In my opinion, the best all rounder bike has to be the VFR800. When I wanted to buy a bike where I can be quite competitive on the track and be comfortable with it for touring, I choose this VFR which I am still riding now.

But, I like the look of the Fazer too. Haven't ridden one before so I can't comment on its performance. BTW, I have rode many Yamahas before.

• Replies 92

Originally posted by senate747@Oct 23 2006, 09:17 PM

bro, i agree with you that fz6 is a gd bike cos i used to ride it too.. but we must not forget the hornet 600, its also a very gd n reliable competitor of the fz6...

anyway the pictures look gd. should put one picture showing those nice pipes of yours... :lovestruck:

Bro, Paisay to keep u waiting and here are the Remus Twins. :cheeky:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_Remus%406.JPG

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_Remus%405.JPGhttp://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_Remus%404.JPG

Originally posted by KISS@Oct 31 2006, 11:23 PM

In my opinion, the best all rounder bike has to be the VFR800. When I wanted to buy a bike where I can be quite competitive on the track and be comfortable with it for touring, I choose this VFR which I am still riding now.

But, I like the look of the Fazer too. Haven't ridden one before so I can't comment on its performance. BTW, I have rode many Yamahas before.

VFR was one of my choice when i was looking the other time, but the price for a new one is too expensive as compare to the fazer. GS 1150 is a good bike for touring if we dont talk about going to a track but too pricy. those who've watched "Long way around" should know what i mean. u should look at the amount of load and abuse those GS went through throughout the journey..:lovestruck:

Sep 2001 - Jan 2003 WR200

Jan 2003 - Feb 2005 S4 spec 1

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

Apr 2006 - May 2006 Vios & FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

Jan 2007 - ???????? Vios & S4 spec 1

http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p167/senate747/CIMG6396.jpg

Originally posted by fazermurpies@Nov 1 2006, 12:33 PM

Bro, Paisay to keep u waiting and here are the Remus Twins. :cheeky:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_Remus%406.JPG

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_Remus%405.JPGhttp://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_Remus%404.JPG

LOVELYYYYYY :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

very nice indeed. if i do get another fz6, got to get myself one set of these man....

where did u do the seat? that ain a corbin seat rite? :confused:

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

Originally posted by hydrop@Nov 1 2006, 03:48 PM

Any idea when should I send my fazer for the 3rd servicing? It has ran about 5300km and the 2nd servicing was done at 2900km....6 months ago. :cheeky:

think it's either u go to yamaha(HL) for the servicing package or jus have your oil n filter change at any bike shop that u knw of. i think the batt is the other essential thing u mus chk...

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

Originally posted by senate747@Nov 1 2006, 12:42 PM

LOVELYYYYYY  :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

very nice indeed. if i do get another fz6, got to get myself one set of these man....

where did u do the seat? that ain a corbin seat rite? :confused:

the seat is original with bagster cover. I'm fine with the stock one.:smile: i just ride my bro 07 model yamaha R6. Really power bike.shiok man. but to prol for me if go for touring.still prefer an up right riding position bike.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_6A480009.jpg

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_6A480013%7E0.jpg

Originally posted by fazermurpies@Nov 5 2006, 09:11 PM

the seat is original with bagster cover. I'm fine with the stock one.:smile: i just ride my bro 07 model yamaha R6. Really power bike.shiok man. but to prol for me if go for touring.still prefer an up right riding position bike.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_6A480009.jpg

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12458/normal_6A480013%7E0.jpg

nice.... the 07 R6 is already in ah... that's fast.... very lovely bike... better ask your bro to cover it up properly and if possible chain it to something when parked cos there had been a number of missing 06 R6 lately.. touchwood ya..

i too prefer the upright sitting position. it's more comfortable to ride though i dont really mind if someone do give me a R6 to ride :cheeky:

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

Before I go bike shops sourcing for a fazer. Any ideas what price should I expect for what model?

Remember no bike is the fastest, no place is that far and no road is that tough.

Mind Over Body

Originally posted by senate747@Nov 6 2006, 10:00 AM

nice.... the 07 R6 is already in ah... that's fast.... very lovely bike... better ask your bro to cover it up properly and if possible chain it to something when parked cos there had been a number of missing 06 R6 lately.. touchwood ya..

i too prefer the upright sitting position. it's more comfortable to ride though i dont really mind if someone do give me a R6 to ride :cheeky:

yep. Thx for the advice senate747. alarm noted in the next shopping list but any recommandation for good n cheap alarm system whether scopion alarm or acumen?:confused:

Originally posted by dominator@Nov 7 2006, 07:14 AM

Before I go bike shops sourcing for a fazer. Any ideas what price should I expect for what model?

bro, AS PXXX selling at 13.8k otr for 31yr old the other time with jacket, helmet n other stuff. that is for the 06 fz6-S. so if u're younger than that, it should be a couple of hundred more, so roughly 14k region otr for a new 06 fz6-S. i'm nt too sure bt the fz1, but think it's in the 18-19k region.

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

just went servicing at HL yamaha. wow expensive sia. standard package include service change and changing oil (synthec) is 113. spark plug (4x$10.5) and oil filter ($15) is not included and sold seperately. Total i spent 182 wif GST. :mad:

Originally posted by fazermurpies@Nov 23 2006, 11:10 AM

just went servicing at HL yamaha. wow expensive sia. standard package include service change and changing oil (synthec) is 113. spark plug (4x$10.5) and oil filter ($15) is not included and sold seperately. Total i spent 182 wif GST. :mad:

Similar price lah...I spent $173.25 total.

Package service $113

Spark plug $30

Gasket $1

Element Assy oil cleaner $21

GST $8.25

We R One!

Originally posted by hydrop@Dec 13 2006, 11:49 PM

Similar price lah...I spent $173.25 total.

Package service $113

Spark plug $30

Gasket $1

Element Assy oil cleaner $21

GST $8.25

i'm not the only one.:sian: next round will not go there if they don;t give discount.

Many say the fazer6 is good and many say the fazer1 is good, hmmm anyone can advice on whats the main difference? Is fazer1 or fazer6 more suitable for singapore roads with moderate touring? :cheeky:

PK & Friends

STOC: 7063

Originally posted by zero_degrees@Dec 18 2006, 02:06 AM

Many say the fazer6 is good and many say the fazer1 is good, hmmm anyone can advice on whats the main difference? Is fazer1 or fazer6 more suitable for singapore roads with moderate touring? :cheeky:

it depend on your burget. of cos fazer1 is better if your wallet allows. if not fazer6 is more economic interm of maintainess , insurance and road tax.

Originally posted by fazermurpies@Dec 19 2006, 03:24 AM

it depend on your burget. of cos fazer1 is better if your wallet allows. if not fazer6 is more economic interm of maintainess , insurance and road tax.

First of all thanks for the reply, but i heard the older fazer 1 are carb models and thus less problem than the EFI fazer6 is that true? Or is it because if an EFI fazer got problem, it cost more to fix it than the carb model fazer1? hmmm pls enlighten...:smile:

PK & Friends

STOC: 7063

Originally posted by 38C@Oct 30 2006, 01:50 PM

The 04 Fazer 600 is the worst class 2 bike i ever owned.

- poor 2-pot front brake calipers (taken from XJR400)

- lousy non-adjustable front forks

- lousy pre-load adjustable rear shocks, non-compression & non-rebound adjustable.

- lousy low band acceleration (some say Super 4 can pick up faster)

- lousy handling (longer wheelbase) with longer swingarm over the 03 Fz6

- tailboard with pillion handrails are integrated fairing, i.e. if suay suay bike drop, have to change entire piece.

- exteremely hot pillion seat when riding long distance to Msia/Thailand due to the underseat exhaust system. I tried to wrap it with those exhaust heat wrap, but it doesnt help much either.

- signals/mirrors extracted from TDM.

- almost no underseat storage space. can't even put a rain coat.

- lousy BT020 stock tyres. the tyres that will kill you when u self skid over dry/wet roads.

- non-DIY friendly. have to remove side pannels to lift up fuel tank. Fuel tank lifter is not given, unlike Suzuki bikes.

- Headlight is a huge disappointment on NSH at night, even with Philips Vision Plus 50% longer beam bulbs. It's the reflectors in the headlight that does not shine far. Also another c*** up design, having a H4 bulb on one side and H7 bulb on the other side of the headlight.

- TPS a common problem for most of the 04 and 05 models. It fails automatically w/o warning, and your bike cant idle + fuel consumption goes up + your bike dies off even while riding in gears. Its a major fault that Yamaha only recently recalls.

In summary - the most disappointing class 2 bike i ever owned.

period.

kinda agree.

- lousy low band acceleration (some say Super 4 can pick up faster)

this one i cannot tahan. it feels so slow on the street. most small cc bike can blow it.

best all rounder should be vfr800 or fz1

Originally posted by 3ddy@Dec 21 2006, 11:13 PM

kinda agree.

considering that FZ6 is suppose to be a budget big bike when it was designed back then, u cant really complain much bt the lower specs given as compared to let's say a top of the end sportsbike like VFR800 or FZ1 etc. compare the $$ & CC's and u'll know..

so far i havent heard of anyone complaining about the rear tailboard cos no one intend to drop the bike. if u have a slider or crash bar when u drop it, it wont really hit that portion unless u purposely push the bike with all your strength to make it roll a few times.

i havent had any complains abt the underseat exhaust from any of my pillions or a few fellow fz6 riders. perhaps i din go as fast, that's y it ain that hot.

the mirrors are actually very well positioned that you can get a clear view on what's behind. same goes for the signal lights, well positioned to allow others to see them. they are there for safety n they actually look gd overall.

the understorage seat space is widely applied to alot of bikes these days and most do not have large understorage space. (eg. R1, CBRs, etc). so it's pretty normal to compromise storage space in exchange for a better undertail look.

if u want to remove the tanks easily, my suggestion is to get the fz6-N version, it's comes with only a headlight instead.

tyres can be changed. but remember BT is actually quite long lasting as compared to those tyres that handle very well but wear out fast.

the headlights can actually be adjusted higher so that they can shine further. handling wise, it feels pretty much like a S4. i changed from a S4 to fz6 when they feel pretty much the same to me. not that bad lah. pick up wont really lose if u dare to use the upper range. the enginer screams when u rev it to the upper range

TPS fault is the only major fault that this bike had, mostly 04 ones were affected, only some 05 ones were affected as well. Once retrified, shdnt be a problem.

overall, i love my fz6, it's still up to individual's preference on the bike and the above comments only reflect my personal view on the bike

this one i cannot tahan. it feels so slow on the street. most small cc bike can blow it.

re: due too the strict emussion Yamaha add in the catalize to pass the test. i solve tat by removing the catalize and the respone is better now.

re:. if you can afford to pay more like 44k+ for a BMW GS 1200 or 22k++ for VFR and 19k+ for FZ1, of cos is the best. BUT FZ6 is only 15k+ and maintainess is much econmic than the above all.

Sorry had to butt in... Just to share some of my opinions which I agree and didn't agree on. Though I had never ridden a Fazer, but at some point of time I almost bought it.

considering that FZ6 is suppose to be a budget big bike when it was designed back then, u cant really complain much bt the lower specs given as compared to let's say a top of the end sportsbike like R6 or GSR etc.
Erm... Is it REALLY meant to be a budget bike?

i havent had any complains abt the underseat exhaust from any of my pillions or a few fellow fz6 riders. perhaps i din go as fast, that's y it ain that hot.
Actually this problem exists with most underseat exhaust models, especially with Yamaha. It kinda defeats the purpose of having a 600cc while you are not going fast then... (fast meaning > 150)

the understorage seat space is widely applied to alot of bikes these days and most do not have large understorage space. (eg. R1, CBRs, etc). so it's pretty normal to compromise storage space in exchange for a better undertail look.
You sure it widely applies to alot of bikes? I only know most sportsbike have small underseat compartment. Besides, Fazer is not a sportsbike! You might have realised that sportsbikes were designed with no intention for commuting let alone storage. So it really is an invalid comparison. It is quite troublesome for a street/tourer bike to not have a reasonable underseat storage.

the headlights can actually be adjusted higher so that they can shine further.
Yeah, infact that's good flexibility. Which is essential for the bike to serve its multi-purpose usage. If I'm not wrong, you can adjust how wide you want to spread the beams apart also. Nice.

pick up wont really lose if u dare to use the upper range. the enginer screams when u rev it to the upper range
Once again, it defeats its purpose as a street/tourer bike if you have to rev high to get the power coming. You don't want to be running through so many gears here and then just to pull out of corner for a street/tourer bike, it's meant to be free and easy!

But at the end of the day, Fazer is indeed churning out more horses due to the slightly higher rev tuning, though it might not serve its purpose to all. But thinking that a 600 cc street/tourer bike can hit about a top speed of 240, that's some good compensation you can consider for high speed touring. I heard it's also capable of occasional track sessions.

Once again, it defeats its purpose as a street/tourer bike if you have to rev high to get the power coming. You don't want to be running through so many gears here and then just to pull out of corner for a street/tourer bike, it's meant to be free and easy

re:At these point i agreed with you and tats the reason why i change my exhaust and Dyno it to gain more mid range power. Cos we seldom use the high end power (240km/h) locally. unless going track than i will use back my track mapping. Cheers:smile:

Once again, it defeats its purpose as a street/tourer bike if you have to rev high to get the power coming. You don't want to be running through so many gears here and then just to pull out of corner for a street/tourer bike, it's meant to be free and easy

re:At these point i agreed with you and tats the reason why i change my exhaust and Dyno it to gain more mid range power. Cos we seldom use the high end power (240km/h) locally. unless going track than i will use back my track mapping.

as For your info the New 2007 fazer 600 has two model one is being detune from 98hp to 78hp to resolve the mid range power as compare to ours now. The other one is FZ6 Spec II with upgraded fairing and ect claim to be 98hp Cheers:smile:

Originally posted by 38C@Oct 30 2006, 01:50 PM

The 04 Fazer 600 is the worst class 2 bike i ever owned.

1)- poor 2-pot front brake calipers (taken from XJR400)

2)- lousy non-adjustable front forks

3)- lousy pre-load adjustable rear shocks, non-compression & non-rebound adjustable.

4)- lousy low band acceleration (some say Super 4 can pick up faster)

5)- lousy handling (longer wheelbase) with longer swingarm over the 03 Fz6

6)- tailboard with pillion handrails are integrated fairing, i.e. if suay suay bike drop, have to change entire piece.

7)- exteremely hot pillion seat when riding long distance to Msia/Thailand due to the underseat exhaust system. I tried to wrap it with those exhaust heat wrap, but it doesnt help much either.

8)- signals/mirrors extracted from TDM.

9)- almost no underseat storage space. can't even put a rain coat.

10)- lousy BT020 stock tyres. the tyres that will kill you when u self skid over dry/wet roads.

11)- non-DIY friendly. have to remove side pannels to lift up fuel tank. Fuel tank lifter is not given, unlike Suzuki bikes.

12)- Headlight is a huge disappointment on NSH at night, even with Philips Vision Plus 50% longer beam bulbs. It's the reflectors in the headlight that does not shine far. Also another c*** up design, having a H4 bulb on one side and H7 bulb on the other side of the headlight.

13)- TPS a common problem for most of the 04 and 05 models. It fails automatically w/o warning, and your bike cant idle + fuel consumption goes up + your bike dies off even while riding in gears. Its a major fault that Yamaha only recently recalls.

In summary - the most disappointing class 2 bike i ever owned.

period.

halo

first of all this new fz6 is a re-design model to take over the old fazer 600 which fail europe emission law in case 'if' you do your re-search properly.

As for the rest of the poor things you said,in some I totaly disagree also it show you did not check or see properly

1)front brake does not take from XJR400 but XJ400, they are 2 different model. now the XJR400 is using the same 2 pot as the R1. I still can brake in time with orginal brake hose.

2)yes I agree they are non adjustable front fork but why in first place you wan to adjust since this is a street-touring bike mean for street and not track ok .

3)same as above to lazy to explain again please read above.

4)yes I agree but slower then S4 - have you really try out with one. 'some say' you mean you only listen and not seeing it for yourself. OMG I have nothing to say.

wait-then why you buy in the first place - some say again

5)Get a sport bike if you want better handling - longer wheel base means it is more stable at high speed on straight thats what touring bikes are mean for. If you cant handle don buy blame yourself not the bike.

6)I not so suay like you.

7)How come me and my pillion don feel it when I ride for touring, been to kuantan and KL. I don't think Yamaha is that stupid to built a bike that burns your a**, if so than you are even more stupid to buy.

8)whats wrong with that as longs as it does it works, dont like it change it then.

9)the owners manuel does not state that space is for your rain coat so why put one, get a car can put tons of rain coat.

10)sorry I use BT020 for nearly 2 years and I had no problems with that.If you self skid don blame on the tyres but yourself, if you know those are no good for your style of riding - change it.

11) Why in the first place you want to lift the tank - I don't understand please explain are you a mechanic does your mechanic complains to you when you send for servicing. Again the owners manuel state to have a proper machanic to check - oops you may not even know what is that sorry.

12)maybe you can email Yamaha europe to ask these question instead not here.Suzuki better change then why stick to it.I dont see europe guys complain about that.

13)Agree but do you know that TPS is not made by Yamaha but by a third party company. oops you dont care at all right . so why complain, did you pay for it? I know I didn't cos I had change it not 1 not 2 but 3 times and I pay $0.

In summary - research first before you buy do some homework , dont buy already then complain. What happens if this is not Yamaha FZ6 but some other bikes.Dont blame others if you cannot solve your own problems. think a Honda Super4 suit you better.

Originally posted by 3ddy@Dec 21 2006, 11:13 PM

kinda agree.

so slow - Are you sure about that

Is the rider not the bike, have that comes across your mind.

what will you do if see a kup ride pass a bigger cc bikes bigger than a 600cc - that bike is no good.

VFR800 and FZ1 both are good all rounder that I agree, It already state is a mid-rounder not a sport-tourer like VFR or a all-rounder like a fazer1000

you are just like comparing a RXZ135cc to a LC350cc tong or YPVS500cc

Once again if you dont like yamaha FZ6 why buy in the first place.

dont like it - sell it

as for me I wont say this is be the best bike I own but still I am very happy with the performance :smile:

I am proud to be a owner of a YAMAHA FZ6