would like to ask expirienced people how does this procedure go ?

senerio is..

i want to buy a bike but the owner wants to keep his current number so if he keeps his current plate number then my part what am i getting and must i pay ?

queestion is

How long will it take ?

transfer in LTA ?

Must my new vehical do inspection ?

How much will i have to pay ?

Can i choose the number ?

How to buy insurance in this case ?

please let me know and lets share this precious information among bikers

:gun:"lovin it"

XR400:cheeky:

• Replies 7

Popular Days

if the previous owner request retain his existing number, he will be issued with a number issue by lta on a random basis, sort of the lastest number available lor. but with charges too cos its getting a new number but that a cheaper price compared to bidding a brand new number which is $1000 minimum.

inspection is depend on age of bike n the road tax expiry etc, so i doubt this will matter till ur road tax expire date if the bike is more than 3yrs old if not wrong.

as per above, number cant be choosen =)

u need to buy insurance before lta will approve the transfer. i think request the previous owner to retain plate n get u a new number before u go buy insurance. use the new bike number go and purchase 1yr insurance lor, depending which date of transfer is the day the insurance start or the day before also can.

all u need to pay is the bike price u buying, insurance, n transfer fee i think is borne by buyer cos ur the one who buy bike. transfer fee can go onemotoring to see the cost but u need some inputs like current vehicle number etc. go test it out on this. the older the bike the cheaper the transfer from what i see, lower cc also cheaper than higher cc lah. etc

btw u need to discuss with the seller who should pay for the new number, by right since hes the one who wan keep number, the cost for new number should be borne by him, u buy bike sure must come with a number what thats the point.

found out myself @ one motoring.. its $300 without gst

but like i say u shouldnt be the one paying no matter how much it cost. seller should give u a number by default, he choose to retain his number but he wan make u pay for the price of new number its unfair, unless ur the one who is retaining plate =)

hi, will LTA immediatly issue a new number to you? do you need to wait for days?

i am in a same situation as you now..

senerio is..

i want to buy a bike but the owner wants to keep his current number so if he keeps his current plate number then my part what am i getting and must i pay ?

queestion is

How long will it take ?

transfer in LTA ?

Must my new vehical do inspection ?

How much will i have to pay ?

Can i choose the number ?

How to buy insurance in this case ?

senerio is..

queestion is

How long will it take ?(within the day)

transfer in LTA ? (Yes, motorshop do provide this service)

Must my new vehical do inspection ? (depend if bike is on the 3rd year or more of ownership.)

How much will i have to pay ? (Nil, Seller has to pay for the making of new reg plate.)

Can i choose the number ? (Yes make a minimum bid of 1k)

How to buy insurance in this case ? (DIY Call insurance co and choose or let bike shop do...)

answers in bracket

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Different from bidding for number chosen by you. The $300 is for changing the alloted number. For e.g when you were alotted FBF 1114 and dun like and you request LTA to alott another number, each request will cost you $300.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...