SIM (Singapore Institute of Management)

hall 7 you park at the entrance to the hall or the carpark all the way behind?

[CENTER][IMG]http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t148/binkaz11/1_980549729l.jpg[/IMG] [I][B][FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"]Wooo HoOOoOooooo~[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/I][/CENTER]
  • Replies 10.1k

• ZLord

• GER_on_Bike

• R.C

• Audrian

yeap.but i got it for 600 instead. :cheeky:

i may just keep this bike when i get a class 2 bike.vintage leiz...one yr older than me,nice place 844(the year the bike was made-'84). my phantom oso nice plate, 1608-yi lu fa! nw i go 2 bikes.living like a rich man now.but no money for everything!! :cry:

after exams who got lobang for work~? :help:

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

Originally posted by binkaz@May 12, 2007 04:19 am

hall 7 you park at the entrance to the hall or the carpark all the way behind?

Hall 7 carpark all the way behind.

http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l13/tonychun/thGif95.gif
Originally posted by swirlacer@May 12, 2007 11:24 am

yeap.but i got it for 600 instead. :cheeky:

i may just keep this bike when i get a class 2 bike.vintage leiz...one yr older than me,nice place 844(the year the bike was made-'84). my phantom oso nice plate, 1608-yi lu fa! nw i go 2 bikes.living like a rich man now.but no money for everything!! :cry:

after exams who got lobang for work~? :help:

Just keep phantom lor, not much to maintain, and can ZHung the bike comestic. Den the 400cc bike, u just sell cheap to those who just pass 2A.

http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l13/tonychun/thGif95.gif

haha,think i sell to my uncle.400cc vintage bike i keep. aniway, ur coach interested to spray bikes? i may need his services in the near future..

neways, 2 more paper to go~ :cheer:

Anyone go to Expo by PIE? Didn't know PIE got so many TP and Cameras in the morning and afternoon... these few days going up and down PIE for exam, noticed a lot...today kena 3 times... dunno got tio or not.... all 3 times i exceed speed limit cuz i never notice them.... :sian:

3 more papers to go~!

Wha fish you fierce la. After math paper can come back library study more. My first paper on twenty first. Hope t p catching lorry drivers.

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/index_img/asia/buffalo_logo.gif

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/Images/2008-YZF-R6-static-07_prv_tcm26-207736.jpg

today soci paper totally suck.dunno is relc wrong or uol wrong.got two qns missing from exam paper. and that qn happens to constitute 25 marks. sianz 1/2.imagine u spend so much time studying on something that is confirmed to be out but nv come out. damn screwed up manz. :giddy:

What u mean 2 questions missing?

You mean supposed to be 8 choose 4 but they gave only 6 this time?

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/Images/2008-YZF-R6-static-07_prv_tcm26-207736.jpg

Originally posted by swirlacer@May 16, 2007 02:21 am

today soci paper totally suck.dunno is relc wrong or uol wrong.got two qns missing from exam paper. and that qn happens to constitute 25 marks. sianz 1/2.imagine u spend so much time studying on something that is confirmed to be out but nv come out. damn screwed up manz. :giddy:

yeah i heard about the soci problem from my friends too. all of them very stunned... so you did all 4 questions? Soci already very hard to pass...they throw stun somemore....more jia lat...

Ride carefully everyone... just now while waiting for my HRM paper, witness an accident. A nissan sunny driving damn fast towards the zebra crossing. When he suddenly see got ppl crossing, slammed on the brake. The car stopped in time but the poor rider behind him didn't. Heard a loud bang and the malay female rider slam right into the back of the car. I didn't go over as there's already alot of people around there and the expo security guards helping her with everything. The malay girl is a fellow uol student. i think she suppose to go hospital but insisted on taking exam instead. eventually they wheelchaired her to hall 7 and let her take her exam at a separate corner after applying first aid to her... poor girl.

Please be careful when approaching that zebra crossing...alot of impatient drivers....

these drivers really f sia... dunno wanna prove wad sh*t... that road so short also wanna speed.. best is that road jam like sh*t then everything peaceful liao..

[CENTER][IMG]http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t148/binkaz11/1_980549729l.jpg[/IMG] [I][B][FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"]Wooo HoOOoOooooo~[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/I][/CENTER]

soci should have at least 1 question on organisation but nv come out...yet SIM choose to concetrate on organisation for section c rather then gender issuse or bureacracy...tis time round prove they made a big mistake and we suffer...i gota complain to the admin...wat crap r they doing...

我ä¸èƒ½é˜»æ­¢å±é™©å‘生, ä½†æˆ‘ä¼šä¿æŠ¤ä½ , 而且你ä¸çŸ¥é“什么是真正的å±é™©

taken from newpaper on thursday...

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,130676,00.html?

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,130675,00.html?

SOME 1,800 students who took an external degree examination on Tuesday are in dismay.

Many left the exam hall early and in despair.

They thought they had failed the exam. Through no fault of their own.

They had prepared themselves thoroughly for a topic which they had been told was certain to appear in one section of their paper.

However, that topic was missing from the exam paper.

When some students tried to alert invigilators to the apparent mix-up, they were told that nothing was amiss and they should continue with the exam.

Now these 1,815 students I changed this, because SIM and Stansfield are not at fault; if the students search for answers from SIM and Stansfield it might imply that the two colleges are at fault from the Singapore Institute of Management and Stansfield College are asking questions of their examiners.

They are still recovering from their experience in Hall 7, Singapore Expo, on Tuesday.

The full-time and part-time students were sitting for the final exam for the subject Principles of Sociology.

This is offered under various degree programmes awarded by the University of London, including Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Business and Diploma in Economics.

The three-hour exam consisted of three sections with eight questions in all.

The first two sections, A and B, consisted of a single compulsory question each. Section A is worth 50 marks and Section B, 25 marks.

Section C, worth 25 marks, offers students the choice of attempting one out of six questions, each covering a separate topic.

The six topics are Gender; Race and Ethnicity; Social Inequalities and Social Injustice; Religion and Society; Power in Society; and Sociology of Organisation. (what is the 6th topic? Eisen: gender is separate from race and ethnicity) Students from both schools were prepped for only one topic 鈥?Sociology of Organisation.

However, Tuesday鈥檚 paper offered only four questions for Section C, instead of the expected six.

To the students鈥?horror, one of the two questions missing was the one they had spent the entire year preparing for.

After spending countless nights studying hard for the exam, it seemed they were staring at certain failure.

This is not a case of them taking a chance on a question that failed to appear, as the syllabus is arranged in such a way that they can prepare for only one topic.

It is instead a case of confusion all round.

From an examination board that provided a paper with some questions missing to inflexible invigilators, it seems that what could go wrong went wrong.

A lack of communication between the various parties involved did not help.

Ann (not her real name), 21, a full-time BSc (Honours) Business student from SIM, was one of the many left frustrated and upset.

WHY 6 QUESTIONS INSTEAD OF 8?

鈥淚 saw only six questions in all, despite the front cover of the exam paper stating there were eight,鈥?she said.

鈥淲hen I asked the invigilators about this, they announced that there was merely an error on the front cover, and told us to change 鈥榚ight questions鈥?to 鈥榮ix questions鈥?

鈥淥ne invigilator insisted that there could not have been any missing questions, since 鈥楨nd of Paper鈥?was printed after the sixth question,鈥?she added.

A check with the Regional Language Centre (RELC) Examinations Bureau, the organisation in charge of the invigilators, confirmed this.

The University of London revealed later that the last two questions were missing in the exam paper due to a printing error.

But this is cold comfort for the students, who experienced shock, distress and worry during and after the exam.

Dozens left the examination hall up to one and a half hours early, either out of frustration or despair.

Mr Sunny Goh, a public policy consultant and part-time SIM sociology lecturer in his 40s, revealed that at least 30 students have called or e-mailed him in anguish since Tuesday evening.

鈥淚鈥檝e spent the past day counselling them all,鈥?he said.

IS THERE CHANGE IN FORMAT?

One of his part-time students, Sharon (not her real name), 24, asked an invigilator if Mr Goh could be contacted to verify the format of the exam paper.

She recalled that the Examiners鈥?Report, a document issued from London to all students here before the exam, stated there will be 鈥渘o change to the format, style or number of questions鈥?for the exam.

Her request was rejected.

鈥淗ow much does it take to make a simple phone call to verify the format of the exam,鈥?Sharon asked.

Mr Goh revealed that he was outside the exam hall, but no invigilator approached him to clarify anything.

鈥淚f I had been approached there and then, I would definitely have known something was amiss,鈥?he said.

After Sharon鈥檚 request was rejected, she was told to select a question that 鈥渨as closest (in content) to Sociology of Organisation鈥?and to insert a note in her answer script that the original question she had prepared for was missing.

At that moment, she admitted that 鈥渉er eyes started to tear鈥?

鈥淭he invigilators were not helping me at all,鈥?Sharon concluded.

鈥淗ow can they be so sure the error lies on the front cover and not in the number of questions printed?鈥?p>WILL WE FAIL EXAM?

The prospect of failing the exam and having to repeat the unit hangs heavily on these students鈥?minds.

To pass, students have to score at least 34 marks out of 100 for the exam.

鈥淪ection A was especially difficult this year,鈥?Ann said. 鈥淲ith our inability to do Section C, we might just fail the exam.鈥?p>Those who fail must not only attend extra lectures during the following academic year 鈥?they must also pay half the academic fees of $1,050 (how much is this? Eisen: $1050 for one unit; a student does four units a yearfor the unit, on top of $505 for a re-examination.

Said Ann, who has already paid $6,220 for four units: 鈥淚鈥檓 not sure how to fork out the extra money if I need to retake the unit.鈥?NO1> (how much has she paid this year Eisen: Unit + Exam fees: $6220 in all; she did four units

Mr Goh empathises with his students. 鈥淚 feel very frustrated for my students and anyone else who had to sit this exam,鈥?he said.

鈥淚 hope the university will be able to come up with a solution that can satisfy all parties.鈥?

THE website of the London School of Economics, a specialist constituent college of the University of London, released this short announcement yesterday:

'We are aware that there was a significant problem with the printing of the Principles of Sociology paper for (Singapore) yesterday.

'We wish to reassure students this problem will be taken into account when the examination scripts are marked, and no student will be disadvantaged because of this.'

Sharon and Ann are not reassured, however.

'I think it's impossible for the university to differentiate between those who left Section C completely unanswered, and those who actually attempted other questions in Section C, and moderate these scripts fairly,' Ann said.

But why were students prepared for only one topic for a section that offers six options?

According to part-time SIM lecturer Sunny Goh, the Principles of Sociology unit lasts 21 weeks.

Out of these 21 weeks, four weeks are allocated to prepping students for Section C, 'to fit the proportion of marks allocated for that section', which is 25 marks out of 100.

Within these four weeks, it is 'impossible' to lecture students on more than one topic, he said.

A study guide sent from London to students advised them not to study for more than one topic, as the syllabus has been designed for them to focus only on one.

Why did the examinations officer assume that the exam format had changed from eight questions to six?

In an e-mail reply, the RELC Examinations Bureau said: 'Following standard procedures received from University of London, the Examinations Officer checked that the wording 'End of Paper' appeared immediately following (the sixth question).

'On the basis of this... the Examinations Officer (determined) that there were only six questions instead of eight.'

Shouldn't there have been attempts to contact the University of London to verify the exam format?

The RELC Bureau said: 'It was not possible to contact anyone at the university due to the time difference of seven hours.

'In such circumstances, the standard procedure is to file an incident report to the university after the examination.'

我ä¸èƒ½é˜»æ­¢å±é™©å‘生, ä½†æˆ‘ä¼šä¿æŠ¤ä½ , 而且你ä¸çŸ¥é“什么是真正的å±é™©

i ain't in UOL but heard saw the news too..

created such a big woohaa..

My fren's fren wrote to the sch asking for a reply..duno how it will turn out..

london email me.say they will moderate. blar blar.."we got a veri robust process, blar blar blar..we will moderate the marking"see already sianz.u tell me robust but i dun see ur bust. sheeze...acting like sg zheng hu.so much for transparency.aniway, the quote for qn 1 of section a is taken from power chapter. so SIM students, u are doubly screwed~! org org org..now got last organisation paper to go...sianz.

on a side note, if u sit outside hall 8, u can see those poseur students drive their cars and zham accelerator,then 3 secs later, brake.haha...super poser..no wonder such accidents happen.idiotic drivers. (of cse there are safe drivers)

Most young kids with vehicle like to do that.

Dam has many examples haha.

My 1st paper mon afternoon, 2nd paper tue morning. Exam stress ah!

second yr or third yr students start later. since their term starts later at sept, naturally they have their exams later. :smile:

Originally posted by swirlacer@May 20, 2007 01:34 am

london email me.say they will moderate. blar blar.."we got a veri robust process, blar blar blar..we will moderate the marking"see already sianz.u tell me robust but i dun see ur bust. sheeze...acting like sg zheng hu.so much for transparency.aniway, the quote for qn 1 of section a is taken from power chapter. so SIM students, u are doubly screwed~! org org org..now got last organisation paper to go...sianz.

on a side note, if u sit outside hall 8, u can see those poseur students drive their cars and zham accelerator,then 3 secs later, brake.haha...super poser..no wonder such accidents happen.idiotic drivers. (of cse there are safe drivers)

i really dunno how uol is gonna do it. its not about moderate or not. the point is, some people prepare more for the organisation questions or depends on the organisation questions to pull up their marks etc. now that they omitted that section, they are essentially killing their chance and hope. moderate also no use. what about those who only wanna chiong that section? how about those who really totally give up on that section. no matter how uol do it, it will never be fair. some people will gain from it but most will not.... its super unfair.... though i did not take the paper (passed already =P) but to think that this kinda things can actually happen really pissed me off. pay so much money, waste so much efforts all no use.... haiz...

Goodluck to to all those who still have papers... my last paper on 30th~! :bounce:

as for the side note... the embarrassing things for those poser drivers who drive their father's car is that they zham their accelerator so hard, rev so hard and loud, but when you turn your heard to look.... they are still there~!!! :faint:

I wonder how those vios, nissan sunny or honda civic drivers convince themselves/ visualise that their car is damn powerful... must have went through lots of motivational talks... upz to them if they had.... :lol:

haha..u sneaky la u..always park outside the side entrance..too bad cannot directly exit from there liaoz. last paper todae!!ibm...13 hrs to go...cant wait for this to end..i wanna go touch my new second hand bike!!

aniway,for all sociology students,last sunday night on arts central,the stansfield prison experiment movie was shown.its called Das Experiment. made me sit up and watch the film even though its on a based upon story..if only sociology and all theory papers are so interesting..

go and find it and watch it if possible.even if u are not a socio student.caz it shows u how evil man can become under influences.its called the "lucifer effect".