• Replies 6.1k

Paying one!!! We pay to test ride.....:p

You serious on changing to the MaxSym? I might consider too!

But then again if also have stupid problems, I would rather fork out more for the T-max

later on. Hopefully they can iron out my main concern for the DT300i.

If not, then it is a painful lesson for me.

Point no.6 is the only issue for me.

I just want it to move smoothly at all speed........ grrrrrrrrrrrr!

Seriously, I still don't get the vibration when moving off thing.... What's that all about?

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

i think i saw that ang mohs DT 300 at kymco workshop doing some servicing, when the repair guy open up the clutch area the "clutch bell" rusty, sorry i not very sure what it is call but i know is rusty and if our bike is ridden in rain, then we too better check, that area more often.

maybe ang moh dun know how to complaint , they just pay ....

What amazes me are the angmohs overseas never complaint anything ???

Except maybe for Juanpak regarding his DT300 clutch issue like synman :)

Edited by eellvviinn

Ha ha ha your are wrong man Ang mo best in complaint :D

@eellvviinn the suspension front squeaky noise is not normal if it is coming from the front suspension. I had similar case with the rear suspension. Wah Lao 2 mth squeaky Liao. I move the rear suspension up and down with my butt and ir squeak and squeak. Turn ou to be the main stand spring squeaky. Spray some WD40 ok Liao.

I am both impress and surprise with Kymco scooter especially Downtown since I only read about it.

They always come up with solution to solve a current problems. So the next model you buy will be improved with bits and pieces here and there. Am very impress with my new updated model as it came with a 10 hole fuel injector instead of 4 for previous model. Hazard light option from Xciting 500. Improve acceleration with Variator and clutch from Shadow 300(LGE5) higher main stand to prevent it from scraping the ground during cornering. :thumb:

I am surprise that with the improvement of parts and ergonomics comes with another or the same problems.

Better clutch but still move off vibration.

Higher main stand but now scrape the lower plastic finisher from front to side and exhaust cover finisher.

Faster pick up but greater fuel consumption. How about same pick up which is already fast and same fuel consumption as previous model.

Injector can spray faster and more fuel but blind spot response.

I termed it "blind" for the 40km/h to 60km/h range for slow reaction.

Hi Synman,

Like you the burning solution did not last long the shaking a noises are back and louder :(, I have taken the bike to the mechanics and have contacted Kymco UK. According to the mechanics the clutch is alright. Kymco suggested to change the clutch bell, the current one is all blue due to overheating I guess.

As I mentioned before, I am considering changing the clutch for a Dr. Pulley, a member of the Spanish forum (with the same issue that Synman and I have) has installed one of those and is reporting that the improvements are very significant, he has also change the bell. We are talking about 200 Euros + labour, if it definitely fixes the issue then I will have the perfect bike imo.

@parotae,

In the Spanish forum a lot of people are complaining about the clutch issues the only solution so far is installing a third party clutch + a brand new bell.

Tthe guys with the latest model (SK60AE) are having the issue that you have, lost of power between 5000 and 6000 revs, Kymco Spain is changing the central units (ECU) and the reports from the guys are very positive, you may want to check that.

In Italy, the problem with the clutch is also discussed quite frequently but I don’t understand Italian that much to get a better idea of the whole situation over there.

In USA everyone is really happy with the bike overall nobody complaints about anything.

I am not sure what the situation is with the Nikita in Taiwan, will be interesting to know what is going on over there.

I will chase Kymco as much as I can and try everything they say, worst case scenario I will give myself a clutch as a Christmas present :)

Whoa! Major problems with the DT300i worldwide it seems!

Kymco engineers not doing their job?

My same sentiments! Anyway, haven't heard from Juan for a while...

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

Seriously, I still don't get the vibration when moving off thing.... What's that all about?

Saw the clutch area for the DT125 which I think you are riding right?

They are different for the DT125 and the DT300.

So I suppose that is why the problem may have existed for the DT300 and not the

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

I am both impress and surprise with Kymco scooter especially Downtown since I only read about it.

They always come up with solution to solve a current problems. So the next model you buy will be improved with bits and pieces here and there. Am very impress with my new updated model as it came with a 10 hole fuel injector instead of 4 for previous model. Hazard light option from Xciting 500. Improve acceleration with Variator and clutch from Shadow 300(LGE5) higher main stand to prevent it from scraping the ground during cornering. :thumb:

I am surprise that with the improvement of parts and ergonomics comes with another or the same problems.

Better clutch but still move off vibration.

Higher main stand but now scrape the lower plastic finisher from front to side and exhaust cover finisher.

Faster pick up but greater fuel consumption. How about same pick up which is already fast and same fuel consumption as previous model.

Injector can spray faster and more fuel but blind spot response.

I termed it "blind" for the 40km/h to 60km/h range for slow reaction.

My FC is still okay leh.....;)

But surprise is a good word to use.....:p

I'm surprise how they can release a bike without making it work properly.

Bikes ridden:

Saw the clutch area for the DT125 which I think you are riding right?

They are different for the DT125 and the DT300.

So I suppose that is why the problem may have existed for the DT300 and not the

Haha. I haven't actually asked the mechanic to dismantle the CVT housing....

will check out the youtube videos.

I'm keeping mah fingers crossed. Don't want these things to happen to the DT125i I'm riding.

Hi Synman,

Like you the burning solution did not last long the shaking a noises are back and louder :(, I have taken the bike to the mechanics and have contacted Kymco UK. According to the mechanics the clutch is alright. Kymco suggested to change the clutch bell, the current one is all blue due to overheating I guess.

As I mentioned before, I am considering changing the clutch for a Dr. Pulley, a member of the Spanish forum (with the same issue that Synman and I have) has installed one of those and is reporting that the improvements are very significant, he has also change the bell. We are talking about 200 Euros + labour, if it definitely fixes the issue then I will have the perfect bike imo.

Didn't see your post before I mention not seeing you for a while.....;)

I won't mind spending a bit to rectify the issue, but will talk to the boss 1st before proceeding ahead.

The Americans must have thought it was a Harley....... like they think Singapore is somewhere in China......

I've always felt the bell is the main issue. Coz it happen before when I change my X9 clutch system to Pollini last time. Then the mechanic did some "magic" to it and afterwards, the bike was smooth like a baby's bottom....lol

So now the thing is to find the appropriate bell for the scooter.

Edited by synman

Bikes ridden:

Having watched youtube videos on CVT's, now I know what's the variator and clutch.

Hmm.... A typical CVT transmission especially for cars are usually trouble-free.

Perhaps Kymco engineers have chosen wrong materials to make their variators/ clutch, hence it's causing all the problems and giving cracks?

Having watched youtube videos on CVT's, now I know what's the variator and clutch.

Hmm.... A typical CVT transmission especially for cars are usually trouble-free.

Perhaps Kymco engineers have chosen wrong materials to make their variators/ clutch, hence it's causing all the problems and giving cracks?

Yes, possibly. Same thing on the Silverwing but I've never encounter this issue.

Most if not all the other scooters should be using the CVT technology as well.

Bikes ridden:

Didn't see your post before I mention not seeing you for a while.....;)

I won't mind spending a bit to rectify the issue, but will talk to the boss 1st before proceeding ahead.

The Americans must have thought it was a Harley....... like they think Singapore is somewhere in China......

I've always felt the bell is the main issue. Coz it happen before when I change my X9 clutch system to Pollini last time. Then the mechanic did some "magic" to it and afterwards, the bike was smooth like a baby's bottom....lol

So now the thing is to find the appropriate bell for the scooter.

I have been a bit busy but always keeping an eye on this space.

I am 99.9% sure that this Malossi bell will fit perfectly, perhaps Bro Parotae can confirm with his wide knowledge.

http://www.malossistore.co.uk/Prodotto.aspx?type=M&MM=MO/KYPE300G&C=7714321

From what I’ve seen so far the DT125 does not have the issues of its bigger sister.

CVT design and idea came from Leonardo Da Vinci actually..... Haha.

Subaru is using steel belt for their CVT termed Lineartronic. That's gonna be really problematic over the years.

parotae

Pm me your story! the problem on kymco forum , too little ppl is in here, inactive , even if our bike has a common problem , we wun know unless kymco ppl tell us.

but kymco is picking up as we can see from the newer version , they do put in affect to design their bike!

BTW my bike is 8mth old but i own it for only 2 mth as i buy form private seller from SBF too

topgearalwaysrock

the speed should be 70-80km/h as is on white line and there is S4 infront of me and lucky S4 help me to stop....my bike

I already posted the problems Liao. Only 6 points :p

As for Kymco putting in effort for designing their scoot/bike, it's more a case of spending money for an Italian designer to design for them.

The Downtown design is design by an Italian. Smart move, as the Taiwan designer don't have that artistic touch like an Italian has. Italian designs appeals to more people also especially the Europeans.

Hi Synman,

@parotae,

In the Spanish forum a lot of people are complaining about the clutch issues the only solution so far is installing a third party clutch + a brand new bell.

Tthe guys with the latest model (SK60AE) are having the issue that you have, lost of power between 5000 and 6000 revs, Kymco Spain is changing the central units (ECU) and the reports from the guys are very positive, you may want to check that.

In Italy, the problem with the clutch is also discussed quite frequently but I don’t understand Italian that much to get a better idea of the whole situation over there.

In USA everyone is really happy with the bike overall nobody complaints about anything.

I am not sure what the situation is with the Nikita in Taiwan, will be interesting to know what is going on over there.

I will chase Kymco as much as I can and try everything they say, worst case scenario I will give myself a clutch as a Christmas present :)

:p didn't know DT owners in Spain and Italy have problems too ha ha. Well not a surprise if it came from the same factory.

Since you mention Spain, i translate and read that some of the Downtown fuel tank over there have rusting issue inside the tank. Someone complained to Kymco Spain but was refused any replacement. They are trying to get as many owners to complaint together.

As for Taiwan it's the same situation, some of the owners change theirs to Malossi variator and it solve the vibration issue. Some change to solve the rpm drop issue but ended with the same symptom. Hmmm ECU change...very interesting.

As for Malossi bell, it may fit. Have to check that the GTi part number is the same as DT.

I remember the tank rusting issue; it is only on the top on the tank where it makes contact with the lead. They visited the Kymco Spain headquarters and were really happy with the feedback from Kymco. The actual tank is made of a different material and it seems to be of very good quality.

If you scroll down a bit on this page you will be able to see how rusty the top can get and after cleaning it how it changes.

Scrolling a bit more there is a video which shoes the interior of the tank, according to the author it is pretty clean inside.

http://forokymco.es/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=115&id=52194&Itemid=145#52194

ic i will look out and see is the squeaking from my main stand, but most likely NOT...

Ha ha ha your are wrong man Ang mo best in complaint :D

@eellvviinn the suspension front squeaky noise is not normal if it is coming from the front suspension. I had similar case with the rear suspension. Wah Lao 2 mth squeaky Liao. I move the rear suspension up and down with my butt and ir squeak and squeak. Turn ou to be the main stand spring squeaky. Spray some WD40 ok Liao.

Most likely not, otherwise you would have felt that the noise came from the rear. Another thing about my main stand squeaky noise is that it only happens when it is hot or travel for longer distance. I don't know why, maybe all the vibration and heat affect the mainstand spring.