SingaporeBikes.com Telegram Now LIVE! Join NOW for the Last Reviews, News, Promotions & Offers in Singapore! ×
  • Join SingaporeBikes.com today! Where Singapore Bikers Unite!

Thank you for visiting SingaporeBikes.com - the largest website in Singapore dedicated to all things related to motorcycles and biking in general.

Join us today as a member to enjoy all the features of the website for FREE such as:

Registering is free and takes less than 30 seconds! Join us today to share information, discuss about your modifications, and ask questions about your bike in general.

Thank you for being a part of SingaporeBikes.com!

Half Rant/Half Seeking Advice on my SYM Joyride 200i EVO repairs

Foxtrot Delta

Sigh. The cost of repairs of my second hand scooter is racking up to be quite high. I'm not an expert mechanic so I leave all the diagnostics and repair to the "professionals" I was introduced to and trusted.

I keep track of my repairs on Fuely app and racked up nearly $2886 in repairs and maintenance over 2 and a half years of ownership.

I stay in Jurong area and work near Serangoon area who I need to use my bike daily at maximum up-time. If down, taking public transport will take 2 hours, each way to and from work. Also, my work requires me to sometimes go offsite which, again, will take forever on public transport. Taxi transport not covered by company during day hours.

I first got the scooter in May 2017 for $6000 from Ah Fook Motors with the COE still valid until June 2022.

When I first got it, they claimed that they have done a full overhaul of the bike before hand. This was clearly a lie because I began noticing problems immediately. I sent the scooter to my "trusted" mechanic, which I knew for a long time, and checked, the internal components are all old and dirty, having to replace the oil filter, engine filter and engine oil just a month after getting the scooter.