[Discussion] Technical - Air Filter

Which Air Filter is better?  

370 members have voted

1. 1. Which Air Filter is better?

Originally posted by hellcannon@Aug 23 2004, 02:41 PM

bought the recharger kit finishing washing the filter. my so dirty.. think have to wash every half yrs.

hi may i know where you bought it from? how much?

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/marzocchi84/la_LM6F3528.jpg

Supermoto Is Not A CRIME .

• Replies 958

Originally posted by marzocchi@Aug 24 2004, 07:17 PM

go mah motor , at lab there i bought my at $18 after bargaining

http://img63.exs.cx/img63/8811/itachicopy9ur.jpg

Originally posted by marzocchi@Aug 24 2004, 07:17 PM

go mah motor , at lab there i bought my at $18 after bargaining

http://img63.exs.cx/img63/8811/itachicopy9ur.jpg

usually when i first buy the Knn air fliter.. i dont wash till maybe 1 to 3 yrs.

If u ask those lao Jiao. If Knn is too clean.. its not the peak performance that the bike can use it.

Y i say so. when it comes factory fitted with the oil . thts the best. after u wash it.N diy yurself... the amount of oil put is different from the fatory. thus its different already.

Secondly i let mah motor wash n blow dry for me... easy n convinent... wher as they haf the experiance to handle rather than DIY.u save a few dollars only but tink in the long run.....

:goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Yesterday Is Already A Dream,

Tomorrow Is Only A Vision,

But Today, Well Lived,

Makes Every Yesterday A Dream Of Happiness

& Every Tomorrow A Vision Hope.

sh*t load of corny crap!!!! Well stupidity wins!!!

Originally posted by I love Honda@Aug 25 2004, 12:03 PM

usually when i first buy the Knn air fliter.. i dont wash till maybe 1 to 3 yrs.

i tink there is a great difference between a yr, and 3yrs.. dont u tink so?

Blow ur filter? And blow the dirt into the form and stuck there?

In the manual they stated nv blow it with air gun cos it let dirt stuck deep into the filter and may add some air restrictions.

As shop need to earn money they do it in a fast way. By DIY we can slowly let the filter self dry and oil ourselves.

DIY in the long run I feel that ur filter would be better condition than those blow their filter dry. And why let people do it where a simple job can be done by u.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Aug 25 2004, 01:09 PM

Blow ur filter? And blow the dirt into the form and stuck there?

In the manual they stated nv blow it with air gun cos it let dirt stuck deep into the filter and may add some air restrictions.

As shop need to earn money they do it in a fast way. By DIY we can slowly let the filter self dry and oil ourselves.

DIY in the long run I feel that ur filter would be better condition than those blow their filter dry. And why let people do it where a simple job can be done by u.

well for shops. yes they want to earn money but tht depends how well u knw the shop...if u knw them well. when they do.. u stand there n see n make sure they do a good job..

experiance.. counts.. diy can be done provided u got the experiance.

what ever the case its. once u wash yur KNN filter., u cant get the peak perforamance as when u use it fresh from the box....

Yesterday Is Already A Dream,

Tomorrow Is Only A Vision,

But Today, Well Lived,

Makes Every Yesterday A Dream Of Happiness

& Every Tomorrow A Vision Hope.

sh*t load of corny crap!!!! Well stupidity wins!!!

I dont think u need experience to wash a k&n filter. I mean if u can ride a bike then u should have the ability to wash a filter.

Is not very hard to wash a filter provided u have the kits and cost only $18.

I agree with u that new k&n do perform better, and new k&n doesnt really better than a stock filter just that it perform better than a syock filter when it is dirty and it is washable too.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

juz 1 2 ask u guys KNN filter for Ver S $70 is it expensive??where can get a cheaper 1?

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid161/p645b2defcfc670a83d2b35f717b6d5fd/f4cbe9e6.jpg.thumb.jpg

as above..

wat the difference bwt it n K&N one?...

coz K&N one recycleable huh?...

how much the cost diff?..

if ride WITHOUT air filter...carbs got dirty easily ??

must we tune after we change air filter???.

pls advise...:sweat:

Go buy from LAB, very cheap. :cheer:

as for bike w/o the fliter, u decide.

Personnally: got better pickup but wori about micro dirt,

tat enter the engine freely (w/o filtering), might reduce the

engine life span. :weep:

K&N is better... Forget about the Original ones... K&N can be wash when its dirty. Got mine at $65 + Installation. Riding without a Filter is a NO GO for me...

Guest enHANZed

where u get $65+ install ? i got my original changed @ combine for $20 ...cause they quoted me $80 for knn

Originally posted by enHANZed@Dec 17 2004, 08:34 PM

where u get $65+ install ? i got my original changed @ combine for $20 ...cause they quoted me $80 for knn

Well, got mine for 59.20 for spec 3, inclusive of installation during Mah Open Hse.

Originally posted by enHANZed@Dec 17 2004, 08:34 PM

Why change Original ones? Combine again? Me went there once kena CHOP until dun noe who my mom and dad is. They Quote me 3 pairs of Brake Pads (WP) for $90. I thot the price is Reasonable but until i go back to the shop i Frequent then found out i kena CHOP $15. Anyway, Got my K&N done at K&T (UBI)

Hi all, a s4 newbie. heard that the k&n filter need to clean it with something call rechargerable kit izzit? how does it looks like? where to buy and roughly how much? :confused:

Originally posted by seeweijie@Jan 20 2005, 02:31 PM

Hi all, a s4 newbie. heard that the k&n filter need to clean it with something call rechargerable kit izzit? how does it looks like? where to buy and roughly how much? :confused:

Go to Mah Motorparts @ 19 Jln Besah opposite Sim Lim Tower.

Can buy a set for $18.

If dunno how to use, ask the boss Jeffrey or pay his mech to wash the air filter for u.

Cheers !

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-3088.gif
Originally posted by S4Sixty@Jan 20 2005, 04:05 PM

Go to Mah Motorparts @ 19 Jln Besah opposite Sim Lim Tower.

Can buy a set for $18.

If dunno how to use, ask the boss Jeffrey or pay his mech to wash the air filter for u.

Cheers !

thanks... will go down one day when im free.. btw, X-ring is beta than O-ring or the other way? when to get our bike for tuning and how much izzit? Thanks for helping me to ans these questions...:cheeky:

Originally posted by seeweijie@Jan 22 2005, 12:10 AM

thanks... will go down one day when im free.. btw, X-ring is beta than O-ring or the other way? when to get our bike for tuning and how much izzit? Thanks for helping me to ans these questions...:cheeky:

X ring lasted longer when taken care of properly.

Improper maintainence will kill all types of chain quickly.

Carb washing ands tuning for Super 4 costs cheapest from $60 to an average of $80.

Never heard of anyone charging higher than $80 so far.

But i guess Boon Siew will charge more than $80....

Where ?

Well lots of places are recommended here.

Do a search and pick a place u like.

Guest bomerman81
Originally posted by S4Sixty@Jan 22 2005, 01:47 AM

X ring lasted longer when taken care of properly.

Improper maintainence will kill all types of chain quickly.

Carb washing ands tuning for Super 4 costs cheapest from $60 to an average of $80.

Never heard of anyone charging higher than $80 so far.

But i guess Boon Siew will charge more than $80....

Where ?

Well lots of places are recommended here.

Do a search and pick a place u like.

Btw S4_sixty where do u service ur bike mayb can come out kopi 1 day ley....

always chat wit u but nv even c u b4 seems funny rite????:confused:

Hope can meet u soon n will PM u my contact no. :cheer:

Anywae yup X-ring is the best if u take care of the chain.....

If u DONT any chain also spoils fast lor.....:cheer:

Originally posted by bomerman81@Jan 22 2005, 02:11 AM

Btw S4_sixty where do u service ur bike mayb can come out kopi 1 day ley....

always chat wit u but nv even c u b4 seems funny rite????:confused:

Hope can meet u soon n will PM u my contact no. :cheer:

Anywae yup X-ring is the best if u take care of the chain.....

If u DONT any chain also spoils fast lor.....:cheer:

Where i service my bike ??

My bike just like me...some service this girl, other service that gir.... :lovestruck:

Certain things this mech certain things that mech.

Certain parts this shop certain parts that shop.

Wahahaha !

Monday i going to service my carbs and stuff.

Wanna join me ?

Cheers !