Illegal U turn

Just now i made an illegal U turn just after seah im food centre. Apparently i had no idea that U turn are not allowed. it was after i did the u turn, got one lorry driver stopped beside me and told me that my bike number was noted down and i cfm tio summon cos U turn is not allowed there.

True or not, i had to wait for the letter to come. In any case, any bros/sis noe of the amt of fine for illegal u-turn and any demerit to go along? This is the first time i encounter this and wonder if appeal is possible.

Many thanks in advance for the advice.

• Replies 28

as long as there isn't a u-turn sign, it's illegal to make a u-turn. if you're talking about the u-turn where the buses exit and go back to the interchange, that one hotspot. ta pai always have cisco just stand in the shade and wait for ppl to illegal u-turn to go seah-im to park.

just turn right into that road towards the interchange, go up around 100m, make a u-turn across the white line, exit the filter lane left and go on your way towards the carpark. not illegal. :angel:

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

as long as there isn't a u-turn sign, it's illegal to make a u-turn. if you're talking about the u-turn where the buses exit and go back to the interchange, that one hotspot. ta pai always have cisco just stand in the shade and wait for ppl to illegal u-turn to go seah-im to park.

just turn right into that road towards the interchange, go up around 100m, make a u-turn across the white line, exit the filter lane left and go on your way towards the carpark. not illegal. :angel:

oh no..that traffic light junction is also hotspot ah?

have only seen officers camp out at 1 junction down, towards keppel. i.e. the junction which sentosa shuttle buses turn right to head into sentosa. vehicles there tend to u-turn to enter to vivocity carpark.

oh no..that traffic light junction is also hotspot ah?

have only seen officers camp out at 1 junction down, towards keppel. i.e. the junction which sentosa shuttle buses turn right to head into sentosa. vehicles there tend to u-turn to enter to vivocity carpark.

think some bro mentioned before on another thread, especially in the mornings, cuz ppl always u-turn there to go seah im carpark, think about all the bikes you see there, how many come from opp direction. think that one is quota-filling spot, haha.

edited : found the relavent thread

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=245457&highlight=seah+illegal

Edited by Orleng

SBT #1149 Price List

that is a hot place for tp bro. i have seen so many times tp standing and taking the numbers of vehicles which u turn illegally.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

how the driver know your number plate was noted down?

i duno actually, its the lorry driver who saw it and kind enough to tell me during the red traffic light.

thanks guys for all the advice and suggestions. guess 70bucks is flying away soon!:cry:

Also want to add, don't do illegal u-turn at junction near vivo at the junction of sentosa entrance/exit. Almost everyday see TP there earning bonus

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4108/4834745460_c32390dc33_m.jpg

1994-1997 - Piaggio LM150

1997-1999 - Honda NSR 150 SP

2002-2004 - Honda Super4 VtecII

2004-2006 - Yamaha R1 2004

2006-2008 - Yamaha R6 2007

2008-2010 - Suzuki GSXR1000 K8

2010-Current - Yamaha FZ1S 2006

to sum it up, don't see u-turn sign, don't u-turn, a few more cents of petrol beats a fine at best, or getting crushed by some idiot from behind who doesn't know you're u-turning and comes in too fast for a right turn.

SBT #1149 Price List

My dad just did that offence.

Same area.

TP hot spot! $70 bro!

Try appeal only..

its my first time. u tink appeal possible to succeed?

there's always a chance that appeal will succeed. imho though, i'd rather pay the fines and save the appeal for when it's an offence with demerits, like exceed by 1-20kmph. $$ can always earn, points, have to live with it for a year. but, that's just what i'd do la.

SBT #1149 Price List

there's always a chance that appeal will succeed. imho though, i'd rather pay the fines and save the appeal for when it's an offence with demerits, like exceed by 1-20kmph. $$ can always earn, points, have to live with it for a year. but, that's just what i'd do la.

thanks bro. u have a point there. shall wait for the letter and update about the actual damage for the offence.

Currently with all the IR opening and stuff , TP is constantly there. Also , at the harbourfront bus-stop overhead bridge , i even saw a old uncle standing there looking down with a clipboard. He was wearing a normal plain blue shirt...walk pass him then i see the words "LTA" super small font size 12 liddat printed on his shirt :faint:

Quite obvious his catching bus lane offenders and maybe the u-turn spot ahead? But no camera to take evidence leh..weird...

but watever it is , From Vivocity all the way to end of Seah Im Rd better observe all rules and dont do stunt :sian:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

Currently with all the IR opening and stuff , TP is constantly there. Also , at the harbourfront bus-stop overhead bridge , i even saw a old uncle standing there looking down with a clipboard. He was wearing a normal plain blue shirt...walk pass him then i see the words "LTA" super small font size 12 liddat printed on his shirt :faint:

Quite obvious his catching bus lane offenders and maybe the u-turn spot ahead? But no camera to take evidence leh..weird...

but watever it is , From Vivocity all the way to end of Seah Im Rd better observe all rules and dont do stunt :sian:

advice noted bro. u r right that this is a hot period to catch traffic rules offenders.

btw, ur class2a tp date same as mine. u took in bbdc too?

hi bros. as for illegal u turn, is there any points awarded? or is it just a flat $70 fine?

You've Been Hit By

A Smooth Criminal

advice noted bro. u r right that this is a hot period to catch traffic rules offenders.

btw, ur class2a tp date same as mine. u took in bbdc too?

hey , nope , i took my 2A in SSDC :cheers:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

gd luck,pal...illegal u-turn's a serious offence.even more so if u get hit or u hit others (pedestrians/vehicles)

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

next time,

after seah im food centre,

instead of a U turn, do a right turn.

then left turn into the big big carpark

but usually there more jialat than the main carpark (from what i've seen)

if no lot, then turn out

and go try your luck at the smaller one .. ^^

i worked at harbourfront from jun to dec 09

there used to be this magic spot in front of harbourfront station

the pavement jus beside the seah im carpark entrance and exit

i parked there for months, no summon at all.

but sometimes there very crowded, so i park at mount faber, but i tio 2 $70 bullet before, so be careful

carpark at seah im is troublesom man....

the open carpark just beside the interchange is much better nw compared to a few mths back.no more "packed like sardines" situation nw

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

Lorry driver a TP wanna be? I think he is playing poker with you. I'll bet no letter comes! TP have better things to do than take down compliants!

Guest johjoh
Lorry driver a TP wanna be? I think he is playing poker with you. I'll bet no letter comes! TP have better things to do than take down compliants!

im still waiting till date. i have checked the eddies system but can't find my offence unless not under tp. if 1mth no letter should be safe rite..:sian: