hi another problem , anyone experience minor rear suspension leak oil !

my bike is a abt a 8 mth old Xciting 300IR

I have informed kymco, now pending for their claim as it is still under 1 yr warranty

Any one change to any other better after market rear suspension? brand? price ?

dun know should i stay stock or change to better suspension($$)

pls advice thanks

Edited by eellvviinn
  • Replies 6.1k

I only know Xciting 300 can go 152km/h I think fuel consumption should be also very good in the 33km/l range. So even with 10 liters should go at least 300km. So when you change your suspension can check why high fuel consumption also. If you ride mostly town area 80km/h below should consume higher fuel. That depends on your rpm range also. Mine is usuall in the 5000rpm and at around 70km/h so very high consumption for me. But once express way around 5600rpm doing 90km/h so slightly better fuel economy. If you wanna change suspension I think you must calculate the comfort vs price vs reliability vs availability :)

Thanks for your quick respond, i see older post that xciting can travel 32-33 km/L but i am unable to achieved that, that y i am trying to achieved it ! From your reply i think, i got the answer! Partly i travel both city( 80-90km/h) and expressway (100-1xxkm/h). so i will try to throttle less and see how!

As for suspension , there is some , but very ex !!!

Whoa! 300 can get 33km/L?? That's what I'm getting with the DT125i!

Anyways, I bought SH45 from RS, $95. LAB selling $102.

I find the SH48 too big and irregular shaped already.

That RS sell at $170, LAB $190....

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Ha ha yes. Both different price. Ah boy suppose to be cheapest but apparently not, so i bought from Regina also. But stock came from ah boy side bring over ha ha.

SH48 is irregular that's why i think it's more of a 45, but I like the looks so I bought it. Now have to buy back rest, quoted $45 but stock come after Chinese new next year :(

Thanks for your quick respond, i see older post that xciting can travel 32-33 km/L but i am unable to achieved that, that y i am trying to achieved it ! From your reply i think, i got the answer! Partly i travel both city( 80-90km/h) and expressway (100-1xxkm/h). so i will try to throttle less and see how!

You need to confirm with MotorSport or Mr Herbert the boss. He should be able to provide you some answers about your consumption.

One thing about the exciting is I do not know if it runs the same kind of Variator as Downtown 300. If it's the same, light throttle won't help at all since the consumption are base on rpm IMO. You see my downtown Variator works like this - when you maintain throttle to 5000rpm speed will be around eg. 70km/h and when you have a slight upslope the rpm will increase and vise versa if downslope. The thing is at 70km/h you rev to say 85km/h and let it drop back to 70km/h you will be able to cruise at a slightly lower rpm say now it's 4800rpm at 70km/h instead of 5000rpm. Something like that. Sorry I'm bad at description and exokanation ha ha.

actually i have no idea which will save more fuel, as this is my first scooter .

But i think what you mean is try faster to let the scooter reaches it cruising speed, instead of throttling it slowly

A) 10km/h -20km/h-30km/h-40km/h-50km/h-60km/h-70km/h-80km/h-90km/h ( let say uses 15s )

B) 10km/h -20km/h-30km/h-40km/h-50km/h-60km/h-70km/h-80km/h-90km/h ( let say uses 5s )

so if i didnt get you wrongly (B save more fuel)

correct me if i am wrong

Nope it dent work that way. In order for you to reach 100km/h faster you have to bring the rpm higher say 6500rpm thus using more fuel. If you keep it at constant 5000rpm it will reach the rpm speed and in this case my 5000rpm should be 70km/h.

My suggestion is ride as you like, no need to try and save fuel. It turns out fir me aggressive and gentle ends the same range. Mine only 25km/litre.

Nope it dont work that way. In order for you to reach 100km/h faster you have to bring the rpm higher say 6500rpm thus using more fuel. If you keep it at constant 5000rpm it will reach the rpm speed and in this case my 5000rpm should be 70km/h.

My suggestion is ride as you like, no need to try and save fuel. It turns out for me aggressive and gentle ends the same range. Mine only 25km/litre.

CVT is designed in such a way, the revs matches the speed.

As a result of its lightness as well, it helps save even more fuel. Don't be so concerned about the fuel consumption. Just ride lah.

Haha.

At first, I thought CVT is a stupid design and engineering, but the more I use it, the more I appreciate it.

It may produce stupid sounds, but that's more or less the drawback.

It's smooth in operation, gives the rider the maximum power available at x-amount of revs, there's no gears so there's no need to change gear ratios manually, etc.

Ha ha yes. Both different price. Ah boy suppose to be cheapest but apparently not, so i bought from Regina also. But stock came from ah boy side bring over ha ha.

SH48 is irregular that's why i think it's more of a 45, but I like the looks so I bought it. Now have to buy back rest, quoted $45 but stock come after Chinese new next year :(

They're seriously damn smart. Like Sim Lim Square.

Two different shop names, 1 owner.

One price is higher than the other, resulting in people buying from the cheaper one, but actually the "boss" earns.

What are the brand of rear suspension that you have found out that can fix your xciting?

Bitubo?

Expensive as in how much? Would like to enquire.

I like firm suspension, so this downtown one super firm! I like it. But not good for comfort.

Nexus 300 very comfortable but always bottom out if hit hump/bump a bit harder. Have to set to number 5 setting but no static sag so have to settle for 4 setting.

Downtown setting 3 even with pillion 80kg (me 80kg) also no problem, haven't bottom out yet.

Now very jia lat, cornering getting worst, keeping sweeping the road with the lower fairings ha ha.

I hope the engine won't cut off with the tilt sensor mistaking for tip over. Herbert says the tilt sensor work when the sensor is tilt more than 30 degree angle. Hmmm 30 degree from horizontal or 30 degree from vertical?

Anyways, while I was at LAB ytd as well, I asked for quotes for the DT tires.

They quoted me Bridgestones at $75/ piece, Michellin at $80-90/ piece, which are much much cheaper than Motorsports Dunlop at $160/ piece. Haha.

I think I know where to change tires the next time round!

Hi parotae and topgearalwaysrock thanks for your reply

Actually my concern for the fuel consumption, is just to make sure that the bike is well maintained like for air filter and ....etc otherwise it will makan fuel too.

Regarding the rear suspension Pm is sent! hope thats is useful!

btw ytd i oso realise that my front suspension, in stand still position (my hand on handle bar and leg on ground, bike is NOT on side or main stand). then i try to shake the bike to compress the front suspension,the i hear SQUERKING...EEeee... sound!

any idea is this normal ! As my previous bike has no such problem.

Edited by eellvviinn
Hi parotae and topgearalwaysrock thanks for your reply

Actually my concern for the fuel consumption, is just to make sure that the bike is well maintained like for air filter and ....etc otherwise it wall makan fuel too.

Regarding the rear suspension Pm is sent!

btw ytd i oso realise that my front suspension, in stand still position (my hand on handle bar and leg on ground, bike is NOT on side or main stand). then i try to shake the bike to compress the front suspension,the i hear SQUERKING...EEeee... sound!

any idea is this normal ! As my previous bike has no such problem.

I do realise that when i go fast as well, that the rear produces an air pump as well, like air is escaping.

Any idea what is this? But of course, I don't experience any lack of controls, just the sound.

In any case, I'll try to leave the DT as stock as possible [barring accessories/ tyres of course].

I'll just leave the scooter as it was intended to be designed. Very stock, very original. haha!

To eellvviinn: What's your previous bike?

To topgearalwaysrock: my previous ride is TA200 (also my first bike), and i dun experience suspension problem at all till the bike is 8 yr old, and i really ride it HARD and CARRY LOAD ! other that normal wear and tear ,engine is no problem!

Haha. Yeap. the Phantom TA200 is a toughey, despite it being made in Thailand.

Well, the Xciting, being a scooter is a totally different segment. I intend to stick with Kymco and upgrade to the Xciting 400 as my 2A bike when I get my license next year =)

There's a burnt orange DT at the showroom.

Looks stunning, but may attract a wee bit too much attention. Haha.

lol....me too waiting for xciting 400 love the front brake...! so sporty!

Although, there are some small issue here and there on my bike , but over all the bike xciting 300ir / DT is Great!

LOOK : current face lift , look very nice and sporty

engine: so far no pro, hear DT is very fast is pickup , from kymco boss it is name as rocket /bullet scooter , xciting no where near on pickup...

yes that burn orange Dt, my first impression is wao.... remind me of sporty TMAX(EX to maintain)

lol....me too waiting for xciting 400 love the front brake...! so sporty!

Although, there are some small issue here and there on my bike , but over all the bike xciting 300ir / DT is Great!

LOOK : current face lift , look very nice and sporty

engine: so far no pro, hear DT is very fast is pickup , from kymco boss it is name as rocket /bullet scooter , xciting no where near on pickup...

yes that burn orange Dt, my first impression is wao.... remind me of sporty TMAX(EX to maintain)

Haha. Xciting is supposed to be a sports scooter isn't it? DT more of maxi-scooter....

Anyways, Xciting 300 is using the 275cc engine, instead of the 299cc of the DT 300i, hence the slight power difference.

But next year, Xciting gets a 400cc engine, while the XCT gets the updated 300cc engine.

But that's almost end next year that stocks will be arriving.

We're living in the now.

Haha!

BTW i always wanted to know , how come xciting have two front disc, and DT only have one , since DT have bigger CC and faster in pick up , DT should also get double front disc too ... rite

Haha. Xciting is supposed to be a sports scooter isn't it? DT more of maxi-scooter....

Anyways, Xciting 300 is using the 275cc engine, instead of the 299cc of the DT 300i, hence the slight power difference.

But next year, Xciting gets a 400cc engine, while the XCT gets the updated 300cc engine.

But that's almost end next year that stocks will be arriving.

We're living in the now.

Haha!