Hey guys.

I have a question that hopefully someone can give some good advice to.

I've been driving for 2 years now, and recently been attracted to getting myself a harley davidson as a 2nd ride (zoom zoom around for lifestyle and leisure). The iron 883 in particular.

I do not have a bike license.

I will be heading to the usa (in about 5 mths time) for two years minimal to pursue my masters degree, and I'm wondering if I should take my class 2b here now or just wait till I go to the usa and take my license there.

which leads to a few questions that I have

1) is it true that a 1 year gap between each class 2a, 2b, 2 license is required?

2) if I were to take lessons in the states, can I convert it when I come back to Singapore eventually? What class will I get back here? What is required?

Thank you so much guys. Your help is appreciated.

• Replies 12

Popular Days

it will be better for you to take your licence in US.

if i'm not mistaken, it's a open class licence. correct me if i'm wrong.

and since you will be there for minimum 2 years, you will have experience and exposure to handling big bikes.

upon your return to SG, convert your licence and bring along your proof of ownership for the bike and kindly request to direct convert to class 2.

perhaps some of the bros whom have successfully converted can advise as well

there's a required period of u staying there after getting the license to be able to convert...no problem since u're staying there 5 yrs, but i'm not sure they'll convert it direct class 2....

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

hey guys,

thanks so much for the replies :) I read through the sticky on top as well. Very informative :)

I won't be there 5 years, but 2 years for sure since the degree will take 2 years to complete!

I checked the price of the bike, SGD$11,000 in the states, SGD$23,000 in Singapore! Cheaper to ride there too :p

if i'm not wrong, you'll need proof of residence in the country you took your license of at least 12 months

Grounded... :/

Source

Singaporeans and Permanent Residents

Singaporeans and Permanent Residents may only drive in Singapore with a Singapore licence. They have to seek conversion of their foreign driving licence upon returning to Singapore and upon obtaining PR status respectively.

Singaporeans and Permanent Residents may convert a foreign driving licence if they can show proof that they have reason to be staying in a foreign country for a period of 1 year or more due to study or work, and have a total stay of 6 months within the one year period.

Classes of driving licence that may be converted

Foreign licence conversion is only granted for class 2B and class 3 qualified driving licences. Learner driving licence may not be converted.

Conversion for a higher capacity or open category motorcycle licence is normally not granted unless there are documentary proof of training, testing, ownership of bigger motorcycle and insurance policy indicating that you have gone through proper training and testing regime and have had at least one year riding experience on the road.

This should be useful for you...

As others have mentioned, the default is 2B. Anything higher, have to depends on whether TP shiok u or not...

Source

This should be useful for you...

As others have mentioned, the default is 2B. Anything higher, have to depends on whether TP shiok u or not...

unless there are documentary proof of training, testing, ownership of bigger motorcycle and insurance policy indicating that you have gone through proper training and testing regime and have had at least one year riding experience on the road.

that's why you need to show ownership. you got that, can ar ga liao with TP to convert straight to class 2.

they should have stick to old class like before.. 1 class for all bikes.. :dot:

The you will see all the ah beng and ah lians on R1 upon passing....Accidents will shoot up like no one biz hahaha. And of coz Insurance will shoot way up high in the sky where no one can afford to own a bike unless got lots of money or wait until 30 years old to get a bike. hahaha.

Actually 2 classes should be sufficient.

unless there are documentary proof of training, testing, ownership of bigger motorcycle and insurance policy indicating that you have gone through proper training and testing regime and have had at least one year riding experience on the road.

that's why you need to show ownership. you got that, can ar ga liao with TP to convert straight to class 2.

that way - ownership, insurance, etc in the States

would still be faster & cheaper than getting a 2B..... 2A..... then class 2 here in Dinkapore

i say go for it while you're there Harlot!!!

keep us posted :)

thanks guys! sounds good.

I checked up bike schools in california, and they cost $250USD all together. quite a good deal eh!

Just wondering, if I try for the license here in Singapore, does it mean a minimal of 3 years before class 2?

I checked up bike schools in california, and they cost $250USD all together. quite a good deal eh!

Just wondering, if I try for the license here in Singapore, does it mean a minimal of 3 years before class 2?

lets just say:

2B

lessons + TP Test 6 months

+ 1 year

2A

lessons + TP Test 3 months

+ 1 year

lessons + TP Test 3 months

Full Class 2 would take approx 3 years, depending on how often you go for lessons & how quickly you pass so you can book for your TP tests on presumption you pass it on 1 go

for my 2b, i took about 7 months coz i wasted time waiting for TP tests (i passed only on 3rd attempt)

for my 2a i registered on 11th Sept and passed 3rd Nov - just under 2 months coz i kept going for lessons and self practice, but had to wait about 4 weeks for TP test - passed on 1st attempt...

Edited by antartica

Min 2 years, coz you don't have to wait one year to get 2B mar. 2B -> 2A: 1 yr, then 2A -> 2: 1 yr.

Practically speaking, you cannot start lessons until 1 yr after you OBTAIN your license. So, your lesson time and wait for TP time all is on top of the 2 yrs wait. So add add together probably 2.5-3 yrs liao...