AJ.. & Al-Simmons

on behalf of Vara bros, tks for the invite bro...

anyone interested????

i guess this is wat the forum is all abt, making new friends and sharing one common interest which is - BIKES...

AJ & Al Simmons;

Appreciate the invite.. very tempting...

especially since the last Pendas trip with VARA, TDM etc.. my ride wasn't available.. have to become pillon.. LOL...

I humbly regret dat i cant join in the fun this time around. Have to attend a prior appointment. :sorry:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
  • Replies 16.2k

In the morning >> saw ol'fren while riding to work.. trademark chrome crash bars.. Vtour!!! howa yOU dude! :lol:

In the afternoon >> on the way home, met a fellow Varadero 1k dude at junction.. chatted while traffic was red.. asked about windshield.. invited him to go to our thread.. Chap's name 'Ah Seng'.. hope he logs in... nice fella.. :clapping:

In the evening >> saw Dinie along PIE... too bad rushing to meet MHA for dinner date... at least manage to knod.. khe khe.. :lol:

"the product might be darn attractive; but if the service is bad, the experience is not worth it! "- quote.

I'm out from the nbw marshalling.

:clapping: Very productive words...We'll do some marshalling and Learn Group Riding OK...:cheer:

i m out for this coming NBW marshal...

:clapping: I know U busy working...It's ok, some other time Yah....:cheer:

Hi there Don,the reason that i am posting here to try my best to clarify things here.The freebie is just a shirt,in a way to show sincerity to the marshallers for their help in their way of showing appreciation.I believe quicksilver post that to inform you.From what i know of,we must register and pay for the freebies to show support for the event and etc.I guess in the first place you should pm the moderator who is in charge or handling this issues to clarify your queries.Before posting here,when you got all the answers to your questions.Wont that be a better idea?I believe all must pay in order to have the goody bag to my knowledge.That line sounds good.Well i do agree thats sufficient with the certificate and sticker,its a bonus with the t-shirt thingy.Hey have a great and safe trip up north to Chiangmai Bike week,you have no idea how i envy you.

Bro, :clapping:Thanks..... :btw: quote" we must register and pay for the freebies to show support for the event and etc"... SHOW support by taking part and taking time off on our own Good Will....no return of favours required....U ask Y not PM moderator instead....I'm not sign up for the NBW thread...and i post so All Vara Bros aware there are no hidden agenda on this event... SInce I started This I'll END it HERE...AFTER this post I dun wan Hear/see anymore..of this NBW thing...:nono:....:btw:I'm even surprise the sincerity of ur words...:offtopic:"U envy me for What reason?"...Riding to Chiang Mai...I Smell Sarcasm....:nono:

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE

Sorry to interupt the very Hot and steamy relationship of the ongoing saga...

I once again have to intrude this once peace and loving Vara thread...

Don't mean to interfere...but i feel this thing is going nowhere...what's done is done,and what's said is said too much...

Let's just ease the matter,and not let the flames gets any bigger.

We are all in this community is because of what we like most...which is obviously where we rest our testicles...women+bikes.

And in this community,TDM community,Vstrom community,AT community,we all sure love Dakar,Touring,Thai Massage,Akcraprovic,etc....we share basically the same interest,the difference is the made and model of the bikes we own...So,i hope not to be labeled as posers for meetups,its just a way for us to make new friends,meet old friends...

This is another episode of misunderstanding.let's clear the air somehow.

to chrislayer and yancurly...greatly appreciated for the words...

Acerly ar,i want you guys to come down so i can pass you guys summon letters lah...it is due next month...:sweat:

I seriously dunno how to do it,but i guess i just have to do it here...

My apologise to anyone who feels i am being anal...:sorry:

Once again,I apologise profusely....:sorry: :sorry: :sorry:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

I just tried accessing the Marshaller's thread and i suddenly have no more access. I am sorry but i dun think i ever posted that i am backing out of the Marshalling.

Bro quizesilver, i can be very diplomatic and be very friendly. But i assure you that i have one helluva laser tongue. WHen i start toking, it hurts. This only happens when i get disrespected. I din back out of the marshalling. Now VARA is not part of the Marshall group? Fine.

So you come to our thread and ask for volunteers and when you FEEL LIKE YOU DUN NEED US, YOU JUST CHOP US OFF?????????

Show some respect bro. I am worth a lot more than that bro. I hope you get the pic. Whats between you and our bro Don, i dun wanna comment. But i think you owe the VARADERO ADVENTuRE RIDERS ASIA (VARA) an explaination to why we have been chopped off with no prior discussions man?

This was a very happy thread. You have deposited alot of rubbish here. Clean up your act man.

LIFE IS ABOUT RESPECT, IF YOU CANT RESPECT, THEN BUZZ OFF DUDE.

VARA is very fun loving, very friendly, very fun, very kool and Very Matured in its thinking. However, disrespect is hardly tolerated.

I love bikes, i love VARA. This is my playground. Now play by our rules in this thread or dun bother coming here again bro. We are very happy people. We have enuff problems at othr aspects of life. Biking is our escape from the harshness of reality. Now dun make even this suck. Thank you.

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac

keep cool ppl....... so sorry guy for leaving so early yesterday night... next round of coffee is on me definitely

So how Miss Mary, got jump off the Jetty bro???? hahhahha. You owe us kopi right???? I say guys, lets do West Coast Mcs again soon. Its a good change with air conditioning and something in the west once in a while.

The ride home has never been shorter, Hahhahah.

Zac

Hey guys.....me and some friends thought of breakfast tomoro morning...

Sunday (16th Nov) Morning Wash bike and Makan at Pendas

Meetup at 11am GP Petronas.

Vara,Vstrom,TDM,vara125,and some dualsports bikers...no need marshalling...no need to pay $20...no media,no sponsors,no glam and no bullshits!all cc bike can join.

fuel and breakfast at your own ringgit malaysia cost.

Currently that have agreed

1.Me-XR650R

2.Alsimmon-Vstrom1k

3.Demon-DR650+DR350

4.lilfarhan-DRZ400

See ya...:cheer:

Whos on guys?

Zac

Bro, :clapping:Thanks..... :btw: quote" we must register and pay for the freebies to show support for the event and etc"... SHOW support by taking part and taking time off on our own Good Will....no return of favours required....U ask Y not PM moderator instead....I'm not sign up for the NBW thread...and i post so All Vara Bros aware there are no hidden agenda on this event... SInce I started This I'll END it HERE...AFTER this post I dun wan Hear/see anymore..of this NBW thing...:nono:....:btw:I'm even surprise the sincerity of ur words...:offtopic:"U envy me for What reason?"...Riding to Chiang Mai...I Smell Sarcasm....:nono:

Ok point noted,i respect your decisions.I envy you its because i havent been there before,i cant due to work,my friends are either busy or not interested,moreover its Chiang Mai to me its very far away.I have gave you all the reasons,its no sarcasm at all.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg
keep cool ppl....... so sorry guy for leaving so early yesterday night... next round of coffee is on me definitely

Kopi Not counted....Y not a few round of OLD TOWN COFFEE......:cheer:.

Acerly ar,i want you guys to come down so i can pass you guys summon letters lah...it is due next month...:sweat:

I seriously dunno how to do it,but i guess i just have to do it here..

AJ> When is the DATE? Do let us know..Post it here, for those who can't make it... :deal:.... VARA boys...Its free makan again..:cheer:.Yeah we :lovestruck: It..

I just tried accessing the Marshaller's thread and i suddenly have no more access. I am sorry but i dun think i ever posted that i am backing out of the Marshalling.

Bro quizesilver, i can be very diplomatic and be very friendly. But i assure you that i have one helluva laser tongue. WHen i start toking, it hurts. This only happens when i get disrespected. I din back out of the marshalling. Now VARA is not part of the Marshall group? Fine.

So you come to our thread and ask for volunteers and when you FEEL LIKE YOU DUN NEED US, YOU JUST CHOP US OFF?????????

Show some respect bro. I am worth a lot more than that bro. I hope you get the pic. Whats between you and our bro Don, i dun wanna comment. But i think you owe the VARADERO ADVENTuRE RIDERS ASIA (VARA) an explaination to why we have been chopped off with no prior discussions man?

This was a very happy thread. You have deposited alot of rubbish here. Clean up your act man.

LIFE IS ABOUT RESPECT, IF YOU CANT RESPECT, THEN BUZZ OFF DUDE.

VARA is very fun loving, very friendly, very fun, very kool and Very Matured in its thinking. However, disrespect is hardly tolerated.

I love bikes, i love VARA. This is my playground. Now play by our rules in this thread or dun bother coming here again bro. We are very happy people. We have enuff problems at othr aspects of life. Biking is our escape from the harshness of reality. Now dun make even this suck. Thank you.

Thanks for these kind WORDS...I 2nd it... Since I started most of the unhappiness scenes as LC KC says..quote "See, U lah started it"...:lol:...I Apologise to ALL VARA RIDERS AND THOSE CLOSE TO US for My post...it b'cos I feel ppl treat VARA like Fries..Eat only while its hot..if not once it get soggy, it won't feel nice and U throw it away......:bow::bow::bow:

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE

Ok point noted,i respect your decisions.I envy you its because i havent been there before,i cant due to work,my friends are either busy or not interested,moreover its Chiang Mai to me its very far away.I have gave you all the reasons,its no sarcasm at all.

Lets meet up one of these days...Kopi :popcorn:on me....I understand where U going now...but dun envy Bro..sound gay:confused:...take a long leave...Lets go together man..Just do it..:cheer:

Andre GIDE

Was playing my part. no doubt i'm no ENGLISH geniues.. but just a plain Vege seller..:bow: ... Nway, guess its all over now rite? if not maybe after this defination....

VOLUNTEERING

n.

A person who performs or offers to perform a service voluntarily: an information booth staffed by volunteers; hospital volunteers.

Law.

A person who renders aid, performs a service, or assumes an obligation voluntarily.

A person who holds property under a deed made without consideration.

Botany. A cultivated plant growing from self-sown or accidentally dropped seed.

adj.

Being, consisting of, or done by volunteers: volunteer firefighters; volunteer tutoring.

Botany. Growing from self-sown or accidentally dropped seed. Used of a cultivated plant or crop.

v., -teered, -teer·ing, -teers.

v.tr.

To give or offer to give voluntarily: volunteered their services; volunteer to give blood.

v.intr.

To perform or offer to perform a service of one's own free will.

To do charitable or helpful work without pay or have to pay, for anything in return..

:clapping: :clapping: :bow: :clapping: :clapping::bow: :clapping: :clapping: :bow: :clapping: :clapping: :bow: :clapping: :clapping: :bow:

o_O"Just My $2". {New version for Just my 2cents}

To be continued.....

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l306/joemac_kint/misc%20pic/untitled123456.jpg

Where got LONG WAY DOWN? Its just around the corner what?!?!?! eeerrmm. JUST a very long corner i mean...

And If there is a next Volunteering EPISODE, And u had difficulty in asking for VOLUNTEERING.. This might help..Or at least GOOGLE it...:deal:

How to Fund For Your Volunteer Experience

The cost of volunteering abroad can be extremely daunting. There are transportation costs and accommodation expenses to consider, then your everyday living costs while you're away. Needless to say, life is expensive. Thus, it is easy to understand why many people who want to volunteer simply can't afford to. Luckily there are ways to fundraise to help you overcome this obstacle.

Over 70% of i-to-i volunteers fundraise to pay for part or all of their travel expenses. Fundraising is a brilliant way to help you help others. It makes your aspirations of volunteering abroad possible, raises awareness for many community projects and creates publicity that could increase the number of volunteers giving their time to these projects.

Fundraising can help you pay for the placement fee, flight, equipment (both for yourself and for the project), inoculations/vaccinations, visa costs and living expenses. It is possible to raise enough money to pay for your entire volunteer trip.

There are many ways to raise these funds. You might decide to focus on one or two methods or try all of them!

Leaflets

Your donors/sponsors will want to know who you are and what you’re doing. In essence, you are selling yourself to them in hopes that they will buy into your passion for your project. It is important to include a short biography so that the recipient of your leaflet can identify with you and your cause. The leaflets should also have information about the project you're volunteering at and the company you're travelling with.

Letters

Distributing letters along with leaflets to family and friends, as well as local and national companies can help you reach potential donors quickly and efficiently. Other organizations, grant-making bodies and local trusts, provide funds to groups and charities. It’s often a difficult and lengthy process but can be well worth the effort. Deciding on which firms to target is up to you and will depend on how appropriate they are to your cause.

There are several things to remember when writing your donation letter.

Do your research

It is imperative that you make sure the letter gets to the right person. Since large businesses receive many inquiries for donations, you do not want yours to get lost or disregarded.

Introduce yourself to your reader

Familiarise him/her with the project and your passion for it. You want them to know who you are and more importantly, you want them to support you. For any letter you send, you must consistently remember why you are asking for money and make reference to it.

Give them figures

After figuring out how much money you will need for your volunteering abroad experience, after all expenses, quote this figure in your letter. Don’t be afraid to be specific in your requests. Your donors may be more willing to sponsor you if they are aware of the cost of your excursion.

Short and Sweet

Keep it short, the reader will only have so much time to read it and they get bored quickly.

:bounce:Offer something in return:clapping:

Entice prospective donors by making an offer to give them something in return. Whether it's free marketing for a company or free babysitting for family and friends, your willingness to help those who help you will result in a better response.

Remind them

Frequently companies and even family may forget about your letter. Call them. Don’t take no response as a ‘No.’ If you find that they are strapped for cash, inquire if they have any other ways they are able to help you. From fundraising assistance to equipment donations, with a little creativity, you can find a use for most anything.

:? Make it clear:clapping:

Make sure that your reader knows how to donate. If you're travelling with i-to-i, donors can make contributions in a variety of ways. They can make donations directly to you, directly to i-to-i's charity arm or through the i-to-i volunteer contribution form (available from i-to-i).

Back it up

Along with your letter, you must also have a “letter of support” from your volunteer travel provider verifying your association as an international volunteer worker. This letter will not only help your cause by making your letter more official but it also prevents your requests from being viewed as invalid or fraudulent (available from i-to-i).

Keep records

Finally, always keep track of who has sponsored you and how much. To maintain good relationships with your donors and show your appreciation, follow up with them after your experience. Consider sending another letter with pictures, detailing how their support made a difference.

Email Fundraising

Another way to fundraise quickly is through email. Many people have email addresses and the cost of sending an email is virtually nothing. You could draft a different letter for the purpose of the email or you could simply use the same letter outline as mentioned above for emails. However, it should be noted that you do not want to send the same information to the same people. Being continually asked for money by the same person for the same purpose can be a bit irritating, so make sure you only email people once. Emails should be professional and well-written. Encourage readers to spread the word and include e-copies of your leaflet.

Events

Fundraising events can be great for attracting attention to your cause. If prepared properly, they can enable you to even raise enough money to fund your entire volunteer experience. However, most events have associated costs and sometimes may not generate the funds expected. Thus you should exercise caution when organising your event and be sure that your event is well publicised and offers something to patrons.

You can find support from local businesses who may want to sponsor your event for their own marketing purposes or friends who have special talents. Be sure to utilise your network and think of everyone you know, what resources they have available to them and how they might want to help you.

One key to having a successful event is to make sure it coincides with your environment. It wouldn’t make sense to have a car wash fundraiser somewhere where it rains a lot. Nor would it help you to have a golf tournament in the middle of the desert. Keep the costs to a minimum and devise ways in which to raise money without your donors feeling that they’re being “ripped off." There are many websites on the internet that can help you to find unique ideas for fundraising events, utilize them!

Media

The media can be a powerful tool in helping you to spread the word about your fundraising activities. Attempt to use the media to promote your events you may have planned. Getting the word out on your events will increase attendance and will hopefully make them more profitable. Local newspapers, local television stations, specialist magazines, company newsletters, and local radio stations are all great ways to publicise your event.

Understandably, fundraising may seem like a lot of work. However, each of these ideas can be implemented on as large or small a scale as you like. Writing one detailed letter is pretty easy and the results can be really impressive. Using this letter for posted mail and e-mails can all contribute to your success at fundraising. Don’t let the cost of a volunteer experience deter you from making the difference you wish to. There are plenty of people in your community that want to help, all you need to do is ask!

Hopes is all clear now... cheers to all. happy riding.

>>>oh...VARA guys.. sory didn't amnage to turn up for the last 2 days met up... KO after work from 8pm all to 6am. never feel fresh for work before...

>>>AJ...u can pass to me if u had difficulty meeting them. i will post mail to them for u FOC...

>>> To The latest Saga beside Mr Obama elctions:offtopic: , the on going dengue inspection going around etc etc :offtopic:...not suprise the zoo cleaner actually climb over the fence and jump into the lion's den over this matter!!! Perhaps thats oso a volunteer rite?:slapforehead: at least he got FOC media coverage and suchs inreturn!!!:dot:

BUt it seems Very Similar to This Volunteering Saga...Don't you guys think?

once again..."just my $20"

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l306/joemac_kint/misc%20pic/untitled123456.jpg

Where got LONG WAY DOWN? Its just around the corner what?!?!?! eeerrmm. JUST a very long corner i mean...

Bro,very Informative..I laugh my socks off reading it early in the morning...Great work knowing tat U seldom login...:cheer: My respect for U....but it still will not clear ur debt to VARA....:deal:..Rmbr the photos...U took but nvr show...compile and choose which pic U wanna put it on a CD then let us see it.....Mr Mushroom jus my $20 man....

Andre GIDE

Bro,very Informative..I laugh my socks off reading it early in the morning...Great work knowing tat U seldom login...:cheer: My respect for U....but it still will not clear ur debt to VARA....:deal:..Rmbr the photos...U took but nvr show...compile and choose which pic U wanna put it on a CD then let us see it.....Mr Mushroom jus my $20 man....

Don>>

Nw VARA go 2 Cikgu oredi.. Cikgu Chrislayer and Cikgu Joe_Mac... :lol: :lol: :lol: ..

agree his last remark.. 100%,,, but Joe is one-up; cuz he mcm current affairs correspondent for VARA(jounalist)... HHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Joe, why nvr join friday nite? ADVENTURE dude..Wasted...'VARA goes MARINA BARRAGE' & 'VARA goes WEST(Coast MAcD)

>>>>DON, Someone lorow me a hard disk lah. can do in 3 days time. LAppie HD too full tiow. cannot even upload any pic. even wana transer oso cannot liow.

Mr MRT Yan curly>>>....after tues met up next day MC 2 days.. took medication and life hasn't been the same. Woke up at 6...PLUG mushroom, till 5pm, Reach hm, shower, see TV till TV see me liow.. 2 days already. then now dunno why got phenomena.. Wake up at 6am for pass 3 days liow.. thats why Easily KO. But feel good. Arms are getting better.

JK> Bro no prob....I'll get us a VARA HD..U upload at a later date when U r well....BTW seriously ur hand are OK...Better check again..could be mushroom growing all over...Chitake Mushroom mayb..:lol: Need Help plugging beep me k...I wanna help on a Sunday...:cheer:

Andre GIDE

Elbow OK liow... now working well. tested and proven. CHitake no need to Grow. Sure All VARA got one of their own. khekehkehkeheh but not sure for those Bunga BUnga one... kekhekhekhekhehke SUNDAY will chill at hm bro. But if anyone got HD.. can loan for 3 days, will work it out very fast.

Avatar is akan Dtg...Katoom pic..OK will pass U Our Vara Owned HD...soon... Me going out later to Saucony Kaki Bukit to c our shirt sample....REST>Will be Looking for Dri-Fit long sleeve and T-short..if not Round Neck T for RIding....

Rest>FYI There's a Sale Today...at Saucony Brand...e Office at Kaki Bukit...

Andre GIDE

tot u goinjg for the Sap Koni' sale...khekhehke

ALL>>>> Enjoy ur sundae... CHeers.

2 days never log in...so "happening here". Seems like our thread is inviting so many pple here....

Will upload our photo soon at Marina Barrage last Friday.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

hope to see some vara guys there....

Thks for the invitation.....last minute events cannot make it. May we can co-organise another meetup event for AJ Big Day with the Vara-TDM-Vstrom-AT plus all adventure bikers

AJ>> Congrat to u....i'm will be away from town from 2 6Nov - 7 Dec08. Exploring Kanchanburi, Ayutthaya & Lopburi.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

Brudders, I am confused & dissapointed, are we all Black Ball'd without even PM, what did Quizesilver mean by

as the organiser will not requires your help now.
was he addressing one person or all those from Vara who volunteer'd?

Unfortunatley I arrived a few minutes late for the Friday briefing start and since I was the only Vara who could make it I was not asked to join any of the sub groups who went on for detail briefing, no copies of the route map left but I have been emailed a copy of the presentation, no map or notes, so can't tell any of the brudders any more than that.

Would have posted sooner but having a lot of trouble with "server busy" lately

Vara is gone but back strain lingers on o_O

2 days never log in...so "happening here". Seems like our thread is inviting so many pple here....

Will upload our photo soon at Marina Barrage last Friday.

YeaH It's my publicity stunt...and it works...All coming in....scurry....Yeah :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Brudders, I am confused & dissapointed, are we all Black Ball'd without even PM, what did Quizesilver mean by was he addressing one person or all those from Vara who volunteer'd?

Unfortunatley I arrived a few minutes late for the Friday briefing start and since I was the only Vara who could make it I was not asked to join any of the sub groups who went on for detail briefing, no copies of the route map left but I have been emailed a copy of the presentation, no map or notes, so can't tell any of the brudders any more than that.

Would have posted sooner but having a lot of trouble with "server busy" lately

Bro, .:bow: .for what has happened...I believe he was mentioning to me...but ego got the better of them...so all VARA bros not included...I accept that It come fr Me...btw U still interested I'll go PM them...and Local community has lotsa learnt to organise and get organise...