Queensway shopping centre is a good place to get running shoes for a good price

go running lab if you need more advice as the sales specialist will put you on their treadmill and analyse how u run and give u shoe suggestions.... foc afaik

• Replies 182

Personal Review: Hydration Solutions

ever since i hit 10km. i decided it was not good to run for longer than an hour without hydrating myself on the move. up to 8k, which i complete in 45-50mins, i can tahan without drinking and drink after i'm done. then again i think gripping a generic bottle for longer than an hour is going to be tiring and annoying. so i'm sharing three hydration stuff i use personally.

Product 1: Nathan Vapor Shot

http://img5.ausdauerleistung.de/images/product_images/thumbnail_images/1460_0.jpg

Capacity: 300ml

Price: Bought $30+ online inc ship, could not find locally

Pros:

Strapped in your hand, you really dun feel this bottle at all. the grip and shape is also ergonomic. very smooth operation: pop open the nozzle, tilt your head back, squeeze water into mouth, tap it back closed and keep on running without breaking stride.

Cons:

1. 300ml? if your distance you only need 300ml of water, you can run without. but if you run 10k and above, this will run out before your legs.

2. No pouch.

Product 2: Nathan Quickdraw Plus

http://i0.wp.com/fitrunningmama.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/IMG_4368.jpg

Capacity: 600ml

Price: $30+ in some local stores

Pros:

1. perfect capacity for 10-13k (at least for me).

2. Pouch holds keys, cash or (small) phone.

3. Best squeeze bottle. Ever. Dun bother comparing with generic nike/reebok squeeze bottles costing ~$10. plastic is very soft, super easy to squeeze. nozzle is high flow. end result: at more than 3/4 full, a good squeeze immediately shoots an entire mouthful of water into mouth, the kind that takes you two gulps. generic squeeze bottles usually take me two squeezes for one gulp.

Cons:

Pouch is not waterproof. made of flimsy looking mesh that will probably start tearing after a few months of regular use.

Product 3: Ultimate Direction Scott Jurek Ultra Vest

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-6eLaQaiE8OE/UQAh7uZWmlI/AAAAAAAAAco/2Fq7kNWXgHY/s320/Ultimate+direction+SJ+Sig+Vest+front.jpghttp://www.google.com.sg/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&docid=1v4fKvXNthWLDM&tbnid=9VSYbSsZsrH1kM:&ved=0CAUQjBwwADgQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thegearcaster.com%2F.a%2F6a01156f7533eb970c0177443a7f3e970d-320wi&ei=-ZyZUvbMC8mUrgfHz4DYDg&psig=AFQjCNFQYNpgrbmguQpI7CHUAPvYXKrvKA&ust=1385885305266650

This is the interesting one. i recently went beyond 13k and my 600cc bottle was no longer enough, so i tried this. Most important: YOU MUST GET THE CORRECT FIT! this is not free size like camelbak. too tight and you cant strap the front buckles. too loose, and it doesn 'hug' your body, causing all sorts of unwanted movement and some users even report it sliding back until the top strap 'clotheslines' your neck.

comes with 2 x 600ml bottles. rear is designed to hold 1.5L bladder and tube but is not included in purchase.

i thought of hydration belts with 4 x 300ml bottles or 2 x 600ml bottles, but i just could not believe that a belt would be comfortable when running. so i considered camelbak vests, but the bladders will be a problem holding my preferred gatorade mix. so when i saw this vest, i thought it was perfect: 2 x 600ml bottles held in a vest! one for plain water and one for gatorade mix!

i've done 15k in this. and yes, it is comfortable, assuming you get the right fit. it hugs my body, and you dun really feel the weight of the bottles. nor do the bottles interfere with your arm swing, unless you swing rotating sideways hugging your fists to your chest, which is not how it should be done anyway.

the bottle pulls out smoothly, and goes back in easily with a tug of the pouch. the bottle has a nipple which you will need to know how to operate, but once you figure it is neither easy nor difficult, just different. overall i prefer Nathan's squeeze bottle.

plenty of pockets, including a big one behind if you dun insert a bladder. keys, phone, nutrition, etc. perfect for hiking too. but none are waterproof including the ones supposed to be so. just your sweat will already make the pouches moist. use ziploc if needed.

Advice: buy the similar 'Race' vest instead. see below.

http://www.zombierunner.com/store/media/images_new/ultimate_direction/x300/ak_race_vest.jpg

the difference? look carefully, the sides of the race vest is an adjustable strap and not a single non-adjustable piece like the ultra vest. this means less pockets but i think it makes a better fit.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Btw how many of u guys here do frequent 10km runs? I've been to a few tcms and they all say 10km is too much of a stress if done frequently. Now I have to reduce my running distance cos I've got some knee issues. Zzz.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Btw how many of u guys here do frequent 10km runs? I've been to a few tcms and they all say 10km is too much of a stress if done frequently. Now I have to reduce my running distance cos I've got some knee issues. Zzz.

you can run 10km regularly, but like everything else it needs a transition.

when i started out, i was going 7km for 6 days a week, only one rest day. when i hit 10km, i did it 3 times a week, another 3 days was either interval or fast 5k. now i hit 13-15k, i only do twice a week; another 2 fast 5k and another 2 interval. and i'm hitting my limit.

my suggestion is, if you feel like regular 10k starts causing problems, do it twice a week first. after a few weeks, do it 3 times a week, and then more frequently if you feel like it, without increasing the distance. the rest of the days, limit yourself to 5k. or intervals. minimum 1 day rest per week.

for me, because i want to keep increasing my distance (my new target is 2XU half-mara next march), then i'm limiting myself to only 2 long runs per week, increasing the distance by 1km every 2 weeks.

you cannot both run regularly and at the same time increase the distance, especially if you hit 10k for the first time. either you maintain the same distance and slowly up the frequency, or reduce frequency and slowly up the distance.

Edited by mechwira

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

you can run 10km regularly, but like everything else it needs a transition.

when i started out, i was going 7km for 6 days a week, only one rest day. when i hit 10km, i did it 3 times a week, another 3 days was either interval or fast 5k. now i hit 13-15k, i only do twice a week; another 2 fast 5k and another 2 interval. and i'm hitting my limit.

my suggestion is, if you feel like regular 10k starts causing problems, do it twice a week first. after a few weeks, do it 3 times a week, and then more frequently if you feel like it, without increasing the distance. the rest of the days, limit yourself to 5k. or intervals. minimum 1 day rest per week.

for me, because i want to keep increasing my distance (my new target is 2XU half-mara next march), then i'm limiting myself to only 2 long runs per week, increasing the distance by 1km every 2 weeks.

you cannot both run regularly and at the same time increase the distance, especially if you hit 10k for the first time. either you maintain the same distance and slowly up the frequency, or reduce frequency and slowly up the distance.

Ooo. Thanks for the advice as always mechwira. There's a half marathon?? Haha. Might target that. Lol.

Personal Review: Hydration Solutions

ever since i hit 10km. i decided it was not good to run for longer than an hour without hydrating myself on the move. up to 8k, which i complete in 45-50mins, i can tahan without drinking and drink after i'm done. then again i think gripping a generic bottle for longer than an hour is going to be tiring and annoying. so i'm sharing three hydration stuff i use personally.

Product 1: Nathan Vapor Shot

http://img5.ausdauerleistung.de/images/product_images/thumbnail_images/1460_0.jpg

Capacity: 300ml

Price: Bought $30+ online inc ship, could not find locally

Pros:

Strapped in your hand, you really dun feel this bottle at all. the grip and shape is also ergonomic. very smooth operation: pop open the nozzle, tilt your head back, squeeze water into mouth, tap it back closed and keep on running without breaking stride.

Cons:

1. 300ml? if your distance you only need 300ml of water, you can run without. but if you run 10k and above, this will run out before your legs.

2. No pouch.

Excellent review work, mechwira. I was at Velocity Novena last weekend and saw the Nathan Vapor Shot in Key Power Sports in Level 2. It's a new shop and seems to have some decent gear. Can't recall the price, but it'd be about S$50-60.

Cry 'Havoc'.....and let slip the dogs of war

Product Review: Hydration and Gel

Hydration - Fitletic (aka iFitness) 12oz Hydration Belt

http://a248.e.akamai.net/origin-cdn.volusion.com/dncbc.wsyae/v/vspfiles/photos/16-oz-Hydration-Belt-2.jpg?1368087746

I bought it from Amazon for around S$50 (US$38 I think). Shipped for free because I spent more than the $125 threshold for free shipping to Singapore. Realized a little late that some local sport shops (like the ones in Nex Serangoon) sell them too.

It has two 175ml bottles and a pocket that snugly fits an iPhone 5.

The areas of the bottles that contact your back come with dots of high-grip rubber material. These seem to work very well. As long as I had the belt in the correct spot and tightened, I felt no bouncing.

The bottles are easy to access and are kept secured by a formed pocket and an elasticated loop at the top. Easy to operate.

I love this belt. The only downside is I have to be careful about water consumption for my weekend 21km run.

Gel - MaxiFuel Viper Boost

http://origin.media.t3.com/img/resized/ma/xl_maxifuel-viperboost-gel.jpg

I bought this from a local T3 bike shop. S$3.90 per piece. Citrus flavour.

I was hesitant about gels because some can result in an upset stomach. But for 21km runs, I was fast running out of easy fuel, so I took the plunge with this and am very happy with it. On my first attempt, I had one at kilometer 11 and realized that I had run out of fuel early. My other attempts were with two gels - one taken at around 10-11km, the second at around 17-18km. Everytime I had it, I immediately feel the energy. Last Saturday I was ready to call it a night at 17km, but changed my mind after having the gel, so it definitely works for me. Not cheap ($8 for the two I eat on a 21km run), but it is helping me increasing my distance so I don't mind.

I used to do 10km about 3 times a week. A rest day between each so that I didn't outrun my ability :) The easiest way to fit running into your schedule regularly is try to commute in some way by running. I am lucky to live about 6km from work, so I started running home a few times a week, then started doing loops home to increase to 10km.

Now I do a long run on Saturday (at the moment 21km), so I have cut down the mileage for other days. I'll do at least one run-from-work 10km during the week, and do cycling for active recovery (e.g. keeping some level of activity going, so blood flows and muscles recover better).

Speaking of mileage, it was fun increasing incrementally from 5km to 21km now, but I have to admit I'm not looking forward to increasing so much now. The runs are getting long and I am definitely too sore to run for the next day or two after. And the next 'big' milestone is another 21km away - the 42.195km of a marathon. :pity::faint::pity: I suppose I can work on pace instead of putting in even more LSD (long slow distance).

At this stage, I see my progress and frankly I am astounded at marathon runners (I mean proper marathoners, not untrained take-selfies-all-the-way, basically walking the race types). I tell myself when I'm done with my 21km - "The marathon runners now basically start my run all over again and repeat the 21km but in the state I am in now". Incredible. Then there are ultra marathoners, who take distance to yet another level. I can't comprehend that in the same way that I can't comprehend the size of the universe.

Gel - MaxiFuel Viper Boost

http://origin.media.t3.com/img/resized/ma/xl_maxifuel-viperboost-gel.jpg

hey bro.... how do i know i 'need' fuel gel in my run? at what running distances should i start considering taking fuel gels?

when my running distance was still 8k and below i never considered bringing water with me either, then i read that any exercise up to 1h should drink plain water and any exercise more than 1h should start taking isotonic or electrolyte water. i decided that if even plain water is not good enough for the body after 1h, then i better start bringing water when i hit 10k. now i realize i dun think i can complete my 13-15k without water, and mostly i pack gatorade mix.

but fuel gel i still haven try.

and you say the Vapor Shot is retailing ~$50 at Key Powersports? Whoa thats ex, especially when the 600ml QuickDraw Plus was only $30+. you sure its the vapor shot and not the similar but bigger 700ml Vapor Draw?

Not sure about taking gels for runs less than 20km. In my case, I can complete a olympic distance triathlon in a little over 3 hours with 1L of diluted (50%) gatorade during the bike leg and taking the sports drinks served along the run route whenever I feel thirsty.

Gels tend to give that immediate boost, but also give a big flat feeling when it runs out. Maybe will start experimenting with a couple of gels for longer training sessions.

Edited by ulysses_sc

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

hey bro.... how do i know i 'need' fuel gel in my run? at what running distances should i start considering taking fuel gels?

and you say the Vapor Shot is retailing ~$50 at Key Powersports? Whoa thats ex, especially when the 600ml QuickDraw Plus was only $30+. you sure its the vapor shot and not the similar but bigger 700ml Vapor Draw?

I think it varies based on the individual's fitness, bro. I'm new to distance running so I think I needed the help earlier. I started taking the gel when I began doing 21km in one go. My first attempt was without it and I basically lost all motivation at around 17km. Just felt exhausted with no energy to go another 100m. I repeated my 21km attempts two more times without gels, and in all cases lost the will to continue around 17-18km.

At this point, I had two choices: (i) try to fight this 'wall' and push harder so that my body adjusts and resorts to fat burning, or (ii) take the easier route of gels. I'm glad I went option (ii). It energized me enough to keep pushing and I think the morale boost of seeing higher mileage made it worthwhile.

Oh and as I reply to ulysses below, I prefer not to have sweet drinks on my run, so for now I am separating my hydration (plain water) and fuel (gels).

Not sure about taking gels for runs less than 20km. In my case, I can complete a olympic distance triathlon in a little over 3 hours with 1L of diluted (50%) gatorade during the bike leg and taking the sports drinks served along the run route whenever I feel thirsty.

Gels tend to give that immediate boost, but also give a big flat feeling when it runs out. Maybe will start experimenting with a couple of gels for longer training sessions.

I agree, but my threshold is a little lower. I wouldn't bother with gels myself if I was doing a run up to 18km. Personally, and in the fitness state I'm in now, 18km seems to present a tough wall to break through without proper fuelling.

I suppose if your water contained sugars etc (100 plus, gatorate), you'd be fuelling regularly with that. I'm not a fan of sweet drinks on a run though. I found I got thirstier faster, and I definitely didn't like accidentally spilling the drink on me while running. So I carry plain ol' tap water in my hydration belt, and fuel in the form of gels. :) I'm hoping that as my training progresses, I can ease off the gels (maybe down to 1 per 21km run) but all good things take time.

If you're finding yourself too tired to continue on in a long training session, I wouldn't hesitate giving gels a try. You may well end up in a caffeine/sugar crash once you get home, but you can bask in the glory of an improved/longer training session :D

I'm pleasantly surprised to see Maxifuel's recommended fuelling during a 21km is close to what I ended up doing in my last two 21km training runs. Pre-run, I have a banana an hour before - no need for gels because I'm at home/work and can easily access more 'natural' fuel.

546408_383835508324672_1895783002_n.jpg

I'm pleasantly surprised to see Maxifuel's recommended fuelling during a 21km is close to what I ended up doing in my last two 21km training runs. Pre-run, I have a banana an hour before - no need for gels because I'm at home/work and can easily access more 'natural' fuel.

That looks like some heavy stuff!

I normally do a "brick" training on Saturday mornings. 30min before start - 1 cup of milo. Cycle for 50km (1.5 hours), consuming 1L of half diluted Gatorade. Then run 10km immediately after cycling, during which drink another 200cc of half-diluted Gatorade. Seems to work OK so far. However mornings are really cool, and I think that definitely impacts the "energy" consumption.

Do you experience much difference between running in the mornings/nights vs daylight hours?

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

whoa. ok thanks for all the tips on fuel gel. i probably dun need it for now, and shd just look out for a possible wall once i penetrate 17km, which is not yet.

the reason i use a gatorade mix (from powder sold in ntuc) is because i'm a salty sweater. i only recently found out there was such a thing when a fren commented about it when he touched my sweat soaked dri-fit tee after an 8k. i donno how he could tell, but after he told me, i realized i've always been that way i just didn know there was such a thing. even before i started my recent serious running, i have always found that whenever i work out with profuse sweating for longer than 30mins, i would feel a very deep sense of thirst that would not go away with plain water, i felt satisfied only after a chugging a bottle of isotonic immediately after the workout. hence my current reliance on gatorade mix on runs above 10k.

i was at JCube Royal Sporting House and saw them selling the Merell Bare Access (8mm cushion zero drop) for 129 and the Merell Road Glove (4mm cushion zero drop) for 149.

holding the road glove glove in my hands, it was almost identical to my NB Minimus Zero, especially since they both have vibram outsole with the same thickness. maybe the minimus zero has a softer upper.

another option for people ready to wear barefoot shoes, but be sure you're ready. and if the vapor glove is even more minimal, i dun think i can handle it.

Singapore marathon 'winner' admits he cheated

i've always known there are people who take part in marathons or 10ks or other events, jog 3-5k and walk the rest of the way and then very proudly wear the finisher tee.

but people like this absolutely take the cake. he actually says going home half way is 'giving up', yet considers taking shortcuts and hitching rides as a valid way of 'finishing' and earning the finisher tee. people actually get a kick out of wearing that finisher tee by taking shortcuts and hitching rides to the finish line?

When I run a marathon next time I'll make sure I change my finisher tee to 42.196 km. .001 km also more distance than all the rest what right? Lol

Singapore marathon 'winner' admits he cheated

i've always known there are people who take part in marathons or 10ks or other events, jog 3-5k and walk the rest of the way and then very proudly wear the finisher tee.

but people like this absolutely take the cake. he actually says going home half way is 'giving up', yet considers taking shortcuts and hitching rides as a valid way of 'finishing' and earning the finisher tee. people actually get a kick out of wearing that finisher tee by taking shortcuts and hitching rides to the finish line?

That guy is hilarious.

I'd like to see finisher tees and gift packs axed. Want a tee, go buy one. Want little packs of bottles/gels/caps etc, go buy them. Want to finish a race and feel good about your accomplishment, do it for that reason alone. Not for a stupid little goodie bag or a finisher tee. Of course I say this knowing it will never work. Without the trinkets waiting in little bags at the end of the race, and the tangible products to use to show everyone else what a wonderful thing they did over the weekend, the number of registrations will plummet and the event would not be profitable.

But I have to say it's funny reading how upset people got over this. The only reason I'd get upset is the delay/inconvenience he caused. I think more people are upset that he got the finisher tee without deserving it. These people strike me as people who ran just to get the finisher tee or whatever else tangible goodies you get at the end.

http://jessicalawlor.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/enjoy-the.jpg

Forget this guy. Not even worth discussing.

Back to the topic. Anyone wants to shoot for the 2XU Compression run (21km) next March? Can run together to push each other on!

But I have to say it's funny reading how upset people got over this. The only reason I'd get upset is the delay/inconvenience he caused.

i've always been amused by the finisher tee poser brigade. until the 10k run i went and i realized how much their antics are inconveniencing serious participants.

i was amazed at how many people started shoving and pushing their way to the front of the start line just before flag-off... only to run out of puff a measly 3km later and end up blocking people.

the ultimate was a large group that stopped at the 5km water point to take a group selfie posing with the cups right at the table. i was shaking my head when a runner from behind shouted at them to get out of the way. the group went from laughing and giggling then suddenly diam-diam after kena shout. serves them right...

and there are no-frills running events too, no freebies and low or no fees. theres a mob run 18km later this month at east coast park, free and no freebies.

i'm also interested in the 2XU half-mara, but right now i'm concerned that i may have developed plantar fasciitis on my left foot. i didn see a doctor or have it diagnosed but the symptoms seem to fit.

this was caused either by ramping myself up to 15km too quickly, or wearing brand new saucony virratas on my last 15k which may have hid my poor form over a long distance. possibly both.

apparently you're supposed to stay off running for up to 6 weeks :weep: but i'm too addicted to stop. i started back on daily 8k after just 3 days of rest and found that i could only run in my New Balance Minimus Zero because i had to run in a pure forefoot strike; anything approaching midfoot, even the slightest load on my midfoot, would send a stabbing pain.

so the past 4 days i've limited myself to 8k, on NB Minimus Zero, doing pure forefoot strike the whole distance. after my runs i would tape myself up with KT tape and leave overnight. either one of these 2 seems to be working coz i can feel the pain getting gradually less each day, so fingers crossed :goodluck:

i'm now trying to see where i can buy a night splint coz apparently it also helps with the condition.

There's 2 months to go so should be in time for u to recover. Unless you're gunning for a podium finish? Hehehe

recover only where got enuff, still must train wat. if i sign up i must know i can cross the finish line having jogged the whole way no matter slow, not take shortcut or hitch a ride in some ninja van :sweat:

Haha I'm slightly different. I'm having the 21 as my target to work towards to. Ask me to run now I won't be able to also. My left hamstring still hurts a little.