Honda RVF400/NC35

Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 19 2004, 01:09 AM

hey vroomx2...welcome to the club.

hehe you and a few others came at a time when most of the fellows here are upgrading to 600cc liao...:cheeky: ....but iz ok, im still here!!! :cheer:

ok back to yr prob..wat u mean by "choppy"?? and what bike were u previously on? if u came from a 2 stroke...you'll not be used to the strronger engine braking of a 4 stroke bike.

dun really understand yr corner theory in carpark but for me....manuevering in carparks is mostly done in 1st gear. Becoz RVF's 1st gear is what others call "tall" or "high" that is why although other bikes can merrily cruise along in 'restricted area' with 2nd gear, we have to make do with 1st gear, seldom go up yo 2nd unless that carpark is damn big like say the carpark at Carrefour. RVF beh tahan slow motion one.

as for the initial lag at low RPM....this has been discussed by the group..hehehehe..iz Normal and to solve it just WHACK open throttle. problem solved. not kidding.

tires not botak, not hardened yet..no need to change la....save $$. min thread depth is 2mm. less than that than change.

regardin the rest of yr handling complains; my advise is 4 strokes are different. they are heavier , they are abit more powerful and since u just got yr bike...u better take time to learn its behaviour and handling before you do go and "cup" hiongx2 corners.

happy riding.

:sleep:

okie.. coz i usually go round in those areas on second gear or third on my kips.. so i tot i shld be using 2nd gear on rvf also . i did use first gear half clutch control to do my turnings but i tot 2nd gear was the norm .. so i was wrong :cheeky:

the thing i dun liek abt the choppy feeling at low rpm is that when i throttle say at ard 2000rpm on first gear.. my bike will feel like 'push forward, drag backward' kind of feeling..only when i throttle to abt 3k and above, will that effect go away and smoother acceleration comes in ..but normally at this time, the speed seems to pick up much faster than b4 and i think i still not too used to this :sweat:

'high' first gear meaning our rvf 's first gear is able to get us to a much higher speed? then how abt 2nd gear and above? which other bikes have high first gear ar?

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 19 2004, 01:09 AM

tires not botak, not hardened yet..no need to change la....save $$. min thread depth is 2mm. less than that than change.

dunno leh.. even when i go straight across those white arrows, i can feel the wobble at the rear wheel quite well..rain time worse

now i ride my rvf very carefully.. coz scared i buang again .. that time i was doing this almost u-turn bend at quite a low angle and my tyre went over the white arrow and i slipped :cry:

Originally posted by Ken@Jan 19 2004, 01:47 AM

carb model bike i think mostly will have that choppy feeling and not responsive feeling as u describe. once again, learn the skill of clutch plus throttle control.

did try .. but the choppy feeling is still there, though less .. dunno if it has sth to do with my clutch plate or sth else?

Originally posted by Hyde81@Jan 19 2004, 04:48 PM

i think u r referring to the engine breather tube. yah it really reduce the engine braking effect. can be done at Sanfu or K&T for abt $45.

will the ruduction be too great till it feel like tt of an 2b engine brake?

RVF Outing to TORQUE - High Octane Carnival

Date : 31 Jan / 1 Feb

Time : 10am to 6pm

Venue : Padang

Anyone interested? I was thinking we could all go together... A prelude to our Torque movie outing when it screens here.

Pending

1) vroomvroom (if sat i might need to go sch.. sunday is fine with me

Originally posted by Ken@Jan 19 2004, 06:00 PM

i ' m okie with it, u see to it.

RVF Outing to TORQUE - High Octane Carnival

Date : 31 Jan / 1 Feb

Time : 10am to 6pm

Venue : Padang

Anyone interested? I was thinking we could all go together... A prelude to our Torque movie outing when it screens here.

1) jungleboy (Any day)

Pending

1) vroomvroom (if sat i might need to go sch.. sunday is fine with me

Ken : Put your name in the list leh

If i not wrong, that nite on the 18-1-2003, I think i saw u guys at gp esso rite?!:smile: I am the fella riding the black bike:cheeky:

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Jan 20 2004, 01:22 AM

If i not wrong, that nite on the 18-1-2003, I think i saw u guys at gp esso rite?!:smile: I am the fella riding the black bike:cheeky:

oh..yea! u the one in white tshirt and riding a black VFR800 right?? the big brother model of our

RVF400!! hehehe.

my biike was parked the 2nd one from yours at the station.

your bike is very chio with the pipes under the seat man.:thumb:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Jan 19 2004, 11:32 PM

'high' first gear meaning our rvf 's first gear is able to get us to a much higher speed? then how abt 2nd gear and above? which other bikes have high first gear ar?

no no no..."Tall" 1st gear doesnt mean it will get you to a higher speed, THAT would be the R1 or CBR954, 1st gear can go till silly speeds of 100kmh++.

well..maybe the RVF750 RC45 can do that la..but not a 400cc displacement.

what our "tall" gear means is that you need to drag quite abit in 1st gear than can upshift when u moving off. it means your 1st gear's ratio is quite long/big compared to say a PGM or a scrambler..thier gear ratios are short, unlike ours , thaz y u hear them having short bursts of "BRAAAP.....BRAAAAAP...BRAAAPP..." when pickin up. ours would be somthing like....

"BRAAAAAAAAAM.....BRAAAAAM...BRAAAAM...BRAAAAM.

iz all about gear ratios. thaz y our bike will lose to a Super4 from standstill but will overtake from 3rd on wards.

hope this helps.

correct me if im wrong guys.:cheeky:

hiz rvfians!

juz asking is it recommended to go K&T to change my alternator coil and troubleshooting?

coz i had battery failure twice for the past 6 months and it seems that clifford is the only one who can predict my second one is gonna happened which it did, when my RVF is in the middle of KL.

Originally posted by mika14@Jan 20 2004, 09:54 AM

hiz rvfians!

juz asking is it recommended to go K&T to change my alternator coil and troubleshooting?

coz i had battery failure twice for the past 6 months and it seems that clifford is the only one who can predict my second one is gonna happened which it did, when my RVF is in the middle of KL.

u should.... dun go first motor..

they not really interested(or dunnoe) in fixing electrical system

jus anyhow add additional wire here and there...

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by mika14@Jan 20 2004, 09:54 AM

hiz rvfians!

yo bro, K&T pricing might be a bit steep there but overall we feel good about this shop other than cheh san n buzzbean?

can lah. go try try.

Originally posted by Hyde81@Jan 19 2004, 10:27 PM

how u guys remove the paint from the rim. Izzit juz using thinner?

ur rim got respray black b4 boh?

or is u wanna do the cutting of the rim like some which can be polish 1?

if yes to first, u remove, means remove all paint liao.

if yes to second, u better ask a motor tiam to help u do.

sometimes hor, u guys always ask question but never come out with us for kopi 1 leh... like that we can see ur bike and can help to see or even point out some problems for u guys mah.

dun scare we eat u all leh, we dun even exceed speed limit.

Originally posted by Ken@Jan 20 2004, 09:38 PM

sometimes hor, u guys always ask question but never come out with us for kopi 1 leh... like that we can see ur bike and can help to see or even point out some problems for u guys mah.

haha ok 1 of these day will join the outing but not to malaysia cos now serving NS then still need to apply permit

http://powersports.honda.com/images/model/c028_029_030_031_photos_all/motorcycles/2005/CBR1000RR/LargeHoriz/CBR1000RR_large_03.jpg
Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 20 2004, 02:05 AM

no no no..."Tall" 1st gear doesnt mean it will get you to a higher speed, THAT would be the R1 or CBR954, 1st gear can go till silly speeds of 100kmh++.

well..maybe the RVF750 RC45 can do that la..but not a 400cc displacement.

what our "tall" gear means is that you need to drag quite abit in 1st gear than can upshift when u moving off. it means your 1st gear's ratio is quite long/big compared to say a PGM or a scrambler..thier gear ratios are short, unlike ours , thaz y u hear them having short bursts of "BRAAAP.....BRAAAAAP...BRAAAPP..." when pickin up. ours would be somthing like....

"BRAAAAAAAAAM.....BRAAAAAM...BRAAAAM...BRAAAAM.

iz all about gear ratios. thaz y our bike will lose to a Super4 from standstill but will overtake from 3rd on wards.

hope this helps.

correct me if im wrong guys.:cheeky:

i see i see.. i get it .. good explanations with the braap braap and braam braam :cheeky:

rvf has a big brother ar .. never heard of a rvf750 b4 nor seen it

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Jan 20 2004, 11:34 PM

i see i see.. i get it .. good explanations with the braap braap and braam braam :cheeky:

rvf has a big brother ar .. never heard of a rvf750 b4 nor seen it

YES there rvf 750 if u wan to c go boon siew there one there:smile: :smile: :smile:

but it not 4 sale in s'pore:weep: :weep: :weep:

http://img220.exs.cx/img220/7457/gforcesig1hc.jpg
Originally posted by Ni+3KiDz@Jan 20 2004, 11:45 PM

YES there rvf 750 if u wan to c go boon siew there one there:smile: :smile: :smile:

but it not 4 sale in s'pore:weep: :weep: :weep:

must be too powerful scare tp cannot catch up

http://powersports.honda.com/images/model/c028_029_030_031_photos_all/motorcycles/2005/CBR1000RR/LargeHoriz/CBR1000RR_large_03.jpg
Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 20 2004, 07:21 PM

u should.... dun go first motor..

they not really interested(or dunnoe) in fixing electrical system

jus anyhow add additional wire here and there...

hiz!

eh how u know i frequent First Motor?

the mechanic ah seng there is quite capable leh, except for my battery thingy.

i scared clifford won't be able to solve my prob...

Originally posted by Ken@Jan 20 2004, 09:34 PM

yo bro, K&T pricing might be a bit steep there but overall we feel good about this shop other than cheh san n buzzbean?

can lah. go try try.

where got?

i just not belly happy the long hair mech (dunno wat name) stole my petrol. abot of kena chop feeling.

not so bad la... tuning is not too good too, maybe iz the long hair mech again. KNN..Tune until front cylinder sparkplug black black and Rear ones white white!

so morale of story is ; dun let the long hair mech do.

Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 20 2004, 01:55 AM

oh..yea! u the one in white tshirt and riding a black VFR800 right?? the big brother model of our

RVF400!! hehehe.

my biike was parked the 2nd one from yours at the station.

your bike is very chio with the pipes under the seat man.:thumb:

Yes, i am ur distance cousin indeed.....think this was the bike u saw.....nice to meet u, my name is cheekozer. By the way, how can i post the pic attach below as my signature? anybody here can help?

Originally posted by Ken@Jan 20 2004, 09:38 PM

nvr come our for Kopi...who arr? who arr?? hehehehe.

anyway iz my exact sentiments...bo pian one...the net is a really easy source for Info. Some feel they can just come in here and live off the info feeded by others.

OH! bike got problem ah? OH!! goodie a RVF thread!! so they come in here post questions and then piak piak backside and fark off liao. REPEATED QUESTIONS MIND YOU!! dun even bother doin a basic search. Y? SENIOR FORUMER somemore!!

these are what i call LEECHES. as i told Buzz, they have no other concerns other than sucking infos for thier bike, that is all. if you notice, some ppl are like that here.

AND this is what i HATE the most!! often they will come break up a technical discussion with stupid questions like "OH GUYS..how much is This?? OH? How much is THAT?? "" :nono: do a bloody search la!! you are wasting space here by askin something that has been discussed a zillion times. no wonder our pages crept to 100++....so PLS!!! use the search button 1st b4 u post here.

n lastly...COme out with us for KOPI?? where got time??? i just wan Info for my bike only. Thanks for the free info Guys!! byebye!!! ....sometimes not even a thanks too.

im sorry if some of you who read this are annoyed. but this trend is pissin me off. i really hate it when we are hot in a middle of discussing the bikes' probs/tech issues/performance and the leeches just keep breakin the discussion up with repetive questions.

iz not the "Goin-out-with-us-for-kopi" issue, i know most of ppl here either doin NS, study, bike under repair (jungleboy:cheer: ), busy workin, just got bike etc...iz not a complaince here that free info is given away on the account that u come out for kopi with us but JUST refrain from been a LEECH will ya? you ppl know who u are. i shall not mention names.

and lastly; sorry for been so straightfoward,:sorry: but i feel since new year is near, iz good to do abit spring cleaning and sweep out the leeches.

Originally posted by sunny6110@Jan 21 2004, 03:14 AM

hey cool down man cheh san...

hehehe..ya man..cool down liao. oso dunno y so fiery last nite...maybe late nite liao, body is heaty:bouncefire: but u all beh tulanz meh? discussion always break up by the same old questions discussed b4 over n over n over .......

hmm....mayb we shall have our own section in sportsbikes section to discuss the finer things abt RVF and leave this thread for repetive questions like pricing, servicing and such. how to go abt it ah?

:btw: Xing Nian kuai Le guys!! :cheer: