Does anyone staying at East side been to Defu Lane's G.N.G Motoring? Heard they have been around for decades...

I myself serviced my bike there for almost 2 years and feel their mech are quite good and experience, namely, Tai-Kong, Ah Chuan and a few others.

I also noticed that there havent been a thread (correct me if im wrong) about G.N.G Motoring which i feel is a pity to let a good bike shop gone un-noticed.

Pls share your thoughts!

Thanks! :cheer:

• Replies 19

servicing wise not too sure but i tink it's okie cos whenever i go there (i bought and sold off my bike there) to pay inst, there's always sumone there doing bikez svs or watever...

u can also purchase the bikes there if u fancy any... the price is neg and installment wise can..ahem.. be abit late...w/o incurring any late fees...

ah chuan is the boss and his bro (i tink) is also with him... bro more mechanically inclined while the boss performs sales and blah blah...

:thumb: for the shop... :thumb:

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/MetalSlug1.gif http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/2505572364771cf7370558.gif

One life ~~ One love ~~ One United.

ε(â—̃•̃)з Ù©(à¹à¹)Û¶ Ù©(â—̃•̃)Û¶

Been wondering about this shop too..How "affordable" are their products? 2t oil..4t..Engine oil & etc?

Originally posted by compfused@Nov 19 2006, 07:52 PM

Been wondering about this shop too..How "affordable" are their products? 2t oil..4t..Engine oil & etc?

any feedback?

Originally posted by YEN96@Nov 19 2006, 10:17 PM

any feedback?

Just went there..Long stretch of road before I got to the place..Shop outlook ok la like most shops..Quite friendly but I find the stuff they sell there is too expensive..Can get cheaper elsewhere..Ask for lower price also cannot but I oo lazy to bargain and bargain I just buy..Next time I stick to Mah Motor for my 2t..

Originally posted by compfused@Nov 23 2006, 08:53 PM

Just went there..Long stretch of road before I got to the place..Shop outlook ok la like most shops..Quite friendly but I find the stuff they sell there is too expensive..Can get cheaper elsewhere..Ask for lower price also cannot but I oo lazy to bargain and bargain I just buy..Next time I stick to Mah Motor for my 2t..

GNG Motoring has a long decade of good reputation. The only shop that is good enough to exist along Defu Lane. Better than Kw**g T** L**(u know who). Ah Ong is the boss and Tai Kong only service big bikes. Ah Chuan is an expert at 2B bikes. If u can get these 2 people to service your bikes, your bikes is in good hands. Expensive? I rather pay for quality rather than shabbily works. I dun mind. My 2cents worth..

Originally posted by edwardthy@Nov 24 2006, 08:34 AM

GNG Motoring has a long decade of good reputation. The only shop that is good enough to exist along Defu Lane. Better than Kw**g T** L**(u know who). Ah Ong is the boss and Tai Kong only service big bikes. Ah Chuan is an expert at 2B bikes. If u can get these 2 people to service your bikes, your bikes is in good hands. Expensive? I rather pay for quality rather than shabbily works. I dun mind. My 2cents worth..

Just as you are defending your favourite bike shop..I am just saying that the price of the 2t sold there (the same exact 2t) Is just expensive..For example lets say shop A is selling a Brand X 2t at $14..Sure enough they do get profit from that but another shop B is selling the same Brand X 2t at $18..If shop A can sell the same Brand X 2t at $14 and still have profits I don't see why shop B couldn't..

As for servicing wise I've never done it there..Quite a distance from my place..But to those who are lookin for 2t..That is not really the place..Can try other shops for your 2t needs..I'm just giving my feedback about the abovementioned shop..No flaming intended..

did my bike repair there becos they were idac approved or something. The accident claim lawyer was good! Though the case is still running (after 3 years) due to some complications.

The repair job done was quite good I would say.

Big brother's watching...

http://yanuk.net/temps/led_ring_sil.jpg

To do list:

- Steel brake hoses (In progress...)

- Rewire bike

- Repaint fairing and clean up bike

- Replace exhaust system (DONE!)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/Angkuguay/marcusakaflowers.jpg

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by compfused@Nov 24 2006, 03:56 PM

Just as you are defending your favourite bike shop..I am just saying that the price of the 2t sold there (the same exact 2t) Is just expensive..For example lets say shop A is selling a Brand X 2t at $14..Sure enough they do get profit from that but another shop B is selling the same Brand X 2t at $18..If shop A can sell the same Brand X 2t at $14 and still have profits I don't see why shop B couldn't..

As for servicing wise I've never done it there..Quite a distance from my place..But to those who are lookin for 2t..That is not really the place..Can try other shops for your 2t needs..I'm just giving my feedback about the abovementioned shop..No flaming intended..

Eg.

Shop A buy 4 cartons in 1 order, get 8% discount.

Shop B buy 20 cartons in 1 order, get 25% discount.

Do you think Shop A can offer it at the same price as shop B.

Some distributor's discount are based on the shop's power of buying.

are we going to all the details of how to run a business?

Just buy whatever is cheaper. I feel that engine oil filters are also way over priced. For the same filters used in cars costs $3 but when sold in motortiams costs $15.

If 2T is more expensive there then just buy them else where lor. So why is ppl nit picking on the price of 2T when we are talking about the skill of the mechanics and services provided?

ps: I've only been there once for my bike accident repair. So it's not my favourite shop. But the people there were really helpful and good and I'm impressed. I haven't returned there becos I stay in the west and defu is too far for me just to change EO.

pps: I don't use 2T as well.

Big brother's watching...

http://yanuk.net/temps/led_ring_sil.jpg

To do list:

- Steel brake hoses (In progress...)

- Rewire bike

- Repaint fairing and clean up bike

- Replace exhaust system (DONE!)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/Angkuguay/marcusakaflowers.jpg

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by edwin-nel@Nov 24 2006, 04:09 PM

Eg.

Shop A buy 4 cartons in 1 order, get 8% discount.

Shop B buy 20 cartons in 1 order, get 25% discount.

Do you think Shop A can offer it at the same price as shop B.

Some distributor's discount are based on the shop's power of buying.

Sorry for my ignorance..But still would patronise other shops for my 2t..:sweat:

Anyway I was directing my feedback to YEN96 hence why I quoted him as we both ride the same bike..No offence intended..

:thumb: Thanks for all your opinions, guys! Cos this is the 2nd bike bike shop that ive patronised up to date. Was wondering if anyone has any opinions about the shop that we can discuss? Afterall, this is place inside forum, where we can all discuss without hurting anyone's feeling. Of course if there are better shops out there i will go too.
Originally posted by compfused@Nov 24 2006, 04:26 PM

Sorry for my ignorance..But still would patronise other shops for my 2t..:sweat:

Anyway I was directing my feedback to YEN96 hence why I quoted him as we both ride the same bike..No offence intended..

no hard feeling, bro.

just let you know how the diff in prices comes about.

We are all human too, where cheap, we go there.

• 6 years later...

Hi, I know this thread existed long ago, was digging around. Anw, anyone been to the shop lately? I was recommended to go by this shop by someone to fix my bike. I'm staying at west and this shop is located east, I don't mind the travel but just to know if anyone had actually done some service or fixing recently at this shop.

my bike suddenly went kapoot in the west, quite recently. as i trust gng workmanship, i request my bike to be towed to them, all the way to the east.

personally i recommend gng, esp when a major repair needed to be done. pricing wise not much of an issue i guess..

GNG is a price-friendly normal bike workshop that i feel they are OK in doing common jap 400cc and below bikes. One thing good is that If you stayed somewhere at Hougang, SengKang or Punggol, it more convenience to go Defu lane.

• 8 months later...

I got my KTM EGS 200 scrambler and Yamaha RXZ from them 8 years ago, Both bikes in good condition. Also bring one of my frd there with his XR 400 when he kena carrot by a dishonor workshop for $500++, GNG repaired his bike with only $100++ . All I can say is they are doing very honor business. All mechanic there very friendly, can ask them stuff about bikes.

Btw I long time never go there. Is Tai Kong and Ah Huat still working there?