Thanks to everyone who gave me tips, advice & encouragement. FINALLY passed lesson 1 on the 5th attempt! My lesson 2 will be on 24th. Basically what activities will we be doing for lesson 2? The outline given in the training record not so clear leh. Easier to pass or another mountain to climb like lesson 1?

Another small mountain to climb, but can pass one lah

• Replies 4.8k

Thanks to everyone who gave me tips, advice & encouragement. FINALLY passed lesson 1 on the 5th attempt! My lesson 2 will be on 24th. Basically what activities will we be doing for lesson 2? The outline given in the training record not so clear leh. Easier to pass or another mountain to climb like lesson 1?

Lesson 2 is pretty simple. If you've already got a good foundation you should go through this easily. All about left turns, right turns, blindspot checks, lane change etc. Nth much. I took two attempts to pass my L1 but stuck at L2 (took four attempts to pass) as I did not have a strong foundation built from L1.

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

I'm not sure how the bikes look in CDC, but training bikes should be crash bars at the side. If your arm strength is insufficient, you could "cheat" a little by using your knee to nudge the crash bar forward.

I'll never forget this. It was this tip which carried me through the entire 2B course right up to TP.

Skywalker

Thank u for the tips. Passed L4 jus now.

For CR, how many do u all go b4 L5???

i did 2 CR and pass L5 on second attempt.

L5 is basically a summary of what u learn in circuit so far.

A lot of emphasis on riding stability, lane changing, blind spots, positioning.

Some common mistakes are

1. changing lane on the bend (thats 6 points),

2. didnt wait for blinker light to proceed for plank, ebrake, fig 8 (immediate failure)..

3. moving off wobbling,

4. incorrect posture (didnt lock elbows, look down) for e brake,

5. wrong/no signal, lane change didnt check blind spot, wrong positioning, check blind spot wrongly etc.

Hi, so I have a current TP booking on 19 November 2014, that I booked recently. Logged into the system and found out that there seems to be another TP slot on 3 December 2014. Does anyone here ever booked two TP slots at once before?

If I'm not wrong, its not possible.

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

Long Live the Dream.

You're right. It's not possible. Just logged into the system and book another TP slot, unfortunately they won't allow me to do so. Looks like they really make you wait if one does not manage to clear it. :lol:

Lesson 2 is pretty simple. If you've already got a good foundation you should go through this easily. All about left turns, right turns, blindspot checks, lane change etc. Nth much. I took two attempts to pass my L1 but stuck at L2 (took four attempts to pass) as I did not have a strong foundation built from L1.

Hi darkredmica

Ya, so had my L2 this morning. Wasnt very difficult actually, just that I found it disorientating. The very wordy briefings was information overload for my old brain! Then trying to remember all those things as we approach the junctions/bends, take into account traffic conditions, lights, learner drivers who stall etc, tend to forget to do a few checks along the way! Didnt have problems remembering to turn on trafficator - but always forget to switch them off! Kena scolding a few times.

But probably the most disorientating part was the bike itself. In L1, we used those old mirrorless bikes. Having gone 5 lessons on them, Im quite comfy with the feel & characteristics of the bike. Now I took a much newer bike with mirrors, the biting point & throttle response was so different! So when release to biting point level of the old bike, the newer bike didnt quite bite. So I released the clutch a bit more - it was a bit too much, so made a few lunging starts, plus the throttle was a little bit more responsive compared to old bike. Steering also felt a bit stiffer. But when i became comfortable with the characteristics & managed to get the bike to ride smoother, it was end of lesson liao. Maybe I should just keep selecting old bikes with mirrors for all future lessons from now on.

Perhaps need 2-3 more times to get used to the whole process & flow of the lesson & burn it into muscle memory. Hopefully just 1 more!! Nxt available lesson is 2/10.

Dunno why..... but seems like cdc is spacing out the lessons. So its not like you can come in the morning & repeat the lesson in evening if you fail, or come back 1-2 days later to repeat. Now its like almost a week to repeat.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Hi darkredmica

Ya, so had my L2 this morning. Wasnt very difficult actually, just that I found it disorientating. The very wordy briefings was information overload for my old brain! Then trying to remember all those things as we approach the junctions/bends, take into account traffic conditions, lights, learner drivers who stall etc, tend to forget to do a few checks along the way! Didnt have problems remembering to turn on trafficator - but always forget to switch them off! Kena scolding a few times.

But probably the most disorientating part was the bike itself. In L1, we used those old mirrorless bikes. Having gone 5 lessons on them, Im quite comfy with the feel & characteristics of the bike. Now I took a much newer bike with mirrors, the biting point & throttle response was so different! So when release to biting point level of the old bike, the newer bike didnt quite bite. So I released the clutch a bit more - it was a bit too much, so made a few lunging starts, plus the throttle was a little bit more responsive compared to old bike. Steering also felt a bit stiffer. But when i became comfortable with the characteristics & managed to get the bike to ride smoother, it was end of lesson liao. Maybe I should just keep selecting old bikes with mirrors for all future lessons from now on.

Perhaps need 2-3 more times to get used to the whole process & flow of the lesson & burn it into muscle memory. Hopefully just 1 more!! Nxt available lesson is 2/10.

Dunno why..... but seems like cdc is spacing out the lessons. So its not like you can come in the morning & repeat the lesson in evening if you fail, or come back 1-2 days later to repeat. Now its like almost a week to repeat.

You've got to keep camping on the website to check for cancellation slots. People like me used to book multiple practs per lesson so once we pass our lesson we'll cancel them and free up the lesson slots. My problem with L2 was constantly making wide turnings. I would very often eat into the other lane and thus had to repeat.

As for bikes, didn't have the luxury of trying out the new bikes so can't comment but you're definitely lucky to be able to use the new ones. The old ones were often not road worthy and had lousy brakes, terrible biting points. What we did back then was to note down the good bikes by their number tag, chop the bikes before the commencement of each lesson. Having a good bike makes passing a lesson much easier than having to fumble with a bad one, and struggle with the lesson all together.

Though once you clear your practs and get to revisions, it's recommended to not be picky with your bikes anymore and to test all of them out as likely for TP you'll end up with a not so favored bike of your choice. Try the ones with extremely far and near biting points. Clear the courses with them and you'll be more confident in no time knowing whatever bike TP day throws you with, you'll have no problem with the handling.

Keep going and you'll get there!

Just enroll myself to 2b license. Kinda nervous and scared as well. Hope I wouldn't give up half way and injured myself from all the falling. Anyone here just enroll and gonna go for the theory lessons? Booked all my lessons back to back. So after I completed I can take my e-trial then BTT? Do I have to wait for very long to take my BTT? So I have to be in full gear when I go for my orientation lesson? Sorry a noob here. :X

@jbdoggy. I don't know for u. But I clear my 8 lessons in about 40 days from end of June to about mid July.. now waiting for tp.. lol ..cleared too fast and my rtt wasn't fast enough haha..

Wah! What a great achievement! you obviously grasped everything very quickly! Good Job Friend! All the very best for TP. My rtt is 1st week of Nov. Managed to find 1 slot this coming Monday evening for 2nd attempt at L2.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

You've got to keep camping on the website to check for cancellation slots. People like me used to book multiple practs per lesson so once we pass our lesson we'll cancel them and free up the lesson slots. My problem with L2 was constantly making wide turnings. I would very often eat into the other lane and thus had to repeat.

As for bikes, didn't have the luxury of trying out the new bikes so can't comment but you're definitely lucky to be able to use the new ones. The old ones were often not road worthy and had lousy brakes, terrible biting points. What we did back then was to note down the good bikes by their number tag, chop the bikes before the commencement of each lesson. Having a good bike makes passing a lesson much easier than having to fumble with a bad one, and struggle with the lesson all together.

Though once you clear your practs and get to revisions, it's recommended to not be picky with your bikes anymore and to test all of them out as likely for TP you'll end up with a not so favored bike of your choice. Try the ones with extremely far and near biting points. Clear the courses with them and you'll be more confident in no time knowing whatever bike TP day throws you with, you'll have no problem with the handling.

Keep going and you'll get there!

Thanks for the tips. Ya I was lucky to find 1 slot for this Monday to repeat my L2 by camping on the website as you say. I will still keep the 2nd Oct slot for repeat if need be. Its very impt for any bike or car learner to have closely spaced lessons as otherwise you tend to lose a little fluency. It happened to me on my L1 5th attempt. When I 1st booked for repeat after 4th attempt failure, availability was 2 weeks time. So when I went, a little fluency was lost & I wasnt as smooth in some places as before. Luckily instructor didnt spot it. Thankfully when it came to the main issue which caused me to fail everytime, I finally got it right!

I ate into just inside the other lane about 2-3 times. But that was due to lunging starts from my unfamiliarity of the newer model bike. When I got more acquainted with the bike, all was ok after that. Now Im also practicing at home by mentally visualising the circuit & pretend im riding a bike & going thro all the motions of throttle, brake, clutch, on/off trafficator & shoulder & blind spot checks just so that all these motions will be sub conscious & automatic in future. It must be working, cos now even when im walking around, i noticed I was doing shoulder & blind spot checks as well!! haha...... It was this type of mental exercise which helped me gain fluency with all the driving motions when I 1st learnt driving those years ago.

Just enroll myself to 2b license. Kinda nervous and scared as well. Hope I wouldn't give up half way and injured myself from all the falling. Anyone here just enroll and gonna go for the theory lessons? Booked all my lessons back to back. So after I completed I can take my e-trial then BTT? Do I have to wait for very long to take my BTT? So I have to be in full gear when I go for my orientation lesson? Sorry a noob here. :X

After you complete your Riding Theory Lessons you'll have to book your Internal Evaluation. After booking your IE, book some e-trials. Secure E-trials that are the day before your test, and the hour before your actual test. This will keep the answers fresh in your mind. After you clear your IE, you'll be able to book your Basic Theory Test. Do the same for BTT - go for e-trials. Once you get this BTT done, you may start lesson proper and that's where all the fun begins.

Just be sure to clear your theory lessons fast, pass your IE and BTT. You'll only need RTT Lesson 6 and onwards IIRC.

All the best babe! Read through the thread I'm sure it will help. Look out for @rijac and @timewalker84's posts.

Thanks for the tips. Ya I was lucky to find 1 slot for this Monday to repeat my L2 by camping on the website as you say. I will still keep the 2nd Oct slot for repeat if need be. Its very impt for any bike or car learner to have closely spaced lessons as otherwise you tend to lose a little fluency. It happened to me on my L1 5th attempt. When I 1st booked for repeat after 4th attempt failure, availability was 2 weeks time. So when I went, a little fluency was lost & I wasnt as smooth in some places as before. Luckily instructor didnt spot it. Thankfully when it came to the main issue which caused me to fail everytime, I finally got it right!

I ate into just inside the other lane about 2-3 times. But that was due to lunging starts from my unfamiliarity of the newer model bike. When I got more acquainted with the bike, all was ok after that. Now Im also practicing at home by mentally visualising the circuit & pretend im riding a bike & going thro all the motions of throttle, brake, clutch, on/off trafficator & shoulder & blind spot checks just so that all these motions will be sub conscious & automatic in future. It must be working, cos now even when im walking around, i noticed I was doing shoulder & blind spot checks as well!! haha...... It was this type of mental exercise which helped me gain fluency with all the driving motions when I 1st learnt driving those years ago.

That's good. Haha. I'm starting my lessons for 2A next week so see you guys around!

No need to be scared. Youve rode a bicycle before right? Just go there & enjoy yourself & the lesson. Worrying just adds more pressure on yourself. Then whatever problems you have come back here & look for tips/advice. Plenty to be found in this forum.

After you finish your classroom work, then you go book for evaluation. In mean time you book to do your etrials. BTT will be abt 2mths after you pass your evaluation. But in the mean time you book again for etrials before btt. Same routine applies for rtt later. But aim to clear the theories ASAP.

No need to bring gear for orientation. Just bring yourself & then go apply pdl.

All the best & good luck!

That's good. Haha. I'm starting my lessons for 2A next week so see you guys around!

All the very best. 1 theory & 3 pract right? Allow 2 mths waiting time to get a tp slot, you should get everything over & done with within 3mths & you get to enjoy your super 4, babe!

btw....you seem to have the same bike tastes as me. I plan on getting a nsr150 after i pass 2b & a super 4 after 2a. The ultimate dream would be a cbr600rr or a vfr800f after getting class 2. Im quite a honda fanboy. But dont want to think too far ahead for now. 1 lesson & 1 step at a time.

All the very best. 1 theory & 3 pract right? Allow 2 mths waiting time to get a tp slot, you should get everything over & done with within 3mths & you get to enjoy your super 4, babe!

btw....you seem to have the same bike tastes as me. I plan on getting a nsr150 after i pass 2b & a super 4 after 2a. The ultimate dream would be a cbr600rr or a vfr800f after getting class 2. Im quite a honda fanboy. But dont want to think too far ahead for now. 1 lesson & 1 step at a time.

Yeap 1 theory 3 practs. The bad thing is I injured my shoulder recently so unable to ride. Doubt I'll be fit to take practs too.

I don't like S4 eh. Not my type haha. I have a SP and a CBR400. Anw SP is quite a good choice for beginners but it's expensive now. Most on sale are about 3K due to COE. I bought mine for only $1,350 COE till 2020. Haha.

After you complete your Riding Theory Lessons you'll have to book your Internal Evaluation. After booking your IE, book some e-trials. Secure E-trials that are the day before your test, and the hour before your actual test. This will keep the answers fresh in your mind. After you clear your IE, you'll be able to book your Basic Theory Test. Do the same for BTT - go for e-trials. Once you get this BTT done, you may start lesson proper and that's where all the fun begins.

Just be sure to clear your theory lessons fast, pass your IE and BTT. You'll only need RTT Lesson 6 and onwards IIRC.

All the best babe! Read through the thread I'm sure it will help. Look out for @rijac and @timewalker84's posts.

Thank you for all the help so far!! Can't wait to start my theory now!

No need to be scared. Youve rode a bicycle before right? Just go there & enjoy yourself & the lesson. Worrying just adds more pressure on yourself. Then whatever problems you have come back here & look for tips/advice. Plenty to be found in this forum.

After you finish your classroom work, then you go book for evaluation. In mean time you book to do your etrials. BTT will be abt 2mths after you pass your evaluation. But in the mean time you book again for etrials before btt. Same routine applies for rtt later. But aim to clear the theories ASAP.

No need to bring gear for orientation. Just bring yourself & then go apply pdl.

All the best & good luck!

Thank you thank you!! I will remember this!! And yah I ride bicycle often. Now reading the thread trying to make some sense and get all the tips.

Yeap 1 theory 3 practs. The bad thing is I injured my shoulder recently so unable to ride. Doubt I'll be fit to take practs too.

I don't like S4 eh. Not my type haha. I have a SP and a CBR400. Anw SP is quite a good choice for beginners but it's expensive now. Most on sale are about 3K due to COE. I bought mine for only $1,350 COE till 2020. Haha.

Tk care of that shoulder mate. Wish you quick recovery.

Ok, my misunderstanding haha.... all the while i had the impression you were going for super 4 in some of your posts. CBR400rr - thats quite an old model isnt it? Full fairing, straight 4 sportsbike with double round headlights in front. Released after they ceased production of the VFR or RVF400 i think. But to my mind at least, its better than the new cbr400r twin cylinder, released last year. Love the sound of straight fours, hate the sound of twins - so tractor like. straight 4 engines also a bit more powerful than twins.

Well, Im quite pleased to have cleared L2 on my 3rd attempt this morning. Am very lucky I suppose to find a slot for L3 later today at 650pm! Thanks to those who advised me to camp outside the webpage!

Im not too worried about the hill starts - thats quite easy actually. More concerned abt the 8 & crank course since they are timed. Maybe need to lipat a bit for these 2 courses. Lipat - in malay, literally means fold. But in slang it refers to the way motogp racers take corners ie to lean over.

Well Lesson 3 was a bit of an eye opener! Instructor told us to go get the old bikes. Now Im not sure if it was the bike or me pressing the rear brake too hard, cos youre supposed to feel a small tug before you release the rear brake but I didnt feel anything. Anyway the 1st time i did it, i didnt wait for the tug, just release brake once biting point achieved, just like a car hill stop, the engine immediately died, whereas in a car, it would just stay stationary. The 2nd time I did it, I revved the engine hard & achieved the biting pt but still no tug but when I released the brake the bike suddenly shot forwards!! Luckily I regained control just before reaching the flat part. Need more practice with the timing of releasing rear brake & increasing throttle next time.

The 8 was demoralising. My best was 11.8sec on the 4th attempt, the rest was 12-13 sec kind of thing. But I noticed I was much faster on the 2nd loop than the 1st. I need to increase speed in the 1st loop but tough to change gear & off signal while still concentrating on your cornering line. Angle of entry also contributes. Its easier to go faster if im on the outer queue than the inner queue. So if im on the inner queue, can i go out wide a little & cut into the entrance??

Crank course even worse. Reflexes not quick enough. Kerbed a few times. Also stalled a few times. I dunno,but it also felt as if that particular old bike was a bit difficult to balance at low speeds compared to the newer bikes.

Anyway, wish me luck for my repeat tomorrow morning. I booked another 2 slots for next week. Im gonna be needing them!