Honda RVF400/NC35

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Mar 31 2004, 09:05 PM

wah .. u say until like u r gg overseas and not gonna see us like that leh ...

shay: went to knt today and happen to meet a senior tech called derwin (or delwin) from tengah . he ride a rvf also..i think u might have seen him coz he recognize u when i described u to him.

anyway, i went down to let clifford tune my carb .. wah .. lotsa problem.. first is the pin is a bit worn out due to the absence of a washer which will cause excessive fuel consumption. then somemore the last tim i changed my plug.. my carb was faulty and it flooded the plug and cause misfiring and no firing soemtimes.. so i hafta change all 4 plugs again :giddy: (think i change my plugs last week only) .. i spent a total of 7 hours at his place for him to troubleshoot and change my sprocket (change my 38 to 40)and chain (RK RX chain). then he fixed my fairing and flush my coolant for me coz the liquid r turning into milo liao ... but anyway .. that is not the point .. the point i s.. i finally heard a totally new roar from my rvf ...... it's heavenly :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

ohh man .. nv tot my rvf can sound any better ... finally realised what shay has always been talking abt .. the sound of rvf starting .. cool man ....:bouncefire: :bouncefire:

the torque is much better now with the new 40 sprocket.. now i only hope that my fuel consumption is much better than b4 .....

but my temo was a bit high today when i got home at 9pm .. normally night riding for me , my guage wont hit 1/2.. but it went over after my servicing .. wonder if it's the flushing and new coolant's cause...

anyway .. did a coutn today , and i realise i have already spent 1150 touching up my rvf .. of course not more than jungleboy .. gonna go broke loooooo:help:

eh dude!! u oso got missing washers ah?? previously where u service yr bike one?

anyway...SIOK right?? the sound of a healthy RVF reving up?

anywayz..i heard from a fren say hor....old bikes/cars dun any old how flush coolent...(change coolant still ok) coz often will cause unforseen problems one! guess iz true lookin at Jungle and your case.

regarding the repair costs....well.. i was in a similar situation and feeling sad but after doin up all the neccessary maintenance, no more problems and i feel the bike is really a JOY to ride and like what ken told me, after u do up yr bike liao, u will realise why u wana change this bike liao.

so...be patient. the bike will treat u well with better reliabiltity if u treat it well also. and there will be a period where u no need fark care it except regular service items.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 31 2004, 10:15 PM

eh dude!! u oso got missing washers ah?? previously where u service yr bike one?

anyway...SIOK right?? the sound of a healthy RVF reving up?

anywayz..i heard from a fren say hor....old bikes/cars dun any old how flush coolent...(change coolant still ok) coz often will cause unforseen problems one! guess iz true lookin at Jungle and your case.

regarding the repair costs....well.. i was in a similar situation and feeling sad but after doin up all the neccessary maintenance, no more problems and i feel the bike is really a JOY to ride and like what ken told me, after u do up yr bike liao, u will realise why u wana change this bike liao.

so...be patient. the bike will treat u well with better reliabiltity if u treat it well also. and there will be a period where u no need fark care it except regular service items.

previously nv wash or tune my carb when i got it .. this is my first service after 4000km of travel...

i know what u mean by do it one time good and rest for long long .. tt's why i spend so much now and i hope all this can last me at least for the next one year. clifford is very xi xin man ... he refused to give up until he finds out the prob and gets the carb tune .. tt's why i spent so much time there. somemore nv charge me extra for the extra time he spent.

the engine sounds v good now .. but exhaust got this added sound other than its normal one...dunno how to describe it .. it's like a short burst of loud sneezing from within.. wonder if it's normal or anyone knows.

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Mar 31 2004, 09:05 PM

chain (RK RX chain).

y u nv use DID chain?

i used tat perviously...

not very good.. change after 7mthsof usage

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by ko4la@Apr 1 2004, 04:39 AM

morning everyone..

hehee

too bad just not not enuff ppl play number ball~! :cheeky:

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 31 2004, 10:15 PM

:confused: what abt me?

vroom : How much was the tuning and servicing of the carbs? All these things must post up so that can give all of us a gauge and compare prices mah... I'm thinking of tuning my carbs.... was told that my setting a bit too fuel rich. Coz when i rev the throttle, the idling will go up will revving, then dip lower than normal idling when it returns.

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Mar 31 2004, 08:59 PM

anyplace to do cheapest fork alignment?

K&T lor.

heheheh.

when comes to fork, it is not the price to matter liao, a capable mech is more of a concern.:goodluck:

vroomvroom,

the short burst of sneezing u refer to, is occur somewhere in the middle when u engine brake rite? its should be got excess fuel not used up, so it means its the tuning of carb not to perfect, but it is no problem, as long as when u rev, u feel good about the engine then can liao. think should be fuel not fully burnt, did u change ur air filter anyway? cos since just tune, so it should be the air filter too dirty liao.

jungleboy,

thats normal, when u r at stopped, and u rev, ur idling will go up and go a bit lower then normal idling. if idling too low, after u rev, the engine will actually die off. no problem with it, just dun rev to impress chick when red light can liao. hahahaha

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Ken@Apr 1 2004, 09:20 AM

K&T lor.

heheheh.

when comes to fork, it is not the price to matter liao, a capable mech is more of a concern.:goodluck:

mr ORD LOHHH, u might wanna pay bikelab a visit.

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Apr 1 2004, 08:34 AM

:confused: what abt me?

vroom : How much was the tuning and servicing of the carbs? All these things must post up so that can give all of us a gauge and compare prices mah... I'm thinking of tuning my carbs.... was told that my setting a bit too fuel rich. Coz when i rev the throttle, the idling will go up will revving, then dip lower than normal idling when it returns.

wash and tune : $ 80

chain (RX-ring chain GB525XSO) and sprocket (not sure name..but shld be the original honda one) : $235

ken : dunno if u r right. btw, from what u said about fuel not totally combusted.. wil this cause the excess fuel to be emitted from the exhaust in the form of very light 'smoke'.

but then again there is no problem when it comes to riding and i felt my bike is so so light and have so so much more torque that a slight movement of my right hand can push my bike a lot.. never enjoyed riding so much :lovestruck: *rvf rocks* ... no wonder this 2a babe cost so much ....

but still hopefully my fuel consumption will improve :cheeky:

sorry for a bit :offtopic: now ..

jus wanna ask anyone here is good with pc? my monitor has been blanking out recently .. seems it can no longer power up the screen such tt the screen keeps dimming and then lights up and dim .. yesterday night totally blank out ... wonder if there is anything tt i can change inside so tt i can save the money to buy a new monitor coz gg broke lo :cheeky:

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 1 2004, 12:09 PM

sorry for a bit :offtopic: now ..

jus wanna ask anyone here is good with pc? my monitor has been blanking out recently .. seems it can no longer power up the screen such tt the screen keeps dimming and then lights up and dim .. yesterday night totally blank out ... wonder if there is anything tt i can change inside so tt i can save the money to buy a new monitor coz gg broke lo :cheeky:

Solution : Change monitor

This is RVF thread.... not IT thread.... post in the correct place please :offtopic: :gun:

Originally posted by Ken@Apr 1 2004, 09:20 AM

K&T lor.

heheheh.

where is tis k&t?has been hearing u guys toking about it all the way since i am active in RVF.

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Apr 1 2004, 12:39 PM

where is tis k&t?has been hearing u guys toking about it all the way since i am active in RVF.

K&T is at ubi.

k&T stands for "Ko & Tok" = "Ko Tok" :cheeky:

lao yang, u might wanna try bikelab as suggest by my stalker sol.

if u go from little india towards PIE direction, just before u reach MAH motor, on ur right hand side, u can see a shop call bikelab.

never visit there b4, but from how other forum members describe, it seems to have a clean room to do up ur suspension or forks.

seems professional to me. u might wanna give them a try, but dun noe about the price wise, u might wanna call them up?

what number cookie?

i no more buy from mah liao.

i go other places which offer me a better deal, but it's a black shop lah, so dun wanna say where, scarely later got extra charges...

NC35,

we usually go lar kopi lor.

anywhere oso got lah.

Do join in when u r free, might wanna leave ur number with jungleboy, shay or benson?

Originally posted by Ken@Apr 1 2004, 05:41 PM

i no more buy from mah liao.

i go other places which offer me a better deal, but it's a black shop lah, so dun wanna say where, scarely later got extra charges...

You say its balck shop you stil buy from them? "wu yiah bo"? "Tao hong" just like the tasmania devil issit?

Better deal....black shop? they dun go together one leh :confused:

shortburst as in idling or engine braking? seems normal to me when u r enterin a corner hard wid low gear engine brake n some soft tone backfiring doenst affect this monster's performance too significant.

Jungle: the idling shld be ur setting. went to Ko & ToK to set, now my bike at neutral, rpm stays at 1.2, rev till 12k n release, it will come down slowly to 1.2 n stay put zai zai!!

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

boh pian, black shop eat my bike at a higher price than mah.

sell me the bike at a lower price than mah

difference can be up to $1k.

anyway, got black n white from that black shop stating the final price, but u wont noe what will happen till u get the bike rite.

hahahahahaha.

and somemore got side deal dun noe will pass anot, if yes, then is should have buy from mah, but if never pass then will buy from blackie lor, but anyway cfm buying from blackie liao lah.

got time i update u guys when kopi session.