• Replies 4.8k

Took 2 slots today, morning & evening. Instructor miraculously let me pass in the evening. Maybe bcos slalom & ebrake was good. So all in all, 3 full planks in 5 sessions - very miserable statistic, all different methods.

I found its probably safer to have more than 1 method for plank. Different bikes, different characteristics. What can work for 1 bike may not work for another bike. This morning's bike had a very far biting point which made slow starts quite difficult, but had firm & linear rear brake - so used constant throttle & constant light rear brake pressure for the morning attempt.

The afternoon bike had high idling speed but biting point was hard to feel cos the bike is so ready to move off once you start releasing the clutch - even at the "unfull" biting point. So can get a wobbly starts at times due to lack of forward drive if not careful. Instructor was also insisting on speedy starts - so made fast start & at half plank start furiously IB-ing all the way to the end -5.8 secs.

Lots of work required for F8 & plank for revisions - my main killers. Will try mica's plank method there.

Thanks to everyone who have beared with me & supported me thus far esp @AhXian90, @darkredmica & @JrCherish. Special thanks to @rijac for his detailed tips & the little tip-bits recently. Sorry if kpkb too much also. Dont abandon me now ok ? hahahaha...

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

  jbdoggy said:
Took 2 slots today, morning & evening. Instructor miraculously let me pass in the evening. Maybe bcos slalom & ebrake was good. So all in all, 3 full planks in 5 sessions - very miserable statistic, all different methods.

I found its probably safer to have more than 1 method for plank. Different bikes, different characteristics. What can work for 1 bike may not work for another bike. This morning's bike had a very far biting point which made slow starts quite difficult, but had firm & linear rear brake - so used constant throttle & constant light rear brake pressure for the morning attempt.

The afternoon bike had high idling speed but biting point was hard to feel cos the bike is so ready to move off once you start releasing the clutch - even at the "unfull" biting point. So can get a wobbly starts at times due to lack of forward drive if not careful. Instructor was also insisting on speedy starts - so made fast start & at half plank start furiously IB-ing all the way to the end -5.8 secs.

Lots of work required for F8 & plank for revisions - my main killers. Will try mica's plank method there.

Thanks to everyone who have beared with me & supported me thus far esp @AhXian90, @darkredmica & @JrCherish. Special thanks to @rijac for his detailed tips & the little tip-bits recently. Sorry if kpkb too much also. Dont abandon me now ok ? hahahaha...

I started my first L4 with the half clutch method, didn't work. Then proceeded to use the clutch in method. Took me total of 3 lessons to pass L4. L5 took me two attempts. Had a immediate failure on the plank for my first attempt iirc.

You're halfway there!

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

  darkredmica said:
I started my first L4 with the half clutch method, didn't work. Then proceeded to use the clutch in method. Took me total of 3 lessons to pass L4. L5 took me two attempts. Had a immediate failure on the plank for my first attempt iirc.

You're halfway there!

By looking at your stats, its very obvious that youre a much better rider than me. You successfully resolved your plank problems by 2nd attempt. Good job & fair play, babe :clapping:

Lets see, I took 5 attempts at L4. Achieved 1 successful plank each for attempts 3-5. 1 Plank session maybe 5-6 tries. So 3 successful full plank tries out of abt 30 in total => 10% success rate. Im in deep ****!! No pt having perfection for the other items when the plank alone can kill me off immediately 9 times out of 10!

Anyway, ive booked 2 revisions for tomorrow, all focussed on F8. Its been awhile & am trying my best to save 4 pts there.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

  jbdoggy said:
By looking at your stats, its very obvious that youre a much better rider than me. You successfully resolved your plank problems by 2nd attempt. Good job & fair play, babe :clapping:

Lets see, I took 5 attempts at L4. Achieved 1 successful plank each for attempts 3-5. 1 Plank session maybe 5-6 tries. So 3 successful full plank tries out of abt 30 in total => 10% success rate. Im in deep ****!! No pt having perfection for the other items when the plank alone can kill me off immediately 9 times out of 10!

Anyway, ive booked 2 revisions for tomorrow, all focussed on F8. Its been awhile & am trying my best to save 4 pts there.

no worries, u need sometime to get used to it, i tried different methods also and what works best for me is to accelerate up the plank, and then slow down once i have good balance along it. using this method my success rate was 1-2 off course in about 15 tries. keep your eyeline in front and focus on the cone, tap the rear brake accordingly along the way and never fully let go of clutch (fingers off clutch) (will get demerit points 4 pts), count in your mind 1000, 2000 ... and u should have some estimate whether u managed to clear the plank in the required time. using this method, i master the plank and reduce to zero off course. after 2 L4 sessions.

Edited by Skywalker
  Skywalker said:
no worries, u need sometime to get used to it, i tried different methods also and what works best for me is to accelerate up the plank, and then slow down once i have good balance along it. using this method my success rate was 1-2 off course in about 15 tries. keep your eyeline in front and focus on the cone, tap the rear brake accordingly along the way and never fully let go of clutch (fingers off clutch) (will get demerit points 4 pts), count in your mind 1000, 2000 ... and u should have some estimate whether u managed to clear the plank in the required time. using this method, i master the plank and reduce to zero off course. after 2 L4 sessions.

You wont get points if your fingers are on the clutch for plank. Only if your fingers are on the front brake.

  jbdoggy said:

I only got better at the plank on my third attempt I suppose. My weakness is generally in pylon slalom and also bumpy.

  Skywalker said:

Yo Skywalker. Thanks for the tip & encouragement! ya just about all the circuit activities is about getting used to them. Just that some are much easier to get used to than others! LOL

Well, had a fruitful 2 revisions yesterday at F8. The strategy was to cultivate correct eyeline. So all morning just forget abt timing & went around at moderate speed & practice the eyeline until get used to it. Afternoon gradually start increasing speed with every trial & finally try going for timing. I dunno what my timing was but for sure better & more consistant than all my previous L3 attempts.

So I think for plank I will follow the same strategy like my F8. I will forget about timing & methods for now & just spend 1-2 whole revisions just doing nothing but zooming across the plank & see if i can even achieve 1 full plank consistently. Until that is achieved & I get used to the feeling, the vibrations, the elevated surface etc. Then after that zoom across again at gradually slower speeds. Then after that start thinking about timing & methods.

  darkredmica said:
I only got better at the plank on my third attempt I suppose. My weakness is generally in pylon slalom and also bumpy.

Hey mica,

I had some time to slot in a few planks during my revisions yesterday. I tried your method - started at moderate speed, once on the plank I de-clutched & closed throttle. I ran out of steam at about half plank but I was too blur to power up! lol But did you start at fast or moderate speed? Was your throttle closed on the plank or you had some constant throttle? Overall the feel was quite similar to the fast-up & rear brake tapping method. But definitely these 2 methods are technically less demanding & more forgiving than the constant slow speed method.

For slalom, can share the nature of your difficulty? Is it about quick sharp turns & bike leans? Or is it about choosing methods?

  rijac said:
continuation of lesson 7 guide:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]283529[/ATTACH]

ROUTE 1.

CDC is 1

come out of cdc turn right. at the exit it is a stop line so STOP. if on right side of the lane, check back left since its a kerb. if on left side of the lane check back right.

proceed down ubi ave 4. near the traffic light prepare to turn right. this is at junction marked 2. single row at the lights.

after turning right start to filter to the left getting ready to turn left. you will turn from ubi road 2 to airport road at junction 3.

remember to ensure two lanes are clear before you enter airport road from the filter lane. first potential problem is here. the first lane on airport road goes to KPE. so you must immediately signal right AFTER turning into the lane and filter to the second lane so that you don't end up going into KPE. this is at the spot i marked 4

go straight along this lane until you pass the chevron markings on your left (where the road splits towards KPE). this is your reference point for filtering one more lane to the right. this is around where i marked 8 (on the opposite lane).

shortly after this you will see an overhead bridge. as you pass under it you should filter to the right most lane and prepare to make a u-turn. this is around #5.

note on lane changing.. apart from the one at #4 which must be done immediately, the rest are just guides.. you will need to assess the traffic situation by looking in your mirror and sometimes you will need to change earlier or later. but make it smooth.. any sudden changes will attract demerits

at junction 6 you have to make a u-turn. how you do it depends on a few things.. what color is the light when you arrive, which bike are you in the form up etc. few things to note - if you are first bike and lights change to green (round green so must wait for oncoming traffic to clear), you inch forward and position your front tyre inside the 2 pedestrian white lines.. when you see clear traffic or the light changes to green arrow proceed to make your u-turn. you must not go past the second white pedestrian line and you must make your turn into the second lane from the right. use half clutch gear 1 techique. if you are riding towards junction 6 and the light is already green arrow just shift down to second gear and proceed to u turn without stopping.

after u-turn... stay in this lane until you pass the filter lane for traffic coming into airport road from macpherson road.. before where i marked 7. then signal left and filter into the left most lane.

before number 8 you will pass a bus stop. you should start to filter right one lane here... then about half way down or around #8 filter again to the right most lane and prepare to turn right at junction 3.

proceed to turn right as per normal (traffic lights are with green arrow type), and head back to cdc

ROUTE 2:

come out of cdc turn right. at the exit it is a stop line so STOP. if on right side of the lane, check back left since its a kerb. if on left side of the lane check back right.

proceed down ubi ave 4. near the traffic light prepare to turn right. this is at junction marked 2. single row at the lights.

after turning right you will now turn right at junction 3 not left like route 1.

after turning right.. filter to the left lane. along #9 and prepare to turn left into hougang ave 3. this is a major road. be very careful esp of large cement trunks

long stretch of road ahead all the way up to 11. if its bus lane hours remember to switch to the second lane immediately after turning left at the junction 10. if not bus lane timing then keep to left lane. around 11 you should be able to see an overhead bridge in the distance... you can filter one lane from her to 12. by the time you pass 12 you should be filtering to the right most lane and prepare to make a u-turn at 13.

same u-turn procedure as route 1. just be extra careful coz major road. i suggest don't proceed until green arrow comes on.

after u-turn, same thing into second lane from right, wait until you pass the filter lane for cars turning into hougang ave 3 before you filter back to the left most lane.

around 14 after you pass the overhead bridge you start your journey to filter to the right.

for route 2 very important difference for your right turn back to airport road at junction 10/15:

when you arrive at junction 15, there are 2 right turn lanes. and the traffic light has a red right turn arrow.

TP wants us to use the second from right lane to turn (meaning we are not going to be next to the kerb when we turn right unlike all the other right turns. so there will be traffic on our left going straight and traffic on our right turning right with us.

when u start your turn when the GREEN ARROW turns on... make sure you turn into the SECOND LANE FROM THE RIGHT, not the right-most lane like usual. be very careful as there are cars on your right throughout the turn. best strategy, go straight until you are halfway into the yellow box before turning right.

after that, as usual, wait to pass the filter lane of cars coming into airport road from the left then filter left, turn left at 3 and head back to cdc.

good luck!

Hmm.. For route 1, from the overhead bridge you need to lane change to the extreme right lane for the U-turn, right? What if you're approaching the traffic light, and the Green Arrow is on? What i mean is:

2 (left) 1 (right)

4 (left) 3 (right)

If you're approaching the traffic light and the Green Arrow is on, you carry on and do U-turn, right? And Bike 1 have to check right blindspot before U-turning, isn't it? But what about Bike 2 and Bike 4? Does Bike 2 and Bike 4 have to check right blindspot as well if you're approaching the traffic light and the Green Arrow is on, while doing U-turn?

Every bike which change direction no matter where you are and what you are doing must check blind spot

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

Am i able to get someone to apply for pdl for me? Unable to make it before 5 to tp office during weekdays.. :( Dont wanna wait one whole week till weekend to apply for pdl.. One whole week would be wasted,.

  lesterq said:
Am i able to get someone to apply for pdl for me? Unable to make it before 5 to tp office during weekdays.. :( Dont wanna wait one whole week till weekend to apply for pdl.. One whole week would be wasted,.

You can't. How to do eye test?

  fat-lip said:
Hmm.. For route 1, from the overhead bridge you need to lane change to the extreme right lane for the U-turn, right? What if you're approaching the traffic light, and the Green Arrow is on? What i mean is:

2 (left) 1 (right)

4 (left) 3 (right)

If you're approaching the traffic light and the Green Arrow is on, you carry on and do U-turn, right? And Bike 1 have to check right blindspot before U-turning, isn't it? But what about Bike 2 and Bike 4? Does Bike 2 and Bike 4 have to check right blindspot as well if you're approaching the traffic light and the Green Arrow is on, while doing U-turn?

hey there, if im correct u re asking how to check the blindspot for u turn when u re approaching, actually like Rijac posted irregardless whether your bike is right/left u will still be doing the same turning, thus same blindspot check(right), the only different for the different postion only relate to when u re stationary;the safety check itself before moving off. Just making sure u dun make the turn together with another bike user.( tp wil be sitting beside the x-crossing)

Hey mica,

Your plank method seems to be working for me. Had more than 50% success today. There's still hope for me! lol. Not sure about timings but i think made it or at least very close to it anyway. Feels like riding a bicycle! 2 more revisions focussed solely on the plank should sharpen things up, hopefully.

@Skywalker - yes its all about getting used to it. In my case it took a bloody freaking long time!

Thanks much again, you two.

RTT this Sat. Wish me luck!

  lesterq said:
Do you know roughly how long does it take to apply for PDL?

You will get your PDL the very same day you apply. Its all about the queueing time. Make sure you go there early, preferably before 830am.

  jbdoggy said:
Hey mica,

Your plank method seems to be working for me. Had more than 50% success today. There's still hope for me! lol. Not sure about timings but i think made it or at least very close to it anyway. Feels like riding a bicycle! 2 more revisions focussed solely on the plank should sharpen things up, hopefully.

@Skywalker - yes its all about getting used to it. In my case it took a bloody freaking long time!

Thanks much again, you two.

RTT this Sat. Wish me luck!

If it's working for you keep practicing and stick to it. You'll get it. It really works and is the easier, if not easiest technique for plank. You're on L5 right?

  darkredmica said:
If it's working for you keep practicing and stick to it. You'll get it. It really works and is the easier, if not easiest technique for plank. You're on L5 right?

Nope. Still doing revisions, that was the 4th in total but the 1st solely focussed on the plank. Ive booked 3 more revisions this for week, just for the plank. Was previously focusing on F8 & the crank. Yes, It is the easiest technique for plank in my opinion.

So once Ive successfully conquered the plank, I will book 1 revision based on the full circuit route, & then as you suggested before, book 1 revision just before L5 starts. If all goes well, will book L5 somewhere next week.

Press on with your L3, babe! Dont give up!

  AhXian90 said:
hey there, if im correct u re asking how to check the blindspot for u turn when u re approaching, actually like Rijac posted irregardless whether your bike is right/left u will still be doing the same turning, thus same blindspot check(right), the only different for the different postion only relate to when u re stationary;the safety check itself before moving off. Just making sure u dun make the turn together with another bike user.( tp wil be sitting beside the x-crossing)

Yup. If you are moving when you arrive at a green light you will be in a single row anyway. No need to think about left and right bikes. Only if you are moving off from stationary. Make sure you communicate with the biker beside you

  jbdoggy said:
Nope. Still doing revisions, that was the 4th in total but the 1st solely focussed on the plank. Ive booked 3 more revisions this for week, just for the plank. Was previously focusing on F8 & the crank. Yes, It is the easiest technique for plank in my opinion.

So once Ive successfully conquered the plank, I will book 1 revision based on the full circuit route, & then as you suggested before, book 1 revision just before L5 starts. If all goes well, will book L5 somewhere next week.

Press on with your L3, babe! Dont give up!

I think you're doing too many revisions for L5 already. You should do one revision that is not just focused on plank alone. 100 mins of plank is scary and boring.

Here's how I spent my revision time for 2B.

1. Start off with 1 or 2 warmup round around the whole circuit. Basically just ride and get a feel of the biting point etc. Get used to the bike.

2. Do all the stations once, following test route format. Treat it like a test where you only have one shot at it. Carry on with the rest of the route even if you mount curb or drop off the plank.

Complete the test route.

3. Practice your weak stations. Go through F8 a few times till you're smooth. Go through plank and slalom till you increase your passing percentage. Say out of 10 attempts on the plank, only one or twice you roll off. If you're still weak, focus on it. But don't keep doing the same thing. You wil get sick of it.

4. Move on to other stations. Don't neglect ebrake etc.

5. Before the revision ends, go through the whole test route a few times. Doing each station only once.

This will help you to get in the flow of the actual test and prep you for it.

My mistake for my first L5 was I went 3 or 4 revisions without even going for one L5. Too many revisions. You need to experience L5 to know what's expected of you, and what's your main weaknesses - which the tester will inform you. Book one L5, one Revision before the L5. Directly before, and chop your bike.

You may be surprised it may not be your weak station which cause you to fail. Hahaha.

Tests are pretty much 60% luck, 40% skills, 10% mood. LOL.

So agree with your 60% luck and 40 skills theory mica! I went for 5 or 6 circuit rev before my L5 lol, now thinking back it prob overkill liao, and Failed the 1st L5 due to Luck, wanting to end the test fast pick up speed after the ped -crossing, lol then when about to lane change after the bend, a car ninja beside me, and i IF due to it lol, mr Bahtera say without that mistake i would have passed. siannz tiao.

jbdoggy, yeah man u shuld do one or 2 round the full circuit, so u kinda ingrain into ur body, then u wack those u weak on. or see the traffic in circuit, just go to those lesser traffic course( for me sometimes ) get ur 16 dollar worth :p

whether going too much rev is up to individual,u will learn more in lessson 5, from ur result alone but cos main thing is whether u re confident enuf for the course anot.(for ur info, there was an older bro on my tp day, he actually skip slope and fig8 went straight to plank, ebrake)

Hey mica & ahxian90,

Thanks much for sharing tips & experiences. Ya perhaps its an overkill of revisions but bourne out of exasperation & desperation with F8 & most esp plank => sure IF case if go for L5 (not trying to justify). Frankly, just did not feel ready & confident for it yet. So thats why i strategised complete focus on 1 activity per session so that I could at least not IF them for L5. Maybe wrong strategy cos i got good at F8 & crank during Rev2 & proceeded for plank/slalom practice for other revs. So today at Rev 5, towards the end of the session I revisited the F8 & crank & it was a complete disaster! Good bike but just couldnt perform even at steady/moderate speed. fell down, ran out of course etc. Coincidentally Mr Bahtera conducting L3, saw me both speed thro the F8 in Rev2 & saw me fail evrytime today! He commented my approach & eyeline was correct but found it strange that my arms just wasnt steering enough. He thinks maybe its bcos I spent too long at the plank =>muscle memory locked in. (or was it fatigue?). His theory is I failed because I over focused on 1 activity. Hard to accept this super drastic loss of form after doing so well before, despite a fairly decent plank/slalom day. Fortunately those few times i did ebrake, & hill start along the 5 revs were still intact & solid.

Also not sure if i had the right philosophy to begin with. Being a former school athlete, we're used to pushing the bar up for training. So applied same idea for revs. The logic being by setting more stringent targets, if i meet them, passing tests will be easier! lol... So set faster F8s & ebrake & slower plank targets for myself & really piah! To some extent i was getting there. But now that you say 60% luck..... i think I need to rethink hahaha

Ok, what do you think of this strategy(s)? - I have 2 more revs this week. Both times do full circuit course regardless of F8/crank performance, then return to these 2 after completing the full round(s). Then book L5 & 1 rev immediately before it for next week or whenever slot available. Or rediscover F8/crank basic form 1st then do full circuit course & then return to improve F8/crank after completion. Im open to any new ideas etc.

Edited by jbdoggy

  Yauc said:
great source of info.. A must before my practicals. I am trying to book my RTT, is it under the theory test?

yes. But have to wait nearly 2 months to finally take it.