i feel that the etchings of the trademark in the inner rim of the watch face and the sharp handsome font of the bezel numbers are the nicest features for this model GMT master II.

It truly adds a strong touch of detail and brings out the look of the watch face.

• Replies 2.8k

Originally posted by siambee@Sep 3 2006, 01:22 AM

congrat, congrat... :smile:

since u have the white expII, the black sub/date and also the black daytona...

how ab getting a half gold gmt for collection. jus a suggestion.

Explorer jump the bandwagon and got it quicker than me already.........

hoho

Originally posted by Throttle@Sep 3 2006, 02:02 AM

I cant live with wearing anything gold on my wrist (even if it's half gold), heh heh.....

u mean if explorer didn't buy u will buy one meh :confused:

keke

Originally posted by siambee@Sep 25 2006, 08:17 PM

isn't that the new GMT Master II 116713 LN? didn't know that it will arrived sg so soon. sure like the new clasp design and the thicker case and bigger markers.

nice choice explorer. :thumb:

as for the IWC, i will pick the silver face no doubt i have a soft spot for black dial, but too many black also boring. :cheeky:

yeah....i oso surprised.....first saw it in THG KL during the motogp weekend.......so this weekend i just kaypo go the hour glass ask ask lah......our usual frenly salesguy told us this piece only came in on thurs.....

there is 1 more pc in peninsular.....

ROLEX....a crown for every achievement

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i305/oohlins/cosmo.jpg

visit my watch and audio blog at oohlins.blogspot.com

Originally posted by redname@Sep 25 2006, 08:53 PM

i'll take the silver dial too but the strap seems a bit boring

well well......strap can change.......

generally i prefer alligator straps in brown or honey.....black croc dun stand out so much....:)

Originally posted by Throttle@Sep 25 2006, 11:08 PM

i feel that the etchings of the trademark in the inner rim of the watch face and the sharp handsome font of the bezel numbers are the nicest features for this model GMT master II.

It truly adds a strong touch of detail and brings out the look of the watch face.

some things that i like about this pc...

maxidial - really big markers, just like the green sub and ym, super bright

new bezel mechanism - real smooth yet silent

ceramic bezel - new bigger fonts, taller bezel now almost flushes with the crystal

new clasp - silky smooth opening & closing mechanism, solid pcs of metal which is similar but not identical to the daytona clasp

big triplock crown - an upgrade over the twinlock for gmt2

solid middle links - the gold pcs are solid now

new green fonts & green 24hr hand - pretty cool

maxicase - really massive compared to a 16710 and my exp2...

haha pls dun blame me for chiong this pc cos it's really cool.......

Yeah, joking lah. I wont consider anything other than stainless steel becos I'm scared of gold color, heh heh heh .

Half gold still acceptable though....but not my preference.

http://www.panerai.com/img/2/prodotti/dettagli/1143815624570_v_00241_1.jpg

My Wife got me this Panerai 2 Weeks ago...

Its not how you pick your nose...Its where you flick the BOOGER!!!

http://www.pricescan.com/ItemImages/ImagesL/610690.jpg

My all time faithful GMT Master II & my all time favourite watch to wear overseas...not too attention seeking & very reliable...:smile:

It was difficult to find it in a Black Face & Black Bezel at that time cos I didn't want to draw any attention to the watch when I'm overseas...Dun wanna get Robbed...So it looks like a Seiko from Far...:smile:

http://www.pricescan.com/ItemImages/ImagesL/610086.jpg

My Yatch Master...Dun wear it any more...Cos of the Gold...But it is still the most beautiful Rolex Model in my Opinion...But thats just me...:smile:

Was at Paragon last Friday for the Launch of the IWC Pilot's Watch series...very nice...can go Cortina take a look...:smile:

http://www.watchclick.com/bigimages/03-1230-4021-31-c546.jpg

Thought of getting this Watch for my wife later this year...Too many Diamonds on her current Rolex...I think this is a much simpler everyday Watch to wear...Any Views or better Options you guys can recommend?...Budget not more than $10K...:smile:

EEEKs, we have same taste for bikes but not for watches ChowYunFatt!!

I find the YachtMaster the ugliest looking professional model. Sub is top on my list for uncluttered classic sports look.

Zenith is getting quite popular lately but I do find white straps cheesy even for ladies.

Anyway, as long as the wearer/ownber likes it, thats most important.

Originally posted by Throttle@Sep 26 2006, 02:59 PM

EEEKs, we have same taste for bikes but not for watches ChowYunFatt!!

I find the YachtMaster the ugliest looking professional model. Sub is top on my list for uncluttered classic sports look.

Zenith is getting quite popular lately but I do find white straps cheesy even for ladies.

Anyway, as long as the wearer/ownber likes it, thats most important.

Hahahha...Dunno leh...its been a long time since I've liked the Yatch Master...The Bezel is Bigger than the rest of the models...thats the part I like the best...You can Mistake a Sub or a GMT for a Seiko or Casio from far...but you will never mistake a Yatch Master cos of the Bezel...hahah...

Still looking for a nice watch for my wife to buy her this year...& I have to agree with you...white is not a good colour...black is much more classy...

Oh well...the search continues...:smile:

HAha,

People always mistake other watches for Rolexes becos Rolex design is classic and timeless so all the other watch brands copy.

Sandoz is highly guilty of that. Their watch designs are direct copies of Rolex.

Haha

Anyone can recomend a reasonable watch winder case for abt 4 watches?...I've been to a few places & they are very costly...any recomendations?

Originally posted by Throttle@Sep 26 2006, 09:46 AM

Yeah, joking  lah.  I wont consider anything other than stainless steel becos I'm scared of gold color, heh heh heh . 

Half gold still acceptable though....but not my preference.

hehe ......i have some ss....so it's time for a tt......esp this piece.....so yummy how to resist.....haha

actually i wanted to get a sub.....either green sub or tt blue sub.....diff bet the 2 is about $500....cos green sub sells at premium and blue sub can get 15%......and then i saw this new piece........mai tu liao lah........

Yeah, maybe I should get one of those too.

But it little bit "ting tay" aka "blocking the way" becos I got not enough space in my cabinet.

for the record, I havent had any problems at all with my Automatic watches put at rest. I do try to wear each piece once in a while so that they run regularly.

Originally posted by Chow Yun Fatt@Sep 26 2006, 01:53 PM

My Wife got me this Panerai 2 Weeks ago...

a 40mm pam241.....?

hehe .....one thing about the tt ym is that.......the crown is ss....compared to others like gmt2, sub .....they have gold crowns....why i also dunno.........oni rolex knows....

i not that keen on ym....but one fren likes the ss/plat ym quite alot.......bcos of the red sec hand

Originally posted by Chow Yun Fatt@Sep 26 2006, 05:01 PM

Anyone can recomend a reasonable watch winder case for abt 4 watches?...I've been to a few places & they are very costly...any recomendations?

rapport winders at jw ....not that expensive.......if not eilux oso quite affordable

jw is at great eastern centre....

actually winders r more of a luxury......unless u have a perpetual calender watch, then better to get one cos troublesome to reset ...:p

Rolex is the world's best known brand.

However, the origin of its name and logo are difficult to determine. Hans Wilsdorf, who founded the brand in 1908, wrote:-

"I sought to create a name that would be easy to pronounce in all European languages and that could easily and elegantly grace the dial of a watch"

The logo - a crown with five branches tipped with pearls - may possibly be the five fingers of the hand, although this hypothesis is not confirmed by Rolex archives.

war machines

Panerai is the watch that might have changed the outcome of World War II—and lately it's been turning ordinary men into timepiece obsessives.

If the Italian military had not switched sides to fight alongside the Allies in September 1943, watch collectors would probably not be so passionate about Officine Panerai. They would still be impressive timepieces, beautifully crafted and distinctively styled, but in the service of Fascism alone precision is harder to love. Originally made for Mussolini's commandos sailing mini-submarines into Mediterranean harbors, Panerais are now found strapped to wrists of men struck by the watch's distinctive sapphire crystal face, Arabic numerals, and half-moon crown guard.

These watches are owned and loved by a select group of purists around the world, making it hard to classify the atypical Panerai fanatic. To them, the watch is both an instrument for measuring time and a witness to heroism past. The proud faces often are an inch-and-a-half wide, so the watches are not to be worn lightly—literally or figuratively. Collectors of these watches, known as Paneristi, range from the mildly detail-conscious to the obsessive, versed in every aspect of mechanics and meaning. No one watch is that different from the next in looks or performance. But because they are totems of masculinity and signifiers of taste and status, detail is everything. The Radiomir models, for instance, take their name from a special blend, now discontinued, of gamma-ray-emitting radioactive materials. The numerals once glowed in the ocean's darkest depths.

For some years now in Europe, Panerai watches have been part of the uniform for the man set on a precision course for the blonde at the bar of the Cipriani. In America, thanks to Panerai-wearing celebrities like Brad Pitt, professional athletes (the entire defensive lineup of the Green Bay Packers), and politicians, including Bill Clinton and Arnold Schwarzenegger, the popularity of Panerai is rapidly growing. Unlike many types of dress watches that need to be in perfect condition to be fully appreciated, Panerai watches look best when they have been scuffed by life.

The modern Panerai man may not spend much time underwater, but it pays to be prepared, and the watch has a good story to tell. "The luxury of Panerai grew out of its heritage and the purposefulness of each detail," explains designer Ralph Lauren, owner of a highly prized Radiomir model made for the Egyptian military. "These watches were not about the latest fashion—they were designed to work in specific conditions. Their form and beauty were secondary to their function; they're rugged, utilitarian, and handsome."

Founded in Florence in 1860, the company has spent most of the last century and a half in relative obscurity, known only to specialist collectors and the Italian military, who even had the watches designated state secrets. (The company made diving instruments and timing devices for the Italian torpedo boats of World War II, and the wrist-worn compasses and depth gauges are still highly prized.) In 1997 the small, fading firm was bought by luxury giant Compagnie Financi?re Richemont, which has set about popularizing the brand without diluting the value of exclusivity and tradition. "You don't want to spoil the joy of it being a secret," says the company's U.S. president, Philippe Bonay.

At the same time, Panerai is careful to maintain the interest of collectors who are passionate and fickle and, like many men, react poorly to abrupt change. Alter models too radically and purists balk; do it too slowly and there's little reason to purchase anew. To that end, the company produces only limited quantities in two distinct lines: historic (copies of classic designs with manual winding mechanisms) and contemporary (updated classic designs with automatic movements). Within each group, there are only three basic models, Luminor, Luminor Marina, and Radiomir (ranging in price from $4,000 to $20,000). Panerais often have an eight-day movement with a meter to show how much power remains before the watch needs to be wound again; almost all have a crown guard and a locking lever originally developed to improve water resistance. Several times a year, Panerai releases a new model. Several months ago, for instance, the company offered the Luminor Marina 1950 Eight Days, which uses original movements restored to new condition. Every Panerai is stamped with a unique number to indicate where in the schedule its model was produced. Superstitious collectors request models with serial numbers that correspond to birthdays, lucky numbers, or the numerals on a sports jersey.

Jay Pulli, a Department of Defense contractor with expertise in detecting underground nuclear explosions, recommends a new Radiomir model called the 210 that's an exact duplicate of a World War II model. "Go for the contemporary models made specifically to look like the old ones," he says. But there are also other, perfectly prosaic, reasons for the popularity of Panerai—for example, the dimming eyesight of 40-something men. Film producer Cary Woods (Swingers, Godzilla), owner of a base model Luminor Marina, says he's unmoved by stories of valorous Italian submariners: "I just like the look of it, and being 48 years old, I like the size of it."

The rates of accrual are driving the Panerai market into bonanza mode: New models are doubling and tripling their value in the space of a decade. Last spring, Sotheby's sold a vintage Panerai at auction for $43,200—a rare stainless-steel diver's watch from 1938, the most historically significant model to come on the market yet. In that era, as the clouds of war gathered over Europe, the Italian navy realized it had no battleships capable of matching the British fleet, so commandos were trained to do battle from beneath the waves. For that they would need watches, compasses, and depth gauges, and Panerai produced all of them.

The planning paid off: In mid-December 1941, frogmen stuck explosives on the hulls of two British battleships anchored in the Egyptian port of Alexandria. When the ships sank in fiery wrecks, Prime Minister Winston Churchill told Parliament that "six Italians dressed in rather unusual diving suits and equipped with materials of laughably little cost have swung the military balance of power in the Mediterranean in favor of the Axis." The advantage didn't last, of course, but at least one of the watches did.—EDWARD HELMORE

Originally posted by explorer@Sep 26 2006, 06:01 PM

rapport winders at jw ....not that expensive.......if not eilux oso quite affordable

jw is at great eastern centre....

actually winders r more of a luxury......unless u have a perpetual calender watch, then better to get one cos troublesome to reset ...:p

Thankz...I'm a bit lazy to wind the GMT...:cheeky:

Originally posted by explorer@Sep 26 2006, 05:56 PM

a 40mm pam241.....?

hehe .....one thing about the tt ym is that.......the crown is ss....compared to others like gmt2, sub .....they have gold crowns....why i also dunno.........oni rolex knows....

i not that keen on ym....but one fren likes the ss/plat ym quite alot.......bcos of the red sec hand

Yupz...My Wrist is too small for 44mm...even tried the 47mm which was way too big...so I decided to settle for the 40mm...:smile:

As for the Crown...I wasn't aware of it...but it was a gift from my wife...so I'm not complaining...hahaha...:smile: