Hi Rainman ,

I would probably still be doing the runs at the stadium at 8.00 pm but i can join u

guys probably after 8.30 pm when i usually knock off from there. Keep me posted of the venue . Thanks

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c213/orangefazer/untitled-2.jpg
  • Replies 2.1k

8pm kinda tight for me. 8.30pm seems just nice.

Psalm 144:3-4

O LORD, what is man that you regard him, the son of man that you think of him?

Man is like a breath; his days are like a passing shadow.

Originally posted by Rainman@Sep 20 2005, 10:53 AM

Hi Huggable,

Thanks for asking. Well, I don't work near Changi Prison but I work inside. Not only Changi Prison but the other prisons located islandwide (we have 9 men's and 1 women's prison). I am in charge of the Aftercare Ministry of Prison Fellowship Singapore, a Christian non profit organisation. The Aftercare Ministry looks into the needs of prisoners whom are due to be released after completing their sentence. Hpe this helps.

God Bless!

Thanks for the clarification! Anyway I saw a orange seven-fifty, but with only 1 rear box, on TPE this evening, before the Punggol exit. Was that you?

http://www.honda.co.jp/CB1300SF/gallery/page13/4025958-2/image/4025958-2-m.jpg

Rainman,

You work in prisons? Are you the priest who send conivcts to the gallows? If yes, then how is it feel? Sad ? As to see someone going to die infornt of you.....:cry:

Originally posted by Rainman@Sep 20 2005, 10:53 AM

Hi Huggable,

Thanks for asking. Well, I don't work near Changi Prison but I work inside. Not only Changi Prison but the other prisons located islandwide (we have 9 men's and 1 women's prison). I am in charge of the Aftercare Ministry of Prison Fellowship Singapore, a Christian non profit organisation. The Aftercare Ministry looks into the needs of prisoners whom are due to be released after completing their sentence. Hpe this helps.

God Bless!

Luohan ,

Rainman works in an Aftercare Ministry which looks into the needs of prisoners

due to be released for re-integration back into society.

I have a vague memory of the prelude to an execution in the gallows as my colleague's hubby is a prison officer with whom i had dinner once . His advice

to me was to keep temperament in check and never to provoke or be provoked into a fight as he has seen many who now regret their actions behind bars.

Maybe we can talk more when we all meet . Cheers !

Originally posted by Huggable@Sep 22 2005, 08:47 PM

Thanks for the clarification! Anyway I saw a orange seven-fifty, but with only 1 rear box, on TPE this evening, before the Punggol exit. Was that you?

Nope, sorry! My bike has 2 side Givi and one rear Givi. Never leave home without them. :smile:

Don't tell God you have a big problem. Tell the problem you have a big God!

Originally posted by luohan@Sep 22 2005, 10:24 PM

Rainman,

You work in prisons? Are you the priest who send conivcts to the gallows? If yes, then how is it feel? Sad ? As to see someone going to die infornt of you.....:cry:

Hi Luohan,

It's not the priest who sends the convict to the gallows. It's the court of law which passes the sentence. A prison officer will be the one who conducts the execution. We can talk more when we meet.

dear all

I chin chai one but not weekends and this coming monday 26/9.:smile: Rainman,

I know is the judge to sentence the convicts to the gallows lah. What I mean is when the convicts walk to the gallows, there is a preist walk infront of him/her and chanting.... correct?

Sorry, forgive my ignorance, watch to much movie liao....

Originally posted by luohan@Sep 23 2005, 11:53 PM

dear all

I chin chai one but not weekends and this coming monday 26/9.:smile: Rainman,

I know is the judge to sentence the convicts to the gallows lah. What I mean is when the convicts walk to the gallows, there is a preist walk infront of him/her and chanting.... correct?

Sorry, forgive my ignorance, watch to much movie liao....

Hi Luohan ,

This is an excerpt found in a press release dated 30/01/2004 from the

Ministry of Home Affairs Page

"Although family members are not with the inmate at the moment of execution, they are informed four days before the executions (for foreigners, the families and embassy will be informed earlier, usually seven to fourteen days) and allowed daily visits lasting up to four hours for each visit during these four days.The execution is carried out in the presence of a Prison medical doctor.Upon request, a priest or a religious minister is allowed to be present, to pray for the person to be executed."

Hope this helps . Anyway i think you must have remembered the scene

from the movie - "The Green Mile" starring Tom Hanks as a prison death row

officer.

Cheers !

Start of another week.

Sorry for being out of action for the past week. Internet connection was down.

Alright... so when will be the next date... Have you guys considered Jalan Kayu?

I will be out of action for the next 3 days due to a throat infection. As for William's suggestion on Jalan Kayu, it's fine by me.

God Bless and Ride Safely! :smile:

Originally posted by orangefazer@Sep 24 2005, 10:26 AM

Hi Luohan ,

This is an excerpt found in a press release dated 30/01/2004 from the

Ministry of Home Affairs Page

"Although family members are not with the inmate at the moment of execution, they are informed four days before the executions (for foreigners, the families and embassy will be informed earlier, usually seven to fourteen days) and allowed daily visits lasting up to four hours for each visit during these four days.The execution is carried out in the presence of a Prison medical doctor.Upon request, a priest or a religious minister is allowed to be present, to pray for the person to be executed."

Hope this helps . Anyway i think you must have remembered the scene

from the movie - "The Green Mile" starring Tom Hanks as a prison death row

officer.

Cheers !

Right on! :thumb:

Originally posted by Rainman@Sep 26 2005, 02:06 PM

I will be out of action for the next 3 days due to a throat infection. As for William's suggestion on Jalan Kayu, it's fine by me.

God Bless and Ride Safely! :smile:

Jalan Kayu usually have parking problem near the makan places . Prefer quieter place with ample parking but since this is first meet , let's make it happen wherever or whenever you guys want it to be.

Cheers !

Originally posted by orangefazer@Sep 26 2005, 07:41 PM

Jalan Kayu usually have parking problem near the makan places . Prefer quieter place with ample parking but since this is first meet , let's make it happen wherever or whenever you guys want it to be.

Cheers !

Another place we can check out is the stretch of old shop houses along Sembawang Road leading to Sembawang Park end. Right at the end of the row of shophouses, their is an old style kopitiam. The tea there is happening and there is ample parking place. :smile:

I'm ok since it's still in the North.

Any morning people here? i.e. the 7am breakfast type? Sat morning is ok for me.

Originally posted by ongcs@Sep 27 2005, 08:36 AM

I'm ok since it's still in the North.

Any morning people here? i.e. the 7am breakfast type? Sat morning is ok for me.

Hey Ong,

No probs for me! That kopitiam at Sembawang End serves good prata too! :thumb:

Originally posted by Rainman@Sep 27 2005, 08:45 AM

Hey Ong,

No probs for me! That kopitiam at Sembawang End serves good prata too! :thumb:

So we wanna make it this Saturday morning?

Can make it around 0730hrs to 0800hrs.

Sembawang end - Do i just follow Upper Thomson Road all the way down past Old Mandai Road? Does it have this big S-11 Kopitiam nearby? If yes, then i would roughly know where it is.

Originally posted by William Tan@Sep 27 2005, 10:57 AM

Sembawang end - Do i just follow Upper Thomson Road all the way down past Old Mandai Road? Does it have this big S-11 Kopitiam nearby? If yes, then i would roughly know where it is.

Sorrie guyz , working on Saturdays. I can make it only in the evenings / night if

no prior commitments.

From Upper Thompson Road , you can proceed all the way towards Mandai past Yishun Khatib Camp , past Chong Pang Road , past Sembawang Shopping Centre . Proceeding to Canberra Road , you have a choice . You can either proceed straight and ride all the way to Sembawang Shipyard where you will need to make a right turn and proceed to the end of the road and make a left turn when reach the end of the road OR turn right at the beginning of Canberra road and procced to the JTC 14 miles flat where you just need to ride all the way to the end , you will pass the Sembwang Community Club along the way.

Alternative way is to turn right at the End of Yishun Road at the Gambas junction - ride all the way up Yishun Ave 1 , and then turn left at the 1st Traffic Junction , you shd see the 14 miles JTC flat the end of the road , when you turn ride , you just ride all the way to the End.

Have not been to Sembawang End since the late 90s .. wonder how the place has changed over the past 5-6 years ?

Originally posted by William Tan@Sep 27 2005, 10:57 AM

This Saturday is to tight for me as I have to bring my daughter to a play rehearsal in church in the morning. Perhaps 8th October? How about the rest? Dannyelly, Luohan, OngCS? Anybody else I miss out????

Just went down to Sembawang End today to look n see . Found the coffeeshops mentioned between the bars at the T-Junction. Think one of them was called the 1018 with the prata shop.

I thought they were at the End of Sembawang Rd - i went to the End , just saw a bus stop n a small bus parking lot . Had to U-turn . HaHa.

Hi all

Sat morning is just a suggestion...i'm listing out the possible time slot where we can meet. But looks like orangefazer has work commitment on Sat.

It can be quite tough to arrange a meet up since we all have our commitments. But i think if we really want it, it can be done...just takes some time.

Let's get a date/time fix.

I propose 5 Oct, Wed, 8.30pm. No special reason, just a date/time where we can all work on. Placewise, will hve to leave to you guys to suggest, me seldom eat out.

Have a great day. Cheers and God Bless.

Chee Seng