Originally posted by 6ofitall78@Aug 24 2004, 01:43 PM

Yeah been quite some time since I post here, and its sad to hear about vara84 accident...just hope that u r ok...need to get a lot of rest to recuperate...I suppose even physically if u r ok, u still need more rest cos I know, after an accident, u need to regain yr confidence before u can ride confidently again... hope that yr bike will be towed back safely, and my suggestion is whatever it is, better not try riding it back to sg, scared anything happen again...touch wood...also u duno if the bike condition is ok...

Anyway, wishing u and yr loved one a speedy recovery.... if u need any help, just look for anyone of us i am sure everyone is willing to help...

if u have not confirmed the towing, can also check with Eunos Superbike if they tow from msia...cos if in spore, they offer the cheapest rate at $10, 24 hrs... if u need the number sms me i can give the hp no of the mech...not nice to post it here...

Take care dude...

doubt i'll have any confidence riding anymore..cos it was a bad skid i experience..n wont even dare step into JB anymore..

the bike still rideable..but my parents wont allow anymore riding for the time being..

Think before you speed, cameras are all over the place now

• Replies 24.2k

vara84> take it easy dude,would need sometime to be able to conqure the phobia of accident and green lights from family.

I was involve in a freaking accident years ago. Fractured my shin. Metal inplant still in the leg till then, took me few months to feel alright to ride again too. But as soon as I could do away with the clutch, i was on my bike again

U just need time to get over it

But be sure to visit and accompany ur gf as often as u can ok. Its really boring staying in hosiptal, my stay was not so bad all thanks to my gf who kept me accompany through out :thumb:

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

[simon]

about crashBar: i cant make it on thurs/fri, thinking of passing you the 30% downpayment..

(transfer via POSB fundsTransfer)

[unknown]

thanks for the info on headlights, was very very keen on the 'white light' type, but those are ex. anyways, near by my house, (clementi ave 3) there is a bike shop, since im too lazy to go to other bike shop,thought i give it a try,

he changed both my headlights ($10) which i felt was ok, (last time i changed headlight bulbs at MAH was $30!)

was talking thinking about changing my tyres there too...

[wild_i]

dude, i have a feeling u already changed your tyres right?

if you have, what tyres did u get?

Hey Vara84..sorry dude for the late info that i got...i was busy at work..just came back this morning..just take it slowly ok...and wish you and gf a speedy recovery...i agreed that malaysian drivers and riders are very very...freak up...but just a reminder to all the guys....Don't ever F**K any drivers if they cut through your lane any how...my advise is just be alert when riding...i tried once while riding my WR2...and guess what ??? the driver gave me a hell chase...i was a bit panic also lah..even if they are the one at fault...this ppl might have weapons in their car..

SO...REMINDER...Ride Safely in Malaysia..the mentallity is different there than here.:mad: :mad:

[simone] you call me the other day rite? sorry can't pick up ur call lah. Cause at that time there is an emergency turn-out. So have to attend..Call you back but ask to leave msg...

Originally posted by visual@Aug 25 2004, 08:57 AM

was talking thinking about changing my tyres there too...

[wild_i]

dude, i have a feeling u already changed your tyres right?

if you have, what tyres did u get?

hey bro..not yet lah..waiting for you...I wont change without you unless something comes up. You said next month but if you intend to do it earlier, it's all good by me too.:thumb:

Born to be Wild : Steppenwolf (1968)

[wild_i] need to do it, ASAP, thinking of this weekend..

so far, u decided what tyres u wanna change? since that day u were researching it...

if not, im pretty much (most prob) going for the metz (trailing tyres)

Originally posted by Varadero_1984@Aug 25 2004, 03:56 AM

doubt i'll have any confidence riding anymore..cos it was a bad skid i experience..n wont even dare step into JB anymore..

the bike still rideable..but my parents wont allow anymore riding for the time being..

vara,

most important now is recuperation & recovery for both you & gf. don't worry about riding or not in future.

I too had a bad accident once and cracked my knee, 3 month tak boleh jalan,casted. The moment i started walking, I was riding away single legged.

Take yr time to regain your confidence of using the road again. be it in future you ride or drive.

Psalms 118:1

Give thanks to the LORD , for he is good; his love endures forever.

Originally posted by visual@Aug 24 2004, 10:42 PM

im definately interested in front fender!

if your gonna make... do tell me.. please...

ill join in

I'll try asking ard for price & install cost.

May take a while, please be patient.

Psalms 118:1

Give thanks to the LORD , for he is good; his love endures forever.

Originally posted by daystar_70@Aug 25 2004, 06:52 PM

I'll try asking ard for price & install cost.

May take a while, please be patient.

[daystar]

no problem, i can wait, in fact, if its too rush its will be aproblem in terms of ($$$) as getting crash bar and tyres this month..

so no problem, if u happen to get then tell me, if not no prob..

[wild_i]

these are the tyres that i plan to get:-

1. Metz Tourance

2. Pirelli Scorpion

3. Bridgestone Trailwings

4. Dunlop ArrowMax.

This is the list of tyres i plan to get for the bike in order of my preference

my preference might change based on tyre price, most prob ill get a cheaper one.. from these 4..

simone, thurs n fri also i cant make it la. maybe like visual, i tot of transfering the money to u. can?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

i've successfully ride my bike out of msia..and halfway was raining when i reach SG,so had to be towed away.

even the tow service in msia is so inefficient..waited for them for 1hr..den finally i gave up..ask my parents to let me ride..

now the bike is at Hua Chin's place and tmr going to IDAC for assessment of accident.

anyone recommend cheap paint job?cos my right fairing abit scratched..will update the pics nx time..

Think before you speed, cameras are all over the place now

Originally posted by visual@Aug 25 2004, 07:16 PM

[wild_i]

these are the tyres that i plan to get:-

1. Metz Tourance

2. Pirelli Scorpion

3. Bridgestone Trailwings

4. Dunlop ArrowMax.

This is the list of tyres i plan to get for the bike in order of my preference

Visual>>

Here's my preference accordingly:

1) Pirelli Sport Demon

2) Metzler Me330/550

3) Dunlop Arrowmax

I cant believe you're even considering the trailwings again dude...They're pretty crap as you know...So where and when do you wanna go look for tyres?

Guest simone
Originally posted by wild i@Aug 25 2004, 10:43 PM

Visual>>

Here's my preference accordingly:

1) Pirelli Sport Demon

2) Metzler Me330/550

3) Dunlop Arrowmax

I cant believe you're even considering the trailwings again dude...They're pretty crap as you know...So where and when do you wanna go look for tyres?

Visual if ur considering dunlop trailwings just get wild_i current ones its still in good condition n then ask him to change his tyres. eheheh :bouncefire:

Originally posted by simone@Aug 26 2004, 03:09 AM

Visual if ur considering dunlop trailwings just get wild_i current ones its still in good condition n then ask him to change his tyres. eheheh :bouncefire:

[simon] i know ur joking but.. thats not a bad idea dude.. *hehehehe*

seriously..trailwing.. this looks different from the old version ..

http://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/tireimages/tw101.jpghttp://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/tireimages/tw152.jpg

and personally i dont really havea problem with them.. onlynow that after 26,000km, theres prety much worn out...and prone to skidding..

Check out the

Review of metz (tourance)

The Metzeler Tourance is a fine tire and will work well with your Bridgestone front. (In the US Metzeler tires are premium priced and are typically much more expensive than Bridgestone, Avon or Dunlop tires. (Richard #230)

I have Tourances on my '99 F and do quite a bit of riding in the wet (Western WA). I can't compare them with the Michelins, but can say they are better in the wet than the stock Bridgestone Trailwings that came with the bike when new. I like the Tourances. (Bob#550)

Got 11,000 miles out of the Bridgestone Trailwings that came with my '99 Classic. The front tire could have gone further, but the rubber was developing those teeny cracks, so I changed both at once to Metzler Tourances. I have 14,300 on the bike now, and no visible wear on the tires. The Tourances are superior to the Bridgestones on pavement , with more precise feel and more secure cornering. Better in the wet, too. My sense is that the Bridgestones were better in dirt and gravel, though most of my riding is on pavement. (Bob#550)

If you do a little gravel road-driving, not only tarmac -- nothing beats Metzeler Tourance. Tourance both front and rear. Front 100/90-19 M/C 57 S, Rear 130/80R17 M/C 65S TL Tourance Steel Radial (tst)

I've just bought a new Metzeler Tourance rear tire today. The replaced one lasted for 20.000 Km. Wouldn't recommend any other tire for the bike. (Tst)

Tourance is a great tyre - excellent tread pattern which is IMHO better than T66, does not block when wears and also tread has good profile onto side wall allowing one to really lay the bike over. Manages fine on dirt (obviously not as good as a knobby) but as with most of these dual sport tyres best on road. OH and importantly the compound is excellent, soft yes but I prefer to stay aboard rather than get extra miles. (Dominic)

I've had both and Tourance wins this test every time, IMO. V pattern in T66 is lousy in dirt, especially in turns, where I had a slide out problem with them. (Randy #748)

I find the Tourance the worst tire that I've tried on the f650 on any kind of uneven (in the direction of travel) pavement, like rain grooves and tire track undulations. I've also ridden the stock Bridgestones, t-66, and tkc-80s. even the tkc-80s handle uneven pavement better than the Tourance. If I ever go back to a street tire, I will likely go back to the t-66. for now, I'm happy with the tkc-80s on street and dirt. (mark #403)

I have had Tourance in rear for about 3 months now and I am very happy with it. A friend has E4 and I got to ride his bike too. Maybe it is the habit now but Tourance feels better on pavement. I commute on my 650 on everyday...(John K)

I've put 3,000 miles on my Tourances and have nothing but good things to say. They ride well dry/wet and are, as you say, confidence inspiring. My commute includes a steel grate bridge deck & the tires track well when crossing dry, or wet. (Andy #618)

My F650GS with Tourances has 7,650 on the odometer and the rear looks good for at least 3,000 miles more. It's not flat spotted anywhere due to the twisties I ride to work and only a few drones on the freeway of any length. I'm 220 lbs and usually ride with at least 20 lbs in the bags. (Northwet #1101)

For street riding the best I've had on my bike is the Metzeler Tourance. Good handling and good mileage. Around 10K miles on a rear and more on the front. (Homeless)

I loved my Tourances. After some 10 000 km ( 6 200 miles) they must be changed. Strange wear pattern, with a flat spot rear and a front tire worn-out at the sides. (Haakon #626)

I have been using Metzeler Tourance tires on my F650GS since I got her two years ago. I have been very pleased with the combination of grip and wear from these tires but since I have 7,000 + miles on them its time to order replacements. (davemishalof)

I am happy with the Tourance-it is probably a 90/10, highway / dirt road tire. (bmwterrien)

* My limited experience (19,000 on my F650) has shown me that Metzeler Tourances work really well in my rainy corner of the world. Much better on wet pavement than the OEM Bridgestone Trailwings! Bob#550

taken off this site

15 reviews and 14 of them says tourance is damm good, on road!

promissing... i htink it will be tourance...for me..

I am using tourance . I really cant comment on tourance for 125. But as for 1000, cornering is best of the rest. But there's 1 big problem ...

during deceleration, from 70-50 , tank slap occurs. Its not an issue if ur hands are on the handle bar, but its a major issue if u go hands free....

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

looking at the tyres on vara125 & 1000,

size wise it isnt really much of a difference, on 1000cc its sligthly wider...

so i believe, should be consistant...

but this tank-slap, u talking about.... "ur riding hands free" and u get a jerk ?

dont quite understand..

anyways

[wild_i] im confirm gonna get tourance,

ill go to the shop today and ask if he can get the tyres u mentioned & the price , and ill get back to you..

Guest simone
Originally posted by Varas@Aug 26 2004, 07:35 AM

1 big problem ...

during deceleration, from 70-50 , tank slap occurs. Its not an issue if ur hands are on the handle bar, but its a major issue if u go hands free....

A tank slap occurs when u decelerate quickly and ur hands are not on the handlebar. This will allow the handle bar of the varadero to slap either side of your cheeks. Therefore always hold the handlebars firmly when decelerating unless u want them to slap u!

anyway i was not joking bout the tyres ... indy u should consider giving ur tyres to visual instead of giving it to the workshop. I think visual kinda used to the tyres been using it almost 2 years right.

indy, rear tyres are still good, but his front is very weared out... so quite pointless to take just the rear with a weared out front...

and i recall he had a nail in the rear before too..

anyways.. i remember [6ofitall] menting how good tourance is on his vara125 and now even on his TA400 he is using tourance..

so im gonna go for tourance

mainly bec it last longer then road tyres...

guys what do u think, got a quote for tyres... $(270) where front is:

metzeler (cant remember the name but it looks like this)

http://www.metzelermoto.com/images/battistrada_images/ME%2033%20Laser.gif

And rear is Metz (enduro 4)

http://www.metzelermoto.com/images/battistrada_images/ENDURO%204.gif

if i want the rear to be (tourance) i got to fork out additional $20 more

http://www.metzelermoto.com/images/battistrada_images/TOURANCE.gif

Which shop is this? Did you ask about about my tyres?

the one in clementi, your tyres, didnt recall the names, ill be askin about it tommorrow when i decide if i wanna get or not...

update:

the tyres are ME33 (for front) and Tourance for rear.. (the drama is initially that was quoted as $270) then when i wanted to pay the $100 deposit, was told (the price was for rrear tyre "enduro4" , for "tourance" have to pay $20 more)

so i decided to think about it... and consult u guys, so far 6ofitall got (fill set of tourance) for $266 (but he said thast was bec the shop mis quote him made a mistake, and gave him cost price... of the tyres only) soo....

anyways 6ofitall recommende ddunlop (trailmax) which i dont quite like the design, but its last long and value for money...

anyways.. soon after the bike shop called me and said (me30 + tourance) for $270, saying he neg with the metz dealer, cos dealer is the one who misquite.. bla bla bla..

anyways.. i decided ,... ok lah.. gonna get it..

so gonna change it tommorow...

[wild_i] will check the tryes for you tommorow

Guys check out the NEW transalp! FIERCE man

http://users.bart.nl/~stikfort/new_international_site/varadero_news/transvara750.jpg

suddenly AT & vara1000 is no longer my dream bike

wah lau...nice sia the new transalp....how many cc issit???issit like the old 400cc one or a bigger version???like that maybe i won't buy AT...better buy this sia.... :smile: :faint:

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k74/waklabib/esso.jpg

I just broke my record for JB-KL timing