell me good new boxes for $200.

Painting and knock out small dent on my petrol tank will cost $200+.

I want to put new side cover as old ones broken and paint same colour as tank also.

Plus mudguard also want to paint to prevent from rusting.

Plus paint chain cover also.

So total cost of painting alone is quite high.

Damn sian. Money flying away.

Have to hold back on doing some things.

Edited by bernardlimws