• Replies 72

brake pump ah ??

at first say what lights up (dunno spell correctly)

then is the lower arms..

but still having the problem

recon wan ah .. think ard 3k ba ..

but what to do 20 year coming car is like that wan

steering pump, steering bush, wheel bearing, brake pump. Age problem :lol:

Personally i feel is still a good car after re-conditioning, should be good to last some good years

Cannot call re-con, recon means take the original and make it into workable condition again from defective condition. Rebuilt is like we chg totally replace original/defective parts with a better re-enforced parts instead of original. normally chg piston, rods, beams, bearing or other necessary parts. But normally ppl will just rebuild the lower blocks area, unless going for performance or project cars. :angel:

Edited by MinistryofAlex
my car now left alignment problem (need a new camber kit) and some bird making noise to settle then perfect already

i've owned my esi for 1 year. things i've changed

1) drive shaft

2) tie rod (front)

3) 2 x engine mounting

4) 2 x front brake rotors and brake pads

5) power window problem

6) front brake line

7) reverse sensor

8) parking brake cable

9) original cabin light

10) oil seal

11) rubber tube for power steering

12) central locking for passenger doesn't work

13) new set of compoment speakers

it's like almost every month i visit the workshop :sian: i'm going crazy :giddy:

So the boss of the workshop got treat u makan ?

brake pads ok la, every car also need to chg :cheeky: other than that and reverse sensor, those are common wear and tear items on a matured vehicle.

*Touch wood* be gald u haven chg majority of the pumps and belts :lol:

Edited by MinistryofAlex
another thing

check ur air con settings. is it allowing air from the outside to cool your car or are you using internal air for own cooling purposes?

Nope..Checked is for inside only....

Good things dont come cheap & cheap thing dont come good

-------------------------------------------------

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/8460/yellowpv7.jpg

Well.. seems like something is being burned or converted for a smell to be emitted, can't possibly be some motorist keep farting in front of you :cheeky:

Yes, must be something burning, but when i stop my car, i tried smelling at my engine and exhaust no burning smell, dont know isit some gas that is not burn off?

likely your head gasket crack so engine oil is leaking somewhere or the coolant is leaking into somewhere and burning.

is the smoke whitish , are you experiencing hi temp?

is your engine overheating?

white smoke is cause by engine oil or coolant in combustion chamber.

if smoke is balckish, then it could simply be carbon build up. just need tuning.

So the boss of the workshop got treat u makan ?

brake pads ok la, every car also need to chg :cheeky: other than that and reverse sensor, those are common wear and tear items on a matured vehicle.

*Touch wood* be gald u haven chg majority of the pumps and belts :lol:

oh yeah, forget to add i've timing belt :sweat:

yup old car ..

shiong ah tyrian .. .

si beh song. :D

think chnage engine ba

white or black smoke

I heard from my friend at the back saying is black smoke haha....

old seal need to change 99%.

mmmm....ok...

yo bro... did u switch on ur aircon and drag?

normally if u do that, there will b burning smell coming out... and thats no gd cos it will spoil de compressor...

Ya i did on my aircorn and drag most of the time.....

Weather so hot haha....

can we make here to be esi problem thread??

i also have issue , brake and turning at slow speed

my steering will have like marbles dropping sound

Hey wait4me, u gotten ESI also?

That time i meet u at mac but ur not driving ESI but ur friend.

What color ur car, keep a look out of u on the road

u know what,your eo is leaking so when u drag the temp raise up n burn ur eo..confirm white smoke come out of ur exhaust..u drive this type of car,confirm alot prob wan..what u expect 4 a 20 yr old car..

EO isit? Will also check on this....Expected......Thanks :D

my car now left alignment problem (need a new camber kit) and some bird making noise to settle then perfect already

i've owned my esi for 1 year. things i've changed

1) drive shaft

2) tie rod (front)

3) 2 x engine mounting

4) 2 x front brake rotors and brake pads

5) power window problem

6) front brake line

7) reverse sensor

8) parking brake cable

9) original cabin light

10) oil seal

11) rubber tube for power steering

12) central locking for passenger doesn't work

13) new set of compoment speakers

it's like almost every month i visit the workshop :sian: i'm going crazy :giddy:

Lucky i dont, heng heng.....But do u spent alot most of the time?

How much usually for your servicing?

got black smoke means ur engine is "eating" ur engine oil alr, means got problem with ur engine alr, better bring it and rectify asap

YES, every 300 Km i run i have to top up petrol follow by water and engine oil.

I dont think can retify but change new engine sigh......:sian:

likely your head gasket crack so engine oil is leaking somewhere or the coolant is leaking into somewhere and burning.

is the smoke whitish , are you experiencing hi temp?

is your engine overheating?

white smoke is cause by engine oil or coolant in combustion chamber.

if smoke is balckish, then it could simply be carbon build up. just need tuning.

Thanks bro Will check on this Head Gasket Crack &

Coolant .

I dont see my Temp goes high, usually in the middle. or maybe not accurate haha...

I am thinking to install gauge meter to keep track what do you think?

My friend say my smoke is black so i need tuning, any lobang for tuning?

if you have to top up radiator with water means your cooling system integrity has been breached. maybe a hose is cracked.

if you are losing engine oil, likely gasket failure.

if you continue to drive like that

your engine will be overheated and you'll have huge repair bill.

Hey wait4me, u gotten ESI also?

That time i meet u at mac but ur not driving ESI but ur friend.

What color ur car, keep a look out of u on the road

i took over his one ...

Thanks bro Will check on this Head Gasket Crack &

Coolant .

I dont see my Temp goes high, usually in the middle. or maybe not accurate haha...

I am thinking to install gauge meter to keep track what do you think?

My friend say my smoke is black so i need tuning, any lobang for tuning?

dun be silly, tuning does not solve ur problem. So ur car got a piggyback? or just reflash?

meters are up to u, some accurate, some not.. Quality ones start from 300~ 400 with sensors and cable.

wait, u mean u need to topup coolant then engine oil for every 300km? go workshop ask them do for u a pressure test on radiator.

EO isit? Will also check on this....Expected......Thanks :D

Lucky i dont, heng heng.....But do u spent alot most of the time?

How much usually for your servicing?

as cheap as $88 for EO change to $1600 for being a carrot per visit

since then, i stopped going to the shop that charge me >$1000

:lol: kena low blow liao :cheeky::cheeky:

dun like that leh, timing belt nia. :sweat:

what is power sterring drop oil ??

as in direct translation

fri i check engine oil , was shock that the metal piece i pull out got no oil drip at all

decide to go workshop on sat ,

they change engine oil , (very stylo pump unlike bikes) then the mech check and say my power sterring losing oil ..

as my friend bring his balance engine oil over , the mech say aiyo why u use so good oil

normal engine oil good le...

can i also ask what is normal engine oil eg, brand , price , thickness of oil ?

there's a power steering oil container just besides the windscreen water.

mine leaked due to rubber connecting the container to the engine harden.

Bro i think u send ur car to e workshop u trust o knw better, cuz ESI is old liao n hw long u bought liao, mayb last owner whack alot.. My car corolla AE101 oso gt problem, my case is when i go in left corner/left turn at bout 40-50km/hr my rpm will down all e way, n if i go left faster ard 50-60km/hr my car die off.... My car some more is auto n when i go right side nothing happen........... So my advise is to send in to workshop............

http://media5.fliptrack.com/d/photos/CB/iCBGkMEtrQ39B0SAinDSt.jpg

Really miss riding hope i gt a bike now..........:sian:

what is power sterring drop oil ??

as in direct translation

fri i check engine oil , was shock that the metal piece i pull out got no oil drip at all

decide to go workshop on sat ,

they change engine oil , (very stylo pump unlike bikes) then the mech check and say my power sterring losing oil ..

as my friend bring his balance engine oil over , the mech say aiyo why u use so good oil

normal engine oil good le...

can i also ask what is normal engine oil eg, brand , price , thickness of oil ?

power steering has a pump and container, just like ur brakes fluid container. power steering oil drop maybe the mech was saying a leakage.

The metal piece is call a "dip stick", u should check the dip stick only on a even road surface, without starting the engine.

Normal EO normally mech refers to avg or cheaper pricing type like $15 a litre or less. Every brand also define their oil as the best, so no comments on that.

Ur EG should feed with something like a xW40 ~ 30 based on the condition, dun think urs can support visco 50 type. you will lose more power and wear out the bearings faster.