Northern Thailand - Mae Hong Son Loop (Sep 2007)

Mae Hong Son ride on rented motorcycles. A couple of photos to share.

Route: Chiang Mai -> Khun Yuam -> Mae Hong Son -> Pai -> Chiang Mai

Distance: ~640km

Reference: Rough Guide Thailand, GT-Rider Mae Hong Son map

Bikes: 1 Honda AX-1 & 2 Honda Degrees from Mr Mechanic at 600B per day for each motorcycle

Overview: Motorcyclist’s dream ride - twisty but well-paved roads, accompanied by scenic views of endless green hills and lush jungles

Click to view Mae Hong Son Loop Trip Report

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/01_Mae_Hong.jpg

Route undertaken

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/02_Sunrise_from_Plane.jpg

Sunrise from the plane

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/05_Doi_Inthanon_Waterfall.jpg

A short 70km from Chiang Mai is the Doi Inthanon National Park. The park, named after the highest mountain in the country, houses 4 waterfalls. In the photo above is Mae Ya Waterfall, believed to be the highest in Thailand.

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/04_Doi_Inthanon_Flora.jpg

The park, also called “Roof of Thailand”, shelters a huge variety of flora and fauna.

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/07_En_Route_Mae_Hong_Son.jpg

En route to Mae Hong Son

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/08_Mae_Hong_Son_Temple.jpg

Wat Doi Kong Mu at Mae Hong Son

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/09_Mae_Hong_Son.jpg

View of Mae Hong Son

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/10_Cave.jpg

Tham Lot cave, off the small market town of Soppong

http://adventurevacationtrip.com/photos/200709/Thailand/10_Back_to_Chiang_Mai.jpg

A 130km ride from Pai back to Chiang Mai

Edited by belgarathc
  • Replies 127

was there lots of off road riding? Is there a need to rent off road bikes?

Email guay_hansen @hotmail.com

My blog at snowparang.blogdrive.com

http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/79866156/medium.jpg http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/95749015/original.jpg

Nighthawk_250,

We experienced a short drizzle during one of the evenings. Otherwise, the weather is pretty good. This is a surprise to us as we thought that September is supposed to be the wettest month. Perhaps, we were just lucky.

snowparang,

There is no off-road riding if you keep to the main routes. The only non-tarmac roads we have rode on are the turn to Mae Ya Waterfall and the turn to Tham Lot. Even then, any motorcycle will be able to handle these roads easily. We rented scramblers just for the fun of it. :)

http://www.lamigos.com/ride_img/5%202007%20Sep%20NW.Thailand/011.jpg

A 130km ride from Pai back to Chiang Mai

How far was it frm MHS to Pai?

Is it nearer to go to MHS from Chiang Mai via Pai or Khun Yuam?

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

How many days did you stay over there and how much you spent?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3194/2532558653_bfc8b7386c.jpg

Sunrise @ Sg Lembing

The road from Mae Chaem to Khun Yuam is fantastic, poised over the edge of the mountain range all the way.

It was pretty rough in some sections when I rode it about 4 years back.

The pictures got me wondering whether its time to give the MHS another go.

http://www.fb666y.com/images/web/fb666y_signature.jpg

Ride Reports, Pictures & Plenty More at www.fb666y.com

bornfree,

We stayed for 3 days, 2 nights. I spent around S$450. $220 of it went to the air tickets and travel insurance. The rest went mainly to the rental of the motorcycle, petrol and admission tickets (Doi Inthanon National Park and Tham Lot Cave).

FB666Y,

I guess they must have paved the roads in recent years. This is about as bad as the road goes.

http://www.lamigos.com/ride_img/5%202007%20Sep%20NW.Thailand/012.jpg

I noticed something about riding in Thailand. The village kids don't wave at us. Must be they are too used to the sight already. :cheeky:

Al-Simmons>> I think better go MHS from CM via by Mae Taeng & pai route. We left CM at 1100hr & reach MHS ard 1730hr just enough time to collect the 1864 cert from MHS chamber of commerce. ( i think they closed at 1830hr).

If you travel MHS from CM via Khun Yuam. Your 1st stop will be at highest spot of Doi Inthanon and from Mae Chaem to Khun Yuam. I would said the road is much more challenge, have to bypass lots of mountain & it will definitely take longer time to reach MHS ( very tiring route). Maybe you have only little time to visit the karen village on the way to MHS. Estimate time from MHS to CM is ard 10 to 11 hour include visiting Wat Phra Non Temple/karen village/Toong Bua Tong/ Doi Inthanon. Maybe u can visit my trip blog to MHS for more detail of the timing we spend on the road. I would said better move off early than late. Travel at night was dam dangerous as we hardly see any road markings and face lots of corners especially the roads was pitch dark. Any enquiry just PM me for your this coming trip. Maybe i can send you my trip route as a guide for you.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

We experienced a short drizzle during one of the evenings. Otherwise, the weather is pretty good. This is a surprise to us as we thought that September is supposed to be the wettest month. Perhaps, we were just lucky.

I think the weather screwed liao lol

Ive been camping at the golden triangle forum n seems like most

folks manage to get some "opening" in the rainy seasons in between days.

Think I wont bother so much about it also :)

Honda ..................and nothing else

wow!

Another MHS ride! Respect! Seems like a lot of our bikers are venturing to the mountanins of Norhern Thailnd. Nice to read abt your ride but makes me feel very lef out. haha!

I need to do this soon! Tks for sharing your trip.

Someday, home will be where my front wheel points.

Astride a 2002 Yamaha Fazer FZS600

Al-Simmons>> I think better go MHS from CM via by Mae Taeng & pai route. We left CM at 1100hr & reach MHS ard 1730hr just enough time to collect the 1864 cert from MHS chamber of commerce. ( i think they closed at 1830hr).

If you travel MHS from CM via Khun Yuam. Your 1st stop will be at highest spot of Doi Inthanon and from Mae Chaem to Khun Yuam. I would said the road is much more challenge, have to bypass lots of mountain & it will definitely take longer time to reach MHS ( very tiring route). Maybe you have only little time to visit the karen village on the way to MHS. Estimate time from MHS to CM is ard 10 to 11 hour include visiting Wat Phra Non Temple/karen village/Toong Bua Tong/ Doi Inthanon. Maybe u can visit my trip blog to MHS for more detail of the timing we spend on the road. I would said better move off early than late. Travel at night was dam dangerous as we hardly see any road markings and face lots of corners especially the roads was pitch dark. Any enquiry just PM me for your this coming trip. Maybe i can send you my trip route as a guide for you.

ATwin >>> Thanks. Trying to dig out on ur old post for the itenery. Will PM you if i need anything.

Al-Simmons,

MHS to Pai is around 110km++. Going via Khun Yuam should take a longer time.

belgarathc >>> Thanks.

Anyway is it possible to go from Chiang Mai to MHS and back to Chiang Mai in one day? The road to MHS need to ride very slow???

Al-Simmons,

There are quite a bit of turns in the mountain roads. I would say a minimum of 2 days are necessary. If we can afford the time, we wouldn't have done it in 2 days (our 2nd night and 3rd day were spent in Chiang Mai). If you really want to do it in one day (to and back via the Pai route), I guess you have to prepare for 12 hours of non-stop riding.

Interesting appetizer

Hows the weather like, did it rain often whilst u were there?

Going end Oct everyone says rain rain rain...

Pls note that the season b4 Loykratong is the raining season - I remember i was there during this period - the jungle floor was so wet - our bicycles with knobby tyres were slipping into gully along all those tracks..... pls stay on the paved roads - try not to go off-road.......... but off-road is much more fun ....... This year Loykratong will fall on the 24th of Nov....

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Al-Simmons,

There are quite a bit of turns in the mountain roads. I would say a minimum of 2 days are necessary. If we can afford the time, we wouldn't have done it in 2 days (our 2nd night and 3rd day were spent in Chiang Mai). If you really want to do it in one day (to and back via the Pai route), I guess you have to prepare for 12 hours of non-stop riding.

I tried the Pai route ( Northern route to MHS ) & IMO it is not possible do go & back in a day. The Sothern route on the map seem longer but u can make it in a day ( to & back ) but pls spent some time in MHS , the pork leg is superb in a little eating house right in the middle of MHS. Can't remember the name but they also serve german food. :)

me not a fan of pork...nor german food :angel:

I am sure they have other kind u will like............. maybe not halah.... try their favour of the month ............... I love the grasshoppers ( deep fried ).

Al-Simmons,

Someone say pork leg?

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/Northern%20Thailand%20Trip%202007/P1070080-1.jpg

German food?

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/Northern%20Thailand%20Trip%202007/P1100050.jpg

And a Happy Meal for breakfast in Northern Thailand.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/Northern%20Thailand%20Trip%202007/P1110081-1.jpg

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg
Interesting appetizer

Hows the weather like, did it rain often whilst u were there?

Going end Oct everyone says rain rain rain...

so when are u going up my friend??

Pls note that the season b4 Loykratong is the raining season - I remember i was there during this period - the jungle floor was so wet - our bicycles with knobby tyres were slipping into gully along all those tracks..... pls stay on the paved roads - try not to go off-road.......... but off-road is much more fun ....... This year Loykratong will fall on the 24th of Nov....

Thanks for the tip :thumb:

Bicycle tyres? U went there to trash mountain bike?

I read GT forums they mention got few good trials for mountain bike downhill

Did u rent or bring ur own bike there?

Honda ..................and nothing else

Thanks for the tip :thumb:

Bicycle tyres? U went there to trash mountain bike?

I read GT forums they mention got few good trials for mountain bike downhill

Did u rent or bring ur own bike there?

Yeap.... the downhill trails are superb - 16 & 25 kilometers down all the way at Doi Sutep. We pack our own bikes to C'mai.........regular check in at the airport.

So far no change end October if i cant tahan any more,

end november if I can tahan a bit :p

U rest "so long" liao...itching for a trip?:angel:

hahaha.... yup... itching already... but still need to see how... u know?? i need

S11... no S11 how to go??