Fast forward to a week later. I went for another Prac 2. Failed again.

Instructor said my handling no good :(

I picked a new Yamaha at CDC. Bike biting point was near to full release of the clutch and instructor claims i keep throwing clutch

Sent from my iPhone 6 using Tapatalk

Understand your situation you went through, problem bike like 72. Check the clutch before you pick the bike. That's what others taught me.

• Replies 4.8k

Dear kakis;

Today 30th July, I in for session 6 practical 6 lesson and met up with these 2 younger instructors [Malay], can't see their name, covered up by their luminous jacket. These 2, I must say, solidly good, all out to teach and with passion in doing it. Making sure and with care that the students understood and learnt, absolutely no sarcasm. I discovered that they are also very much polite and not 'Airing' around like "hey man, I have AUTHORITY to fail you like that.... you know what I mean? Unlike the other day, I saw one older instructor, you can't miss him, he always laze around in CDC one, want to cut short everything including the exercise conducted by him.... ahahahahahahah [guess who?], shouting to a student "I WILL KILL YOU, I WILL KILL YOU". I think what he meant was that he can FAIL that guy, I am pretty sure of his rather broken and limited English Vocabulary was the factor, I don't think he was too smart either. Imagine that student report death threat to the police and the police come knocking at CDC..... maybe crack his rice bowl lah... The other day at the plank, I also witnessed one rather new, a bit skinny instructor [Malay again] skilfully teaching his students going up the plank, holding the bike, rocking left and right and asked the students to feel the balance. I asked one Chinese China Girl which happened to parked beside me along the queue, whether she thought her instructor was good. She said, "He is very good in carefully teaching hee hee hee hee [in Chinese], face beaming with a satisfied smile. Yeah come to think of it, no instructor patiently rock my bike for me leh!, I would be satisfied also. hahahahahahah.

Of course, with an exception, the more senior and BEST instructor Bahtera, all time voted best by many people here. Until now, I appreciate his teaching and gained from it and I still say.... HE IS GOOD!.

Dear kakis;

Today 30th July, I in for session 6 practical 6 lesson and met up with these 2 younger instructors [Malay], can't see their name, covered up by their luminous jacket. These 2, I must say, solidly good, all out to teach and with passion in doing it. Making sure and with care that the students understood and learnt, absolutely no sarcasm. I discovered that they are also very much polite and not 'Airing' around like "hey man, I have AUTHORITY to fail you like that.... you know what I mean? Unlike the other day, I saw one older instructor, you can't miss him, he always laze around in CDC one, want to cut short everything including the exercise conducted by him.... ahahahahahahah [guess who?], shouting to a student "I WILL KILL YOU, I WILL KILL YOU". I think what he meant was that he can FAIL that guy, I am pretty sure of his rather broken and limited English Vocabulary was the factor, I don't think he was too smart either. Imagine that student report death threat to the police and the police come knocking at CDC..... maybe crack his rice bowl lah... The other day at the plank, I also witnessed one rather new, a bit skinny instructor [Malay again] skilfully teaching his students going up the plank, holding the bike, rocking left and right and asked the students to feel the balance. I asked one Chinese China Girl which happened to parked beside me along the queue, whether she thought her instructor was good. She said, "He is very good in carefully teaching hee hee hee hee [in Chinese], face beaming with a satisfied smile. Yeah come to think of it, no instructor patiently rock my bike for me leh!, I would be satisfied also. hahahahahahah.

Of course, with an exception, the more senior and BEST instructor Bahtera, all time voted best by many people here. Until now, I appreciate his teaching and gained from it and I still say.... HE IS GOOD!.

Go for your lessons and try not to grumble too much about the instructors. Your life will be easier

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

Go for your lessons and try not to grumble too much about the instructors. Your life will be easier

The product of a wrecked educational system and cultivation of the fear - from the party you best know.

In Hokkien I think it meant "Where Cooling Where sit". hahhaahahahaha

Dear kakis;

How many times normally can get through Lesson 8? Thanks;

3 times for me.

Thanks, Road Revision is $35.59 versus L8 at $58.85, a whopping $23 difference...... So I think quickly pass L8, book TP date then do many revision, best cheapest liao.

Another question. Highest level of failures percentage happened on the circuit or the road? Cause circuit revision is only about $15.00

Another question. Lesson 8 failures and points cutting areas to "watch OUT!", and typical instructor "TRAPS".

Thanks, anyone, please share your experience.

Thanks, Road Revision is $35.59 versus L8 at $58.85, a whopping $23 difference...... So I think quickly pass L8, book TP date then do many revision, best cheapest liao.

Another question. Highest level of failures percentage happened on the circuit or the road? Cause circuit revision is only about $15.00

Another question. Lesson 8 failures and points cutting areas to "watch OUT!", and typical instructor "TRAPS".

I didn't go for any road revision prior to my lesson 8 iirc. Most of my focus was on circuit as theres where you get your points or IF. For road it's pretty much based on road condition, experience and judgment. Definitely helps if you already have a class 3.

Prior to TP I only went for one road revision just to be safe.

As for lesson 8, just don't get any IF. Don't rush for timing. Slow down or speed up a little if necessary for you weak stations or like plank for those weak in it. it's ok to drop a little points than to get IFs. Do your blindspot checks, and dont drop points unnecessarily.

Importantly, breathe in and be calm. At lesson 8, you are already capable of clearing the courses, just a matter of luck and form on that day, and well.. bike condition haha.

I didn't go for any road revision prior to my lesson 8 iirc. Most of my focus was on circuit as theres where you get your points or IF. For road it's pretty much based on road condition, experience and judgment. Definitely helps if you already have a class 3.

Prior to TP I only went for one road revision just to be safe.

As for lesson 8, just don't get any IF. Don't rush for timing. Slow down or speed up a little if necessary for you weak stations or like plank for those weak in it. it's ok to drop a little points than to get IFs. Do your blindspot checks, and dont drop points unnecessarily.

Importantly, breathe in and be calm. At lesson 8, you are already capable of clearing the courses, just a matter of luck and form on that day, and well.. bike condition haha.

Thanks, you are a great help. Lesson 8 must go through the circuit and the road is it? In the booklet say Independent riding on public road and then final evaluation???? how they stage all these in one lesson ha???

Dear kakis;

How many times normally can get through Lesson 8? Thanks;

Cant be answered directly. Depends on how well you perform on the day.

I know someone who took 5-6 times. I know someone who cleared 1st time. I cleared 2nd time, but i was in inspired form that day, 8pts. No prizes for guessing which instructor was in charge that day!

yes L8 is circuit + road. After you finish ebrake, wait for instructor to come & take you out for route 1 or 2. L8 is best described as L5 & L7 combined. Both my L8 i kena route 2.

As sis mica said, spend more time doing cr. I did a WHOLE LOT of it in preparation for my test.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Cant be answered directly. Depends on how well you perform on the day.

I know someone who took 5-6 times. I know someone who cleared 1st time. I cleared 2nd time, but i was in inspired form that day, 8pts. No prizes for guessing which instructor was in charge that day!

yes L8 is circuit + road. After you finish ebrake, wait for instructor to come & take you out for route 1 or 2. L8 is best described as L5 & L7 combined. Both my L8 i kena route 2.

As sis mica said, spend more time doing cr. I did a WHOLE LOT of it in preparation for my test.

Thanks, good advice. Whole lots of CR, here I come.!

Thanks, you are a great help. Lesson 8 must go through the circuit and the road is it? In the booklet say Independent riding on public road and then final evaluation???? how they stage all these in one lesson ha???

Lesson 8 = mock tp test. 1 round circuit 1 round road route.

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

There are no traps. be clear and obvious in your blind spot checking. You can fail just on blindspots

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

Hey guys. I jus passed my lesson 6 ytd night. So I think more imptly during ur first road ride is to be confident of your riding skills. Becoz if u not confident, u will start to be kan choing then do things wrongly. And also ask qns during the briefIng if you are not clear.

I tink I was qt lucky ytd night. Coz the instructors were qt nice as they guided us on mistakes on road and after the session. They even brought us around the road for two rounds.

Today those who took practical lesson surely easy to pass cause lack of instructors. Saw a friend took lesson 8, she must have passed. Saw instructor Tung today multitasking and busy, overheard from kelvin said, "lei yat ko yang boa sai ha?" means "You one fellow do so many lessons ha?". Only kelvin took students on the road.... Hahahahahahahaa Should have taken my lesson 8 today cause they don't have so many eyes to see my mistakes...... Aiya missed!. hahahahah

cheers guys.

Happy 50th Anniversary!!!

Test Question for all you on this Fatt Fatt Day;

Q1. Only turn right arrow shown on the ground with a stop line (after nursery), forming up two rows, 3 bikes in front - right left right followed by a car and then you coming behind the car about to do forming up. Should you take left or right.......?

Who say Left and Who say Right?

Q2. Same location, you coming to forming up. In front at the left nicely formed up about 8 of them... but on the right, loosely and unevenly big spaced form up about 6 bikes but still protrude/longer then the left. Should you take left or right.......?

I remember during my last rr before test, during our debriefing, Instructor Mus was quite critical of our road performance. We would not make it if we perform that way for test. He later went on to say that the problem with many learners is that they think that the circuit & road are 2 diff things. That many just blindly memorise what to do for circuit & road. Actually the circuit is there to teach us all the basic skills required to ride in the real world & that its up to us to relate and apply the circuit to the various road conditions. As an example he used u turn - why is it that we can do F8 well but either wobble or go wide during the u turn? Its the same set of skills.

After 3 months of riding, I can safely say he is absolutely right. All circuit skills fully utilised. But i think the ones most frequently used is plank for lane splitting/ filtering & F8 for cornering.

Probably the best riding tip ive received when learning!

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Test Question for all you on this Fatt Fatt Day;

Q1. Only turn right arrow shown on the ground with a stop line (after nursery), forming up two rows, 3 bikes in front - right left right followed by a car and then you coming behind the car about to do forming up. Should you take left or right.......?

Q2. Same location, you coming to forming up. In front at the left nicely formed up about 8 of them... but on the right, loosely and unevenly big spaced form up about 6 bikes but still protrude/longer then the left. Should you take left or right.......?

1) right. Behind the car is a new formation liao

2) Left. Go to where the gap is

1) right. Behind the car is a new formation liao

2) Left. Go to where the gap is

Thanks jbdoggy, you are right again.

However, Heng and Suay situation, when the right bikers begin to wake up and close-up especially one upfront right biker move off, you will be looking like a sore thumb on the left AND especially this particular time, instructor always like to begin to look and see you sticking out..... hahhahahahhaha. just for a laugh though.

Thanks jbdoggy, you are right again.

However, Heng and Suay situation, when the right bikers begin to wake up and close-up especially one upfront right biker move off, you will be looking like a sore thumb on the left AND especially this particular time, instructor always like to begin to look and see you sticking out..... hahhahahahhaha. just for a laugh though.

Twice suay for me hahahaha..... once during L5 & once during L8. Both times when I made my turn at the green light after finishing my crank, I saw the gap on the left, so I committed left. But halfway thro my journey, abt half or so of the bunch of bikes managed to move off leaving the gap on the right instead. Didnt really hv the time or space to change direction & didnt want to swerve to the right. Kena 2 pts both times for incorrect formation! lol