Guys guys, need help... Any of u knows of any bikeshop that opens on a Sunday and sells our bike tyre? There's a big bump on my rear tyre... Dammit!!

WhY drInK anD DriVe wheN u caN smOkE and flY!!

http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh215/lokb72/picture%20hosting/pentskullpaper-1.jpg

• Replies 24.2k

Guys guys, need help... Any of u knows of any bikeshop that opens on a Sunday and sells our bike tyre? There's a big bump on my rear tyre... Dammit!!

u need worm patch kit?

487954_10151340678445222_725031994_n.jpg

31 March 2010 ~ 05 January 2013: Honda Varadero XL 125 V5

05 January 2013 ~ Current: Suzuki Vstrom DL1000 K5

20 July 2013 ~ 16 November 2013: Piaggio Gilera Nexus 500IE

Will that work? It's not a puncture bro.... Just a bulge cOmin out from ure tyre... Those that looks like a bump on ure head...

http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh215/lokb72/picture%20hosting/pentskullpaper-1.jpg

Hello to all,

The name is Mohamed Ferdaus and I had just bought a second hand Vara 125 from Excel Cycle. ( you can still see the pics at their website at their showroom section - hope they have not taken it down yet... :p) BTW, their office is well done up but their selling and handover tactics left to be desired with .. :(

I was originally intending to buy a First Gen FZ1 or a ST11 but it seems that it was way overpriced for something that is nearing its COE end date. To be honest I am not a big fan of enduro bike styles (GS, AT and such) but desperate time call for desperate measures:

In surmmary, I had to release my beloved CBR 600 F4 cos i cannot keep up with the cost of repairs and maintenance (due to my own fault of over-exploiting the bike during my time as an insurance surveyor where i can clock 80-150km daily) and the fact that i failed to maintain the bike then. This and coupled with being out of job for more than 6 months forces my hand.

I then got a job (and still in probation) in Jurong Island and the hassle of getting the bus early in the morning and the lack of transportation option into Juroong island (its either the company bus or taxi which is atrociouly expensive :sian: )

With what money I have, i have to find something that would not make me stand out like a praying mantis or a bear on a bike (i already experienced that on a phantom 150 - riding from West to Changi Airport is a tiring journey with numbed bums and fatigued-induced wind wind blast :faint:. )

So..then came in the Varadero 125. It looks big enuff to mask my 1.81 Mtr height and "reasonably" priced to allow me to ride again. This bike with some accessories; Givi windshield, Crash bars, Sliders, Under Cowl, Mainstand, legal Remus exhaust (which sound crappy btw o_O) and a dakar designed seat wrap.

I have read this thread from page 400+ or so and only now do I get the low acceleration part (although i was really surprised by its lethargic response to the throttle) Moving off with my wife on tow is a hell of an experience, much worse than what i have thought.

Few observation on my part on the bike performance which might need some of the more 'expert' opinion;

1) Whats the ideal idling rpm? the bike shop sets it around 3K+ (which is very high i think). the manual says around 1.5K. Whats the practical range.

2) The remus pipe really sound like bad. Is it really that bad or can i attribute them to build up carbon in the bike (sounds like a 'stuffy nose' kinda of a thing - not really sure but i do know that the bike is laid up but not sure how long)

3) the bike tend to stick to higher rpm when slowing down (like it revs to 4K+ and then slowly go down. If i try to pick up when the rev is high, the bike fells like its going to die on me

4) the bike seem to lose power suddenly at times - it does not kill the engine but you feel a sudden drop in torque - air filter problem?

5) I have 2 different tyres - the rear tyre is a scorpion tyre ( i saw the 'scorpion' at the tyre edge) - not sure how long its been there.

the front tyre is a no brand tyre.. (i really need to have a look at it) Riding it on BKE a while ago is not confidence inspiring (seem wanna to slide, especially the rear) - any recommendation to change them. Heard that sirac is good. other than Sirac and scorpion, any other road type of tyres like bridgestone e.t.c?

I just got the bike a few hours ago, so i still have a lot of things to rectify

Me stay in B.Batok and works shifts in Juring island. Will try to join any to-up session where i can.

And oh yah... the avatar photo... is me. :angel:

Now you know what i look like ... :cool:

Jul 2001 - Aug 2001 :TZR 125

Sep 2001 July 2002 : Rebel 125

Aug 2002 - Sep 2002: Virago 400

Oct 2002 - July 2004 : S4 Project Big 1

Aug 2004 - Oct 2004 : ST 11

Nov 2004 - May 2005: Phantom 150

Jun 2005 - Dec 2011 : Honda CBR 600 F4

Feb 2012 - : 2005 Varadero 125

Will that work? It's not a puncture bro.... Just a bulge cOmin out from ure tyre... Those that looks like a bump on ure head...

pls state exactly where the bulge is at; sidewall or the thread portion?

If at sidewall, tough luck, better change tyre a.s.a.p before it fail and burst during riding.

To the best of my knowledge, If at tyre thread area, can still try to rectify with worm patch kit (they still have to make a hole at the bulging area cos the tyre carcass is failing liao) BUT if the bulge and the resulting hole is bigger than 2 strips of worm patch (meaning 3 strips or more), please consider to change the rear tyre.

It's the thread area bro... And I'm not taking any chances.. That's why I wanna know whether any bike shop that's gonna be opened On a sunday(which I doubt so). Anyway bout the pickup of our vara, u'll get use to it. I too was having a hard time getting use to the pickup when I first got the bike, coming from riding high powered bikes before this but rest assured, u will get use to it. It's just a 125cc.. Can't expect much can we?

We might see each other on the road in boonlay one day, though I don't work at jurong island. :-)

i had it too on my anakee2.

my mech says most probably is the tire quailty...

some other ppl say maybe it's the tire pressure...

for me... i still rode on with it...

until i had to change my rear tire.

* Honda Varadero XL125V2 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 08 * Honda Foresight FES250 * BMW F650GS K72 * Honda Super4 Revo CB400 NC42 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 12 * BMW R1200GS LC K50 *

1) Whats the ideal idling rpm? the bike shop sets it around 3K+ (which is very high i think). the manual says around 1.5K. Whats the practical range.

set it at 1.3k

2) The remus pipe really sound like bad. Is it really that bad or can i attribute them to build up carbon in the bike (sounds like a 'stuffy nose' kinda of a thing - not really sure but i do know that the bike is laid up but not sure how long)

should be a problem unless the fibre all gone

3) the bike tend to stick to higher rpm when slowing down (like it revs to 4K+ and then slowly go down. If i try to pick up when the rev is high, the bike fells like its going to die on me

try setting the idling first.

4) the bike seem to lose power suddenly at times - it does not kill the engine but you feel a sudden drop in torque - air filter problem?

clean carb and check if the carb pins need to change.

cheaper solution first, change spark plugs... and air filter.

but the problem with stock air filter is it's blardy expensive at $110.

5) I have 2 different tyres - the rear tyre is a scorpion tyre ( i saw the 'scorpion' at the tyre edge) - not sure how long its been there.

the front tyre is a no brand tyre.. (i really need to have a look at it) Riding it on BKE a while ago is not confidence inspiring (seem wanna to slide, especially the rear) - any recommendation to change them. Heard that sirac is good. other than Sirac and scorpion, any other road type of tyres like bridgestone e.t.c?

there's dunlop arrowmax, scorpion trail, and what's the brand of lazertec?

the only problem is finding the front tire cause at 18" not many round.

other qns... or u need more ans in details,

ask fatt86 or brandnew,

they are the current active vara125 riders around

* Honda Varadero XL125V2 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 08 * Honda Foresight FES250 * BMW F650GS K72 * Honda Super4 Revo CB400 NC42 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 12 * BMW R1200GS LC K50 *

thanks for the reply huairen.. will take a closer look at the bike

Since the air filter on vara is ex.. is there any re-cycleable air filter (like KNN) for our bike?

i had it too on my anakee2.

my mech says most probably is the tire quailty...

some other ppl say maybe it's the tire pressure...

for me... i still rode on with it...

until i had to change my rear tire.

yes, it is the tyre quality that caused the bump. usually happens on stock tyres.. better get it changed asap because that bump can cause your tyre to "lift" of the road for a split second which is not very good esp with cornering or hard braking as you need all the grip you can get. cheers bro! :thumb:

It's not how fast you ride, but how well you ride.

welcome ferana!

stock air filters cost 150. Modifired KNN air filters is 90. For KNN air filters, you can just go back to the workshop for them to clean it and reuse again. Also take note, the fastest vara i know doesnt use an air filter. =)

about the bike seems to lose power suddenly. It could be your air filter and carburetor. i had my carburetor serviced two weeks ago! and it is very responsive now! can tell the difference straight away. Carburetor service is about 80bucks. but if you need to change the pin inside is 20 per piece.

tyres. I have use scorpions tyre before. VERY slippery. skidded few times with it. and also bumped into a subaru in just my first week of getting the bike. hahaha. now im using scorpion TRAIL for the rear and old scorpions for the front. scorpion TRAIL is much much better! alot of grip! and you can do abit of offroad. =) For our vara125, ITS VERY DIFFICULT TO FIND THE FRONT TYRE. I was lucky enough to get it changed last year. hahah. good luck with the front! No problems for the rear.

welcome ferana!

stock air filters cost 150. Modifired KNN air filters is 90. For KNN air filters, you can just go back to the workshop for them to clean it and reuse again. Also take note, the fastest vara i know doesnt use an air filter. =)

about the bike seems to lose power suddenly. It could be your air filter and carburetor. i had my carburetor serviced two weeks ago! and it is very responsive now! can tell the difference straight away. Carburetor service is about 80bucks. but if you need to change the pin inside is 20 per piece.

tyres. I have use scorpions tyre before. VERY slippery. skidded few times with it. and also bumped into a subaru in just my first week of getting the bike. hahaha. now im using scorpion TRAIL for the rear and old scorpions for the front. scorpion TRAIL is much much better! alot of grip! and you can do abit of offroad. =) For our vara125, ITS VERY DIFFICULT TO FIND THE FRONT TYRE. I was lucky enough to get it changed last year. hahah. good luck with the front! No problems for the rear.

Also take note, the fastest vara i know doesnt use an air filter. =)

LMAO!!!!! byma gonna kill u for this!!!! if the wallet allows....change the necessaries and tires too for peace of ur mind. so if theres alot to do on 1st servicing, may go up to 5++.....

hi guys i happen to come across this 2B bike, honda varadero xl 125, it looks nice plus it has that touring african twin look style to it. But im not sure whether its worth buying, i wana

know things like fuel consumption, maintenance and parts availability. Plus how much would COE and road tax cost?

Hey guys! anyone out there using the HID bulb? Mine is blow, so do i need to change the whole set or can i just change the bulb itself?? :dot:

Just get the hid kit

hi guys i happen to come across this 2B bike, honda varadero xl 125, it looks nice plus it has that touring african twin look style to it. But im not sure whether its worth buying, i wana

know things like fuel consumption, maintenance and parts availability. Plus how much would COE and road tax cost?

If you read from post #1 to #23000++

I'm sure you can get the answers.

You can also not read from 1 to #23000++ to get the answers.

Just read back 20-30+ post I'm sure you can get the answers.

thanks for the info brandnew... :thumb:

I just got my Vara, it is very smooth bike and for 125cc, it is pretty reasonable. Anyone know where to get a good sprocket for Vara 125?

I have seen one that is expensive but the shop claimed it does not need frequent tightening and it will last a lot longer. Is this true?

I just got my Vara, it is very smooth bike and for 125cc, it is pretty reasonable. Anyone know where to get a good sprocket for Vara 125?

I have seen one that is expensive but the shop claimed it does not need frequent tightening and it will last a lot longer. Is this true?

Is it AFAM? Normal like DID or OEM I find enough...

Is your mechanic from unique motorsports?

I am using afam sprockets. Its lighter than stock sprockets. But i dont think we need to get expensive sprockets for our vara. Stock will do. Regretted now buying such expensive one. Bahhhh

Hi.. Any one interested in rear tire? 130/80-17 Michelin Sirac. 1 month old ( still new condition).