Originally posted by ashenZ@Jun 3 2005, 08:59 AM

hey PM mi ur hp no leh~

You no good lah friend, I call you over 20 times liao you still dun have my hp number..... :cry: :cry: :cry:

Anyway, 11PM Fong Seng, please someone be there as witness. Boh entire trip will crash liao. From there light kopi and meal (probably kaya roti) then head off to library ATM there as official start location, take photo etc.

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

• Replies 41.9k

• AsHaRiE

• Singaporean

• muhdhaikal

• kitty23

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 3 2005, 02:34 PM

You no good lah friend, I call you over 20 times liao you still dun have my hp number..... :cry: :cry: :cry:

Anyway, 11PM Fong Seng, please someone be there as witness. Boh entire trip will crash liao. From there light kopi and meal (probably kaya roti) then head off to library ATM there as official start location, take photo etc.

ehhh u talking about me??? i was asking for jkaiser's hp no lahh...

so u wan mi be ur witness on saturday too??? better call mi or sms to confirm.. i dun mind being there....

here talk until abit blur liao.. dunoe wotz wot~

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

We only need one witness... any volunteers?

Please put name down, otherwise I'll have to round up other people...

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Originally posted by ashyamahar6@May 30 2005, 09:34 AM

I dont mind being the witness on sat, what time?

Can you confirm you will be there at 11.00 pm to 11.30 pm, Fong Seng, tonight?

I need to go sleep now, will check thread when I wake up at 10pm

Ok i will be there, at 1130, meet u at the atm, is ur fren ashenz coming (my no 96457318)

http://img359.imageshack.us/img359/1270/3sincity8ya.gifhttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y213/ashyamahar6/DSCF0256.jpg

Can meet at Fong Seng? We don't need you to be at the ATM, just as long you are somewhere near NUS to sign the form can already. We can do the ATM thing on our own. At least allow me to buy you a kopi...

When come back, tell us more abt the trip ok, err were u guys able to outrun the storm :sweat:

http://img359.imageshack.us/img359/1270/3sincity8ya.gifhttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y213/ashyamahar6/DSCF0256.jpg

1681 kms clocked by GPS time taken 22 hrs 40+ mins.

Fastest speed clocked by GPS 245 km/h in the bendy mountains near Ipoh, in a battle with a 4WD car (who won, and he was taking the bends in excess of 250 km/h). My buddy's bike was involved in this battle, I was a spectator following behind.

My own top was 225 km/h; this was on a straight, I don't have the skills to take on bends at above 160km/h.

Total of 4 near death experiences, 2 per bike... Honda's CBS and ABS saves the day!

We hit Thailand at 8am-ish.

I have a cramp and blisters in my throttle hand. And everything hurts, especially the butt.

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 6 2005, 12:52 AM

Fastest speed clocked by GPS 245 km/h in the bendy mountains near Ipoh, in a battle with a 4WD car (who won, and he was taking the bends in excess of 250 km/h). My buddy's bike was involved in this battle, I was a spectator following behind.

My own top was 225 km/h; this was on a straight, I don't have the skills to take on bends at above 160km/h.

Total of 4 near death experiences, 2 per bike... Honda's CBS and ABS saves the day!

We hit Thailand at 8am-ish.

I have a cramp and blisters in my throttle hand. And everything hurts, especially the butt.

Congrats broo~!!~ :cheer: :cheer:

was waiting for ur sms, but nvr came ehh!~~!!~

Hahaha... butt hurts arrhh..... so it aint iron yet horr.... so better go a few more times to harden it!~ :cheeky:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

whoa sounds like an experience, scooterer! congrats! =D

am kindof new to this forum, and new to the thread.. so i'll introduce myself.. i'm currently at nus fass majoring EL, gonna start 4th year in coming semester. i'm that FA plate lao K usually parked around LT11/AS7/AS5 but last sem i was on exchange (actually i'm still not back.. going home in a week) so wasn't around (but my friend in nus engin was using the bike).

anyway hello everyone! look forward to chatting with you guys and perhaps going on outings too..

btw, jkaiser.. saw ur siggy and realise finally whose "all blacks bandit" i've been seeing around campus (nice paint design btw) ;p and saw it in hcjc once during maf too, and was wondering if it's someone i know (no it's not). i'm one batch your senior actually (98S62), heh.. and i'm switching to a bandit right after i get home.. so hello to a fellow nus bandit =)

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 6 2005, 12:52 AM

wah power, next time must organise rubber butt, wooden butt, >>>>> aluminium foil butt challenge for newbies (dist not so far one ah) :sweat:

Tell more about the near death exp, what happened??

OK good u back safe in one butt, so how did u and the blackbird guy outrun the storm, i kena rain a bit on the way back o_O

Originally posted by boofeng@Jun 6 2005, 05:35 AM

i'm switching to a bandit right after i get home.. so hello to a fellow nus bandit =)

hahaha... was wondering when you would come on this thread.

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 6 2005, 08:54 AM

hahaha... was wondering when you would come on this thread.

Your bandit is currently in the shop having its tyres changed.

it's you!!! =D (or is it? hmmm)

haha.. i was just gonna mail you to tell you i was coming home on the 14th, and will contact you shortly after i get back. anyway now you know ;p

Yes Boofeng, its me.

Another rider commented to me that anyone could do this ride on a tourer. "Its the bike, not the rider", he said.

That makes sense to me. So for my next ironbutt ride, it will be the Saddlesore 2500.

That's 2500km in 36 hours on a SKIPPER

Anyone join in?

Originally posted by boofeng@Jun 6 2005, 05:35 AM

whoa sounds like an experience, scooterer! congrats! =D

am kindof new to this forum, and new to the thread.. so i'll introduce myself.. i'm currently at nus fass majoring EL, gonna start 4th year in coming semester. i'm that FA plate lao K usually parked around LT11/AS7/AS5 but last sem i was on exchange (actually i'm still not back.. going home in a week) so wasn't around (but my friend in nus engin was using the bike).

anyway hello everyone! look forward to chatting with you guys and perhaps going on outings too..

btw, jkaiser.. saw ur siggy and realise finally whose "all blacks bandit" i've been seeing around campus (nice paint design btw) ;p and saw it in hcjc once during maf too, and was wondering if it's someone i know (no it's not). i'm one batch your senior actually (98S62), heh.. and i'm switching to a bandit right after i get home.. so hello to a fellow nus bandit =)

haha the prev owner was a malay uncle..so that explains the snake skin seat...he was probably a closet ah beng...with the tilted mirrors... and i further beng it with gold chain and gold balancers :D

i from 99s23...yea see u when u're back lah...

iron butt..yea...it's the rider can make it or not...i gian3 actually...

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by jkaiser@Jun 6 2005, 11:17 PM

haha the prev owner was a malay uncle..so that explains the snake skin seat...he was probably a closet ah beng...with the tilted mirrors... and i further beng it with gold chain and gold balancers :D

All you need to do now is chrome the fuel tank and add neon lights.

Originally posted by jkaiser@Jun 6 2005, 11:17 PM

i from 99s23...yea see u when u're back lah...

iron butt..yea...it's the rider can make it or not...i gian3 actually...

LOL closet ah beng

ah.. i know ur seniors.. but can't rem who's from 23 who's from 24.

yao wenjie is ur class right? ... aw yong seng also? wah realise i forget everyone's names already. wenjing (she's gotten together with one 1st 3 mths 23 guy called jiankai right?) was my eca (VnR) chairperson also lol.. always remembered my batch s23 was a very tight bunch.. always got class outing..

yeah i also gian3 to go.. although i'm not sure what i'm in for.. have never been out of sg on a bike before.. keep us informed yah, scooterer?

Originally posted by boofeng@Jun 7 2005, 02:31 AM

yeah i also gian3 to go.. although i'm not sure what i'm in for.. have never been out of sg on a bike before.. keep us informed yah, scooterer?

Erm, probably not advisable... You start off with a trip to Malacca, then KL, then do Cameron Highlands and Penang, then Thailand, THEN you think about first Iron Butt ride.

Not for the faint hearted, seriously. They aren't joking when they call themselves "The toughest riders in the world". My hands are still cramped today and are full of blisters and callouses, and I was wearing a pair of armoured gloves.

The deadlist problem with long distance touring is that if you are not experienced and catch yourself, you will find your mind wandering...

But then again, you got age on your side :sweat:

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 7 2005, 09:19 AM

Erm, probably not advisable... You start off with a trip to Malacca, then KL, then do Cameron Highlands and Penang, then Thailand, THEN you think about first Iron Butt ride.

Not for the faint hearted, seriously. They aren't joking when they call themselves "The toughest riders in the world". My hands are still cramped today and are full of blisters and callouses, and I was wearing a pair of armoured gloves.

The deadlist problem with long distance touring is that if you are not experienced and catch yourself, you will find your mind wandering...

But then again, you got age on your side :sweat:

good advice actually =) wouldn't want to sabo the group or myself (when the consequences are so serious) by being unprepared too.. i think i didn't realise how "ironbutt" it was ;p and i'm the blur sort somemore.. think i'll try to get into big groups and short trips first as you say, and after i know more of what it's about then decide if i'd actually like long trips. =)

and wahlau... yeah i'm old :sian: hahaha.. thanks for reminding me ah~ ;p

Originally posted by boofeng@Jun 7 2005, 02:31 AM

LOL closet ah beng

ah.. i know ur seniors.. but can't rem who's from 23 who's from 24.

yao wenjie is ur class right? ... aw yong seng also? wah realise i forget everyone's names already. wenjing (she's gotten together with one 1st 3 mths 23 guy called jiankai right?) was my eca (VnR) chairperson also lol.. always remembered my batch s23 was a very tight bunch.. always got class outing..

i dun really remember jiankai..some of the 1st 3 mths seniors oso came to visit us...yea lah they very tight bunch..but apparently now never really hear from them..s23 classes are usually quite on and united..

scooterer explain y u had to go ipoh hotel for 4 hrs? :D

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

Originally posted by jkaiser@Jun 7 2005, 09:47 AM

scooterer explain y u had to go ipoh hotel for 4 hrs? :D

Haha... yes, because of exhaustion...

I recognized the signs of heat and fatique around 11am on Sunday. Brain starts to glaze over the vision becomes not as sharp as "normal". As I described to Jkaiser, the size of the car in front start to shift while I was looking at it (this is due to eye focus fatigue).

Immediately I signal my buddy and we stopped at the next town (Ipoh), found a hotel and booked a room for 4 hours; 2.5 hrs sleep, + rehdration + bath + food + planning, and most importantly, air-con cool down of body.

Was refreshed afterwards and was able to stay that way till end of ride (we restarted at 3pm+ when the heat was not so bad).

New tourers get into trouble because they try to push on even after fatigue sets in. Its well known that a little rest can actually improve riding performance by a great deal, so its not "time wasted".

The Iron Butt Association (based in the USA) Website is here:

http://www.ironbutt.com/about/default.cfm

The ride I completed was a "Saddlesore 1600" which is 1610km in 24 hours or less.

To Date, Singapore has only got 4 certified ironbutt riders. The riders and their registered rides are given below. Me and my buddy felt that Honda was under-represented :-)

The last number is the ride distance in miles.

Hannu Loponen Singapore 03/26/05 H-D Road King 2,006

Tapani Sairanen Singapore 03/26/05 H-D FXSTDi Deuce 2,006

Hannu Loponen Singapore 12/18/04 H-D Fat Boy 1,044

Tapani Sairanen Singapore 12/18/04 H-D FXSTDi Deuce 1,044

Hazrin Zainal SINGAPORE 08/09/02 BMW R1150GS 1,050

Jerome Chong Singapore 10/14/00 Kawasaki KLR650 1,031

For everybody who has interest in long distance riding, please read this:

http://www.ironbutt.com/tech/aowprintout.cfm

On this trip I put points 11 and 12 to good use!

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 7 2005, 12:20 PM

The Iron Butt Association (based in the USA) Website is here:

http://www.ironbutt.com/about/default.cfm

The ride I completed was a "Saddlesore 1600" which is 1610km in 24 hours or less.

To Date, Singapore has only got 4 certified ironbutt riders. The riders and their registered rides are given below. Me and my buddy felt that Honda was under-represented :-)

The last number is the ride distance in miles.

Hannu Loponen Singapore 03/26/05 H-D Road King 2,006

Tapani Sairanen Singapore 03/26/05 H-D FXSTDi Deuce 2,006

Hannu Loponen Singapore 12/18/04 H-D Fat Boy 1,044

Tapani Sairanen Singapore 12/18/04 H-D FXSTDi Deuce 1,044

Hazrin Zainal SINGAPORE 08/09/02 BMW R1150GS 1,050

Jerome Chong Singapore 10/14/00 Kawasaki KLR650 1,031

For everybody who has interest in long distance riding, please read this:

http://www.ironbutt.com/tech/aowprintout.cfm

On this trip I put points 11 and 12 to good use!

wah if we tell osa that eventually our members hope to achieve iron butt..wat would they say..haha