which one will u take?  

272 members have voted

1. 1. which one will u take?

Hi everyone,

Thank you for your inputs and suggestions

Boon siew changed out the old battery (this would be the 3rd battery... and counting); the bike starts fine

Don't understand why I can't start the bike with 13V connected to car battery

I would agree that it might be intermittent problem with the starter... could be coincidence that the bike started with a new battery.

Still I'll monitor the situation and see how things turn out... so will be avoiding m'sia like a plague for a while.

Got meetup in s'pore, please jio me :sweat:

PS: I might fly to penang for 3 nation... haha

• Replies 14.1k

Originally posted by paul mai@Sep 13 2005, 10:38 PM

Hi everyone,

Boon siew changed out the old battery (this would be the 3rd battery... and counting); the bike starts fine

I would agree that it might be intermittent problem with the starter... could be coincidence that the bike started with a new battery.

Still I'll monitor the situation and see how things turn out... so will be avoiding m'sia like a plague for a while.

Hey bro, why dont u accompany 'R1zsuan' on the coach for the 3NCR!!!hehe.... :cheeky:

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r118/AC_Devil64/finalfantasyx2.jpg
Originally posted by tingchiyen@Sep 13 2005, 06:23 PM

I've taken 1 day leave tomorrow because life sucks. Anybody free and wanna go malaysia to makan? (Alan?? Remind me I owe you $25)

Can take another day off on thu.... I buy u breakfast at Ayer Keroh R & R.

Not the best place for breakfast though.

Take 5 days and u can do the whole trip to Thailand & Penang... :cheer:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by tweety64@Sep 14 2005, 08:45 AM

Hey bro, why dont u accompany 'R1zsuan' on the coach for the 3NCR!!!hehe.... :cheeky:

"riz" himself also dropping out.. lol.. paul.. ride up man.. we bring spare batt.. :)

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

Originally posted by paul mai@Sep 13 2005, 10:38 PM

Hi everyone,

it might be using the same batch of batteries... faulty ones...

Originally posted by VerR@Sep 13 2005, 10:49 PM

:sweat: Chi yen: i like tat..haa.. jio wayang lorr, he's free..veri free..:cheer:

free doesnt mean easy.. i'm not like u la.. :sian:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@Sep 14 2005, 09:20 AM

"riz" himself also dropping out.. lol.. paul.. ride up man.. we bring spare batt.. :)

Paul... Do a check...

Disconnect batt when bike park for a while...

...could be some undesired discharging.

IF batt ok every u connect back... then that's the problem.

Don't think Batt is bad.

Remember... The rectifier could not be doing a good job of

Rechargin batt... May still want to look at that...

Have a Brand new one for Hornet...

NO charge if u wanna borrow it.

HOpe to See U in Penang... Fly, Ride or Sail...

Zoom... Zoom... :cheer: :cheer: :bounce:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@Sep 14 2005, 02:20 PM

Paul... Do a check...

Disconnect batt when bike park for a while...

...could be some undesired discharging.

IF batt ok every u connect back... then that's the problem.

Don't think Batt is bad.

Remember... The rectifier could not be doing a good job of

Rechargin batt... May still want to look at that...

Have a Brand new one for Hornet...

NO charge if u wanna borrow it.

spec.. the rectifier does not recharge the batt.. the alternator does tat

Originally posted by Spectrum@Sep 14 2005, 02:20 PM

SAIL?

http://www.plimmertonboatingclub.org.nz/Photos/images/Yatch%201.jpg

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg
Originally posted by Wayang@Sep 14 2005, 03:12 PM

spec.. the rectifier does not recharge the batt.. the alternator does tat

Rectifier converts Alternating Current to Direct Current.

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg
Originally posted by zod@Sep 14 2005, 03:22 PM

oh yeah.. i 4got.. the alternator produces the ac and the rectifier changes it to dc.. :angel:

so does anyone noe how to tell whether the rectifier is failin ? other then waitin for the batt to die on us

Originally posted by zod@Sep 14 2005, 03:22 PM

Thks Zod... :thumb:

If No Batt Juice...

& Batt is New (OK)

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

From what was described, I doubt the battery/alternator/rectifier is spoiled.

Since he was unable to start even when connected to another battery.

I once jump started a SAF vehicle(without battery) with another vehicle. That was fun. Heh heh.

Since paul said it produced clicking sound, and not cranking sound, I guess there is something wrong with the starter motor assembly. Get Boon Siew to check ba.

Originally posted by Wayang@Sep 14 2005, 03:36 PM

oh yeah.. i 4got.. the alternator produces the ac and the rectifier changes it to dc.. :angel:

so does anyone noe how to tell whether the rectifier is failin ? other then waitin for the batt to die on us

when ur rectifier starts to show signs.. it will give u much higher charging than usual... eg... 14.8v n above...