Dear Forum,

I am riding a Kawasaki Z1000 13'. Recently, I got a leak from my radiator. One of the tubes got punctured by something. The mechanic then disabled that punctured tube by welding it on both sides. Eversince, I have been riding with insecurities and doubts. Furthermore, I am a type of person who can just decide to go up north at the most random times. So, this radiator issue is really a pain in the a$$.

I have contacted Nevershine and as usual, the replacement will take a few light years to arrive. Plus, it comes with a heavy price tag. I was looking online for an alternative or advices and I have arrived at three conclusion.

1) Some have adviced me that being the bike is new (12 mth old), the weld should be able to hold and cooling efficiency won't be compromised.

2) There are some cheap China made aftermarket aluminium radiators floating around ebay which cost 1/10 of the OEM price. Are these radiators trustworthy and reliable? Any kakis tried before? This option seems pretty tempting at this moment.

3) Squeeze balls and place order for OEM radiator. I am hoping not to go down this road as I am saving up for something important.

I seek the advices of the experienced riders that have gone down this path before. Please help.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

~its not the destination, its the journey~

Yamaha TZM (2006 - 2007)

Honda RVF (2007 - 2009)

Honda Super 4 Spec 1 (2009 - 2013)

Kawasaki Z1000 Gen 3 (2013 - 20xx)

• Replies 15

My advice is buy the OEM radiator. Check online http://www.partzilla.com to compare price with local agent. Can check with JB Kawasaki agent for the price of the radiator. Never buy China radiator. Maybe can bring your old radiator to car radiator shop whether they can repair it for you. Heard there is a shop in Bt Merah Lane that do car radiator.

So its ur tube or radiator thats punctured?

I had a unrepairable radiator damage.

So i had it made locally. 250 vs 500-600$.

K&t and first motors does it.

Ah boy does it too but you have to leave the part with im for a week and it cost below 200.

Oem was better but I have no regrets.

If its just the hose then easy peasy lah.

Go samco or oem.

Thx for all replies so far. Kudos to superspeed for ur opinion.

Its the radiator itself. Not the hose.

Anyway, anyone who tried China radiators before? Any reviews?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Yamaha TZM (2006 - 2007)

Honda RVF (2007 - 2009)

Have u tried checking the prices at Malaysia? There is a craze for Z1000 over there recently, so it could be cheaper over there?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

I am riding a 04 Z750 my radiator leaked recently , the ebay china aluminum radiator price was tempting but I dare not buy as there is no reviews. I sent my radiator for repair at URS radiator service located at Ubi along planet motor stretch to refurbished for $200, I did it once on my bandit 400 the workmanship is superb and work as good as new. You need to dismantle the radiatoror yourself or ask shop to dismantle for you through.

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Thank you for sharing S750WP.

Yamaha TZM (2006 - 2007)

Honda RVF (2007 - 2009)

Just an update guys.. The weilding works done on my radiator seems to hold up pretty well.. *touch wood.. Tested long duration rides without overheating issues.. Mechanic says it should be ok coz my radiator is still new (8 mths old) and only one tube is disabled. But still i think its wise to have OEM spare parts ready.

Yamaha TZM (2006 - 2007)

Honda RVF (2007 - 2009)

if your radiator is truely 8 months old, go back to kawasaki agent to get it replaced.

if memory serves me right, any new bike will be under warranty by agent for at least 1 year no?

looking for drz parts, any parts will do!

My bike is not purchased under nevershine.. Hence no agent warranty.. The bike shop that I bought from only provides gurantee for 10k km or 1 year whichever comes first. And I dnt think it covers cosmetic damages. If you have read the first post, the radiator is damaged by a road debris. This is not a mechanical issue so I dnt think warranty covers this. In any case, I have already hit 10k km so there is no warranty. What do you mean by "if your radiator is truely 8 months old"?

Yamaha TZM (2006 - 2007)

Honda RVF (2007 - 2009)

Bro if it start to leak, just send for repair. The punctured area is the tube not the fins? If it's the tube, just get JB weld or some aluminum patty to patch it. For alu radiator repair like refurbishing the core fins, there is a shop at ubi does it. Blk 3007 ubi ave 3 #01-454.

My bike is not purchased under nevershine.. Hence no agent warranty.. The bike shop that I bought from only provides gurantee for 10k km or 1 year whichever comes first. And I dnt think it covers cosmetic damages. If you have read the first post, the radiator is damaged by a road debris. This is not a mechanical issue so I dnt think warranty covers this. In any case, I have already hit 10k km so there is no warranty. What do you mean by "if your radiator is truely 8 months old"?

Nick Peh

China Radiator VS Original Radiator...

U wan max cooling & stuff of course Original Radiator confirm best but price tag is darn scary...

OEM most of the time oso MIC... so wat the diff!!! jus beautify the process..lol

Understand many had reservation with MIC motorcycle spares. I don't blame anyone as U noe their QC is rather fantastic hahaha...

If u can tahan if go slightly hotter or 'cooling power' abit lower, then go for MIC radiator if not juz go for the original ones not OEM coz to me no diff...

The cheapest or the sky high price. U choose.

Also to compensate the lower standard of cooling, U can install additional fan that can be switch on while transiting through heavy traffic. this is a rather old skool way of doing it which might have some saying... "aiya useless lah; dun waste time lah;"

Just my 2 cents....

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

More for less . . . Always!!!

M.B Products : Lifestyle, Performance, Electronics, Security, Accessories . . .

Click here ---> Visit Motore Bici Section for more details

China Radiator VS Original Radiator...

U wan max cooling & stuff of course Original Radiator confirm best but price tag is darn scary...

OEM most of the time oso MIC... so wat the diff!!! jus beautify the process..lol

Understand many had reservation with MIC motorcycle spares. I don't blame anyone as U noe their QC is rather fantastic hahaha...

If u can tahan if go slightly hotter or 'cooling power' abit lower, then go for MIC radiator if not juz go for the original ones not OEM coz to me no diff...

The cheapest or the sky high price. U choose.

Also to compensate the lower standard of cooling, U can install additional fan that can be switch on while transiting through heavy traffic. this is a rather old skool way of doing it which might have some saying... "aiya useless lah; dun waste time lah;"

Just my 2 cents....

Thanks for your opinion.

Yamaha TZM (2006 - 2007)

Honda RVF (2007 - 2009)

You can try http://www.mrcycles.com/ for parts. Shipping is okay.

Or if you want to go jb agent can pm me and i can arrange to bring you there..

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC