Guest imslow

Help.

I accidentally put diesel in my tank and at the advice of the petrol kiosk assistant, tried to ride it back home. Actually, I was planning to get rid of the diesel at home, so I thought a couple of km wouldn't matter. I was wrong. THe bike died on me halfway.

Anyone have any idea what this means on the bike? Is the engine spoilt? I'm gonna get it repaired tomorrow, but I want to know what happened to my baby now. Also good to know so that the motor diam won't chop me.

My engine is 250cc V Twin, 4 stroke. Only rode it 1 km.

Thanks to the kind souls who can help!

• Replies 71

Originally posted by imslow@Mar 8 2004, 10:34 PM

Help.

I accidentally put diesel in my tank and at the advice of the petrol kiosk assistant, tried to ride it back home. Actually, I was planning to get rid of the diesel at home, so I thought a couple of km wouldn't matter. I was wrong. THe bike died on me halfway.

Anyone have any idea what this means on the bike? Is the engine spoilt? I'm gonna get it repaired tomorrow, but I want to know what happened to my baby now. Also good to know so that the motor diam won't chop me.

Probably no harm done. Just drained out the diesel from the system replaced plugs, new tank of petrol, should get engine going after a few starts, probably alot smoke too...heeee

hee~

Help.

Moral of the story: Dun believe watever pple (eg petrol kiosk assistant) tell u.

What demon said is right, drain the tank, wash the carb, change the plugs and your bike should run just fine.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

confirm must drain whole thing out.. you should not go at first should drain all out. :cry:

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

drain wadever petrol + diesel inside~ change the fuel filter too~

Help.

Hi...sorry that I can't be of help....:sweat:

But was really curious about your case......

1)since a petrol asst tell you that was thinking if you are at petrol kiosk?

2)if there is diesel, wouldn't there be petrol?

sorry, just curious

i also wonder how he can pump diesel into a class 2A bike~

wonder if t he petrol assistant is playing a prank too~

i think he pumped diesel wen he was tat anxious?

& the petrol asst advice him to ride it home 1st? :sweat:

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg

last time i saw on amazing race got one couple pump diesel instead of petrol.. he bought petrol and filled up after draining out the diesel and the car worked again.. shud be same theory here rite?

Originally posted by conxx@Mar 9 2004, 01:59 AM

last time i saw on amazing race got one couple pump diesel instead of petrol.. he bought petrol and filled up after draining out the diesel and the car worked again.. shud be same theory here rite?

Give it a try loh or else also cannot start by what i afraid is that wait the whole bike explode only.:cry:

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

Originally posted by Yoshiki@Mar 9 2004, 12:56 AM

Wonder what will happen if you continue riding? Engine overhaul? o_O

You can't. Diesel can't combust in the carb, your bike won't start.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

u realli pwr :faint: :faint: :faint:

wat i heard frm other fren oso juz need to drain out all e diesel& pump in petrol can liao ~~~

but kiosk assistant ask u ride home 1st for wat?????:sian:

u steal his gf b4 ?????

he wan yr bike die lolx :goodluck:

ta200 2003-2007

cb400 spec1 2007-now

Originally posted by conxx@Mar 9 2004, 01:59 AM

now who says too much TV is bad??

hehe!

Someday, home will be where my front wheel points.

Astride a 2002 Yamaha Fazer FZS600

Heard of a wrx pump disel inside. But can still run. In the end spend the whole night go around singapore and pump petrol repeatedly to make the petrol vs diesel ratio higher and used up some more and pump somemore. Heard the resultant effect is the muffler sound is better but no power, but still can move maybe bcos he only pump in abt half diesel bcos half petrol left inside originally. Good luck to you, wash ur caburettor soon.

X1R for sale: Fully stock Oct 2010 mileage 20k $6.5k

hey, think of it another way, diesel is just ultra high octane petrol :smile: Won't do any permanent harm, just wun burn at petrol engine's compression ratios. Don't forget to drain the carbs too!

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Help.

u ll need lotsa, i mean LOTSA petrol to flush ur engine... u b sure the mech is goin to laugh his pants off.

Originally posted by william_liu@Mar 9 2004, 10:47 AM

You can't. Diesel can't combust in the carb, your bike won't start.

urrh, combustion doesn't happen in the carburettor..

I miss you baby:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v638/thekaizer/automotive/18317145062605l.jpg

*Disclaimer: Kaizer is an imaginary character and all posts are based on fiction.