Hi tankspeed, Yammy Cygnus I think is a very good scoot. Wanted to get it while I was still riding a skipper, but quite ex. It's a good scoot to mod with many parts from Hong Kong and Taiwan. I didn't get because my 150cc already no power, afraid that 125 is the same power. But that time no Downtown 125 if not I might buy because of big size save petrol and larg storage and best of all to make my pillion happy as the seat is very big and comfy. X9 was my option then but heard a lot of problems with water going into meter and water pump problems and belt vibration problems :p

Yeah the thing that got me was the big storage space. Should be useful for the run to school and back. I'm also looking at afew others including Kymcos. But wah COE so high now man hahaha.

• Replies 6.1k

125 can hit 120km very good already, because it's heavy. My skipper 150 only 105km/h with tailwind and must open very long like 1 minute to reach. Usually 100km/h only. But with 2 up also don't feel much drag. Downtown once got pillion can really feel the drag, suddenly drop in power and performance. Skipper somehow felt acceptable with pillion as compare to DT not acceptable. DT still better in power of course just the feeling of pillion and no pillion quite big difference.

My theory is still that Kymco is trying to put back the grunt with restricted power due to Euro 3 emission. So loss about 3hp or more. So have to compensate for weaker performance if it were to use the same parts. If unresticted, can use back all the old stuff.

Don't know if GDink 300I/Grand Dink 300i floor board can put how many cartons of beer? Lol!

COE no choice, looks like it's gonna be like this for a very long time. Currently selling well maybe SYM GT200 as over at the Sym thread a few of the forumer wants to buy it or are discussing about their new scoot.

Edited by parotae
125 can hit 120km very good already, because it's heavy. My skipper 150 only 105km/h with tailwind and must open very long like 1 minute to reach. Usually 100km/h only. But with 2 up also don't feel much drag. Downtown once got pillion can really feel the drag, suddenly drop in power and performance. Skipper somehow felt acceptable with pillion as compare to DT not acceptable. DT still better in power of course just the feeling of pillion and no pillion quite big difference.

My theory is still that Kymco is trying to put back the grunt with restricted power due to Euro 3 emission. So loss about 3hp or more. So have to compensate for weaker performance if it were to use the same parts. If unresticted, can use back all the old stuff.

Don't know if GDink 300I/Grand Dink 300i floor board can put how many cartons of beer? Lol!

COE no choice, looks like it's gonna be like this for a very long time. Currently selling well maybe SYM GT200 as over at the Sym thread a few of the forumer wants to buy it or are discussing about their new scoot.

YEap.

With and without pillion very different for DT 125i. AFter my first pillion, I told the rest who are interested in riding pillion that I WON'T Pillion. Very scary for me. Haha.

They see the DT125i so big, they don't believe it's a @2B 125cc scooter. They thought it's like 300cc. Well, there's the DT300i. Haha.

But I tell them, pillion bo power. So I won't pillion already.

@parotae: How you find the DT125i then? Acceptable for a 2B maxi-scooter?

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Yeah the thing that got me was the big storage space. Should be useful for the run to school and back. I'm also looking at afew others including Kymcos. But wah COE so high now man hahaha.

Hi! I'm a student too!

Riding the DT is superb for carrying back packs, etc. No problems!

With a SH45L top box, it's great for shopping too!

I'm really looking forward to the next Xciting 400 with parking brakes.

That's really useful. Even though I don't advocate parking on slopes [if that was even possible in the first place], on slight inclines, it's really useful! At least I don't get a chance to hurt me hand..... Haha.

It is really useful as even if we dun park on slopes, but when we stop at slightly incline area, we can keep our hands free.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

@parotae: How you find the DT125i then? Acceptable for a 2B maxi-scooter?

Sorry answering even though it is not for me :p

I feel that as a 125, as long you are not expecting speed or pickup power, but more for a smooth ride (if it is smooth),

then I would say the DT125 is actually quite good for its size.

Though i never tried the DT125 before, but I would expect it to have a reasonable acceleration.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

Hey Parotae,

Wanna exchange bike? We can add each other name in the insurance and exchange for maybe

a full tank of petrol?

That should be like a week, but only thing is dun scrap my sides......wahahahaha

Bikes ridden:

Of course acceptable for such a huge scoot. Anyway 125cc can't expect too much in terms of power, because it's a small displacement plus so fuel saving. Honda Phantom 200 small and light and no storage already doing 34km/l. Yours small cc but big in size and storage and still drink 30km/l. My 150 cc about 115kg drink 21km/l. You see lor which one you want ha ha.

Edited by parotae

I feel that as a 125, as long you are not expecting speed or pickup power, but more for a smooth ride (if it is smooth),

Though i never tried the DT125 before, but I would expect it to have a reasonable acceleration.

Please share your view, no need to paiseh :D

Sometimes we cannot reply immediately so may miss the topic.

Yes, I still feel that 2B is more of a transport although may like the idea that it can perform like SP or KR or RS but it's a balance thingy more power less comfort, more comfort less power. If have power and comfort top seller!

Hey Parotae,

Wanna exchange bike? We can add each other name in the insurance and exchange for maybe

a full tank of petrol?

That should be like a week, but only thing is dun scrap my sides......wahahahaha

Ha ha wait I scrape your scooter whole side flat flat like balancer, mirror, fairing and box, beside I already have a sub rider :)

I heard the biting point/take off is at 5000rpm or 7000rpm. Moderately high due to the weight of the scooter. If not engine will bog(too much load and not enough engine rpm and engine going to stall) under load.

Edited by parotae
Ha ha wait I scrape your scooter whole side flat flat like balancer, mirror, fairing and box, beside I already have a sub rider :)

Wahahaha..... thought you might like to check out the FC on mine compare to yours and how it performs w the LEA7

installed.

Maybe we can arrange to try it at Gelang Patah sometime.

Bikes ridden:

Should be the same FC cause my expressway use only

LEA7 clutch and LGE5 clutch are made of the same friction material hence we can't tell the difference.

I found out from the Taiwan blog that the difference is the weight of the clutch aluminum. LGE5 being heavier hence they try to make it like a damper and adding the throw and engagement strong thus reducing the vibration. Ha ha it didnt work but something else did, maybe the slipping part.

I have and idea that after seeing the Taiwan blog with them changing to a stronger spring might work.

Last time I ride runner, I changer to a stronger spring and the take off was like at 6000rpm. The engine was like "wheng" "wheng" "wheng" "wheng" very fast and loud and the scoot is just about to move only. Can feel the slip but once it lock on it like pushing very fast forward.

So with this theory, a stronger spring to make the clutch engage at 4000rpm or 5000rpm may work as the above 4000rpm where it lock on is smooth. Must ask topgearalwaysrock at what rpm does his clutch cut off while letting the scoot slow down.

You see with the runner engaging at around 6000rpm the cut off is just below 6000rpm. Eg traffic light infront. From 70km/h I release throttle and let the scoot slow down by itself. When the rpm drop according to the road speed it will come to a point that the clutch will disengage at around maybe eg 5000rpm. From this point there is no engine brake say eg 40km/h. Imagine how unsecured a feeling with free wheeling at 40km/h. No engine brake at all and have to use more braking as no engine brake. Our DT3 clutch cut off I think is around 18km/h. Didn't go and check. Later when I tide will monitor.

So that's the only disadvantage of having a higher engagement point.

So topgearalwaysrock, what is your biting point and clutch cut off point?

That's really useful. Even though I don't advocate parking on slopes [if that was even possible in the first place], on slight inclines, it's really useful! At least I don't get a chance to hurt me hand..... Haha.

Not only slope, I had a majesty 250 for a short while and when on slope waiting at traffic light can hands free check wallet, adjust helmet, pull up jeans and etc...

Got once on slope (skipper)need to take out wallet to put in cash card ask my pillion to squeeze the brake lever so my both my hands can take out wallet and cash card. I have to bend forward so my pillion cam stretch out and hold the brake lever. Unlike motocycle have foot brake. I think scooter should have the option of a foot brake option or hand brake ha ha.

Ok, so handbrake is a better option :D

Edited by parotae

Well, my free wheeling starts at below 3000rpm I think. Haha.

Yeap. Gotta depend on brakes liao. "Engine brake" doesn't work below 3000rpm....

Engine is ok and actually quite smooth. During my first ride on this scooter, on cte w/o looking at meter I was shocked and I am traveling at 140 km/h . After that day I tend to slow down n try to see meter instead of hearing engine sound as my pervious ride is ta200 which the engine roar like hell .

Ha ha 哈 except maybe for the suspension part.

So that means the engine is problem free lor.

Hopefully it's not the other way round....free problems ha ha ha.

Wah don't hear engine sound also can see the view passing very fast Mah especially when you pass other cars. That means at 140km/h it is not fast to you too. Wah,Fierce! Lol!

Actually I find parking brake Is a must on xciting 300, as if you try to place it in side stand on flat ground n give a slight push on the handle bar forward (with u standing on the left , not on bike) , the whole bike will move forward and the side stand will just close up.

N if not careful there goes your left side!

I find 300 side stand is design same as 500 but only 500 have Parking brake, but they miss out the 300need and should only be use with park brake

Otherwise like me always place it on main stand!

Well, my free wheeling starts at below 3000rpm I think. Haha.

Yeap. Gotta depend on brakes liao. "Engine brake" doesn't work below 3000rpm....

When the clutch disengages, what is roughly the road speed when it free wheel?

When I collect the bike , there is no much vehicle at the time, so accidentally lol

Wah don't hear engine sound also can see the view passing very fast Mah especially when you pass other cars. That means at 140km/h it is not fast to you too. Wah,Fierce! Lol!
When the clutch disengages, what is roughly the road speed when it free wheel?

Road speed ahh? Between 25-30km/h....

How about the DT300i or Xciting 300Ri??

I was trying the "free wheeling" thing earlier. My results is always so strange as oppose to everyone..... :(

Anyway, the bike does hold its low speed at 2500 rpm (for mine). The cutoff speed for my bike is around 15km to 18km/h.

Only thing is that at 2500 rpm, the bike feels like it requires a lot of effort to move.

At that rpm, it is just holding the movement.

It seriously starts moving properly around 3500 rpm.

Any idea whether the idling rpm can be lowered further to say 1300rpm? Must check with Motorsport the next round. Just an idea I'm toying around with.

My SW's idling used to be at 1000rpm, which couple of SW riders find it really low, but I was totally fine with it. Most would have it at 1300rpm.

The bike is really smooth when it heats up. Vibration is down to a minimum, sometimes none. Either that, the Moty's EO is doing a good job as I feel different with the bike now.

Won't say it is the best ride I ever had, but feels much better now that I don't feel like setting the bike on fire.....lol

At the higher speed, the bike's rpm doesn't seem to drop as much as before. It still does, but seems more stable.

My assessment so far. ;)

Bikes ridden: