Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 6 2006, 01:15 PM

just as a guide, i bought my front cowling (sai tao) at looi's for $150. it had a 2 inch crack on the lips, had to glue it back with epoxy.

next item was the bottom right cowling, no cracks but full of scratches. paid abt $70 bux for it. so for the 2 pieces i paid $230.

others pieces i bought new from eversuccess... costed me a bomb...

wat to do....u r rich chap mah...tat natin to u lah... :D :bow:

• Replies 8.1k

the mod nowadays compare to last time is diff now..

they are using their personal views to set certain standard..

hello guys....

im a new biker and glad 2 be here 2 join u guys....as my nick suggest, im from penang! haha..just got my year95 blade 2weeks ago....

i have not familiarised myself with the bike yet due to the reason that i've sent the bike 2 a workshop for full servicing and also replacement of any worn out/torn parts....safety 1st mah... :sweat:

anyway..will be collecting the bike ,hopefully by tomorrow .... and hope 2 learn more about biking and riding a fireblade from u guys!! thanks.. :lovestruck:

Originally posted by Sev@Nov 6 2006, 03:19 PM

if they ban me becasue i typed KNN, then also bo bian...

SBF's moderator's standard very funny one leh, "TOK COK PLATOON" also never kena ban...

they ban because they personally dont like the thread, not because majority of SBF member has objection....

i still dconfuse about "chatter box" 's purpose leh...

yup now they do like their father's thread... they think they dun like it, put out their father name, then jitao ban it to hell. :cheer:

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

Originally posted by CBR289@Nov 6 2006, 03:33 PM

wat to do....u r rich chap mah...tat natin to u lah... :D :bow:

yalor... me rich... but u richer... me own 1 bike, but u own 3 bike leh... ooppps leak secret liau :p

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 6 2006, 03:46 PM

hello guys....

im a new biker and glad 2 be here 2 join u guys....as my nick suggest, im from penang! haha..just got my year95 blade 2weeks ago....

i have not familiarised myself with the bike yet due to the reason that i've sent the bike 2 a workshop for full servicing and also replacement of any worn out/torn parts....safety 1st mah... :sweat:

anyway..will be collecting the bike ,hopefully by tomorrow .... and hope 2 learn more about biking and riding a fireblade from u guys!! thanks.. :lovestruck:

aik... finally someone near where i am... ahah... :thumb:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 6 2006, 05:34 PM

aik... finally someone near where i am... ahah... :thumb:

hello bro jo-han....

ive been reading your post and more a less know a lil bit bout u..hahaha..scary eh?:sweat: ..i gather that you;re also using a yr95 fireblade eh.....hope 2 learn more stuffs from u....

just came back from the workshop...sigh...mech says he needs another 2-3more days before he could finish the job... :giddy:

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 6 2006, 06:26 PM

hello bro jo-han....

ive been reading your post and more a less know a lil bit bout u..hahaha..scary eh?:sweat: ..i gather that you;re also using a yr95 fireblade eh.....hope 2 learn more stuffs from u....

just came back from the workshop...sigh...mech says he needs another 2-3more days before he could finish the job... :giddy:

hi penang kia... so where u stay in penang? island or mainland?

btw i'm using a 1994 blade... oldest bike of the whole group here i think... :sian:

whenever u got pass by kedah, give me a call lah. can meet up. wat ur mechanic doing, so long wan arh... isit top overhaul or full overhaul?

better not be full overhaul, cos i never heard of a fireblade which needed a full overhaul before hehe :cheeky:

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 6 2006, 03:46 PM

hello guys....

welcome man!

me from Johor, Segamat... :smile:

where you sent your blade for servicing?

we recommend Planet as Ah Chong is damn good at old fireblade....

100% sure solve any problem, no good do until good with no extra charge... :lovestruck:

share with us your cost when you're done..

mine is '97 blade, extend COE next year... :sweat:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 6 2006, 01:15 PM

just as a guide, i bought my front cowling (sai tao) at looi's for $150. it had a 2 inch crack on the lips, had to glue it back with epoxy.

next item was the bottom right cowling, no cracks but full of scratches. paid abt $70 bux for it. so for the 2 pieces i paid $230.

others pieces i bought new from eversuccess... costed me a bomb...

OK, so the best deal is to get 2nd hand used condition fairings since it's just for substitution purposes in my case right? thanks alot!

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 6 2006, 07:44 PM

hi penang kia... so where u stay in penang? island or mainland?

btw i'm using a 1994 blade... oldest bike of the whole group here i think... :sian:

whenever u got pass by kedah, give me a call lah. can meet up. wat ur mechanic doing, so long wan arh... isit top overhaul or full overhaul?

better not be full overhaul, cos i never heard of a fireblade which needed a full overhaul before hehe :cheeky:

im from the mainland...staying in perai ...you;re from kedah meh?? i thought melaka?

hmm..there's a few seals that need 2 be changed..im not really familiar with all these technical stuffs...but still waiting for those seal 2 arrive.... so far, he has changed a new oil seal for the forks...the rear wheel's bearing also need2 be replaced...rear suspension too soft liow .....bleed the brakes and change new brake fluid....re-oil the steering;s bearing....synch the carbs, flush the radiator...and perform an engine oil change....took him so long mainly due to the parts ....sigh... soon, will need you bro's help liow 2 get spares for my bike (esp bros from sg ) :sweat: ......

Originally posted by Sev@Nov 6 2006, 07:58 PM

welcome man!

100% sure solve any problem, no good do until good with no extra charge... :lovestruck:

im from penang bro....planet is in?singapore??

paiseh lah bro...my mechanic is just a kampung mechanic..1st time using his service (was recommended by a friend)....far from town but this mech fixs and restores old triumphs ,nortons and other big cc bikes... so., hopefully he's good.... i will share the cost when its all done k? my style,i'll always make sure any mech list down every thing he replaces, fixed and the workmanship charges on the receipt..hehe... :smile:

Originally posted by Sev@Nov 6 2006, 07:58 PM

welcome man!

yup ah chong is damn good at the older blades. worse come to worse, he ask u go F-spider nia hehe... :thumb:

but i think penang kia send his bike to repair in penang... cost sure much higher than wat u get in singapore.

Sev i think u next time go penang got extra kopi kaki liau hor... :D

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 6 2006, 09:11 PM

im from the mainland...staying in perai ...you;re from kedah meh?? i thought melaka?

hmm..there's a few seals that need 2 be changed..im not really familiar with all these technical stuffs...but still waiting for those seal 2 arrive.... so far, he has changed a new oil seal for the forks...the rear wheel's bearing also need2 be replaced...rear suspension too soft liow .....bleed the brakes and change new brake fluid....re-oil the steering;s bearing....synch the carbs, flush the radiator...and perform an engine oil change....took him so long mainly due to the parts ....sigh... soon, will need you bro's help liow 2 get spares for my bike (esp bros from sg ) :sweat: ......

originally from melaka... but now working in kedah...

i took my bike back for a few mths mid this year, found out that lotsa northern bikers there are like empty vessels, the newer their bike / the bigger their CC means they have bigger egos n look down on older / smaller bikes.

dats y after 3 months in kedah (rode around for 150km only) then i park my bike back in malacca give my mechanic use... hehe....

maybe during january only will ride it back, after i change to those hard-compound touring tires for the endless straight NSH here :D

anyway about ur blade's rebuilding, guess those parts that ur mech change sound quite normal. the main problem if u wan the bike to handle better is to replace the suspension to a aftermarket unit, and change to a 17" front rim. brakes, damping all are important but not as essential as the former.

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 6 2006, 09:17 PM

im from penang bro....planet is in?singapore??

paiseh lah bro...my mechanic is just a kampung mechanic..1st time using his service (was recommended by a friend)....far from town but this mech fixs and restores old triumphs ,nortons and other big cc bikes... so., hopefully he's good.... i will share the cost when its all done k? my style,i'll always make sure any mech list down every thing he replaces, fixed and the workmanship charges on the receipt..hehe... :smile:

yes planet is in singapore... i'll be going to spore around christmas time to do some shopping + dynojet my bike... can come along if ur free heheh....

kampung mechanics are good, (mine also kampung mechanic, workshop in his house but full of superbikes waiting for a overhaul)

good thing is u dont get chopped, wat i know, alot penang/kedah/perlis bikers go to a shop in Auto city (guan how or cycle planet, i forgot) to service n buy parts.

had a fren who bought a set of chain + sprockets there few mths ago for his 929

costed him RM950 for a DID #530 chain and OEM sprockets (wtf summore not honda original sprockets) :faint:

Originally posted by LinW@Nov 6 2006, 08:31 PM

OK, so the best deal is to get 2nd hand used condition fairings since it's just for substitution purposes in my case right? thanks alot!

well if can ofcos get 2nd hand ones, but still need to do lotsa re-working on it, eg plastering/epoxy/scrubbing/smoothing/painting. *adds to ur cost...

but if u wanna go for track, then i advice u to get fibreglass fairings + frame slider. no matter what, its still cheaper to crash (touch wood) with fibreglass stuff. :bouncefire:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 6 2006, 10:21 PM

yes planet is in singapore... i'll be going to spore around christmas time to do some shopping + dynojet my bike... can come along if ur free heheh....

kampung mechanics are good, (mine also kampung mechanic, workshop in his house but full of superbikes waiting for a overhaul)

good thing is u dont get chopped, wat i know, alot penang/kedah/perlis bikers go to a shop in Auto city (guan how or cycle planet, i forgot) to service n buy parts.

had a fren who bought a set of chain + sprockets there few mths ago for his 929

costed him RM950 for a DID #530 chain and OEM sprockets (wtf summore not honda original sprockets) :faint:

which part of kedah you;re in now?? northern bikers? utara bikers ' gang u mean?? i've heard a lot of unpleasant stories about utara bikers too...they even have a nickname "richman's club"....nvm bro..u don't need a big gang of bikers...just 2-3 honest,nice and sincere ones will do...smaller biking group also nicer2 ride around....

yeah..was just about 2 ask u guys what should i do , change or replace in order 2 get a good handling blade...hmm...how much does an aftermarket forks and mono and 17" rim cost?? a nice decent one will do.....what about making the old blades lighter??

wah kau!! bro..every penangite will know how 2 avoid going 2 planet cycle , guan how and mega fortune...these 3 are the num1 choppers! only those who have super deep pockets dare to step in.....ppl like me..have no choice but 2 find kampung mechanics.. btw, 900++ for a set of chains and sprocket???!!! :giddy:

i need 2 familiarised myself with the bike 1st....still fear its "power"...dont have past experience in handling such big bike b4.. :sweat: .. i dont have biking friends over here tooo...:weep: ... hopefully...if im confidence enough,yea, might follow u down2 sg..

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 6 2006, 11:02 PM

which part of kedah you;re in now?? northern bikers? utara bikers ' gang u mean?? i've heard a lot of unpleasant stories about utara bikers too...they even have a nickname "richman's club"....nvm bro..u don't need a big gang of bikers...just 2-3 honest,nice and sincere ones will do...smaller biking group also nicer2 ride around....

yeah..was just about 2 ask u guys what should i do , change or replace in order 2 get a good handling blade...hmm...how much does an aftermarket forks and mono and 17" rim cost?? a nice decent one will do.....what about making the old blades lighter??

wah kau!! bro..every penangite will know how 2 avoid going 2 planet cycle , guan how and mega fortune...these 3 are the num1 choppers! only those who have super deep pockets dare to step in.....ppl like me..have no choice but 2 find kampung mechanics.. btw, 900++ for a set of chains and sprocket???!!! :giddy:

i need 2 familiarised myself with the bike 1st....still fear its "power"...dont have past experience in handling such big bike b4.. :sweat: .. i dont have biking friends over here tooo...:weep: ... hopefully...if im confidence enough,yea, might follow u down2 sg..

i'm staying in alor setar now.. now i dont join any club, previously went for 2 rides with Star bikers. same problem ... they r more to posing n not riding wan... dats y i sent my bike back to malacca, where normally 2-3 of us go n trash the country roads nicely heheh....

aftermarket forks i think its outta our reach, cos ohlins dont produce it anymore...

the ohlins rear shock costs $1.6k, rims get a 2nd hand unit from CBR400 might cost u a few hundred bucks too.

making the blade lighter... i think its way too expensive lah. changing the rims will cost u abt RM8-10k... unless u straigtaway change the front rim to a 17" lightweight rim (abt RM3k) then i think its enuf already hehe

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 6 2006, 11:55 PM

i'm staying in alor setar now.. now i dont join any club, previously went for 2 rides with Star bikers. same problem ... they r more to posing n not riding wan... dats y i sent my bike back to malacca, where normally 2-3 of us go n trash the country roads nicely heheh....

aftermarket forks i think its outta our reach, cos ohlins dont produce it anymore...

the ohlins rear shock costs $1.6k, rims get a 2nd hand unit from CBR400 might cost u a few hundred bucks too.

making the blade lighter... i think its way too expensive lah. changing the rims will cost u abt RM8-10k... unless u straigtaway change the front rim to a 17" lightweight rim (abt RM3k) then i think its enuf already hehe

wah lau....all "a few Ks" wan ah??? :faint:

looks like upgrading will be an extremely difficult task liow.. :weep:

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 7 2006, 12:10 AM

wah lau....all "a few Ks" wan ah??? :faint:

looks like upgrading will be an extremely difficult task liow.. :weep:

yeah those stuff aint cheap... even if original suspension n rims etc, all are also very expensive. took me a few years to save up n get all these stuff, now only starting to learn how to use them... :faint:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Nov 7 2006, 12:13 AM

yeah those stuff aint cheap... even if original suspension n rims etc, all are also very expensive. took me a few years to save up n get all these stuff, now only starting to learn how to use them... :faint:

hmm....i think for ppl like me, the best is to go for 2nd hand stuffs...anyway,i'll settle all the servicing part 1st...then..save $$ again for minor upgrading....not 2 4get budget for tyres too...hehe...

anyway...another question...can our old blade be fitted with head,tails ,fairings from a newer blade? say...954? will it fit? i love those sharp curvy looks...

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 7 2006, 12:25 AM

hmm....i think for ppl like me, the best is to go for 2nd hand stuffs...anyway,i'll settle all the servicing part 1st...then..save $$ again for minor upgrading....not 2 4get budget for tyres too...hehe...

anyway...another question...can our old blade be fitted with head,tails ,fairings from a newer blade? say...954? will it fit? i love those sharp curvy looks...

Welcome on board Penang kia, sadly to tell u that u cant cos the layout of fairling totaly different from our 'old' antique model...but alternatively u can mould n modify it juz like previous i done.....

n it will look like FAT 954... :D

Originally posted by CBR289@Nov 7 2006, 10:31 AM

Welcome on board Penang kia, sadly to tell u that u cant cos the layout of fairling totaly different from our 'old' antique model...but alternatively u can mould n modify it juz like previous i done.....

n it will look like FAT 954... :D

thanks for the welcome bro...

anyway...say, if i were 2 get a fiber job done on the old blade...will it eventually affect the bike's overall stability and aerodynamics? :confused:

Originally posted by penang_Kia@Nov 7 2006, 12:25 AM

yes the best option are getting 2nd hand parts/accessories, unless no choice only buy new... but i guess now its very hard to get new aftermarket parts for our bike too. outdated alraedy...

954 fairings? dun think so man... it will look worse. best option u can go for is to change to the 1998/1999 model CBR900... easiest fit with minimum mods to the brackets, (80% plug n play) but its not cheap either...