• Replies 12

Originally posted by ROL13@Nov 8 2006, 10:14 PM

"but the 400s are a little underpowered"

Jus to add on. --> but the 400s are a little underpowered for all cruiser.

My opinion, if you like it , jus buy it.

"but the 400s are a little underpowered" this is definitely an understatement.

I'm not too bother with the speed as I don't have quick reflexes.

Originally posted by Klin@Nov 10 2006, 12:00 AM

Hi Demon...I am riding an intruder...are u too?

I bought a '96 model last week. I have never own anything other than scramblers, still wondering why I bought it but it could have something to do with watching American Chopper.

I'm a total idiot with V-twin engines, and the wirings look hell of a messy as compared to scrams. The bike is clean, and it sounded like it's running well, all electronics & electrical are working. I will not be riding it yet as I want to make sure it's problem free mechanically before starting work. I have some advises from a few cruiser forumers.

Here is my plan

I want to extend the fork to max without replacing the stock cablings. The rear has been lowered but doesn't seem low enough. Once that desired geometry is achieved, I will get the tank, fenders, side-covers re-sprayed. I will either replace the header pipes or get the stock ones re-chromed. I am also looking at forward control, I have seen them on ebay for like USD350, but that's for Intruder 800, so I am not sure it will fit.

Any help or advise will be greatly appreciated, especially you have done similar works

Originally posted by Demon@Nov 10 2006, 09:44 AM

I bought a '96 model last week. I have never own anything other than scramblers, still wondering why I bought it but it could have something to do with watching American Chopper.

LOL ... Intruder is a good bike. :thumb:

Here is my plan

I want to extend the fork to max without replacing the stock cablings. The rear has been lowered but doesn't seem low enough. Once that desired geometry is achieved, I will get the tank, fenders, side-covers re-sprayed. I will either replace the header pipes or get the stock ones re-chromed. I am also looking at forward control, I have seen them on ebay for like USD350, but that's for Intruder 800, so I am not sure it will fit.

Extending the forks without changing the trees will off set the rake and trail. This leads to wrong geometry set up. Rather go for 6" riser with drag bar if you are looking for chopper look alike. Otherwise you have to spend quite a sum (over 2k) to get everything correct. Chopper kit with widen trees, 13degree rake out with 8" over tubes.

For respray, I have one in mind that can delivery an awesome and extraordinary paint work if you willing to pay a little higher price.

Better take stock header to rechrome it.

Forwards control, got a friend might willing to sell half the price for your model if you don't mind sourcing for a few little small pieces missing by yourself. Main parts are around, just need some jig-saw-puzzle fixing up.

PM me if you need any inform of the above. :p

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c57/Daryous/My%20Motorcycles/NAFeelingLucky.gif
Originally posted by NormalAspirated@Nov 13 2006, 03:27 AM

Extending the forks without changing the trees will off set the rake and trail. This leads to wrong geometry set up. Rather go for 6" riser with drag bar if you are looking for chopper look alike. Otherwise you have to spend quite a sum (over 2k) to get everything correct. Chopper kit with widen trees, 13degree rake out with 8" over tubes.

For respray, I have one in mind that can delivery an awesome and extraordinary paint work if you willing to pay a little higher price.

Forwards control, got a friend might willing to sell half the price for your model if you don't mind sourcing for a few little small pieces missing by yourself. Main parts are around, just need some jig-saw-puzzle fixing up.

hey N.A. thanks for the advise. Will keep your contact. Cheers

wei...add me to ur contacts oso leh....next month i will start building up my Suzy and bring her back to life...then we can go ride togther....ur call brudder....name time and place...i'll be there....:cheer:

i oso tot of putting on the forward control....but at the meantime,do up the engine 1st...if the engine is good to go,then i will start up with the cosmetic...i need to look for exhaust though,..

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

Originally posted by AJ..@Nov 13 2006, 10:21 AM

wei...add me to ur contacts oso leh....next month i will start building up my Suzy and bring her back to life...then we can go ride togther....ur call brudder....name time and place...i'll be there....:cheer:

i oso tot of putting on the forward control....but at the meantime,do up the engine 1st...if the engine is good to go,then i will start up with the cosmetic...i need to look for exhaust though,..

sure do brudder. Riding no problem but go easy on the throttle

Originally posted by NormalAspirated@Nov 13 2006, 03:27 AM

I agree totally with the point of rake and trail. I have added 2" on my rebel, just front fork extensions and dropped the rear by 2". I dont ride fast and dont take corners like there's no tomorrow, so to me this setup works fine. Bike runs ok. Now, I am not encouraging you to do it like the way I have done it. But consider it carefully before you make changes to the height of your fork, your safety is first priority.

bro,got pict of your bike?the front extension hw much it cost?

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

Originally posted by AJ..@Nov 19 2006, 11:05 AM

bro,got pict of your bike?the front extension hw much it cost?

Bike not picture worthy yet.

Last Friday, got jimmy to sort out my brakes. He will be machining the extension for my fork. Your Savage will look good with a longer fork too. Make fork long long, not rideable never mind, but poser-look more important...haaaa. Let's get the fork extension done together ? Then send parts for spraying & chroming togther, and finsh the job with forward control. Then once everything all nicely done up we can go Endau Rompin with our choppers, ok ?

ok set!!!!!!next month brudder...its jus a mth away...waiting for bonus...i wanna spray the engine black...after tat,look for exhaust....hw much for the fork extension?