[Info] Biometric Identification of Motorbikers (BIKES)

• Replies 30

went for petrol just now... the system is up.

only at tuas checkpoint for the moment. they say that woodlands side will be up by early 2007.

but you gotta register for the system. register at the customs itself. mai tu liao! registered liao loh! hahaha!

there will be 2 sides to enter when you reach the customs. 1 for the auto system, the other for the normal manual system (current). the manual system still operates as per normal. the new system thingy only kicks in when there is a jam or during peak hour.

the system works by scanning your passport, then take your thumbprint.

meaning there will not be anyone in the booths anymore. its automated, but i guess there will still be some pple around to ensure things stay in order. but they cut alot of manpower that way.

but i can anticipate that there will be some technical errors as the system is still new. it can't scan your thumbprint if your thumb is not clean or if it is wet. and if your passport is like cuttlefish, i not sure if the system can scan your passport anot. and if some clown cannot scan his/her passport of thumbprint, the whole line will jam too.

but this is singapore la, do not worry. got error, sure fix. kiasu wan hahaha!

also the system is currently meant for SINGLE riders only. no pillion. i dunno why, but that is what its stated.

i hope the system will help in clearing the jams. if i'm not wrong, there is limited amount for pple to register at current. i guess its like a trial test before it officially kicks off? just like the EZlink thingy years back. only a few get to try it out for the first few months.

last but not least, it is something new and welcoming... hope it solves the jam problem. esp at woodlands side

not sure if need to register coz when i returned overseas last month, the immigration officer at the airport asked me to try the automated clearance channel. took bout 2-3 tries before my thumbprint can be read.

does that mean im already registered??? or they read of from the national database?

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

i've actually juz called and confirmed wif ICA

anyone Singapore citizen above the age of 15 yrs can use tiz system already

dun nid to apply for anything

juz nid to use ur passport and scan ur thumbprint :cheer:

http://img252.echo.cx/img252/5066/ppp012vm.gif

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Always expect the unexpected!

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

Originally posted by xiao_p@Oct 20 2006, 02:33 PM

With the implementation of the immigration automated clearance system, we hopefully don't need to remove our helmet anymore.

http://www.geocities.com/sg_fazer/earth.JPG

I believe the system being refered to here is called "BIKES"

My colleague (using his Malaysian passport) had only 2 words to say for this system at this moment and that IT SUCKS.

You need to insert your passport showing your biodata into the machine . (Wet passports may be rejected)

Then when cleared , you need to insert your cashcard / autopass into the card reader and then place your finger on the scanner ( dirty or wet fingers may be rejected ) .

When all the verification is complete , you can collect your cashcard and wait for the barrier to open .

The hiccups you might face are when any one of the above does not work for you and you hold up traffic . :giddy:

According to my colleague , this unmanned system actually takes longer to clear (sometimes up to 5 minutes) than the minute or so when you just have to wait for the officer to check your passport and return back to you.

Pillion riders must alight and use the manual counters . It is expected to be available at Woodlands Customs in Yr 2007. Presently only at Tuas Checkpoint .

I have attached a brochure i have about this .

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c213/orangefazer/untitled-2.jpg

yes i agree. potential bottleneck than the proposed automated smooth flow they will be expecting. i myself had to rescan my thumbprint 3-4 times over... it's not easy and as fast. doubt it'll take off.

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

ha! bad for me. i can't apply.

why don't they make ppl scan their eyeballs? lol.. like those super high technology shows... =x

and its only meant for riders only, not for the pillions... which means... those with pillion, in the end, they still have to wait...

they should create more lanes, and during peak hours, open all the lanes instead of 3 or 4 lanes..

Originally posted by moccajava@Oct 21 2006, 12:08 PM

yes i agree. potential bottleneck than the proposed automated smooth flow they will be expecting. i myself had to rescan my thumbprint 3-4 times over... it's not easy and as fast. doubt it'll take off.

having 2x human clearance points + 1x automated definitely better than 2x human clearance points right. wonder if the automated clearance system is to supplement or replace normal clearance points.

6 years back in school i had finger print attendance, every morning scan liao go back to class teacher still mark again. :lol: double job.

i love dividends.

woah... which school is that? so cheem.

having 2x human clearance points + 1x automated definitely better than 2x human clearance points right

agree. coz some will join the automated queue thinking it's faster thus reduing the queue at the manual lanes hahaha.

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Originally posted by moccajava@Oct 23 2006, 12:36 PM

woah... which school is that? so cheem.

agree. coz some will join the automated queue thinking it's faster thus reduing the queue at the manual lanes hahaha.

PJC.

btw which side is the automated queue on at 2nd link?

i love dividends.

Originally posted by xiao_p@Oct 20 2006, 02:33 PM

Like to add caution about no need to register :

I know airport ones don't need registration when ARRIVING.

However, Immigration officers at TUAS customs told me that even Singapore passport holders need to register before one can use the system for DEPARTURE at TUAS customs.

I didn't query further and rode off.

Let go.... let God....

Guest yanani18&27
Originally posted by whyh@Oct 26 2006, 11:39 PM

However, Immigration officers at TUAS customs told me that even Singapore passport holders need to register before one can use the system for DEPARTURE at TUAS customs.

yup

u r true

need to register 1st

Originally posted by whyh@Oct 26 2006, 11:39 PM

register at customs itself?

i love dividends.

i have used this system i did not register or anything jus joined this Q n scan passsport n scaned thumb thts all.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

basket just implant microchip into our bodies , then scan our bodies like how they scan our IU through ERP, much faster easier no need to stop and check even! .

wait a minute later they implant this and that we all become mutant how :cheeky:

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.