• Replies 38

Me into this hobby too...had alot of Gundams but never do...ha ha ha... only concentrate on bikes and cars...had a couple of heli, planes and tanks too...where do you normally buy your supplies?

http://i665.photobucket.com/albums/vv15/Davin_Tan/SNC00998.jpg

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Venhill Brake & Clutch Lines

Me into this hobby too...had alot of Gundams but never do...ha ha ha... only concentrate on bikes and cars...had a couple of heli, planes and tanks too...where do you normally buy your supplies?

i actually go a few places, if i'm passing by or where ever tht's cheap :p

I kindof like to go ard look out for cheap or offer kits tht look pretty gd, found a few actually.

wah, u seem to be quite gd since u done a lot liao. frankly speaking, i'm a beginner, only done a few only, all still quite bad cause got obvious flaws

does anybody know where to get plastic models of dirtbikes? o_O

seems everywhere only have sportbikes. :(

does anybody know where to get plastic models of dirtbikes? o_O

seems everywhere only have sportbikes. :(

Last time Tamiya used to produce dirt bike but now already decommissioned...

If you want a sport bike model I can make one but the price must be right...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Hi, anyone of us shares the same hobby?

I'm about to finish an AH-64D apache. my 1st static model to use airbrush. i've been doing gundam & mechs.

lots of undone gundams, mech etc...

When you use Airbrush, you meant just spray over the entire thing? Or you meant those detailed ones?

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

When you use Airbrush, you meant just spray over the entire thing? Or you meant those detailed ones?

Airbrush doesn't mean anything else except to mean the way that we apply the paint on to the model...In static modeling to be precise, everything no matter how big or small must be painted in order to bring out the true details...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

What do you all use for those fine lines that needs to be shown. Those lines that aren't too thick to notice, yet not too thin that its not even noticable. I don't really know how to explain. :cheeky:

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

What do you all use for those fine lines that needs to be shown. Those lines that aren't too thick to notice, yet not too thin that its not even noticable. I don't really know how to explain. :cheeky:

if i'm not wrg, you are talking about panel lines right?

I usually do enamel wash for these lines so that they are highlight in what ever colour u use for the enamel wash.

1stly, paint the color u desire & spray an overcoat, wait for the paint to cure, this is very impt.

2ndly, prepare a very diluted solution of enamel paint (in whatever colour u wanna the lines to be in, most use black but i did a robot that's black in colour but i highlight the panel lines using silver) with either lighter fluid, enamel thinner or turpentine. Make it as thin as water.

3rdly, use a very thin brush, maybe .000 & drip the enamel solution into the panel lines. Cause the paint is so thin, it'll jus flow along the lines, if it stops, just drip somemore. Let the paint dry also.

4th, now u may notice some paint tht smudge over the lines. use a cotton bud & wet with the thinning solution you use to thin the enamel paint. use it to clean up the smudge, going across the lines.

aft tht, spray another overcoat to protect

I usually do enamel wash for these lines so that they are highlight in what ever colour u use for the enamel wash.

1stly, paint the color u desire & spray an overcoat, wait for the paint to cure, this is very impt.

2ndly, prepare a very diluted solution of enamel paint (in whatever colour u wanna the lines to be in, most use black but i did a robot that's black in colour but i highlight the panel lines using silver) with either lighter fluid, enamel thinner or turpentine. Make it as thin as water.

3rdly, use a very thin brush, maybe .000 & drip the enamel solution into the panel lines. Cause the paint is so thin, it'll jus flow along the lines, if it stops, just drip somemore. Let the paint dry also.

4th, now u may notice some paint tht smudge over the lines. use a cotton bud & wet with the thinning solution you use to thin the enamel paint. use it to clean up the smudge, going across the lines.

Because I'm asking in relation to RC Car Model's the Body Shells. I'm planning to displaying those fine lines as well.

http://www.ipmsstockholm.org/magazine/2001/01/stuff_eng_tech_panel_lines.htm

Seems to use Pencils as well.

But was wondering, what do you use for overcoat? Like the brand and stuff? Overcoat as in like laquer kinda things right? Then spray over?

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

wow, gd links you've put up. will definetly read this.

not sure if my method can use for RC or not cause personally nvr touch RC stuff b4 but its works really well for static model.

the overcoat i'm using is bought from the model shop @ parklane & its for airbrush usage. if no airbrush, then go model shop look for spray can overcoat lor, they should have.

this method is needed if u are planning to paint on your kit, if u are jus doing panel lines for bare plastic, jus use a fine tip marker, 0.05mm or below, oil base will be gd & draw along the lines, got any excess, just use ur fingers to rub it off but this method won't last cause the ink veri easy rub off

wow, gd links you've put up. will definetly read this.

not sure if my method can use for RC or not cause personally nvr touch RC stuff b4 but its works really well for static model.

the overcoat i'm using is bought from the model shop @ parklane & its for airbrush usage. if no airbrush, then go model shop look for spray can overcoat lor, they should have.

this method is needed if u are planning to paint on your kit, if u are jus doing panel lines for bare plastic, jus use a fine tip marker, 0.05mm or below, oil base will be gd & draw along the lines, got any excess, just use ur fingers to rub it off but this method won't last cause the ink veri easy rub off

Because I happen to be interested in RC Cars drifting, so I'm going to get 1 this week.

At the same time, I'm interested in decorating those models, so I'll settle in decorating the Car Body Shell, so its kinda like both worlds.

Although isn't really much of your topic of Plastic Modelling. Haha. Here's another link in case you need those Art Craft Equipments.

http://www.mediamixhobby.com.sg/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=3_47&products_id=3

Do you know place that carries OLFA products? I think they'll help alot in Modelling.

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

Another thing. Regarding those sandpaper stuff. What do you use to sand corners of your plastic models? Those file stick kinda thingy? Or just the rough rough sheets that can just cut out different size.

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

Another thing. Regarding those sandpaper stuff. What do you use to sand corners of your plastic models? Those file stick kinda thingy? Or just the rough rough sheets that can just cut out different size.

Very Fine Sand paper...friend the paint we are using here are not suitable for R/C modeling unless your R/C model does not use NITRO or Gasoline or else the NITRO discharged from the exhaust will eat away the paint...one more thing the way you are gonna need to paint your R/C Canopy is a bit different from what we are doing here...you will most probably need Lacquer Based Paint and Automotive Clear Lacquer if you want to paint from the outside but as far as I know normally it will be painted from the inside of the canopy...If you want to paint from the inside you will need Paints For Polycarbonate...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Bro I not trying to be selfish...but somethings are better off to be kept as a secret...if there are resources that can provide knowledge let it be...we can provide help in alot of areas but those area that require special skills and knowledge better keep to yourself...I still need to make a living one leh...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Because I'm asking in relation to RC Car Model's the Body Shells. I'm planning to displaying those fine lines as well.

http://www.ipmsstockholm.org/magazine/2001/01/stuff_eng_tech_panel_lines.htm

Seems to use Pencils as well.

But was wondering, what do you use for overcoat? Like the brand and stuff? Overcoat as in like laquer kinda things right? Then spray over?

For brands of paint I will recommend you Tamiya or Mr Hobby...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Bro I not trying to be selfish...but somethings are better off to be kept as a secret...if there are resources that can provide knowledge let it be...we can provide help in alot of areas but those area that require special skills and knowledge better keep to yourself...I still need to make a living one leh...

Don't worry bro, not everyone can do what you do best. So no worries. Your rice bowl still strong. :cheeky:

Oh, I am spray painting from the inside, and its an Electric powered car. So I'll still use the Tamiya Polycarbonate Paint.

However, those details that are on the outside like those lines and stuff. Based on your professional field, have you like coat the outside with Lacquer or something to protect those stuff like line drawings and decals.

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

opps, actually i learnt this from others, from internet also, so thot its widely spread.

hhhmmmm, since u make a living out of this, do you own a shop? would like to drop by & look see

opps, actually i learnt this from others, from internet also, so thot its widely spread.

hhhmmmm, since u make a living out of this, do you own a shop? would like to drop by & look see

Nope I don't own a shop but I make to sell...I just want you to have your secrets in your creations then you got value mah... not meaning other things...

Bro since we are into the same hobby I got one suggestion...I wish to see your creations and maybe we can exchange ideas to improve ourselves...I got alot of gundams but never work on them as I am not confident enough...so I might be able to learn somethings from your creations and experiences...I work most on Bikes and Cars and I too can show you my creations if you want to learn more about cars and bikes...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Don't worry bro, not everyone can do what you do best. So no worries. Your rice bowl still strong. :cheeky:

Oh, I am spray painting from the inside, and its an Electric powered car. So I'll still use the Tamiya Polycarbonate Paint.

However, those details that are on the outside like those lines and stuff. Based on your professional field, have you like coat the outside with Lacquer or something to protect those stuff like line drawings and decals.

Bro I was under the impressions that even the decals for R/C Cars are pasted from the inside...now if you want to paste outside and also the line drawing then I guess you must spray a over coating to protect them...over coatings are most well known as clear lacquer...but now I shall warn you of the problems that you will face...

1)You must use automotive lacquer and not industrial lacquer cause industrial lacquer will turn yellow after sometime...

2)Automotive lacquer are very hard to get in SG and you cannot order it from overseas cause you will need to own a company that deals with paints and solvents to import paints which is considered a chemical...how ever there is still a way to get it but very low chance and that is to buy from Automotive Workshops which they most probably won't agree to sell...

3)Although Automotive Lacquer is the best but you got to be a spray painting pro to be able to use it...just in case you die die want to buy I will recommend you to buy those type 2 part mixture type...Part 1 Lacquer and Part 2 is Hardener and with the mixing ratio of 1:2...then you must know the result after mixing both together and how to tin the lacquer if the viscosity is not what you want...

4)After all those you will need a Spray Painting Gun and an Air Compressor big enough to support the painting process, support enough air pressure and volume of air to give you the best result...an Air Brush will not do the job at all...

5)Then just as you are about to start...there is a secret how to make the lacquer shine and sorry bro this will remain a secret...

6)Lastly spraying too much will break your car's shell or chip off a big piece of the lacquer in the event of a crash...and spraying too thin will generally not protect anything...

Bro if you really want to learn something bring me your car's shell and I will advise you on the spot...ya by the way I fly R/C Helicopters...

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Nope I don't own a shop but I make to sell...I just want you to have your secrets in your creations then you got value mah... not meaning other things...

Bro since we are into the same hobby I got one suggestion...I wish to see your creations and maybe we can exchange ideas to improve ourselves...I got alot of gundams but never work on them as I am not confident enough...so I might be able to learn somethings from your creations and experiences...I work most on Bikes and Cars and I too can show you my creations if you want to learn more about cars and bikes...

eh, i only got 2 pieces which r quite ok but there r obvious flaws & the panel lining not that well done cause i didn't get to learn it only recently. but i dnt mind showing lah, i'll try to take photos w/ my lousy phone camera :p