Hi guys... I need help here... I realise that a while after parking, oil starts to drip from the carb.. I know that it is somehow normal, but the rate it is dripping at is not... it is dripping at almost 1 drop per sec...

I just had my bike serviced yesterday, where the mech took out the carb and cleaned it... somehow the bike performance is good now, but then came the dripping problem. please advise me on the above.

• Replies 10

i got this problem, urs is 2t bike right?

few days ago, mine dripping non-stop, within 1 min, the whole oil tank dripped dry and the 2t oil was all over the floor. worried that the piston might jam if i ride to mechanic, i called towing.

then mechanic says, my 2t was overflowing LOLS. because it's a old scooter, the cap is not tight, so what he does is using white tape to tape around the inner of the cap at the reserve tank to seal it tightly. now no more dripping.. not even a drop.

you can ask ur mechanic to check ur tank cap lor.. especially for old bikes.

i guess is dripping gas from the carb?

it could be from the float needle that is not sealing the orifice properly

use the back of a screw driver to lightly tap on the bottom of the carb and see if it helps, if not, pls go back to ya mechanic.

prev i got this prob oso got my frene to do it for mi le.. my gasket cause oil to drip alot..

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

its might be the black rubber in the carb.. cos the rubber is realli sensitive if the petrol touches the rubber it will expand than need bout 1day for it to totally contract into its original size...after it dries up...

so check the rubber..bring it back to ur mech i;m sure its gonna be FOC cos its his fault...

if he say must change whole carb i guess he's going to carrot u liao.. just tell him to change the rubber would not cost more than 10bucks..

just my 2 cents..

skazuz

mine is a 4t bike... hahaha hmm... tank cap... will get my mech to check...

thanks for your advice!!

i got this problem, urs is 2t bike right?

few days ago, mine dripping non-stop, within 1 min, the whole oil tank dripped dry and the 2t oil was all over the floor. worried that the piston might jam if i ride to mechanic, i called towing.

then mechanic says, my 2t was overflowing LOLS. because it's a old scooter, the cap is not tight, so what he does is using white tape to tape around the inner of the cap at the reserve tank to seal it tightly. now no more dripping.. not even a drop.

you can ask ur mechanic to check ur tank cap lor.. especially for old bikes.

its might be the black rubber in the carb.. cos the rubber is realli sensitive if the petrol touches the rubber it will expand than need bout 1day for it to totally contract into its original size...after it dries up...

so check the rubber..bring it back to ur mech i;m sure its gonna be FOC cos its his fault...

if he say must change whole carb i guess he's going to carrot u liao.. just tell him to change the rubber would not cost more than 10bucks..

just my 2 cents..

skazuz

thanks skazuz ... will do that...

i guess is dripping gas from the carb?

it could be from the float needle that is not sealing the orifice properly

use the back of a screw driver to lightly tap on the bottom of the carb and see if it helps, if not, pls go back to ya mechanic.

yup... its dripping from the overflow vault...

Hiz,

How's your bike now?

Hiz,

How's your bike now?

wow.. almost 4 months u still ask. u r a caring bro :cheeky: