need ur opinion. my bro drove my car ytd and suddenly it broke down. towed to shop n found out dat the radiator leakin and the gasket valve exploded. Sent to workshop and was quoted about $3k for e repair.

should i trade in the car wihout fixing for a brand new car or should i fix it first before handing it over to e carshop? Hw long is e duration to get a new car? (i noe 2nd hand car it took me 2wks before e bank loan all was approved). Any experienced drivers care to share?

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
  • Replies 20

  alfazizou said:

need ur opinion. my bro drove my car ytd and suddenly it broke down. towed to shop n found out dat the radiator leakin and the gasket valve exploded. Sent to workshop and was quoted about $3k for e repair.

Your description on the problem of your car is very confusing.

A leaking radiator will definitely not cause the valve to explode. Which part of the valve has a gasket ?

I am just guessing that your car's engine timing belt broke while driving which will damage the valves as they will all be bend but never will they explode.

Without knowing the model of the car, and the real cause of the problem, no one will know if $3k is indeed a fair price. For example, for the same model and make, a radiator from OEM can cost $1000 but an equivalent part from Thailand or China can cost only $350.

Get the garage to itemise the cost of repair and do a comparison before committing the job.

alfazizou said:

should i trade in the car wihout fixing for a brand new car or should i fix it first before handing it over to e carshop?

This type of question only you can answer as it will solely depend on financial ability.

alfazizou said:

Hw long is e duration to get a new car? (i noe 2nd hand car it took me 2wks before e bank loan all was approved). Any experienced drivers care to share?

If you have the means, and the dealers have ready COE, the car can be on the road in just a few days. However with the upward trend of COE prices, all the dealers will reserve their in hand COEs only for their premium models.

e workshop said dat it will onli be able to drive for about 5 min den it will overheat again..sumtin like dat. my bro told me this.. so i dun reali noe e exact story too.

thanks for e informative info abt the coe

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg

lately i also dilemma

should i get an S300 or an x5 or just keep my handsome car for another year?

change car now? the coe price is crazy. in fact, if you ever compare our car prices to car prices overseas....... haiz, you feel as if you are getting fleeced by the government, every COE bidding, the government earns a good 60 million from fellow citizen and no one protests........... goto http://www.carpoint.com.au to see what i mean......

  Throttle said:
lately i also dilemma

should i get an S300 or an x5 or just keep my handsome car for another year?

wow lan bro, after all these yrs, u never change lah :lol:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

  comics00 said:
wow lan bro, after all these yrs, u never change lah :lol:

yeah, hahahah some things dont change, but i got older

Why people never think about the dilemma of paying 40k for owning a car just for 10years, and if continue to own it, fork out another 40k or more. Like that in your working life time, you would have loan and pay at least 120k excluding car costs for 'owning' a car. That kind of money should be able to buy a nice retirement home in boleh land ya.

  cougar said:
Why people never think about the dilemma of paying 40k for owning a car just for 10years, and if continue to own it, fork out another 40k or more. Like that in your working life time, you would have loan and pay at least 120k excluding car costs for 'owning' a car. That kind of money should be able to buy a nice retirement home in boleh land ya.

it's an expense just like food and entertainment.

cannot think your way.

as long as you appropriate spending proportionately, it will be quite fine.

anyway, $40k in todays context is not much. just the price of a good watch.

i for one dont want anything in boleh land.

  Throttle said:

cannot think your way.

wah lau 40k in today's context? maybe your context lol. 40k to other pple can mean a great deal of money.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
  Throttle said:

cannot think your way.

Price of a good watch, or a very good pen! You got face the dilemma of paying for car in cash or not? LOL

  zyrofillica said:
wah lau 40k in today's context? maybe your context lol. 40k to other pple can mean a great deal of money.

it's a fair amount, yes.

but for a car, it's nothing.

I'm answering to cougar's post specifically becos $40k for a car in singapore context is quite low already.

His comparison is flawed in my opinion.

anyway base on his calculations, I would have bought more than a handful of houses in boleh land already.

and i would rather not have the houses in boleh land.

  kapuut said:
You got face the dilemma of paying for car in cash or not? LOL

not yet, till now, i pay my cars and bikes all in cash.

lets get back to topic, my bad

bro Throttle, give otheers a break lah ur posting always like that, never change :lol:

frankly, $40k to drive a car for 10yrs is damn cheap in SG's context.

most ppl don't think like u, to them the world is them & they r the world. they would never understand y others would spend $50 for hawker food in hotel while they can get it for 1/10 the price in a hawker centre :sian:

pls correct me if i m not wrong, there r already thousands of ppl in this world that will/had already paid millions in cash just for some fancy looking cars :faint:

Edited by comics00

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

  comics00 said:
bro Throttle, give otheers a break lah ur posting always like that, never change :lol:

most ppl don't think like u, to them the world is them & they r the world. they would never understand y others would spend $50 for hawker food in hotel while they can get it for 1/10 the price in a hawker centre :sian:

Yes, all about perspective. I have friends also who prefer eating chicken rice etc in restaurants or hotels as they say - pay a bit more and can get aircon, good service if go to the place often, eat nice desert and latte all at one sitting. To them, "a bit more" means a zhichar family dinner for another person! Perspective. LOL

Back to topic, TS, cars are more expensive now cos of COEs now, if you itchy and want to change and within your means, sure go ahead. The repairs needed are a "good" reason to change car now.

Just to clarify, the 40k is just COE only, not car price, that would depend on what car you buy.

I dont mind paying $140k for a good made mercedes, saab or volvo, but to pay that extra $40k is a consideration for me.

The $140k can be broken down in into car R&D, brand, production costs, but the COE 40k is just a piece of paper, and owning that driving in traffic conjested roads, is a trade-off to me. Not really value-for-money that 40k, throttle is right, this COE thing is a expense you have to consider its worth. Luckily for bikes, this expenses never reach 10k, else i am preparing to migrate liao.

And the calculation for $120k can also buy a 30yr leasehold bali villa, a land in Thailand or any other asian outlaying properties at the right timing, not necessarily boleh land. I mean the spending of this 40k is it worth it in Sg's road condition (jams most times)? Or is it a flaunting of wealth to show others you have it, becos getting a loan for it is going double your debt for years to come, calculating the interests, can make your jaw drop. People need money management planning for this.

  cougar said:
Just to clarify, the 40k is just COE only, not car price, that would depend on what car you buy.

I dont mind paying $140k for a good made mercedes, saab or volvo, but to pay that extra $40k is a consideration for me.

The $140k can be broken down in into car R&D, brand, production costs, but the COE 40k is just a piece of paper, and owning that driving in traffic conjested roads, is a trade-off to me. Not really value-for-money that 40k, throttle is right, this COE thing is a expense you have to consider its worth. Luckily for bikes, this expenses never reach 10k, else i am preparing to migrate liao.

And the calculation for $120k can also buy a 30yr leasehold bali villa, a land in Thailand or any other asian outlaying properties at the right timing, not necessarily boleh land. I mean the spending of this 40k is it worth it in Sg's road condition (jams most times)? Or is it a flaunting of wealth to show others you have it, becos getting a loan for it is going double your debt for years to come, calculating the interests, can make your jaw drop. People need money management planning for this.

Yes people definitely need money management for this.

But there will be no good end if we compare anything less than entirety.

In singapore, we win some and we lose some. on the issue of cars, we definitely lose becos, in US or Europe or even down under, I would be driving the latest 911 Turbo no less and fully paid up in cash.

So we must always judge for ourselves what we really can or cannot afford.

if judge wrongly , die a terrible death. hahah

  comics00 said:

pls correct me if i m not wrong, there r already thousands of ppl in this world that will/had already paid millions in cash just for some fancy looking cars :faint:

paiseh Bro, I just meant to say that one mountain is higher than another and that different people have different views regarding value. but I agree that it sucks to pay $40k for a cert accept we have to play by the rules unfortunately. no other way.

to TS, . also pls don't get urself committed deeper into the car loan thingy by buying another car. all cars will break down sooner of later, u will have to face this kinda of car workshop $$ problem again :sian:

*$40K for a piece of COE paper, that is really too much! dont buy car lah, then we won't have to buy COE loh o_O if u guys can remember, not too long ago it cost >$100K for that COE crap, Sporean still buy rite? so wat's the issuse? u wan drive in SG u gotto pay lah u know the game rule here.

btw nobody says u have to be stuck in SG. :dozed: