• Replies 16.2k

you said yr coolant leak from the left, have u been to shop to detect the source of leakage?

anyway which plate is yr bike?

I did not go to the the mechanic yet but just now, i managed to trace the source of the leak. it a major hose that joins form the engine to the radiator, i think..the hole is like a 10coin that big..

My bike is registered in 2003.. :p Any good workshop to recommend in AMK autopoint that specilaises in Vara? Thanks!

Power is nothing...without Control

I did not go to the the mechanic yet but just now, i managed to trace the source of the leak. it a major hose that joins form the engine to the radiator, i think..the hole is like a 10coin that big..

My bike is registered in 2003.. :p Any good workshop to recommend in AMK autopoint that specilaises in Vara? Thanks!

is wise to change all the hose for your vara if you want to ride long. it is strange that the fan does not turn on in this case of yours...

there are two shop, HKL in alexander V. and M-technik in Ubi. AMK never go ther before so dunno sorry.

try HKL at alexandra, prices are reasonable and services pretty good to my opinion

"Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. It doesn't mean its wrong or right."

Hi guys..newbie reporting in..just got a vara 1K recently (carb model).. i am happy to say i enjoyed the bike very much and hope to learn more from all the vara owners down here..however, i just encountered some problems with my bike.. while i was travelling, the bike stalled, after 1 crank it satrt again..but after riding for 15mins, there was coolant leak on the left side..the temp shot up and even i reaches the mid line from the temp gauge, the fan did not kick in.. :(

Was wondering what seems to be the problem? I remembered i top up coolant a day before as it was was almost empty..wonder is it a thermostat / hose problem? Appricate all your suggestions and feedback..

Btw, any reliable workshop to recommend that specialises on our vara? I stay around sengkang area. Thanks and have a good week ahead! :)

Welcome bro....temp shot up is common for vara especially when u stuck in the jam under Hot weather.....if u want to confirm the fan not working...just see if the needle reach 3/4 mark....usually my fan start to work somewhere above the mid point when stuck in jam. Best is replace the whole new rubber hose & flush the radiator (recomend to flush your raditor & replace your coolant 1-2yr). I would recomend using Engine ice for your coolant change.

Pm me your contact & will contact u for our regular meetup at simpang bedok for kopi..Hope to Cu soon.

Coolant change & flushing u can try unique motor at Ubi.....very pro in doing it (i think they wasted alot of water in flushing my bike radiator with the running hose....can see all the rust coming out).

Edited by ATwin

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

Welcome bro....temp shot up is common for vara especially when u stuck in the jam under Hot weather.....if u want to confirm the fan not working...just see if the needle reach 3/4 mark....usually my fan start to work somewhere above the mid point when stuck in jam. Best is replace the whole new rubber hose & flush the radiator (recomend to flush your raditor & replace your coolant 1-2yr). I would recomend using Engine ice for your coolant change.

Pm me your contact & will contact u for our regular meetup at simpang bedok for kopi..Hope to Cu soon.

Coolant change & flushing u can try unique motor at Ubi.....very pro in doing it (i think they wasted alot of water in flushing my bike radiator with the running hose....can see all the rust coming out).

Thank you for all the kind advise..could i check which tyres you guys recommend? Metzeler Tourance, Pirelli Scorpion etc..many thanks again.

Power is nothing...without Control

1)Michelin Anakees

2)Conti Trail Attack

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif
1)Michelin Anakees

2)Conti Trail Attack

3) Metzeler Tourance - before 09 model is better !

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
1)Michelin Anakees

2)Conti Trail Attack

Conti trail attack will be my next change.....where got lobang to get it cheap & get it fix....HKL told no stock....

101) I just rememebered one more thing.. digital callipers becuase in case after the long ride must measure the thread... if too much wear out then must change...

102) Spare set of tyres (refer to 101)

No need, got 20 cent coin enough to measure safe tread depth.

Figure out how far you're going and get new tyres before you go, might not be able to find make / size you want on the road.

Vara is gone but back strain lingers on o_O

We Want We Want.........Thor

1. kaychan static 2010(Raven) 1set

2. elan 7891 aka vincent

3. Atwin aka David i want the colour that match my greenie.....

4. Yancurly8 (Thor static 2010 - charcoal 1 set - shirt(L), pants (W-35) )

P.S: Ramesh >> nid to check out wif you abt the boots oso.. Any good deals?

i sent u all pms regarding prices. Shipping is included. Please confirm with me orders by sat.... expected delivery date is 2 weeks

When you realize that you are trapped and surrounded, you will become fearless.

When you have no way out, you will tap into your courage to stand firm.

When you have no choice, you will fight back with all you might.

~ Sun Tzu (11.33)

Thank you for all the kind advise..could i check which tyres you guys recommend? Metzeler Tourance, Pirelli Scorpion etc..many thanks again.

Bro, get michelin Anakees.. no regrets. You can check with M-Technik.

The future depends on what we do in the present. - Mahatma Gandhi

Accounts for VARA BBQ 2009.

No. of Pax: 17

Total amount collected: 17 x $20 = $340/-

Fund Balance B/F = $130/-

Total amount in fund : $470/-

Expense incurred:

KC(Lobster, Satay) - $86.00

Zac (Bee Hoon & Mee Goreng - $35.00

Atwin (BBQ-pit & foodstuffs) - $235.00

Total: $356.00

Remaining amount : $114

Update of VARA funds for year 2010 (First Quarter)

Balance from 2009 : $114/-

Sale of VARA polo-Tee to Brudder Vincent : $20/-

Current amount in fund : $134/-

There is an exclusive SBF MO going on for the Garmin

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=278697

Anyone using this model?

theres also the IT fair next week... so i think there shd also be good sales right?

Yeap I'm using this. So far so good . But Zumo got Bluetooth. So when ppl call it will appear on the screen. and you can talk to it. one of the V strom rider is using it.

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Yeap I'm using this. So far so good . But Zumo got Bluetooth. So when ppl call it will appear on the screen. and you can talk to it. one of the V strom rider is using it.

Only 550 & 660 got BlueTooth, I tried the Nuvi, screen is too small to operate with gloves on IMHO, unless you got long fingernails ;-)

Vara is gone but back strain lingers on o_O

Only 550 & 660 got BlueTooth, I tried the Nuvi, screen is too small to operate with gloves on IMHO, unless you got long fingernails ;-)

Ya I totally forgot about tat cos i already mix using tat nuvi on car and on my bike.

But I still can tolerate that.

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Update of VARA funds for year 2010 (First Quarter)

Balance from 2009 : $114/-

Sale of VARA polo-Tee to Brudder Vincent : $20/-

Current amount in fund : $134/-

Thks for the update....maybe we try our next project ...how about a "Cup" so that i can use it at my office everyday...remember the fun we had..Anyone got lobang in doing it at a budget cost...

Vara Cartoon.jpg

how bout a cap?

I think i'm balding already...:(

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

Thks for the update....maybe we try our next project ...how about a "Cup" so that i can use it at my office everyday...remember the fun we had..Anyone got lobang in doing it at a budget cost...

[ATTACH]148127[/ATTACH]

how bout a cap?

I think i'm balding already..

Atwin >> Wat cup u prefer? the traditional ceramic mug or 'flask-mug' type?

AJ >> bro, u wana baseball cap or the 'matrep-never-sit-on-head' type..*LOL

Other ideas:-

1) Cup

2) Cap

3) Small towel

4) Dry-Fit T-shirt ( good for wearing inside touring gear )

5) Badge Pin

Just my 2 cents...