hiz guys, am looking around the forum for a 1L adventure bike. Cant affort a BMW GS so looking for a cheaper deal. Would have some question to ask u user before commit to it.

1. Was wandering if my height is 165, is the bike too tall for me?

2. What is the latest model whereby i can find in the market?

3. I have find the honda web site, didnt see any of it? Who is selling it?

4. What is FC like ie. xx KM/L

5. Any rider face any problem with it???

Thank to u if anyone can answer my question.

Hope this satisfies your queries...

1) I am a Vara rider.. i find that if ur bit stocky, ur weight is relatively heavier than normal blokes, shouldn't be a problem cuz it lowers down when ur on top.. Anyway, some of us VARA riders are highly proficient 'ballet' enthusiast... Go figure!!

2) Latest available on the market is the EFI version. However, websites have shown the new improved and sleek version.. Not yet available in S'pore i think... Check the previous threads by Atwin; think got pics...

3) Attached is a link for you.. http://www.mah.com.sg/home.htm. Boon Siew also has the EFI model on display. Silver colour; can be seen from the roadside. Hope it helps in ur research...

4) Full tank is about 25L. On average should be ard 14- 18km/L.. also depends on riding style, etc.. Consensus received from various VARA.. riders... Guys, correct me i'm wrong k! :cheeky:

5) the rider and the machine relationship is a learning process. the value of the experience is priceless.. Apart from other bike related problems for class 2 tourer bikes; i would say this bike pretty darn 'bullet-proof'... it's like the Jaguar of bikes... Big, sleek but darn fast when on the move!! :thumb:... To summarise... being with my VARA bros riding together is indescribable.. Fooyooh!! :cheers:.. good enuff reason to buy one!!!

Just my 2 cents worth... Gurus, pls vett me if my words can persuade a potential VARA convert.... Thanks in advance..

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
  • Replies 16.2k

SEAFOOD AT GELANG PATAH

DATE: 17 FEB 2007 (Sunday)

TIME : 10.30 AM

VENUE: MEET AT GP PETRONAS

1. Atwin & wife's mavis

2. Nu7cracker

PS: i got spare seat if anybody's sister or female friend wanna join.... hehhehehehehe:cheeky:

SEAFOOD AT GELANG PATAH

1. Atwin & wife's mavis

2. Nu7cracker

3. Stantheman (Might be able to make it) :cheeky:

If Im not going to my dads kelong on sunday i can join u guys. If you all dun mind to travel further to PG, I can bring u all to my dads place for seafood (no halal cert.... but strickly no POK!!!) Vara Bros get 20% discount for seafood!! :cheeky:

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

As request by yancurly8>>

Bike wash & seafood lunch (Halal) at GP (This round bring u guys to another hala seafood restaurant) this sunday.

SEAFOOD AT GELANG PATAH

INTERESTED PARTY PLS FILL IN....pls bring ur partner along too, in order to let them know our activities/meetup...just kind of excuse..kekee.

1. Atwin & wife's mavis

2. Vara,me & myself

3. Nutcracker(Fuji)

4. Stantheman

The future depends on what we do in the present. - Mahatma Gandhi

SEAFOOD AT GELANG PATAH

1. Atwin & wife's mavis

2. Nu7cracker

PS: i got spare seat if anybody's sister or female friend wanna join.... hehhehehehehe:cheeky:

Hw abt guys?????? hehehehe

Brothers,

I've settled my 2 week long problem already.. the culprit was actually the magnetic coil.. it didn't totally give up on me, 2 sets of wires burnt out.. so the voltage produced was insufficient going to the rectifier hence not charging the battery as its supposed to. So after trobleshooting at M-Technik, detected the main problem.. Furthermore my milage only 62000km..

Special thanks to Atwin, Tony & Chrislayer for keeping me company and sharing my sorrows..

Sambora67>>>> Since your bike on side stand sank on the tarmac at pendas, you can consider a Bigfoot.. should help..

Atwin>>> too bad your main stand in the way bro. Please posts the pics of the fried coil , thanks..

Chrislayer>>> Pls come along on Sunday to GP.. Your fatger needs a bath badly. hehehe..

Anyone needs a 6 day old Yuasa battery for your Fatger??? YTX 14? or jump start cables??

Its still pretty new.. I itchy backside go and buy another one.. hehehe

Anyone needs to top up tonight ?? GP Esso @ 2245hrs.. Call or text me on my mobile.. i'm super low on fuel and sing$$$ plus ever since my battery gave problem.. my trip meter reseted a few times thus my maths all screwed up liao..

As request by Ian >>

Burn coil

Starter coil 002.jpg

Starter Coil 003.jpg

New coil replaced

Starter coil 001.jpg

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

Bike wash & seafood lunch (Halal) at GP (This round bring u guys to another hala seafood restaurant) this sunday.

SEAFOOD AT GELANG PATAH

TIME : 10.30 AM - 11.00 AM

1. Atwin ( Sorry my wife need more sleep, so she's not going)

2. Vara,me & myself

3. Nutcracker(Fuji)

4. Stantheman

As request by Ian >>

Burn coil

[ATTACH]52254[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]52255[/ATTACH]

New coil replaced

[ATTACH]52253[/ATTACH]

wow..ur magnetic coil screwed up really early...only 62K...lucky u went thru 2 weeks only..i went thru 2 batteries and a rectifier....

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

hey guys i have been reading this thread it kinds of me feel like getting a varadero so the magic question is

Is varadero 1k good?

why do u find it good?

how long have you been riding it?

and what type of problems i might be looking at if i get one

ahahhahahaha if you have the time please layan (entertain) me

RIDERS FOR LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hiz guys, am looking around the forum for a 1L adventure bike. Cant affort a BMW GS so looking for a cheaper deal. Would have some question to ask u user before commit to it.

1. Was wandering if my height is 165, is the bike too tall for me?

2. What is the latest model whereby i can find in the market?

3. I have find the honda web site, didnt see any of it? Who is selling it?

4. What is FC like ie. xx KM/L

5. Any rider face any problem with it???

Thank to u if anyone can answer my question.

Thks for showing interest in vara...just don't scare off by the size when u look on it. If u r planning to use this bike for touring, i would recommend this bike for it's comfort ride & speed... why don't u join us this sunday for meetup & u can have a feel of it of this bike. The next bike will be the Vstrom that fit your 1000 Adventure bike search. Go for the EFI model if u have extra cash...going quite cheap also.

hey guys i have been reading this thread it kinds of me feel like getting a varadero so the magic question is

Is varadero 1k good?

why do u find it good?

Let me try first:

1. Good. Very good.

2. torquey, good wind protection, very comfortable 2-up, looks good (very subjective though :) ) have tried many "adv" bikes like V strom, Gs but love the vara overall

3. 4 years

4. normal wear and tear. the stock fuel pump and suspension needs to be changed, period.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Let me try first:

1. Good. Very good.

2. torquey, good wind protection, very comfortable 2-up, looks good (very subjective though :) ) have tried many "adv" bikes like V strom, Gs but love the vara overall

3. 4 years

4. normal wear and tear. the stock fuel pump and suspension needs to be changed, period.

:thumb: Saw Chan GS 1200 & yem's friend GS 1200 also...very tempting, but once check with the GS owner..wow BMW part dam expensive..eg generator /clutch cost a least few $k. Riding for almost 3 years, Varadero super low maintenance. So far major part that i have change is fuel pump after 26,000km ride. Maybe going to change the rectifier when reach 50,000km.

now, the new thing to look out for the the yamaha super tenere 1200!!

back to topic, agree with ATwin on the GS. the normal wear and tear is comparable with Jap bikes, but major items like clutch costs up to 1.2K to change while we can change for 300 - 400. then again, it also depends on what sort of riding u'll do. The vara is mainly for roads, and very very light trailing only.

I remember a magazine described the vara as an adv looking goldwing a few years back.

Is varadero 1k good?

why do u find it good?

My turn..

1. :thumb:

2. comfortable ride & stable when riding for long trip...especially with my 2 big fat box & top box ..speeding around 180km/hr

3. 3 years

4. Not much big problem if u going to get one. If the bike going to reach 1 full cycle eg, 100,000km. Just do major servicing such as clutch plates, alternator coil, valve clearance, carb syn etc...all this won't cost u much..maybe 1-2k as compare to GS. For long trip, just bring spare fuel pump, rectifier & clutch cable for trip (basic stuff to bring). So far encounter failure of fuel pump after 26,000km. (most common part for AT & vara bike) Just wear & tear. Anyway fuel pump cost ard $65.

Go for the EFI model if u have extra cash...going quite cheap also.

ATwin>>> OOi so sad when read this :cry: keke lelong lelong

To all interested folks>>> EFI model FC range from 18~22km/l or more wid aftermarket cannister. Rode it for about 3yrs FZ plate, maintainance wise only change engine oil, filter every 5000km about $100. The ex thing of riding a vara is the accesories keke endless buying :faint: i think there is one more at boon siew silver colour i think, dunno whether ABS or norm one.

">

As request by Ian >>

Burn coil

[ATTACH]52254[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]52255[/ATTACH]

New coil replaced

[ATTACH]52253[/ATTACH]

Attached is mine. Replaced it this month.. Cost me also my battery and time wasted for cranking-up the engine to go to work.. Darn it!! :angry:

">http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/burntcoilb.jpg

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/burntcoil.jpg">

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/%3Ca%20href=%22http://s264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/?action=view&current=burntcoil.jpg%22%20target=%22_blank%22%3E%3Cimg%20src=%22http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/burntcoil.jpg%22%20border=%220%22%20alt=%22Photobucket%22%3E%3C/a%3E

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
:thumb: Saw Chan GS 1200 & yem's friend GS 1200 also...very tempting, but once check with the GS owner..wow BMW part dam expensive..eg generator /clutch cost a least few $k. Riding for almost 3 years, Varadero super low maintenance. So far major part that i have change is fuel pump after 26,000km ride. Maybe going to change the rectifier when reach 50,000km.

maybe you should checkout one GS1150 at Loois....Al-simmon was drooling all over it just now...:thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

Thks for showing interest in vara...just don't scare off by the size when u look on it. If u r planning to use this bike for touring, i would recommend this bike for it's comfort ride & speed... why don't u join us this sunday for meetup & u can have a feel of it of this bike. The next bike will be the Vstrom that fit your 1000 Adventure bike search. Go for the EFI model if u have extra cash...going quite cheap also.

Just now went to tampines, saw a Vara. It a FY plate. Forget about the number. Yellow in colour. Does it belong to anyone here?? Wanted to sit on it but scared drop it. The look of it does not seem big to me. I believe that the owner lower his bike cos i feel it is very low to me.

-Btw the seat hight can be adjust one izit??

-Mind to check what is the lates model for vara? Seem like got 2005 model and 2007 model. Pls correct me if i am wrong.

-So what the different between 05 and 07?

-WHat is the bike price for a 2007?? Cos currently no one is selling it.

Yamaha WR 200 - feb 2003 - FQ3550

Honda RVF 400 - mar 2004 - FP6276B

Suzuki Burgman 400 - Apr 2005 FV3986Z

Kawa 636 04 - Mar 2006 FZ2107E

Yamaha FZ 1 S 07 Blue - Mar 2007 FG9888M

Yamaha X1 2006 - Feb 2008 FBAxxx

Yamaha FZ 1 S 08 - Mar 2008 FGxxxx (Now)

Just now went to tampines, saw a Vara. It a FY plate. Forget about the number. Yellow in colour. Does it belong to anyone here?? Wanted to sit on it but scared drop it. The look of it does not seem big to me. I believe that the owner lower his bike cos i feel it is very low to me.

-Btw the seat hight can be adjust one izit??

-Mind to check what is the lates model for vara? Seem like got 2005 model and 2007 model. Pls correct me if i am wrong.

-So what the different between 05 and 07?

-WHat is the bike price for a 2007?? Cos currently no one is selling it.

Tkjacko>>> 03 to 05 vara is only colour diff, 03 there's Blue n silver n from 04 only black colour tat year started 2 version ABS n non ABS.

>>> dun think there is any newest then tat in sin, maybe 06 model

>>> maybe u could ask mah to import one in if the price is right, i got mine at looi's at 22k machine price about 3yrs back. hope this helps

">

Attached is mine. Replaced it this month.. Cost me also my battery and time wasted for cranking-up the engine to go to work.. Darn it!! :angry:

">http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/burntcoilb.jpg

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/burntcoil.jpg">

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/%3Ca%20href=%22http://s264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/?action=view&current=burntcoil.jpg%22%20target=%22_blank%22%3E%3Cimg%20src=%22http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/burntcoil.jpg%22%20border=%220%22%20alt=%22Photobucket%22%3E%3C/a%3E

Bro, your bike illness contagious lah..

Ater my first Vara kena stolen...there are few bikes on my mind. Hayabusa, FJR1300, STX n Vara....in the end get myself a VARA...y? Rough road are the most beautiful place to see.....

SEAFOOD AT GELANG PATAH

TIME : 10.30 AM - 11.00 AM

1. Atwin ( Sorry my wife need more sleep, so she's not going)

2. Vara,me & myself

3. Nutcracker(Fuji)

4. Stantheman

5. Mr. n Mrs TREX plus 3 baby TREX (will abit late coz son finish tuition at 11. juz msg me the place)