Had a lucky escape at PIE juz now. was riding 80km/h in the middle lane on my 3-DAYS old RXZ. Suddenly the engine went dead. The next thing I did was to look behind for any vehicles. Luckily, there was none. phew!

went back to the bike shop to check and discovered tat the piston jammed somehow. n it was totally black!! bloody hell!! shop owner tell me everything new, everything changed, before I bought the bike.[/QUOT

Nothing happen to u is a blessing in diguise already... BTW where u stay??? How much u brought ur bike and COE left how many years???

yeah..tats wat I thought to myself. and my rxz journey continues...haha...

stayin in tamp. bought the z at ubi for $2k. COE till 2018. FR plate.

• Replies 29.7k

Had a lucky escape at PIE juz now. was riding 80km/h in the middle lane on my 3-DAYS old RXZ. Suddenly the engine went dead. The next thing I did was to look behind for any vehicles. Luckily, there was none. phew!

went back to the bike shop to check and discovered tat the piston jammed somehow. n it was totally black!! bloody hell!! shop owner tell me everything new, everything changed, before I bought the bike.

Wah how come piston jammed when ur riding only 80km/h? Did u skid? Is ther 2t in ur 2t tank? Hmmm... Sure u didn't wack ur bike? Cause the last time my bike piston jam was when I tried to cut tis WRX at PIE. Hahahaha....:giddy:

I dun dare to organise for this kind of trip... First of all, I never ride in there before and my work is irregular hours so can not make promises... Hai what to do need money then must work... If u are meeting up, maybe for coffee session or whatever, can let me know... I am just a simple chinese rider here.... Ha Ha Ha... Cheers :)

No prob, tis forum is opened for all sorts of ideas, be it from old birds or newbies. So anyone and everyone are welcome to organise any event...:thumb:

http://i330.photobucket.com/albums/l417/syamitomo/GroupPhotoMain1.jpg

Wah how come piston jammed when ur riding only 80km/h? Did u skid? Is ther 2t in ur 2t tank? Hmmm... Sure u didn't wack ur bike? Cause the last time my bike piston jam was when I tried to cut tis WRX at PIE. Hahahaha....:giddy:

well, it did'nt skid. it stopped as if I applied both brakes hard but not to the extent of skidding. 2t still full. and yeah I was whacking the bike...and yes.. at 80km/h. tt shows how powerful my z is, dun u tink? khrkehrke

How much u send to repair for ur piston jam problem?

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

Class 2B 21/05/2008 (BBDC)

Class 2A 18/08/2009 (BBDC)

Yamaha RXZ 135 FS xxxx D since 04/06/2008 till 12/06/2010

Honda Vtec 1 FS xxxx K since 29/12/2009

went back to the bike shop to check and discovered tat the piston jammed somehow. n it was totally black!! bloody hell!! shop owner tell me everything new, everything changed, before I bought the bike.

luckily u are safe bro.. :thumb:

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii207/hotbladerz/231020083385.jpg

Usually after changing new piston etc, u must running in ur bike first..

but i'm not so sure running in takes how long.. but what i know, riding must be 80km/h & below, & cant rev too hard.. can anyone explain more about running in? heeeee.. i still newbie lah.. :cheeky:

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

well, it did'nt skid. it stopped as if I applied both brakes hard but not to the extent of skidding. 2t still full. and yeah I was whacking the bike...and yes.. at 80km/h. tt shows how powerful my z is, dun u tink? khrkehrke

Yeah it sure did. Hahahaha...:gun: Hmmm... Then how the hell it got jammed seh? I wonder.... Hmmmmm......:confused: Cause seriously, piston jam is no laughin matter, can bring death...

How much u send to repair for ur piston jam problem?

Hee... I didn't hav to pay a cent for the repair work. Seriously! Only for the transportation of my bike to Jb....

luckily u are safe bro.. :thumb:

Yeah damn lucky...

Usually after changing new piston etc, u must running in ur bike first..

but i'm not so sure running in takes how long.. but what i know, riding must be 80km/h & below, & cant rev too hard.. can anyone explain more about running in? heeeee.. i still newbie lah.. :cheeky:

I seriously dont know why... But some ppl, new piston, new bike they still straight away wack....:giddy:

Hee... I didn't hav to pay a cent for the repair work. Seriously! Only for the transportation of my bike to Jb....

How come ur bike need not pay for repair fee for piston jam??? U staying at Jurong East is it???? I take over my RXZ by next month... Hpefullly, this machine will last me 2 years till COE end...

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

Yeah damn lucky...

I seriously dont know why... But some ppl, new piston, new bike they still straight away wack....:giddy:

maybe too excited after getting new bike lah bro.. hehe..

btw, what's the reason if bike suddenly die off when stopping? especially this rainy season lah.. is it engine too cold? how to counter this problem ?

need help .. thanks! :thumb:

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

How come ur bike need not pay for repair fee for piston jam??? U staying at Jurong East is it???? I take over my RXZ by next month... Hpefullly, this machine will last me 2 years till COE end...

maybe, the mechanic is his relative or friend lah.. hehe.. dat's why can get free of charge.. :p

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

Hi :)

I have some comment about the light questions here. First of all understand the difference between HALOGEN and H.I.D. (High Intensity Discharge) systems.

Normal RXZ light has a bulb similar to the ones used in tail light or indicators, but with 2 Filaments (low beam/high beam) in a glass body, each one rated at 35 Watts / 12 Volts. These have rather low life expectancy and generate a yellow-ish light colour, not very bright. Most of the energy consumed in such bulb is transformed into useless heat, and in the process the filament gets "used up" and eventually burns through. The body of these bulbs is usually simply void of air (vacuum) or filled with an inert gas such as Nitrogen to slow the "burning out" process somewhat.

HALOGEN have a similar type light bulb, again two filaments ind a glass body of which each is rated at 35 Watts / 12 Volts. The main difference is that here the glass body itself is filled with a halogen gas (usually Chlorine) under a high pressure. Upon operation these bulbs, too, generate a large amount of heat (same as the regular ones in fact) but here the Halogen gas kicks in - it re-deposits atoms from the filament, which would otherwise be lost and cause the "burning out", back onto the hot filament. For this reason the filaments, and therefor the light bulb as a whole, last much longer - about 8 times as long as a regular one in fact. Also, due to the "job" the halogen gas does, the filaments can be made smaller and/or lower rated - basically, a filament in a 12V/35W halogen bulb would only be 9v/25W in a regular one. The result? Much brighter light! This is why all cars and many motorbikes use halogen lights.

H.I.D. systems are entirely different. Here the glass body (which is quartz glass, not regular glass) is filled with Xenon gas. There is no filament, instead two electrodes with a certain distance between them. Upon "start" or "ignition", a very high voltage is applied to the electrodes, which cause an "arching" of electricity between them, identical to what happens at a spark plug, but continuously. The Xenon gas itself acts as a medium to make the "continuous spark" possible as it becomes ionized when hot - so after the initial "ignition" of the arch, the voltage is reduced to just about 85 Volts (hence an H.I.D. system requires an electronic device that generates this voltage). These lighting devices last a lot longer than even Halogen bulbs for there is no filament to burn out. The downsides are - only one focal point because only one set of electrodes, hence only one beam - high OR low, the requirement for high voltage and hence bulky external devices, the requirement for stable voltage (you can't run them directly on the magneto in a motorbike, for example) and they are very expensive compared to regular or halogen bulbs. The advantages are MUCH brighter light - daylight, in fact, very long life, and low power consumption - 12V/35W generate a light equivalent to about 90W halogen and several 100 Watts regular bulbs.

HOWEVER what has given H.I.D. systems the image if "being short lived" is the fact that there is many "cheap no-name" products in the market which safe money by using crappy components - what "burns out" is NOT the light "bulbs" but usually the transformers or electronic components in the, usually fully sealed and hence unrepairable, external devices.

Now to the RXZ. The best to do is the use of an Halogen bulb with the same socket as the regular RXZ bulb. I have been using these for a couple of years now, and only one burned out. And i ride about 300-400 kilometers per week with the light "always on" as it is the law in Thailand to ride with lights on even during daytime. Do NOT use the ones with a dark blue coat on the actual bulb - the light these produce is nice white, HOWEVER it is NOT as bright as a regular, yellow-ish Halogen light! Specially in the rain, with wet road, these white lights have a huge disadvantage (not due to the colour of the light but due to the fact that less than 10% or light produced reaches the road - everything but "white" from the spectrum is filtered out by the blue colour coating!) I am currently using one of those but only because i wait for it to burn out some day before getting a new, regular Halogen, one..... i found out about the disadvantage the very first night ride after installing this bulb. I may even install an H.I.D. system if i find a way to modify the magneto to give me 80+ watts charging power for the battery instead of the current 55W Light and 25W charging (Kawasaki coil, RXZ stock is even lower at 35/20 watts) - the H.I.D. must absolutely run from the battery and currently the charging power is not enough, i may need to have a new coil specially made.

Best regards.....

Thanh

Zundapp: ZR10, ZR20, ZX25, ZE40, CS25, CS50, C50 Sport, SpoCo 515, SpoCo 517, GTS 517, GTS 529, KS50 Supersport-TT, KS50 Watercooled, KS80, K80, KS175.

Hercules: G3, MF3, HR2, MK2, Supra 4 GP, K50 RL.

Kreidler: Florett RMC.

Puch: DS, M50 Racing, Cobra 50-6 GTL Export.

Honda: MB 5, MTX 80, CB 250.

Suzuki: RV 50, X5-200, RGV 250.

Yamaha: DT 50-M, VRR 150, RXZ 135 (x2, current)

thankz bros for all ur suggestion!guess will just stick with the current headlight!:thumb:

Perfect choice bro!!!! Standard & original items will always last long...

If i were you, i will FCUK the idiot who told me everything is new. Make his life miserable bro. This involve your life, remember this you have only one life with you. Change a new RXZ bike or make them repair everything without any cost involved.

Try viewing at Unique Motorsport thread, they got put price package there also for 2B bikes namely TZM, RXZ, KR etc... See lah, if the price really suit you.:goodluck:

Accesories wise, are you refering to original products or after market product?? After market product try getting it from Johor, will be slightly cheaper.

No problem bro, i help what i can..

I am newbie and hope everyone can give me the chance to get to know all of u.... Cheeers :)

No problem bro, we will be glad to have a chinese rider here cos it is rare to have the chinese riding RXZ excluding apek or nyonya.

btw, what's the reason if bike suddenly die off when stopping? especially this rainy season lah.. is it engine too cold? how to counter this problem ?

need help .. thanks! :thumb:

Maybe you need to check the clutch cable. I've also encountered the same problem before but is not due to the rainining season bro. It is because my clutch is to near, so when accidentally released the clutch lever more the engine will die off.

maybe, the mechanic is his relative or friend lah.. hehe.. dat's why can get free of charge.. :p

He is a regular what there, so can get repaired for free mah.

Yamaha RXZ a.k.a Nadia> FBB3608T - 14 March 2007 to 11 July 2008

Honda CB400 Spec 3 a.k.a Lisa> FBC7988P - 11 July 2008 to 24 June 2009

Yamaha RXZ a.k.a Qistina> FBD6886B - 25 June 2009 to 29 April 2010

Suzuki Hayabusa a.k.a Rachel> 29 April 2010 to 23 April 2011

Suzuki GSXR 1000 a.k.a Suzy> FR**H - 23 April 2011(CURRENT RIDE)

Maybe you need to check the clutch cable. I've also encountered the same problem before but is not due to the rainining season bro. It is because my clutch is to near, so when accidentally released the clutch lever more the engine will die off.

yes. that's right ah. but dat day when I was riding in the rain right, my bike die off when I haven't release my clutch. hmmm.. I don't know why lah bro.. :confused:

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

My hp is 97871276... If A- AN 7, DF, Syamitomo and etc are meeting up, pls give me a sms or ring also can... MY RXZ is poor condition cos can not match with u all...

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

He is a regular what there, so can get repaired for free mah.

Yeap, like A'an said... Hee.. But tat's cause b4 the piston jam occurs, my bike just go through an overhaul, new everythin, all original. So my piston is only 5days old when it got jammed. But it's not the mechanic fault tat my piston jam. It's my fault for goin to another bike shop and hav them set for me the carb. And I hav to pay for my stupidity! Which cost nearly my life! I was goin almost 120 on the 2nd lane of PIE when I felt my backwheel fishtailed! Luckily I can control my bike and not much car on the road so tat I can go to the shoulder. I guess I skidded for quite a distance seh cause it really eats up my only 1mths old Dunlop tyre!!! haha...

So yeah... Lesson learn, better go for safety then speed...:thumb: And pls, dont ever2 challenge wif Subarus or any other fast cars.....:giddy:

My hp is 97871276... If A- AN 7, DF, Syamitomo and etc are meeting up, pls give me a sms or ring also can... MY RXZ is poor condition cos can not match with u all...

Noted!! No prob!!! A'an!!! Settle the next meet up, coffee or wash bike, anythin will do lah...:thumb: (Hahahaha... Tak bersalah si A'an....):giddy:

Yeah it sure did. Hahahaha...:gun: Hmmm... Then how the hell it got jammed seh? I wonder.... Hmmmmm......:confused: Cause seriously, piston jam is no laughin matter, can bring death...

mech says the 2t pump not working.. excuses excuses.. ader ader jer. before buy, say everything new, everything changed. after buy, this not working that not working..

in the end, after %%&$*#(%#@(%& with shop owner, rectified all problems FOC. new piston, rebored block. even signal light bulb blow also I change FOC. hrkehrkeh

yes. that's right ah. but dat day when I was riding in the rain right, my bike die off when I haven't release my clutch. hmmm.. I don't know why lah bro.. :confused:
Maybe the rest can help you, this part i'm not sure. Hehehehe....

When are you having a gathering??? Please furnish more details so i can try arrange my time if i can attend.

So yeah... Lesson learn, better go for safety then speed...:thumb: And pls, dont ever2 challenge wif Subarus or any other fast cars.....:giddy:

Hahahaha, you better learn from mistake:gun:

mech says the 2t pump not working.. excuses excuses.. ader ader jer. before buy, say everything new, everything changed. after buy, this not working that not working..

in the end, after %%&$*#(%#@(%& with shop owner, rectified all problems FOC. new piston, rebored block. even signal light bulb blow also I change FOC. hrkehrkeh

Ketok bro, look for alot of mistake & make them replace everything. Since they say it's new right, you make them change almost everything to make it new. Idiot shop, nearly cause your life!!!!!!:gun:

Ok guys, gtg now. So tired already, me going back from work liow. See ya....Anything calling.

hi, anyone here got an old rxz fairing for the rectangle headlight type rxz, can pm me e price, looking for the front fairing and the two left n right original bracket to mount the fairing thks.

also looking for the old malaysia rxz pillion bar (located at the tail) thks

guys, can give good recommendation for sprockets & chain set? where to buy? wat size? & must be good, lasts long & affordable pls.. thanks guys.. :angel:

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

Noted!! No prob!!! A'an!!! Settle the next meet up, coffee or wash bike, anythin will do lah...:thumb: (Hahahaha... Tak bersalah si A'an....):giddy:

how about, some coffee after washing bike? haaa~ how?? :cool:

Class 3

Class 2B

Yamaha RXZ135 (FD****X)

12.02.2008 - *******

hi, anyone here got an old rxz fairing for the rectangle headlight type rxz, can pm me e price, looking for the front fairing and the two left n right original bracket to mount the fairing thks.

also looking for the old malaysia rxz pillion bar (located at the tail) thks

Hi :)

If you are looking for the one like on this RXZ, i have it - exactly the one on the photo. Not sure if i got the two brackets still, i have to look for them. Please e-mail me if interested (the PM system is unreliable as often i can't open this site due to "server too busy" issues), my e-mail [email protected]

I live in Thailand but i'm not scared to do business overseas, and i'd prefer to TRADE the part rather than sell - as i need parts only available in Singapore/Malaysia, such as a TAIL fairing/cover for that same RXZ model or a GENUINE YAMAHA tank cap.

I can take more detailed photos of the part if you are interested and send them by e-mail.

Best regards

Thanh

old_z.JPG

Zundapp: ZR10, ZR20, ZX25, ZE40, CS25, CS50, C50 Sport, SpoCo 515, SpoCo 517, GTS 517, GTS 529, KS50 Supersport-TT, KS50 Watercooled, KS80, K80, KS175.

Hercules: G3, MF3, HR2, MK2, Supra 4 GP, K50 RL.

Kreidler: Florett RMC.

Puch: DS, M50 Racing, Cobra 50-6 GTL Export.

Honda: MB 5, MTX 80, CB 250.

Suzuki: RV 50, X5-200, RGV 250.

Yamaha: DT 50-M, VRR 150, RXZ 135 (x2, current)