Hi, its my first time riding SP and I do not wish just to RIDE I also need to know more..

I saw sticky KR thread but why no SP thread?

I have done quite alot of research and a few questions i really need to understand more.

How do you or how you know when the bike has power cut?

Plate number.. FN FR FT etc.. (If so.. mine is FR plate.)

Unable to Rev much?

The engine shut down when exceed at certain speed?

I really would not want a power cut engine..

If so, how do you disable it?

How much does it ACTUALLY cost to change engine oil? What kind of oil are they? So many types I guess?

I know it uses 2T oil. But why add some at 2T oil IN our fuel tank? I heard it will cause clutch slip. And that is not good right..?

What is the actual meaning of "RUN IN". Sorry I saw quite of people using that word. Like going slow, below 70km/h for 500km distance? Wow means when can i actually whack and go fast? After 1 year..?

I also heard there is alot of type of CDI. (models something like m-08, m14.. something..)

It is expensive am I right?

What else do I need to maintain/clean? Such as block and carb? Or maybe piston??

I know spark plug has its only standard size.

The most importantly, HOW and WHERE do I plan my own servicing? Such as how many Kilometres to next servicing. (and I am not sure what to say to bike shop...)

Fuel! I understand the fuel intake is alot. Thirsty bike.

Did some research.. 20-22km per Litres? Is it true?

Tyres! The only research I heard was people telling me to use it called.. (pronounce as "bro-tax" or "bow-lax") something like that?

Understood that it cost $150 - $170 per pair. (Wow that suck..)

Sorry I know its very noob and stupid to ask all these. I have to ask.. in order to save cost and time. I need to learn more from the "old timers"

I will add more questions if i have more to ask... Thank you!

I don't need to show my bike here 'cus I don't have one.

http://i1099.photobucket.com/albums/g388/nghia_vn/Meme/ILied.png

• Replies 19

Get ur bike service at a reputable bikeshop n talk to e mech bout ur concern.. U cant learn everything by reading... Even read whole manual but dun understand oso no point...

Tips : when want to learn something, buy u mech drinks+ciggy if he smoke... Nothing is for free :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

if all else fail,ask your mechanic better right ?

Get ur bike service at a reputable bikeshop n talk to e mech bout ur concern.. U cant learn everything by reading... Even read whole manual but dun understand oso no point...

Tips : when want to learn something, buy u mech drinks+ciggy if he smoke... Nothing is for free :)

ya.. but then before go shop i need to know basics mah.. some shop really bad one. do bad wiring tell you nonsense. sure aim P plater like me.. then i stupidly believe them..

buy drink ah. i must know the uncle well lor! LOL!

direct your questions to nsr sp riders thread ;)

nobody reply me only you guys.. sigh.

Hi, its my first time riding SP and I do not wish just to RIDE I also need to know more..

I have done quite alot of research and a few questions i really need to understand more.

Here, although recently there has been much more chat than constructive discussion: http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/79658-Honda-NSR150SP-Riders

Unable to Rev much?

Except for some FN and FP plate bikes ... Almost all others' CDI have power cut - not much usable power beyond 10.5 Krpm

No way to disable it except to change the CDI

How much does it ACTUALLY cost to change engine oil? What kind of oil are they? So many types I guess?

I know it uses 2T oil. But why add some at 2T oil IN our fuel tank? I heard it will cause clutch slip. And that is not good right..?

Clutch slip with 2T in fuel tank, pure bullsh*t. It's totally unrelated.

Engine oil wise, use gear oil. Some popular brands of gear oil include Rock Oil and Motul (Transoil Expert). These typically do not cost more than $18 and a change 2-4 times a year will do.

What is the actual meaning of "RUN IN". Sorry I saw quite of people using that word. Like going slow, below 70km/h for 500km distance? Wow means when can i actually whack and go fast? After 1 year..?

You don't have to run in unless your block and piston is recently changed. And if this has been done, ask your mechanic how long your run-in period should be. Malaysia shops typically put the jetting to be on the lean side and you may have to run in for a longer period.

What else do I need to maintain/clean? Such as block and carb? Or maybe piston??

Wash the carb every 2-3 months and change the spark plug at the same time.

The most importantly, HOW and WHERE do I plan my own servicing? Such as how many Kilometres to next servicing. (and I am not sure what to say to bike shop...)

Will PM you a contact of an experienced 2-stroke mechanic you can trust.

if you are too bothered by fuel consumption get a YBR, Pulsar or Wave. However, proper jetting and having tyres properly pumped can reduce fuel consumption by a bit.

Tyres! The only research I heard was people telling me to use it called.. (pronounce as "bro-tax" or "bow-lax") something like that?

Bridgestone Battlax BT-39F/SS for front and back. If you wish to go to track, use Bridgestone Battlax BT-090 or Michelin Power 1 on the back.

You can get good tyre offers from places like Unique Motorsports and Team HKL Racing. Look under Advertisers' Board forum for their contacts.

Sorry I know its very noob and stupid to ask all these. I have to ask.. in order to save cost and time. I need to learn more from the "old timers"

Read the Manual ...

Owner's Manual: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3590893/NSR150SP%20Owner%27s%20Manual.pdf (76.3 MB)

Service Manual: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3590893/NSR150SP%20Service%20Manual.pdf (22.5 MB)

Infographic: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3590893/NSR150.pdf (12.6 MB)

ESOTERIC SYSTEMS | SINGAPORE

POWER. PLEASURE. PROMISED.

Electrical System Stabiliser, iPhone/Android Charger for Bikes, Washing Tools, 12V Cigarette Lighter Sockets, DIY Supplies and more …

"Like" us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/esystemssg

The Honda SP riders do actually have their very own forum. Try google for it and try to learn the basic on how engines work to prevent you from being clueless.Before you can run you must first learn to walk. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Will PM you a contact of an experienced 2-stroke mechanic you can trust.

Can PM me the contact?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

The Honda SP riders do actually have their very own forum. Try google for it and try to learn the basic on how engines work to prevent you from being clueless.Before you can run you must first learn to walk. :cool:

I did that. I even used forum search but always no result! I am learning to walk now..

Esystemsg the link you gave me.. one of them

Is all in Thai words......

I did that. I even used forum search but always no result! I am learning to walk now..

Esystemsg the link you gave me.. one of them

Is all in Thai words......

Good that you are having the right mentality. Check your PM. Hope its beneficial to you. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Good that you are having the right mentality. Check your PM. Hope its beneficial to you. :cool:

thanks alot! will contact you again for more info!

so have u got all ur answer ?

still got any question ?

There goes a good samaritan.. So TS, that is effort on Bro Duo's part.. Dun forget to reward him...

"Shut Up n Ride"

so have u got all ur answer ?

still got any question ?

i remember i got a few question to ask. BUT at keyboard already. i forgot what i want to ask again... son of b

There goes a good samaritan.. So TS, that is effort on Bro Duo's part.. Dun forget to reward him...

wahahaha i still new. how to reward. maybe buy him 1198. LOL!

Unable to Rev much?

Use money.

For your two stroke bike

1 oil lubes the engine(2t) 1 oil lubes the gears(transmission oil/gear oil) however 70-80% users uses engine oil(4t)

Supposed to use the 2t fuel pump however due to potential problems of the pump that may end up not lubricating your piston, it may be costly. Thus many dose directly into the tank for a consistent ratio. usually 20-25ml/L of petrol. Make sure very minimal white smoke coming out of the exhaust. Change brands or get the more expensive ones.

No will not cost clutch slip. Your bike was designed to run this way.

If you just rebuild your engine, you need to travel at low speeds for a certain mileage and change oil extremely often(follow manual).This method is known as soft break/running in

http://motorcyclesmanual.com/?p=1187

I also heard there is alot of type of CDI. (models something like m-08, m14.. something..)

It is expensive am I right?

Why do you would you want to change your CDI?

Unless its a race tuned bike i would suggest you save your dough for something else.

Refer to the manual.

Coolant. Lubing of brake/clutch levels/pedals.

Engine oil levels.

Refer to manual link i provided you. Wont go wrong there but you must look after the engine oil levels and coolant levels.

Yes. You bought a sports bike didnt you?

battlax lah! Well, unless you are riding a commuters bike, tires changes are about there. For performance bikes, its 300 and up from a decent reputable brand.

I will add more questions if i have more to ask... Thank you

Its okay we were all noob once and still learning.

Its ok bro. I am just glad I could be of help. :cool:

i remember i got a few question to ask. BUT at keyboard already. i forgot what i want to ask again... son of b

If you are serious about the 1198 I will accept it. :lol: Jot down what you wanted to ask so you can refer when you forget. :cool:

KRGT-1

Hahaha... Back in old days, dat kind of ans will land u somewhere :) ... "Gratitude" is e thing of e past i guess.. Ish ish ish...

"Shut Up n Ride"

Hi sorry that i have to up this thread.. i wish to know how much air should i pump in my tyres? i think i am using some.. brand name.. duro? i dont know if its good but there is still thread line in it. people tell me its lousy does not grip much. true??

Those tyres have really unsuitable compounds. They shiuld just stick to producing bicycle tyres. Its not even good for bicycles. How much to pump will depend on cold or warm. :cool:

KRGT-1