• Replies 2.8k

Panerais were quite cheap in the past (under $3k)

Then with some craze over big watches with military themes, Panerais started selling for over twice the prices before.

wonder if it will lose its popularity after a few\more years

Originally posted by siambee@January 07, 2007 08:15 pm

been to both place before, so far i feel 'time will tell' is holding on the most collection of pams.... or rather they are concentrating most on pams products.

Is it? Where's "Time will tell"? Do they have a website?

Panerais look kind of normal/simple, the only thing is that they are big and attention-grabbing. The movements inside are kind of normal.

I guess they have a great marketing Team behind the brand.

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !

dun think got website...........but time will tell regularly advert their range at paneristi.com

many watch co use unita/eta/valjoux movements ....so that is quite common....as to how much modification and decoration was done to the base movements.....they dun really tell us.........

almost ....i would say almost every co out there uses "normal" movements in one way or another.....

but there r models in the range with good movements....e.g. pam190 8 days with a JLC movement is one example..........panerai with their p2002 can proudly say they have their own in-house movement....

as to a simple/normal look......yeah that's the appeal and signature of their heritage and design.....

ROLEX....a crown for every achievement

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i305/oohlins/cosmo.jpg

visit my watch and audio blog at oohlins.blogspot.com

Originally posted by siambee@January 08, 2007 03:20 pm

this is the add: 91 Bencoolen St #01-38 Sunshine Plaza Singapore 189652

Thanks, bro!

Originally posted by explorer@January 08, 2007 11:06 am

dun think got website...........but time will tell regularly advert their range at paneristi.com

many watch co use unita/eta/valjoux movements ....so that is quite common....as to how much modification and decoration was done to the base movements.....they dun really tell us.........

almost ....i would say almost every co out there uses "normal" movements in one way or another.....

but there r models in the range with good movements....e.g. pam190 8 days with a JLC movement is one example..........panerai with their p2002 can proudly say they have their own in-house movement....

as to a simple/normal look......yeah that's the appeal and signature of their heritage and design.....

Hehe.. 1 thing for sure.. They are over-priced, from my point of view, though I would love to get hold of a Luminor Submersible 1000m Slytech. :smile:

yeah value is subjective....whether over priced or not....they are being snapped up.....so probably for every person that thinks pam is no good value.....there is at least another one that thinks pam is god haha....

can i know how u guys actually bench mark overprice, ( i guess is the movement ) for a rolex daytona is it over price too for a stainless steel( $17K++ )? or is it too expensive to buy a SS sub/date for $7100 overprice compared to omega planet ocean 45.5mm SS for $4100.

i feel that the brand and the model already have a value of it own in the market that why they are selling so expensive... :smile:

any one can share the value of patek? ( also another expensive watch piece )

over-priced is like ... one feels hurt when eating chicken rice at chatterbox.....

good value is when one orders $2.50 chicken rice at hawker centre....and has money left to buy a drink and a slice of fruit.....

but again.....some ppl might find chatterbox chicken rice cheap cheap oni mah......so value is relative....:)

SMP/PO vs sub is a very common question.........till this day there is no one right answer..........it depends on who u ask.......

Chicken rice at Chatter box sucks. If its ex but good, then nvm.. it actually sucks.

If I am there with my wife, I always order the laksa instead of the chicken rice. The coconut ice-cream is quite good though. . Yummy.

To me, Boon Tong Kee is the best, but everybody got their own preferences.. hehe

precisely........that's the whole point about subjectivity.......another person could also say the laksa sucks.........or boon tong kee sucks....

but would anyone approach a person eating chicken rice at chatterbox and tells him straight in the face ...."why u eat the sucky chicken rice?".......

hmmm

I'm one of those who find that both Chatterbox and Boonn Tiong Kee Chicken rice mediocre.

there are many shops out that there are better.

But coming back to the topic.

Quality and Distinction plays a lot in the price of a luxury item.

Ultimately it depends on one's spending power as mentioned by one forumer.

Friend of mine thrashes his platinum Bvlgari limited piece as an everyday watch. Price is about USD40k only (in his own words)

so many scratches on that watch, even i feel sorry for it.

The best way to be fair, in comparison i feel, is to categorise the brands first. then the functions/materials and then the price.

Surely it would be inappropriate to compare a Tag or Omega with an AP. or a Patek with an MauriceLacroix

ha just buy what u like and dun care about what others say lor.........anyway wear on ur wrist and spend ur own money mah.....even chicken rice oso got different opinions....dun say about something as personal as a timepiece.....

i can still rem my fren saying that uni sashimi smells and tastes like **XYZ***.....haha....what to do....dun like means dun like :p

long time no post pic....:p

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i305/oohlins/explorers/DSC00570.jpg

More pls, bro.

Bvlgari is more like a jewellery brand, rite? 1 of their chronometer looks like of cool.

yeah, jewelry brand. similar to Cartier

i got no other pics to post except Rolex.

i dont want to bore people any further with those.

often neglected but very good value.......

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i305/oohlins/sinnarktisblue01.jpg

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i305/oohlins/sinn303rx8.jpg

I used to own this EZM-1, bought it many years ago when Sinn watches were not marketed to overseas then. It's a left hand watch with the chrono buttons and crown shift to the left side intentionally. And yes, it's a 1 minute chrono, only able to time up to 60 seconds with the chrono function.

http://www.broadarrow.net/ezmp2_small.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

recently their hottest models are u1 n u2......

and considering most swiss chronos are 7750 based....sinn chronos are pretty good value....